(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Matty,

To upload photos into the forum, just use the following code:

\image{Type Any Text Description}

After you've previewed your message and clciked "Post Message", the system will then prompt you to browse your PC for the file to upload. Please note that the file size should not be more than 50 KB.

Hi Julia,
Me the lazy one....will just use the ang pow boxes provided by the hotel

Hi Aileen,
Uhm... what do you mean by appt? I did e-filing for my ROM in feb. We just went into the website and selected the date and time slot which we wanted (provided it is still available).... just have to go down to ROM anytime before the actual day to verify documents....

hey girls, i have a stupid qn: do u wear your wedding rings for photoshoot, is it funny if we do not, bcos we have not bought ours yet, and we want to get it closer to wedding?

Hi obride,

me did but usually not dat obvious unless photographer need a close up on yr hand!

Jas, thanks for yr advise!

Hi Aileen,

I e-filed my ROM date as well.... I dun understand what do you mean by appt. For us, we just efiled and verified our docs ast the registry before the actual date itself. You can verify your docs at the registry on the day itself but abit of rush lor.
Speaking of ang pao boxes... Have set aside two boxes for the angbaos... will probably buy really nice wrapping paper to wrap them.. :P

Hi gals!! I'm going for manucure and pedicure tonight at Hollywood Secrets...
Tomorrow having my studio photoshoot... hehehe...

Wah lau... tok about job ah?? If not for all my commitments like reno, flat and wedding... I would have just ciao leow...

Irene & JenJen,

seems like many ppl wants to leave their job as soon as economy picks up.....

JenJen,

Isn't this your 2nd round of photoshoot? R u excited?

Hi jenjen,

that's what i'm thinking too.....

Hi bluechin,

No choice. Though most company have the same politic problems or boss problem, I think of all companies that I've work before, this is the worst.
If boss has a sense of responsibility or 'zi zhi zi ming' not so bad. But him, even though he holds a ACCA and a MBA but it seems like he don't know anything. And worst, he likes to bull so much.
I remember got once he ask me about my exam. I told him straight, now the papers diff from past.
Last time, 1 subject, 1 paper. Now, 2 or 3 subject in 1 paper. Ever since, he dare not ask about my ACCA and say if you don't know you can ask me.

Irene

Hi Obride,

are u referring to the ROM wedding bands? if yes, then i did put on when i took our wedding photos. But if u are referring to the wedding rings, then i did not, as i am oni wearing it during the actual wedding day when my FH come & fetch me
!!!

But i agree wif Sancai, is tat the ring will so insignificant in the photos as u will be wearing other costume jewellery too & no one will take notice of ur hand oso unless the photographer is taking a close-up on it. So dun worry too much.

Juz relax & rest enuf for ur shoots will do liao. Most imptly, is ur beautiful & natural smile....
!!! Have fun & enjoy!!! When is PS? & which studio did u book ur package wif???

Hi obride
I wore my wedding ring during the PS but not my FH coz he left it at home. He is not allowed to wear any accessories at work. I agreed with the others that it is not essential to have the wedding rings with u. Unless u want to take the magazine type of album with only the wedding shoes or the pair of wedding rings taken together.

Hi Jas
Thanks for the great infor. Another Qn is : Are we supposed to give the grandparents ang pow as well on both guo da li and wedding day? If yes, how much ah? My mum and relatives mentioned that we need not give my In-laws angpow on the Guo Da Li day but i find it awkward to tell in-laws leh. Think just give lor.

I just know that ROM is now giving the marriage cert in a silver metal casing instead of the typical chi-na orange casing. Do u think we can buy from ROM the new kind? I saw at the kalms' shop, they are selling at eighty plus or ninety plus..can't remember.Anybody got any idea?

Cowie

i saw the ang bao boxes provided by MM during the food tasting..its very nice..ivory colour.
but one problem is tat its quite small..its like a 'slim retangular' box..
my FIL even said tat if we r using tat..must get quite a few from MM!

i'll be meeting Pauline on 10 Aug to discuss the details.

girlgirl/och
may i noe ur dialect group? must have lamps?
i m a hokkien..n i asked my mom abt that..she said should have but i think she say can do away with it.
my dad even more 'funny' he said last time when ppl got married they will get someone to sleep with the couple for the 1st nite..
goodness..i can't believe this kinda practise! hehehe

one question for the Guo Da Li
mine is Long Feng Zhu, oranges and also the canned pig leg...my side will return the guy side one of the candle n some oranges n my MIL requested a pair of trousers for my hubby (he is cantonese)
my dad says we (girl side) need to give cakes to the relatives while 'distributing' the cards.
is it a must? my dad requested for a lot of cakes leh..he said must give..if not ppl will say things..

Hi crayon2512,

me too like the new metal casing so much ...
thought of buying from ROM provided if they sells ... guess we ROM a bit early if not we can get it ... hehehe ....

So ladies if you know where to get it pls keep us inform. Thanks in advance!

okie thanks girls,..... but jas, u bring up aother qn in my head... is there a difference between ROM rings and wedding rings?

My PS is on Aug 17, with Bridal Zone. 3.5 weeks to go....

My mum is a teochew and my dad is a hokkein.. but mainly following my mum's dialect.. not too sure abt the red lamps too.. all I know... that the nite before we have switched on the bedside table lamps for the whole nite. I know that for the girl side.. must give cakes lor.. but we are very simple.. doing away with the entire guo da li to save the trouble and time of having to deliver the cards and cakes to relatives.. :P

Hi Blossom,
Yes, can check with the hotel with regards to that

Do agree with you that the boxes look kinda small. But I think that will force your parents and in-laws to empty the ang paos from the boxes periodically..... not too safe to leave all the ang paos there anyway....
Will be getting 2 boxes from MM.... one for each side
Have met up with my co-ordinator on Sat already

As for the lamp, from my understanding, it is to be turned on on the wedding day itself. That is during the day when you go into the bridal bedroom. The lamp is to be on throughout that day and night, I think. Yes, my parents will be getting cakes from my in-laws also, but the number of boxes is just restricted to immediate relatives and those so-called elder than my dad.... Cos must remind your dad that if he takes so many boxes, he must finish distributing them within 2 days of the Guo Da Li leh....

hi bluechin & dance40... aiyoh... work is so "..." dun say leow lah...

yah, it's my second PS, quite excited lah... coz I prefer the style of this photographer mah... hope they will come out nice... becoz they return all the samples to us...

hi yvonne,

yep, the lamps r a traditional requirement. their significance is to remind the bride of her maternal home.
the lamps r quite cheap n the bride's parents send the lamps over as part of dowry (during guo da li), along with a bunch of other stuff. hee hee, i dun think pple follow all the traditions anymore. so long as all parties involved r ok with the arrangements, i think it's fine to skip some.

cakes r traditionally involved. the guy has to provide the cakes during guo da li. we r only distributing cakes to immediate relatives, so we cut down some costs there.

Hi Ladies....

Can I know where can we get the lamps as well??? Is it red colour???

Loreal

Hello gals!

Julia - I plan to make my own hongbao box as well
Will be making 1 only 'cos we will be keeping the money. Going to get the box from spotlight and just get it nicely wrapped. I saw some really nice boxes at Spotlight
How abt yourself?

Loreal - I saw the lamps at this shop at BeautyWorld shopping centre at Bukit Timah. The shop name is called Minah and I think it's located on the 1st or 2nd floor. The shop sells many stuff for weddings, eg teapot set, angchuan stuff, guo da li stuff, etc. Yes, the lamps are red in colour and are battery-operated.

och - i read in the wine thread that you got your wine from this wine place at sunset way. Did you get the Australian wine? Me plan to drop by the place since we can order by consignment. As my FH and I are not really in wines, is the shop owner gd at recommending??

hi girls

thanks for ur reply.
hhm...will ask my mom abt the lamps.

one more thing since Cowie mentioned it.
u said the lamps r to be 'on' the whole day in the bridal room..but hubby dun intend to go to our new hse on the wedding day leh.
i asked if we have to go..n he said..no need to go..since its juz go there, rest etc then go to hotel..might as well check in hotel earlier to rest.

well, Loreal, there is a shop at Marina Sq. tat sells bridal stuff..saw some nice lamps there..drop by n have a look if u need one.

hey girls,

did u receive my email on the free poster thingy? anyone interested? we might call the girl..since its FOC.

Thanks for the input. Me beary lazy...will try to check with GH. If they don't hv then got no choice but to make myself!

Hv u gals collected your photos yet. must share ok.

Dear Obride,

for me, i have a pair of wedding bands for the ROM purposes. But my FH had bought a simple diamond ring to be given to me on the actual wedding day, when he come to fetch me. On tat day, he will put the ring on for me after he unveil me. But the ring is for me oni, not for him
!!! i guess is bcoz bride need to be pretty, then FH got "face" mah!!!

How abt the rest of the gals? Anibody is practicing the same tradition as me?

Dear Crayon2512,

for wat i m practicing, is tat i will b giving angbaos to my grandparents on the actual day for tea-ceremony. & then for my in-laws, during the GUODALI, when my FH bring along the pingjin, my mum is going to take some $$$ out & then repack it to another angbao back to them. My mum neber request the exact amt to be given to her, she juz ask my MIL to give her a token will do. So she need to see how MIL give, then she shall return back some $$$. Well, tis is wat we r going to practice.

Actually, there is no definite practices but more of like to see which practice is of more convenient to u..... & of coz the dialect u are in.... So not to worry lah...

I’ve just crossed over fm “Banquet” thread coz JenJen mentioned me abt u gals (Nov brides)… mine’s oso in end Nov. got very excited reading all your postings re PS, Guo Da Li, …and work (not so exciting hor…)
but I not as prepared as u all leh… just finished my PS and now arranging for food tasting in “Hungry Ghost Festival” … dunno can or not… dun sound auspicious leh… what’s shd be next har? Heard you have a list of Nov Brides contacts… do u all have a list too?

Hi JenJen,
Wow… u got 2 PS!!!!…. y u wan 2? I oso scared BZ dun turn out nice… my EG abit obiang…

Hi Canfused,

Welcome to Nov Thread.....

Yes, we have a Nov Brides List and it's compiled by angelia....

I'm also not prepared for the wedding.... just taking my own sweet time....hee...

For myself, i dun see why i can't have food tasting during the seventh month and of course this is very individual and depends on whether u pantang......

Which shop at Marina Sq? And nope, I didn't receive your mail leh..... If need my e-mail address just click on my name

As for the lamp, you may want to ask the elders how to go about it. If they all say no need to since you will not be going to your new house, then......no hard and fast rule lah

hi Obride,

no lah, mine is beri simple one lah
!!! U shld ask ur FH one too. Wedding & ROM is two different events, so shld have 2 different rings for the purposes mah!!!

Thanks Bluechin,
izit the email address above by angeline? ([email protected] )if so, i will email her later tonight...

i hope i have my "own sweet time" leh... seems like time passing by so fast... wedding march in songs just crossed my mind... c how as it comes...

me knocking off soon

talk to u gals again... glad to know frens in Nov brides :>

Long time never post in, only read the mails. this coming friday is oso my PS liao... but quite worry of the weather. these few days seems to rain a lot specially in the afternoon... now pray for the lao tian ye to zhou mei liao... hv not go for manicure or even book. dunno where to go for it. The Nail Arts at Shaw Tower is too far from my pl.

Hi bluechin, do you have any pics uploaded?? Actually I have already chosen my pics with paris... unfortunately (as I have mentioned to Dance40) they are not up to my expectations... the first hour we spent there, only choose a few... finally, we decided to start picking everything that we can accept and luckily manage to hit the minimum number... basically, I dun think it's that bad lah... it's just that some tiny details in each pic make us unhappy and we dun want to choose them... btw, did u request the samples back from them?? if not how to scan them??

Hi Canfused, I think I will like BZ's style so not very worried that their pics dun turn nice... ur EG obiang?? Why?? Mine very nice leh... I like mine very much... I will be going there tomorrow for studio PS... will you mind me asking Linda to show me ur EG?? But u have to tell me ur inv number so that she will know who I am talking about... :p

Canfused, it's not Angeline who keeps the list... It's Angelia (angph38)... you can email her at [email protected] your details so that she can update your info... you will need to tell her ur name, ROM date, Customary date, hotel, bridal shop, dates of photoshoots, HP number and email...

hi kat,

i'm ignorant abt wines too.
they hv a range of wines, i got australian ones. all we did was to tell them we wanted the wines for weddings n depended on their recommendations.

hi cowie,

it's the wedding gift shop. there r shops in chinatown that sells the lamps, a little cheaper than wedding gift shop.

EH! so me not so slow after all hor?

can i check if any one has comments for digital vs film photography? looks like a lot of photographers going towards digital cameras. does anyone know if its more costly to develop digital pictures?

oh, flowy..u got your dinner venue yet? what abt the flower deco? btw, is any one having a church wedding? i wld like to compare notes on how much i shd budget for deco for the church as well...

hi twinkleflo! z BIG DAY's on 6/12...wat abt yours? and how are your preps getting along? desperately need to share notes with someone!

oh yeah! i wanna see the pictures too! can share?

thanks ya!

Chanced upon this thread as I needed help with actual day photographer who can take journalistic pictures??? Can anyone recommend me theirs?? Am budget constrain anyone with good lobang??

Hey baydec,

I'm having a church wedding. eh.. but ah... my wedding deco's quite X. think it won't b a good gauge for u.
so far I heard church deco price is like $700 - $1k

digital vs film
erm.. I find film the color's nicer. but I dunno if digital'll b as good after you work on the image.
film can scan into digital.
digital can never become film.

so baydec, how far have u gone?

oh forgot to comment on the cost of digital and film.

developing cost is higher for digital. and it's not as common as film.
however, an adv of digital is that it's easier to store.
film mayb scratched during processing and dust specks can stick on it. so must be stored w care.

Cowie

u've got mail.
sorry, i copied Chemson's email list..but i think not all the brides here..

the shop is at the 2nd level of Marina Sq, beside a CD shop (i think)
oh ya..och has mentioned..
i think i saw a shop in Chinatown tat sells bridal stuff too..ya loh..price may b cheaper..

Hi 2 of us

there r a lot of photographers who can take journalistic photos..u can find them under the main page > photography services
erm..like Hilarion Goh, Benny Ang, Choon Huat..etc.
gota c wats ur budget loh...

btw, r u a Sep bride also?

Sorry, I won't be able to log on during office hrs.

Yes, we wore our wedding rings during the photoshoot. Felt it would be more significant, of course it's up to individuals, cos if you haven't bought ure rings, and then decided to wear one for ure photoshoot which is near, you will feel "stressed" to find a nice one, and if you can't find one, you might settle for something less.. generally, I think it is ok to do away with it.

Errr.. dun think I got your email ??? Maybe you wanna try sending again ???

Hi 2 of us,

There are a lot of actual day photographers around.. guess you gotta start sourcing for one soon... are u a sept bride as well ?

hi Gals,

Sorry to disappear for some time, very busy with my work ,paisey hor

Bluechin,

i will be chossing my pics tomolo evening coz Jennifer is on one month leave, i dun want Andrew so she arrange her lady boss to help me with my selection & she's only available on weekday! Sorry i cant meet up with u liao

So, have they called u up to select your pics??