(2002) Brides of year 2002

8030.gif

Hi Obride,

Mine is an international buffet thing at Chijmes Hall itself. I have about 24 tables. I have a few ideas including getting close friends to make speeches. Also thinking of getting friends to play some games / tricks on us. I might hire a band to play and get the guests to dance. FH and I are learning ballroom dancing now for that purpose. Also getting a group of singing friends of mine to sing a song for us. But that's about it. I'm not sure how entertaining it'll be. How about you? Any ideas?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene,</FONT>
what u mean gone?

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">go home lor... none of my biz lor....</FONT><FONT COLOR="aa00aa">c ya tmr....</FONT>

hi julia andrew,
thks. aiya, i really ok la. im not that weak. after venting the frustration, i really felt much better. i am so grateful that there is this forum with so many sweet ppl who has helped me so much along the way.

my mum usually have a lot of comments abt photos too but when i asked her last nite, she din say anything. maybe my album have the retro (aka old fashion) look, so my mum can accept. but nothing is perfect la. i like can already.

All you us must be so excited by now. For those who is celebrating it at 1st week of September, congratulation, 2 more weeks to go.

Just remember to have plenty of rest and sleep.

Not forgetting some preparation, the earlier you prepared, the less things you have nearer to the date.

Things that you can do now:

1. Pack for your honeymoon
2. Shop for your honeymoon (jacket etc etc)
3. Pack for your hotel stay
4. Food tasting
5. Meet the hotel coordinator
6. Meet your actual day photographer
7. Meet with your helper
8. Your day itenary should be ready
9. Get your wine if you are serving it
10.List down which acessories match which outfit
so that your helper can help you to check when
you are all dressed.
11.Make sure you have got all your angpow pac,
if pantang then you might want 2 do it after
7 months. Otherwise, u could do it now and
be ready for the day.
12.Put all your shoes for each gown together.
13.Meet up with your bridal shop to tie up detail
such as the flowers selection for bouquet and
cars.
14.Arrange table
15.RSVP at least 1 week b4 the wedding
16.check with your parents &amp; in law wether all
requirement have been bought. If can buy now,
settle now otherwise last minute can't find
very kancong.
17.Music for march in &amp; first dish
18.wedding favours
19.I think that's about all. Anything that I miss
pls let me know.

Take care &amp; be a happy bride.

Hi, gals!

Blossom - I think there's another bride Bleuz that is getting married on 7 Sep but I think she no longer comes in so count you as first

I read your posting in the other thread...dun be sad k? Maybe they are just jealous or just plain mean. As long as you and your hubby like it, it's worth it
My mum din like my pics too..say too artistics for her liking..even MIL says so too!! Haiz..

Cheer up! Be a beautiful bride on the 9th and shut them all up..hehehe

Julia - looks like our moms dun really know how to appreciate the modern wedding photography hor :P I thot your pics are very nice leh
Hey, thanks for the list! Really helpful
I am so impressed!!!

Jolene - A gathering is a gd idea! However, I dunno if all can meet before the wedding?? For me, weekends are out 'cos I had to run errands for the wedding as well as bring my dog for its obedience class so quite stretched during weekend. I am fine with weekday though...any one of you keen?

hi, folks! m back too!

been idling (wat's new!), coz i'm trying to take things slow... but i've done my second fitting already. just wondering, does anyone have any concerns abt not wearing corset? coz i'm not, but my friends has the opinion that i shd...said my posture wld be better &amp; so wld the gown.

actually, we're planning for a short trip after the wedding. think we need to be realistic coz we dint really save much. was actually contemplating hua hin or ko samui, etc. anyone got ideas?

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">bluechin</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="ff6000">my hubby say in the end RG surrendered... cos he said... oopsss.... better dun discuss here lah.. if not later "da jie da" blame me again... so i leak out... then she no need watch...</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">jowie</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">where u get the news that the mac donald's ah ma passed away?? so sad.. she looked so "ci xiang" leh...</FONT>

Hi Kat,
We have confirmed Melbourne as our honeymoon destination

Hi Blossom,
It is not possible to please everyone....but come to think of it, why bother to please them?? The photos are YOURS and so long as you and your hubby like it.....that's the most important

Hey Julia,
Thanks for compiling the list.... it is starting to make me nervous though.....

Blossom

hey dun bother wat ppl say abt the albums.
so long u n hubby like it can alreadi..coz its YOUR album mah...cheer up okie.

Kat22
Melbourne n Tasmania..good choice! i've been both place 2 yrs ago n enjoyed the trip very much.
we went F&amp;E.
i would encourage u to go F&amp;E...
its easy to travel around..n at ur own pace..
at Tasmania, make sure u go during the weekend..there's a Salamanca Market tat is only opened on Sat. (can't remember Sun opened or not)
lotsa stuff there..
n Great Ocean Road at Melbourne..must take more photos..coz the 12 apostles r simply breathtaking..eps if the whether is good.
trust me..the photos will rurn out very nice...aiyoh..a lot more places of interest to visit ah..ehehe
hope u'll enjoy ur trip!

Note : there's a Chan Brothers fair this Sun at Suntec..another SA(UIC) Tour on 1 Sep at Suntec also..i'll be going down to c the pkg for Japan trip.
btw, i have ordered fruit tarts for relatives.
havent tried the tarts but the cakes r nice..(one colleague gave Choz for his son's full mth)
the pkg (box) very nice n modern..like those coffeebean (carry) takeaway for cakes.

Julie
thanks for ur list...but hor..the more i c the more gan cheong i get.
maybe coz still got some havent settle.
hehehe

Me going to NZ too..
Going there for 9 days and 8 nites... concentrating on the south island only... we are going for the free n easy kind of tour. We actually got our air tickets and booked the land tours at GBC and I must say... we made the right choice !

Yup 3 more weeks to go... getting anxious and excited. Just had my hair trim today and facial yesterday. Will go for one more before my actual day but my beautician won't be doing much extraction for the next one. Still gotta decide when to go my nail extensions. Car decor and flowers more or less settled liao. Now... if I have the time.. will RSVP my frens and colleagues lor.

It's been a long time since I last posted in this thread. Have been following it though. The thread has been pretty quiet lately but now it's starting to liven up again. I guess everyone is excited about their day coming up so soon. Times really flies huh? Can still remember when the Sept brides thread started, the Big day seemed like so long time more to go but now it's round the corner.
Thanks,Julia, for your list of things to do. But it's definitely making me very Gan Cheong. Alot of things listed not done for me. Me haven't even Guo Da Li! My shoes for EG is also not bought. I have not even printed my church invites! For banquet invites, haven't collected the cards from the printer. I guess after the 7th month, I'll have lots of things to do. The only consolation I have is that my wedding day is end-Sept, so still got time to do?? Sigh... right now I'm in HK so quite difficult to settle some things. Will only return to S'pore on the 6th. After that, I think it'll be hectic while trying to finish all those things I need to do.
Chemson, if I remember correctly, you custom made your shoes from Leapin Lizards rite? How long did they need to have one made? How much did you pay? I was thinking if I can't find a suitable pair for the EG, I'll probably have it custom made but I'm afraid there won't be time since I'm coming back only 3 weeks b4 my wedding day.

angelia,
mee used to it already.... my boss's like this leh....in the end stayed back till almost 9pm.... not so bad....He was in a foul mood the whole of today till i finish the report.....He still can smile and tell me thanks!

Jowie,
Oh u can try this place..... very romantic too! supposed to be Singapore's top 10 romantic restaurant. Maison de Fontaine @ Chijmes. Nice place....!

In fact the restaurants in CHiJMes r relatively good..... can try them.

Jaslyn,
we can discuss this next week when the rest have watched the movie.....

Jas03,
i managed to have my ice cream....hubby was nice enough to meet up with me after work and brought me to eat ice cream @ Andersons in Parkway....*HAPPIE*

Angelia, I don't know whether is it the magazine style type. However, I think normally for such as understand from another colleague of mine, only need 40 pages. 60 is towards the extreme.

Personally, I find that pre-marital counselling (PMC) is good. Even if I am not having the PMC from the church, I will attend the one conducted by MCDS for a fee. At least it helps prepare us of what to expect and the possible issues that will be facing.

My work place is at Tampines, very near to my home. Offical knock-off time is 6pm. However, it is usually at around 7pm that I am able to leave provided no last minute issue to attend to. It will take about 45 mins to reach city hall by train, including walking time to the station.

I will try my best to be as early as possible.
Most likely will be joining for drinks/coffee instead of dinner.

angelia, got ur nov list, just in case u received bounced mail... but this week dun send jokes/big attachments to my account hor... not time to clear till weekend...

hi, ladies.. did not chat with you all during office hours but i made an effort to read all posting.

Angelia, i hv same mindset as you.. i bet wif my hubby that he will be unfaithful partner. and if he betray me in future, i will make life terrible for him by geting alimony from him ..
but if its other factors that cause our marriage to fail then , i wont be so nasty lor..

guess woman very vicious hor :P

so hv you confirmed your wedding favours?

wow, so many of u r going to nz n australia for honeymoon.

kat, i got mine fr choz n i received gd comments.
i got the one with cake n 8 tarts.

blossom, dun worry abt what other pple say lah. this wedding preps process has demonstrated to me once again that it's not possible to please everyone, so do ur best to please urself n hubby. dun ignore everyone's comments, but dun take them to heart.

julia, thanks for compiling the list.
additional things to add will be preparations for montage (if u r hving one), cleaning house/room (depending on whether u r staying with in-laws or not), confirming caterers n attendees for tea ceremony.

Hi, gals!

Cowie - how many days are you going? My FH and I just bought the latest lonely planet on "Australia"...we plan to do F&amp;E at Melb..hvnt decided if we want to join land tour at Tas...contemplating to do self-drive there. You doing F&amp;E? If you hvnt booked, you can drop by Jetabout Holidays at Cairn Plaza (behind Crown Prince Hotel)...they have lotsa info on Australia

Yvonne - Thanks for the advice!
Just nice...I think we will definitely be at Tas on Sat! We plan to depart on 24th and stay at Tas for abt 5-6 days...looks like we will depart for Melb on Sun then
Where did you stay in Melb?

och - Thanks! I placed an order with them over the phone yesterday...quite impressed with the convenience
The whole process is so simple! I chose "Precious Moments"- the one with one choc peanut butter cake and 8 assorted cakes/tarts.

Chemson - I heard South Island is nicer...more scenic...you made the right choice! You going to Serene to do the nail extensions? I think she is back

jellybeans - I can imagine it must have been tough for you to do all the wedding preps! Try to do your invites first...it is such a long and draggy process..calling frens, getting addresses, etc My FH joked that this is the toughest project he has ever done!

jellybeans: I think they are quite fast... I had another pair of shoes made at Leap'ng Lizards like week.. it is for work... next Wed is my shoes fitting and I believed it should be ready the week after. In all.. the turnaround time is around 3-4 weeks. They have an express service as well but you need to pay extra. The charges are $79 and above depending on the design and embellishments you want.

kat22: Yeah... was thinking of going to see Serene too..
When are you going? Also realised that on top of my nail extensions.. need to do my pedicure as well cos my shoes are open toes.. :P

hi blossom

not sure whether my case is worse off! Hv not taken my photos yet but just based on those taken using my camera, everyone i showed all complimented my hubby but NOT me!!! ;-((( sob sob.... his relative only praised him, same as my friends and the worst thing is that even my own brother also said that my hubby is more photogenic!!!! actually i do feel abit hurt cos this is the first time i see nobody complimented the bride!!!! but the funni thing is that i dont think i look that bad, in fact i find myself looking better in the photos than in real person. ;-( BUT HOW COME STILL NO ONE COMMENTED ON ME???!!! SIGN................

Hi Angelia and everyone,

Thanks for the invitation to join you in the gathering. I'll let you know on the day itself. Sorry.

Got some projects' dateline coming up, I hope to finish them before the gathering! Like that, I won't feel so guilty.

morning gals...

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">bluechin</FONT>
me oso like u last nite... worked until 8plus... so tired.. wat a xiong day...

this morning i come into office, email not working... haha... so no need work liao...
8055.gif
ok lor, we'll discuss next week when the rest have seen this show....

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">irene</FONT>
oh! i have not been reading the papers for quite some time.. so dunno whether got good news bad news... really so pity... miss her macdonald's ad

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">gals... i'm going to miss the fun... Chin Leng might be joining u gals for this gathering... must take picture k?</FONT>

hello, hello,

who's serene? i'm looking for pple to do manicure n pedicure as well, since my shoes r also open-toe.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff"><FONT FACE="courier new">
Date : 27 August, Tuesday
Venue: Ponderosa @ City Hall #02
Time : 6.30pm - 7.00pm

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Nickname</FONT> --------- <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Coming?</FONT>
===========================
Angelia ---------- Yes
Aprmin ----------- (hv class, will join ard 9+)
Berlinelee ------- (confirm when date nearer)
Bluechin --------- Yes
Canfused --------- (try to meet up later)
Cherly ----------- Yes
Chin Leng &amp; Wife - (to confirm)
Dance40 ---------- Yes
Jas03 ------------ Yes (will confirm again, mth end, might be bz)
JasTan ----------- Yes (will be late)
JenJen ----------- Yes
Jowie ------------ Yes
Miko ------------- Yes (will confirm again, mth end, might be bz)
Mint ------------- Yes
Ohno ------------- Yes
Pooh23 ----------- Yes
Starfruit -------- Yes
<FONT COLOR="119911">
Angeline --------- No (overload wif work)
Jaslyn ----------- No (niece bday)
Mandie ----------- No (star cruise)
Nikki ------------ No (hv class) </FONT>
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">
11 <= Yes
04 <= Tentatively Yes, confirm when date nearer
02 <= Join later
04 <= No </FONT>
<FONT COLOR="119911">
a fren of mine (Oct Paris bride) might be joining us after her badminton session... i asked her to bring her 3R album only as she said her 18R too heavy liao.. maybe next time then i ask her to bring her 18R album.. kekeke..
</FONT></FONT></FONT>

It’s been a long time since I’ve last posted but I’ve been around and reading all the postings. It’s kinda scary that after all those mths of planning that our weddings are just 2-4 wks away…. Not sure how you gals are feeling… me kinda stressed and kan cheong and maybe just a little apprehensive.

Hi cowie: I’d be going to melbourne for my honeymoon as well. When will u be leaving? I’d be leaving on 15th sept and spending a week there. Want to share your plans? I’d be going f&amp;e and still haven’t made any bookings other than having bought the air tix…sigh…

Was just wondering if my fiance will have to bring anything over to my place on the morning of our wedding. Anyone can advise?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">aprmin</FONT>
that's why there's this chinese proverb "zui du fu ren xin" mah...

wedding favours... hiaz.. another headache.. prob do without lah, saves all trouble &amp; $$$

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jastan,</FONT>
hmmmmm.. prob the bridal boutique out to "kertop" me lor... that's why tell me 60 pix..

wah.. u so far near to home but a bit far from town, kekeke.. okie lor.. so we see u abt 8pm rite?!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
wah, u so on ah.. go home &amp; immed. log on..

okie lah, at least still smile at u..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jaslyn,</FONT>
so.. meaning u very "eng" now izzit?

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">this time i oso wanna bring my cheap cheap digital camera to go play with... kekeke...</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">angie</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">ya lor.. now veri eng... cos without emails... cannot work... somemore no report to do.. and no emails... so now flipping thru diary.. see got wat haven't do lor...</FONT>
8060.gif
8061.gif
8062.gif

no lah.. just that when it reaches 100 days... me so panic lor... time running veri fast leh....

ya lor.. comes Sept, we'll all get very bz liao.. me still gotta squeeze a wkend trip to Seremban, then KL to get my si dian jin, cos MIL giving me ringgit...

bleuz: Great to hear from you again... yeah 2-3 weeks more to go... so scary !!!I was told that he needs to bring a tray of oranges and an ang pao on top. Depending on the dialect group... the roasted pig may be delivered on the actual day as well.

och: Serene is from Nail Arts..

har??? still gotta go msia get ur si dian jin ah? u mean gold or u replacing with platinium? then u'll be gng for your "prehoneymoon" oso rite??? wah... u really gonna get veri busy leh...

dun think i'll get si dian jin... cos i dun like gold.. oredi told my MIL, Mother and some others that if they want get jewellery for me, dun get gold but get platinium lor... but best to give ang pao.. hee hee... but think those older folks will still buy gold for me... ***SIGH*** nvrmind lah.. can keep and wait till the gold price shoot up then sell away... hee hee... i veri bad hor? ppl give me then i sell...

hey chemson, thanks. do u know her charges? n what do u think of her manicures?

bleuz, i was told that he will hv to bring a red packet (diaper angbao) for my mum, to thank her for bringing me up.

Hi, gals

Chemson - I plan to go down two days b4 my wedding..will be on leave from 19th onwards so can pop by in the afternoon
Yup, me hv to do pedicure too as all my shoes are open-toed

och - Serene is the owner of Nail Arts at Shaw
She has a thread here as well
Went to her once to try out her skills and thot her skills for french manicure are much better than K Nails. The colours are prettier too..very sweet pastel pink with off-white tip

bleuz - hello! sorry..din know you are still around..

we call si dian "jin" lah.. but i'll be buying whitegold (wif diamonds) lah.. prob difficult to get platinium (wif diamonds) jewellery &amp; will be more expensive. think most diamond jewellery are set in whitegold.

no choice lor, if not, what am i to do with the ringgit?! already short of SIN $$, can't be accept ringgit from MIL, then i fork out SIN $$ to buy si dian jin in SIN rite? hiaz..

i oso told my mum to get whitegold + diamond instead for my dowry, but she said cannot!! okie lor... since they give then i take lor.. later if dun like, then do like u say lor, but i won't sell lah, prob exchange for whitegold wif diamonds items lor..

juz hope this so-called "pre-honeymoon" trip won't dry my pocket lor..

hi happy98,
dun think urs is that bad becos i felt the same when i see the photos i took myself. but when i see the samples, there is really a great difference. so u cant jump to conclusion yet.
for my case, no one complimented my fh but they pass negative remarks abt both of us .... no compliments is still better that negative remarks... although fooling ourselves la but that's more hurting actually... it's like personal attacks leh.

hey bluez,
u r back! u the the first among us.
im 2nd.... 2 days after u. i also feel rather stressed and lost... cant really accept that it's finally here...

angelia...the last time i went to msia my MIL also ask me to go see gold wif her...i told her no need lor, put into ang bao hehee but she a bit insist, mayb when she come to SG before the wedding we go find, i prefer SG jewellery

i received a beri good news, previously, my FH family come to SG we have to fork out RM1000 per person for airtix, now my BIL found a special promo flying to JB then come SG, onli RM300+!!! for 6 persons, we save almost S$2K! so happy!