(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Li May,

Welcome here.

I'm not too sure what advice you'll need. On your photoshoot? Or what? Me very blur also. Alot of things not handled by me.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">aiyo... jowie and pk... i'm a white link bride leh.... but i dun think my gown and photos veri taiwanese leh... maybe after u all see my photos than can comment lor...

as far as i'm concern.. white link not bad... and i'm satisfied with their service lor... anyway, everyone has their own preference lah..</FONT>

Jaslyn,
i've seen their pics..... not really taiwanese....perhaps last time......

the staff also nice....

which branch do u go to?

hi bluechin...

u still around??

i signed up wif MS branch.... but in the end still have to go KB branch for fittings, trial makeup and photoshoot lor...

yo gals, wow suddenly so many postings.. and i thot last time it was ghost town.. haha

talking abt 'ti qin' we also havent done that yet? dont think we'll be doing cos my family and his family all quite 'bo chap', my hubby din even tell his father that he's getting married in Dec.. gosh!

hi passerby, thks for ur information, very helpful leh, at least i know that NZ living expenses not that high.. so maybe i'll consider to go there afterall. I would like to visit Korea too but since it's so cold maybe have to go another time liao.. cos me afraid of cold. So where will u be going for ur honeymoon?

hi li may, welcome here. hv u make or select ur WG &amp; EG already? since ur photoshoot is in Oct, i guess u gotta go down to ur shop soon to get ur gowns done. also in the meantime, can consider to do facials to have nicer skin before photoshoot

hi val, for my ablum it is in 15R size but not all 70 photos are in that 15R. some are in 3R, 5R, 8R size which is arranged together into 1 big ablum. dont know if u know what i mean. urs seems quite a good deal cos it's really alot of pics.

for the proofs, it means the photos that the shop taken for u and they are shown to u during ur selection of the photos. I will be getting back my proofs too

i think u can scan those loose photos instead of ur 15R ablum. it's quite difficult to scan from the ablum leh. for the protrait, we not going to put at the entrance lor.. i think the ablum is enug liao. oh ya, my package includes car.

i not sure how much the videographer charges alone, maybe aro $600.. do u want his contact? i can give to u and maybe u can check.

Hi Pinky,

I think I know what u mean cos my 15R also something like tat. 55 pics but 10 of them are in smaller sizes. She actualli quoted 2.2K but after much haggling then manage to get them at 2K. I see, then the loose pieces I mention earlier are the proofs. But I'm not sure if they'll give me the proofs for the the photos that I chose to be in 15R. Did they give you that?

Wat car did they offer you? Mine's an E200 but I dun quite like so wanted to get my own.

Ok. Can gimme the videographer's contact? Thanks!

I dunno abt the style being taiwanese or not lah... cos I dunno how to define taiwanese leh... someone please enlighten me...

but I know White Link uses models for it's sample photos on display... this is what the staff told me when I was at the shop... for me, I rather trust them to take pics for their own customers and display lor... cos models sure look good one mah... also, I heard that the designers have already left and set up their own shop outside... so I dunno if the quality can still be as before...

Just my own opinion... pls dun be offended, anyone...

hi gals...today juz went to do my tea dress, damnz my measurement increase again...tink my designer is REALY BERI wollied for me

and my album won't be ready until oct 13

hi jas,

our wedding same same date
... i juz got to know when my gou da li will be... sept 10. juz wondering where will u get yr cakes? i cant seem to decide...those i like are too exp (my mum wants 70 boxes so i try to get cheaper ones) n the cheaper ones r not so fantastic. how i wish my mum din ask for so much...then i can give her 'siu siu' one. tthough its my future MIL paying, i feel paiseh.

Hi Val,

I need help as in wat to buy for dowry, guo da li and etc.........Thanks

Hi Val,

my shop says that they will give me back all the proofs. for our car, it's a M200/M124, i also dont know how it's like. Is it a old model? if u not taking their car, how much will they refund u? i think if u rent outside also need aro $300-$400. wat car are u thinking of getting?

my videographer's name is Patrick Chang, hp at 9792-5400, he's part of a group of videographers with I Digital Production Plaza and their address is at Blk 399 Yung Sheng Road, #01-57. But hor, this place is very very hard to find, if u're meeting him, ask him to meet u outside instead of going to his shop.

Hi Li May,

Abt this aspect, I'm really not very sure. I've not gone to this stage yet and different dialect groups may have their own customs.
Which dialect group are you? For me, I'm a Hokkien. For us, "Guo Da Li" is also called "Lup Chai". If you happen to be Hokkien also, u can go to this topic on "Advice on Hokkien customs needed!!!" under Anything Under the sun forum. Rain posted a somewhat comprehensive write-up on that. If you are Teochew, I'll see I can get another Forum mate to help. She just had her wedding recently.
not very informatve huh? So sorry like I mention, I very blur so my mum and mil will prob take care of this.

Hi Pinky,

I forgot to ask whether they will gimme all my proofs. Gotta bear this in mind when I go there again. Oops paiseh mine is also an M200, wrote wrongly. I think it's not old but I dun quite like Merc, so I'll prob be getting back my $200. I don't intend to rent car like what u say $300 to $400, might as well take the offer by the shop. My sister will be borrowing Audi TT for me, it's a 2-seater car so my hubby will have to drive but I prefer it to be like that, jus both of us. But she say not confirm yet so worst come to worst, I'll take our own car as the bridal car lor
. I heard that the bridal car will symbolise the car that you'll be owning in future. heheh dunno how true but I certainly dun wan Mercedes.

Thanks for your advice and contact no. I'll discuss this with my hubby first. Can we jus call and get a quote from him first?

Btw, I saw that you have M'sian relatives? Me too. I'll be giving the treats separately in S'pore &amp; M'sia on different days cos M'sia side too many liao and some of them their child no passports so my mum say might as well treat there. U leh?

Jowie,
Perhaps u try to lose a little just for this November so that they dun have to alter the gown for ya again.

Btw, did u managed to get the shawl for yr EG?

My album also won't be ready till October 19 or so...... hubby says no hurry!

aiyoh, jowie... try to tahan a bit lah... just 2 more months... like wat I tell my hubby, must piah for the last lap...

tomorrow me cleaning house, so may not log in...

Am hving headache of where to go for honeymoon. Initially, thought of Europe but is afraid that it'll be cold &amp; places of attractions may be closed.

Do you have any recommendations for tours in mid NOv ?? Pls advise!! Thkssss!!!

JenJen...sigh, food is really my biggest weakness...

tomato 30...onli some attractions will be close, probably u can so research on where is not close, altho cold and low season, those other tourist attractions dat are open will not be as crowded as peak period, and the admission will be cheaper...and in cold countries, u won't have to pack too much clothings, so luggage will be easier to move around lor
i am going to koh samui for honeymoon, aiming to get a good tan and good food!!!

bluechin...i have to try very hard to maintain...tok about losing!!

i went Morton's juz now, SIMPLY GREEEEEEAT!!
food is great great, service is great great great!
we really have a good time there, and they even sang my FH a bday song, wif a complimentary cheesecake
had lobster bisque, potato skin, fresh oyster, prime rib and the godiva hot choc cake...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Jowie,

I love steak and seafood but due to wedding just round the corner so I dare not take too much food. Will go and try after the wedding.

Wah..so active over the weekend. I dun normally log on during the weekends...

Hi Val,
The photography package I took allows me to get back 120 proofs as well as the negatives. Haha..that's one of the reason why I chose them.
BTW, I'm having 2 banquets as well, in S'pore and M'sia. Too many friends and relatives there. For the accessories, I'll be meeting "My Stuffs" sometime this week to take a look at their accessories. My boutique provides the accessories, mainly for the WG, but I want to look for one that suits my EG myself. Thanks for the help.

As for the "in-laws meeting", I was thinking of going to a tim sum restaurant, so maybe shall avoid the "paus".

I've just chosen my wedding cards over the weekend. Will be going over to M'sia also to select wedding cards for the banquet there.

ya jowie: did u keep it within ur budget of $150 for 2?

morton sounds great, cannot lah, mi now trying to control, just 2 more month, so u also must resist a bit. dun worry, we all here can give support for each others. rite girls

canfused: where r u? been trying to find u , see if u wanna join me, jenjen and ohno at MM thsi web evening.

tomato: u can also consider Aust or NZ, since it will summer, lots of attraction will be open.
other places to try include Japan, HK, etc.

Jaslyn...we spent $199...$200 still change 1 dollar hehee

Starfruit...overshot budget lor, but prob we order too much, in the end ta bao the cheesecake, and they even offer to bag the free onion bread coz we keep eating before the starter comes

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">GALS</FONT>

wat did u engrave on yr wedding bands? mine about time to engrave liao, the shop scare our band size might change, so wait until nearer to the date hehee
we can engrave longer phrase...around 30 characters i tink, not the usual name and date lor, so now finding sweet sweet phrase....

bluechin...i ask the shop to do me a shawl, initially he keep saying it look ok, but i insisted lor...and they charge me extra $50 for doing a long tea dress!!

Need help...wedding in 2 weeks time. Can't find paper flower petals...where can I get it. Use to see it at Robinson but they sold out already. Where else??

Hi Val,

i'll be having only 1 wedding in SG. find it too troublesome to go in to hv a dinner again. so if they hv passports then they come lor, otherwise 'bo bian'..

for videographer, i think it should be no problem to call and ask for a quote.

i find the newer models merc still ok lah but the old model looks quite 'obiang'. but i think wont be getting another car cos dont want to spend anymore money.

Hi gemi,

will u not be wearing any 'Si Dian Jin' during ur actual wedding day? i think got some brides that wear their own jewellries instead of the accessories provided by the shop.

actually i also not sure wat i want to put on during the actual day. thot of wearing my own jewellries instead of the shop's accessories but dunno if it will look nice and big enugh to see haha...

wow, u've already selected ur cards design? did ur hotel called u up or u just arrange to choose the cards urself?

for me, after we booked the hotel, no contact has been made since. dunno if i should called them up to see the cards, is it too early?

btw, hv anyone of u gone for food-tasting already?

cherly...not enuff space ah, mine can put phrase, name and even date i tink heheee
dats one of the unusual good tings about ermmm..big size
8448.gif

Starfruit, would love to join but cant make it for Wed night…. Sorry… This week’s quite packed… U all will be there to listen to the songs list right? I think I’ll do it in one of these weekend with FH then. U gals enjoy yourselves and provide me with some feedback lah… thanks!

Ghee.. predicted that this thread will kinda slow down a little without Angie around… (is her eyelid twitching?…)

jowie: i only engrave my hubby's name and wedding date. his name longer than mine, so his ring have excessive space cos my name 5 characters only compared to his 10!!

so how is the tea dress that u have made. what colour isit? why dun u describe it to us.

Hi Pinky,

No, don't think I'm wearing the Si Dian Jin. I've got some pieces from Muchas, which my boutique ties up wif. Now only short of 1 for the EG.

For the cards, actually I'm early lah...usually just need to collect 2 months b4. I did mine earlier, becos my parents going overseas for a while, and I want to settle them before they leave.

Me planning to have the food tasting 1 mth before the wedding. I'm looking forward to it, cos the menu itself makes my drool already...hee hee who's talking about dieting!!!

starfruit...i do a 2 piece teadress, greyish blue, top is V neck and sleeve is flowy kind, quite casual, the skirt is long long...actually quite simple, i might not even wear for the tea ceremony coz i prefer to wear my own gown

jowie: u mean u prefer to wear ur actual gown? how come they charge u extra? becos u wanted a long dress compared to a short one?

canfused: no prob, will give u feedback after our session on wed. Have u met up with beng khoon yet?

starfruit...actually i lazi to change to the tea dress hehee when do we change? after groom house tea ceremony? if the dress turn out beri nice then i change lor
yup, they said normally tea dress is short, so if i wan it long they will charge $50...

i am tinking to engrave this:
FH : i've found love
Mine: and love is u
nice?? but dunno where to put our name

jowie; wha u quite creative hor.. hehe.. the msg that u want to engrave. if no space for full name, can consider just putting initials.

u change ur tea dress before going back to ur MUm's place for tea ceremony. I planned to change mine when i am at my new place before heading back to my mum's home.

ok...got it. Dang is so sweet, she offered to do it for me. Thanks anyway.

starfruit...i not creative lar, everything found in the net hehee

oic, so after tea ceremony at IL place, then change into tea dress and then go my house?

hi gals, me so shag out with the cleaning... my hands feel like dried cloth leow...

talking about engraving... anyone knows where to engrave cursive wordings??