(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Pegsfur,
Heehee....... you bio my postings huh!!!
. ACtually I at times also bio yours leh

For my case, the day wedding goes smoothly except that when we go back to our new hse for tea ceremony, a lot of things not prepared yet and we got to wait in the living room for his mom to get the things prepared. I was like keeping my cool to the max. telling myself it's my big day and I cannot be angry.

Then at nite the seating arrangement goes all heywire. His family was later than all their friends and relatives. My hubby don know most of them. So when they arrive, my hubby was like don know who is who. Best part is the names list provided by his sis doesn't tally wif the names they read out. So can you imagine??? My hubby was like going to burst. Then the their relatives go in anyhow sit separate tables so we got to shift thm b4 the dinner start. A bit 'diu1 lian3' lah

Tehn my parents was like 'bei3 song4' becos his mom is the host and she din even mingle wif girls side red table. Then at the end of the dinner 'suan' my mom. Hai...... Then the sis din even congrat me, din buy gifts and no ang bao. Jsut bring the whole family here to eat. B4 all my guest left, his mom and sister left 1st. Only my family side stay to say thks to the rest of the guest.

Wow, lots of complaints hor....

My ah yees prepared tuna bread which my hubby will puke when he eats them. They force him to eat, say ten reasons when he wans to marry me and to give them ang bao till they satisfied. Then he was force to knel down and propose to me b4 he can unveil me. Heehee.... quite fun loh

I just develop my fotos yesterday. Me don hav scanner so don think I will upload in this forum.

Ya about KL, I love the place. Normally I go to KLCC (the twin tower). But they sell most of the branded stuff there, so I normally din buy anything there unles there is great sale. There's once I went wif Mango having sale. I really buy till 'xiao' but this time don have liao.

Then there's this Sungei Wang. The things there are cheaper. I normally manged to buy a lot from there (me only buy cheap stuff in KL
) Around there have more shoppingin other nearby buidings.

Then is the 'qi3 cheong2 gai1', their Chinatown. I love the food there...... sting ray, lala, porridge, fried noodles. They have the pasat malam there also.

Another big shopping mall call Mega Mall. A lot of things there too.

Those are the places I frequent when I am in KL. So when you going? by coach? for how long?

Joker

Hiyee!

My wedding falls on the last sunday of the month. Could I be the last one...hmm?

I personally think that our wedding banquet is for our parents. My Dad has lots of 'concerns' with regards to our wedding venue & banquet....about the food, the type of wine, the no. of table he gets, the guest list and where his guests will be sitting.....although my FH is paying for everything. If I've a choice, I'll just have a simple & memorable solemnization ceremony, witnessed by close friends & relatives, followed by a luncheon/tea buffet.....

Well, I've already come to accept it and trying to enjoy every bit of it.....telling myself that it is a 'once-in-a-lifetime' kind of thingy.

The places that I've been to for outdoor shoots are Telok Blangah Hill and the river/bridge next to Zouk, actually the latter is not our choice, but cos' it's quite near to Telok Blangah Hill.....not particular about it cos' I don't really enjoy the outdoor as much as the indoor. I find the indoor very, very fun & interesting though, enjoyed it very much with the different makeover & poses...ha, ha, abit vain hor...

cheers,
hippo

Sheep:
Same Again! Me also prefer not too high due to comfortability and appearance with my FH. Yep, I've visited but only posted to find out where is Substance. Other than that, i don't know anything. So Sorry!
Til now, nobody tell me where's Substance. Not too high shoes is really difficult to find, I will keep you informed too! Thanks!
Who knows we might end up going to the same shop and buy the same shoe....!!!
"Xiao Liao"

Hi Elaine,

Thanks 4 your info for Fullerton Hotel. Maybe 1 of these days, I'll go down personally to take a look at the scenery outside the hotel. I didn't book with Fullerton, thus, like wat u say, I can't photos inside the hotel.

Hi Angeline,

Yap, one would look fuller when in photograph.
I also like something sweet & elegant. Maybe one which is sweet and gentle. And one which is elegant and glamour.

What you think?

Irene

Hi Lazy Piggy,
I think Elaine has given a very clear answer on your questions.
So when's your wedding, july?

Hi Mo, you're welcome, I hope you're enjoy your photography as much as I do.

Hi Hippo,
Glad to see you hear again, Hrmmmm. dso you're the last July brides here, I suppose. So how's the rest of the preparations.
In fact We went to 3 locations for outdoor photography, me vain too.... It's was very tiring, but the results are rewarding.

Cheers:
carol

hi Irene,

Not a bad idea, look sweet sweet in the day while look elegant in the nite

Can let Jennifer know what we want so that she can design something similar to our needs

Joker,

Har??? U also bio my postings? Hehehe ...

I think it's hard to have a PERFECT wedding lah ... no matter how detail u prepare, sure got last-minute-things happen one ... actually I same as u leh, but it is my parents' side ... they were not prepared when we went back for tea ceremony ... candles not lit, didn't prepare tea-pot, didn't get anyone to pour the tea for the ceremony ....

Hahaha... yup, the tekan session is the best part which is why I'm longing to see the VCD
... but the videographer said wld only be ready by next week ... gotta wait lor ...

Oh yes, we were actually thinking of going KL by train leh cos we never took a train b4 ... hehe... sua kuh lah ...

But don't know where to buy tickets leh ... My hotel is Century Noveltel I think it's near the bus station ... any idea those places u mentioned is near the hotel or not?

Btw, how r the things there priced? Like maybe we can get shoes for abt $20 - $70 in S'pore, how abt those in KL? Things cheaper or abt the same?

Ya loh, it's not easy for a perfect wedding but really glad it's all over. Now got to concentrate in our new life wif hubby
. So how's yr life wif yr MIL? Me enjoying 2 person leh, realy scare his mother wan to come & stay wif us.

Me also looking 4ward to our VCD. But hor, tat time my ROM his friend took 2 mths to give me, now wedding day I think got to wait for hald a yr liao la

Not sua ku la, me also never been on train b4 except MRT
But you know how long by train? It took me 5 hrs by coach leh

Hmm..... Century Noveltel..... near bus station meh??? As far as I know, only Impiana and Malaya Hotel near Puduraya bus station. If Century is near bus station, then the 'qi cheong gai' is near there too. If you take a cab to the rest of places, it cost less than $5. It's better to give them exact becos they will act blur if you give them big notes. Furthermore, not worth offending them since we are foreigner.

'qi cheong gai' pasat malam things got to bargain as usual. As for the things there, a lot say ex but I feel it cheaper than Sin. I can get quite a nice top(t-shirt malt) at about 10RM. thos shiry malt can get at about 29RM. Of cos it varies also becos me only go for cheap things. For shoes, can also get cheap ones la. It really depends. Leather shoes I bought 1 pair at 99RM, those slip-on soft leather. I find it quite cheap loh

Hope the info help.

So intend to go when?

Joker

Hi LMF,
Oh! Poor thing! Nobody tell you where's Substance huh???
It's at Wheelock Place, above borders. Take the escalator to the 2nd floor, walk straight, you'll see Substance. Taka carries Substance's shoes too. It's near the Nine West section. You may want to check it out! If you're looking for beaded mules, Substance may have what you want. And if you buy from Substance, and I too buy from them,
Hahaha! We may be wearing the same shoe on the same day!!!

Hi Sheep,
Thanks for your info. Will go there to see see look look. Don't intend to spend too much on shoes as I at least have to buy 2 shoes. 1 for WG and another for kwa. Must buy 2 at one shot, "money not enough"! Do you think silver crystal shoes match well for white colour gown and dark blue evening gown? Don't know is it necessary to buy 3rd pair to match my EG?

Btw, have you been to OG in Waterloo Street? They have a wide range of ladies shoes. Think i will go there again to hunt thoroughly.

Hi LMF,
Me too! Have to buy at least 2 shoes. 1 for WG and 1 for EG + cheongsam. I think the silver shoes matches perfectly with your blue evening gown. Silver can also go with your Kwa if the embroideries consists of silver. As for the WG, I can't really picture. Most of the time, our shoes are hidden under the WG. I think should be fine. I'll be buying 1 for my WG, I'll get another pair to match my purple EG. My cheongsam colour will depend on the 2nd pair of shoes.

No, not been to Waterloo OG. Will try that one of these days! Thanks!

Sheep: If it really can go well with my EG, then i'll probably need to buy 2 shoes. As for my kwa, don;t really remember is it silver embroideries. If i'm not wrong, it's gold colour rather than silver. Better check it out before i buy. What colour is your cheongsam? What colour shoes do you intend to buy to suit your EG and cheongsam?

You're welcome!
If you know any good places, must let me know too!

Hi Angeline,

Yap.
I let her know that i want a contrast for the day and night. And she let me try two type of colour range, light for the day and strong for the night.

Irene

Irene,

im oso thinking of choosing dark colour for my EG, my WG will be white

Next appointment must have a good talk with Jennifer, must explain clearly to her what i want

Angeline,

yap, must speak to her and let her know what you actually want. My WG is ivory cos i don't suit white. And my evening is blue (my favourite colour).
She let me try many colour but end up i still stand out in blue.

Irene

Irene,

sama sama leh, my Fh saw a blue colour EG, he liked the colur very much, wanted me to choose blue as my EG, but i told him i have to try our other colours too inorder to see which colour suits me best

will keep u update

Chemson - hehehe...notice from another thread that u are planning to buy mattress
Decided on the Backcare 4 oredi or still looking around?? Me bought my Felicity liao...delivery in May
me very ks hor...hahaha

Sheep - me plan to hv kids in 2004...b4 i hit 30...so me only got 1 yr of er ren shi jie...sigh :P

Julia - hey i think Sheep's suggestion is quite gd..hv ur own kids so your MIL will hv no time to look after so many...:P Meanwhile ren lor...no pt affecting the relationship with ur hubby...maybe u two can go out more often or even hv a weekend getaway at some hotels or chalets and get away from all these unhappy things

Angeline,

Sure, want bring me along? :P
just joking.

Must try as many as you can, anyway, she'll let u try a lot. I tried more than 10 that day I think.

So many till i lost count.

Irene

Hi Kat22,

Yep... me set on getting a Simmons mattress but it's either the Backcare 4 (cos it's having a promo at Homemakers Exhibition) or the Beautyrest range... but I quite like Felicity but it's quite ex.. did you get it for $2,499 for the king sized... or was it queen sized.. how much did you pay for Felicity?

I'm Grace just joined the Sep02 bride gang.
I just booked my wedding banquet with Regent and going to shop for my gown soon.

Wedding Date: 28th Sep 2002
Banquet: Regent
Bridal Package: Not decided yet, choosing between Flamingo and J&C Bridal.

Maybe need some advice what I sd be doing in e next 6 months.
Hope to get to know all of ya!

Hi, Chemson

Me got the queen size one...paid $1899 with citibank credit card so got a 5% discount plus 12 mth interest-free instalments
The instalment plan makes the deal worthwhile lor as i dun hv to cough up so much at one go

Backcare 4 shld be quite gd too although personally i think simmons is more well-known for its beautyrest range. Hving said that, the most impt thing is u must feel comfortable sleeping on it
Dun worry..still got time...who knows..maybe the great singapore sale will offer u a much better deal!!!

GRACE !!! Welcome Welcome... do you have an email account? Would like to send you a profile of all the brides-to-be in this thread? Don't worry... feel free to consult or seek our advice.. we will try to help you..
Oh yes.. do confirm your actual day photographer cos September will be a hot month !!

Hey Kat22,

Thanks for the information. Cos my hubby suffered a slip-disc during his army days.. therefore.. need a good mattress for his back..
I actually like the beautyrest range but what to do...
Yep.. crossing my fingers that there is a sale for this range.. but I need to get my mattress soon.. cos hubby may be travelling again in May. Not much time you see..

Chemson - wah...ur hubby bery busy hor..flying here n there
dun u miss him..hehehe
Hmm...in that case..think Backcare4 shld be very gd for ur hubby's spine...but wont it be too hard for u?

Grace - gd to see u here! wah..u managed to bk ur venue at Regent now har...very gd leh...some venues are oredi fully booked when i asked in Dec!

Hi Angeline and Irene, I initially had a package with Paris, but after trying some of their gowns, I was not too impressed... So I changed the deposit I paid to a photoshoot package lor... you havent' answered my qn leh... when should I make appointment for my photoshoot??

Hi Kat22,

Cos of my hubby's schedule...That's why we had to get our renovations done up early...and therefore we need to settle our furnishings.. he will be back again this weekend.. and we hope to go and confirm the mattress... I actually tried the Backcare 4... I quite like it... of course.. nothing compares to Beautyrest and I was reading abt the non-flip mattress.... I think your model Felicity has it, right? Clarify with you.. is it a neccessity to have a non-flip mattress?

Hi, Chemson

Yup, Felicity is a non-flip mattress...no lah..dun think it is a necessity lor...most of the mattresses are not non-flip anyway
...just that it is a nice feature as we do not hv to flip our mattress every now and then to maintain it...well, think Beautyrest series oso hv firmer ones...maybe u like to go to the Simmons showroom to find out abt the differences...hey, u can drop by the new Simmons BetterSleep Store at Furniture Mall...if u still like the Backcare4...go for it! U prob only need to flip it once in 3 to 6 mths...so not really a hassle lor

saw postings on KL...can I chip in?? I luv KL 2. I usually stay in Century Hotel (now change name to Century Novotel?). This hotel is within walking distance to the shopping centre. Can take a cab to KLCC for abt RM3
or walk there for abt 20 mins. This hotel is also within walking distance to the bus station.

You can buy train tickets on the day of departing itself at Tanjong Pagar Railway Station. The tickets costs abt SGD34 per person (sitting). The train is clean and air-conditioned. But the journey is very long, abt 6-7 hrs. I think there is 3 trips to KL per day. One in morning, one in the afternoon and one at night (11pm+).

Once you reach KL, you can proceed to the ticket counter to purchase train tickets back. One 2nd class ticket cost abt RM34. The 1st class one cost abt RM64. Not much difference btw 1st and 2nd class if you ask me.

Try taking train to KL is quite an experience, really. If you want cheaper tickets, buy & board the train at JB (near City Sq).

Hi Irene and Angeline,

Seems I have missed out quite a lot of things. Anyway, had my 2nd appointment. Have settle the MTM WG & EG, both design are more towards elegant.

I have choosen ivory for WG, design is off-shoulder with some covering over the arms, simple embodiery around waist and bottom of the WG with long train.

The EG will be A-line and I intend to use fabric with double-colour (blue/purple). I will confirm with them the fabric when the designer has got the sample. I go for dark colour. The EG will be much simpler than WG. Will decide what design to sew on at the later stage.

Hope the result of the WG and EG will turn out to be good.

By the way, I have paid additional of $800 deposit.

My next appointment will be on 25th May 2002 for the trial makeup and selection of P-S WG and EG. I intend to have chinese traditional and japanese or victorian custom costume.

Kat,

Do u know what the different between Apex and Felicity mattress? Apex is also under Beautyrest category right? so what's the differen leh?

Irene,

i oso tried alot of gowns ard 15 - 20 till i lost count too.

JenJen,

ic, since your wedding is in Nov too, i advise u have your P-S in July too coz Paris said they need 3 months to process the photos
If u r getting Delon, u must book fast, he's only P-S for weekday & he's quite fully booked too!

Jastan,

Wa, settle your WG liao
so yours will be the same as Irene, ivory colour for your WG, mine will be white with spagetti strap
Design for WG & EG, i haven decide with Jennifer yet.

I oso paid another $800, need to pay another $1200 during P-S.

i have chosen Victorian & Chinese (xiao feng sian) costumes. Im arranging my trial make-up nearer to my P-S date.

Hi, My Melodys

Yes, Apex is also one of the new Beautyrest Do-not-disturb non-flip mattresses...as for difference...i am not really sure but these are what i gather so far...the 4 different mattresses in the series (Expedition, Apex, Felicity and Westbury) differ in plushness and firmness...Westbury comes with a pillow top...Felicity has a plush top (it's known as Felicity Plush)...if i remember correctly, Apex and Expedition do not come with a plush top...otherwise i think they hv all the std features of the series...non-flip, blocfoam, etc. Are u thinking of getting one as well? Do go down to their showroom and try all of them! Think Taka also has some of the models on display

hi carol,
yup, i'm sure i'm gonna enjoy it...have loved taking pic since young...hehe...vain mah

hi hippo,
good for u
it also took me a while to accept that i've to have the dinner. now that i have, i'm just simply enjoying the entire process

Hi LMF,
I haven't decided the colour for my cheongsam. I'll get a pair of shoes to match my EG first, then I choose a colour that matches that shoes for my choengsam.

Hi Grace,
Welcome to the gang! You managed to get Regent for your Saturday's wedding? Wow! You're lucky. I started calling up hotels last November and most of them are already booked!

Hi Kat22,

What is a plush top ?? Actually... it does not make a bug difference... non-flip or not non-flip, right? Just have to make the habit to turn the mattress over every 3-6 mths...

Hi, Chemson

Erm..plush top is that extra thick soft cushion top layer of the mattress...abit like the pillow top...but not as comfy as pillowtop...hehehe..that's what i noe..dunno rite or not..hahaha...yalor..actually no big difference i think whether it's non-flip or not

so going shopping this weekend??

Hi Kat,

Yep.. intend to go shopping for the mattress this weekend. The only new Beautyrest range on promotional price is the Apex model only. Westbury and Felicity are not on sale. Hope to settle this weekend. Need to watch my diet too.... 2nd fitting akan datang... :P

Hi Jenjen,

Maybe you should call May now and make appointment and then take your time to choose gown. Arrange photoshoot in June/July so that you got sufficient time to pick and choose photos and also so as not to meet the chinese 7th month.

Hi Jastan,

So we have the same colour then.
I had my WG in ivory colour too. My evening gown would be purple/blue two tone cloth. but mine evening will be a stunning one i hope.

I've paid in total 50% of deposit till now.

Hi Angeline,

Seems like we tried a lot..........

Irene

JenJen,

i agreed with Irene, do act fast

Irene,

ya lor, i really tried alot!!! But if we dun try, how would we know what suit us best, rite?

i oso paid 50% liao,still have remaining 50% & if happen to choose additional fotos, have to fork out more to pay. Sure will choose more fotos, once in a lifetime mah

Hi Carol,

I'm not a July bride. Hee.. Just happen to come inside. I'm getting married on 3rd of August. Not any one I know is getting married at that month cos' it's the 7th month. But according to lunar calendar, it is almost the end of the 6th month.

Hi Grace,
Welcome!
You've signed up with Regent. Recently I saw a topic in the forum about a package from Regent selling at cheaper price. Are u aware? Which bridal shop have you signed up with? Have you go for your outdoor and indoor shooting? Tell us more.

Hi Mushroom,

Will you be designing your own church service progam sheet? I'm planning to do it but don't know how to start.

fantasy

Hi angeline,

I think so too. Although I'm hoping not to choose a lot.But sure will choose extra one.
Anyway, I also getting my actual day photographer to take some nice outdoor photo for me on the actual day. And he say OK if our timing is smooth.
And he will do touch up for us.
So, maybe, I hope, I won't choose a lot in the bridal shop.

Irene

i'm back!!
so happy to be back. i din log on for the past wk, n wow! there r so many new msg!

grace, welcome to this thread.

Kat & Sheep,

Yup yup...i'm really very very lucky
...I'm still able to compare 3-4 different hotels before deciding. Moreover, I've only 18-20 tables very limited choice. So I settle my decision within 1 week of search.

Actually I'm quite hesistant abt Regent coz it's out of the way and the price ($798nett) is higher than my initial budget...but after I've gone to my colleague's wedding banquet last last Sat...the good food, ambience & decor capture me so much I couldn't resist it. Moveover they have a 1 week promotion after their wedding show, giving $1188 ang pow for booking min 16 tables to exchange for beer, wine, special decor, upgrade to presidential suite etc. All these makes it so worth it.

I heard my colleagues saying they have 2 wedding shows a year, early n late in the year. So u can recommend ur friends to watch out for their promotions.

Hi Lazy piggy,
Anyway nice to meet you here althought you may not be a july bride. So how's your wedding preparations going on,I hope you wouldn't mind me asking.

Anyway, I intend to have my actual day photography at Fullerton hotel(like the nice outer structure of the building)

Cheers:
Carol

Irene,

i hope i wont choose much too, which kind of album will u be choosing, 15R or 18R?

i will be taking some outdoor shooting on my actual day too. where will u be going & have u decide your outdoor location for P-S?