(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Joker

I've alrdy "gao dim" most of my stuff liao...juz waiting for my "guo da li" this weekend & my wedding next sun.

yep yep...guest list is the most "siong" part...the room will not look good if there's too many empty seats ya....I'm still doing my RSVP & at the same time have to "supervise" my mum & husband to make sure that they do theirs...in fact 3 of my hubby's friend called up at the same time recently to borrow $$ from us...we where got "spare cash" to lend them now! Have to reserve some $$ for our dinner mah!! so now, we also "paisey" to call them to see if they are coming or not...*sign*

Anyway, let's hope that everyone of us will have 100% attendance ya....(n_n)

joker,

Aiyoh, how can both of u fall sick at this time? Must be becos of the preparations is it? Take care leh ... must rest more

I've more or less finished my stuff. Now drawing up the actual day schedule & trying to list out what are the things to do/bring/pack etc... & preparing the ang pows!

Hi Cindy,

Yup, the guest list & rsvp is the most troublesome one ... I've got some friends who called up to say they r not coming due to last minute appts.... Feeling quite sad cos 1 of them is my good friend & she had to go back to Malaysia.

Hi Shadow

I am thinking of getting a package in JB. Can you share your photo and let me know the prices they charged in JB? My wedding in in Sept.

julia andrew: Divine Culture in JB's photography is in fact similiar to what they've in SG. Only diff is the price paid.

I dunno how much they charge for photography alone.You might wan to check with them. Jus said you are referred by It or Sally.

Most of the big and known bridals are along the main road, Taman Sentosa.

Personal preference is Divine at previously known as Holiday Inn Hotel & Superstars Bridal at City Sq...go check it out and see what they've to offer...

Hi LMF:
check out Grand Plaza Parkroyal..i had my luncheon cum ROM there...i think is 25 per pax.
Int'l buffet...guests can't get enough of it...and nice environment...

Pegsfur,
Ang Pao also big headache leh. Me haven prepare yet. When you collecting yr gowns? Me collecting 2molo

Where you going for actual day shooting huh? My hubby's friend suggest Changi Airport. But I feel very 'diu1 lian3' but no other alternatives becos we can't afford to go too far.

Cindy,
my guest list also very luan. One good friend just called & say the husband cannot attend. One down again. Really scare by then we can't even fill up the min. Will see how loh

Joker

Hi el,
You mean you have your solemnisation in the hotel. Is your buffet lunch specially arranged or walk in? Is this a package they offer you or it's a-la-carte? Sorry to ask so many questions.

hi el

how much do you pay for the whole package. I heard that printemp is quite good, any ideas and I also need some direction how to go to Tun Aminah. My husband is not familiar there so do you advise 2 take a cab?

Can I know where is Divine located? any website for me to view their portfolio?

joker,

Really? I'm also collecting my gown 2moro!
So I'll be on afternoon leave to collect my gown ... quite excited rite? But mine is at IMM leh ... think of the journey I also sian ... no choice lor ...

Aiyoh, I also don't know where to go leh ... maybe somewhere near like east coast beach or pasir ris beach .... or even Punggol end... see how 1st

So what's the colour & model of yr bridal car? We can keep a look out of each other
Mine is silver mercz (round headlights)

Pegsfur,
So qiao, tat means we are normal loh. Schedule same same. You say go IMM xian, me going JB to collect leh.

My bridal car is dark blue merc C class. Ya hope to meet you on the road

Joker

Hi LMF

how about Teochew City @ Centrepoint, if tpt is not a prob to u? That's the place i'll holding my banquet! My fren's ROM this Sat is going to hv her lunch there and she said is abt $20/pax for about 8 course lunch. if u can wait, i'll give u my feedback after i tired.

the fountainblue @ Allson hotel is also quite good, just went there last weekend. as for spiece garden, i think it's VERY exp.

besides the couples having to give ang bao to all the 'ah-yis' and brohters, both side parents also hv to give them ang bao, but any idea are we the ones who give the parents the $$$ to give the ang bao or the parents themselves should come out with their own $$$ to give the ang bao???

Hi mushroom,
No lah,i still got lots of marriage preparation haven settle yet
But i think mine would be easier than yours cos i'm a free-thinker so there is no church wedding for me
My wedding date would be on 16th of june. Morning "kang tei" dinner at nite. My hotel is mhotel
u?

hehehe... angelia... anyway u going for cynthia's outing rite?? maybe I'll try to make it then too...

irene, u mean the amore package?? I paid $555 for 8 facials and eye treatments... the first time I tried, quite shiok lah... different from other facials I did before... hope my face will be better after all the sessions...

Hi happy98,

Yep... it is true that both side parents must give the Jiemeis and Brothers ang baos.. it varies.... from $12 or even $8... it depends on how much they want to come out with the $. Yep.. they come out the $$ on their own.

joker,

Har??? Yrs at JB? Aiyoh, that means yr jouney is further than mine
Ok lah ... then I won't complain

C class is which type? I'm not very familiar with cars leh

Haha... it'll be exciting if we really meet on the roads

Hi Mushroom,

My wedding is also on the 22 Jun, me having church wedding on that day and dinner will be on the following day in JB.

fantasy

Hi fellow july brides,

Would like some advice on the accessories for a halter neck evening gown.

It's a silver/grey halter that doesn't cover the entire neck/chest, but one that has a 'gradual v-shaped' opening on the chest, showing a tiny bit of cleavage. It also has some very simple silver/clear beadings round the neckline. The other parts of the EG are generally plain.

Thinking of wearing a crystal choker, one that embrace the neck like a 'thick bracelet'(covering part of the neck), together with a crystal bracelet (about 1.5 inch thick).

What do you think, is it too much, or should I go for a softer look by wearing a dangling necklace instead of a choker?

Appreciate your help.

hippo

In addition to happy98's questions, can i summarised that all jiemeis and brothers will receive ang baos from:
1)Bride's parents when reched bride's home
2)Groom & Bride when groom reach bride's home for the "tekan" session.
3)Groom's parents when reached groom's home

Is that all? Not very sure. Do i need to give any ang baos when my jiemeis reached my place or my parents' ones is good enough?

Pegsfur,
Ya lor when you travel to IMM later, you will not feel pitiful once you think of me

C class is smaller than yr big small eye. Yrs is E class. my ribbon is pink in color. how about yrs? When someone hong at you tat day, maybe it's me loh

Wat time yr hubby reaching yr hse huh? then you arrange yr make-up artist wat time?

Joker

LMF: yup..u r rite...I had my ROM solemnisation n luncheon @ Grand Plaza Parkroyal... I can email you the setup they can do for u...and the lobby cafe's manager actually kept the whole outdoor area for me...

All you need to do is first get a quote from them for an approx no of guests you've. Then the mgr would ask you if you've any arrangements need to be made prior to the lunch..etc etc...

Hi Choco,

Sigh .. mine got to cramp alot of things on one day lor .. hee hee .. just got to work abit harder cos i preferred to have everything one day, so bo pian lor.
i'm having my dinner at Hilton

U gao tim ur love nest already ?

Hi fantasy,
wah, we are getting married on the same day ! hee hee ... excited ? So JB is for whose side ? Quite fun hor, celebrate 2 places ! But must be prepared mentally and physically cos i think it will be tiring too as u will have to travel

Hi Joker

Didn't know u also took a package from JB. Need some advise... I am bride from Sept but thinking about taking photography from JB. Any idea how much does it costs. If you don't mind can I hv a peep at some of ur picture?

I will shopping around tis coming good fri, there is so many, can u do some recommendation as in which one should I definately not visit.

Sorry for so many question. my email add [email protected]

sorry for MIA for such a long time.. been so stressed up at work that i dun even have time to come into this forum. Finally decided to take a break for a few mins to catch-up with u gals.

Wha.. didn't know that i have been absent for sunch a long time... cos it took me more than 10 mins to finish reading all the postings since my alst visit.

Angelia: Saw ur ROM pic.. wha.. u look so pretty.. agree with MiKo, u sure look very different from the time w met u at the gathering. BTW: i really luv ur gown.. sooo sexy.. ur hubby never complain ah?? hehe

Angelia and Berlinelee: : i have the UOB ladies card too.. have not tried the spa yet.. shy to go alone.. so when r u gals going.. i will try and join if i can make it. it would be fun to go in a grp.

dance40: : r u looking for a resale in serangoon?? i wanted to buy one in serangoon too but could not find,..so eventually bought a flat at Lorong Ah Soo (which is also very very near serangoon).

so who is going for gown fitting and all? jastan?
BTW: i am going for my photography shott next week. i am so excited.. now trying really hard to loose a bit more weight before next week... wish me success.

Outing : sorry... ended up u r the one organising it again. so paisay. so how is the response so far. I will try and makr it.. hopefullky dun have to do OT that day.. cos my project dateline is around that date.

el: Please email me at this address: [email protected]. Take note it's linda_loi. Can i don't do my ROM solemnisation at the hotel? I prefer to have it in ROM itself. Can i just arrange only the lunch with them?

Hi Julia,
Actually I din really recce the briadal shops in JB. I got the recommendation from a friend and when I went there, I sign immediately.

If you frequent Jb, You might have noticed this bridal shop call 'Jiu1 Bi3 Te4' along the roadside near Sentosa. The package I took is RM3,288. It depends wat you are looking for. For me, my prority is tat I wan 1st hand gowns.

You must also consider in yr budget that photographer and make-up artist are not included in their package.

I'm afraid I'm unable to show you my fotos becos I don have a scanner.

Just feel free to ask should you need help. We are all here to help one another.

Joker

joker,

Hahaha.... u r funny
Then I will definitelyl think of u

My ribbon shld be baby blue colour (or off-white? can't remember ...

The make up artiste will come at 7am since my hubby is coming at 8.30am .... after which he will be 'tekan' by my ah yees
U?

Pegsfur,
Acutally I haven call my make-up artist leh. But I got to leave Sengkang before 9am. So I think my hubby will come 8 plus.

So how you intend to tekan him huh? Heehee.... I'm going to make my jie mei torture him & his brothers.

yeah..... 1 more hr to knocking off. You leh?

Joker

Hi Jen Jen,

Wow that really cost quite a bit.
So far I've never been to a facial before so does not really know how is it and how it feels.

Hi Starfruit,

Yap Serangoon is hard to find.
I've visited 1 before and then the agent never call back.
I'm going to look for another one tonight.
Maybe I might consider this one cos it's near mcdonald.

Lor Ah Soo got only a few also if 'm not wrong.
But we hope to be near MRT lor, so got to search and also the price is going up soon.

Irene

LMF: of coz u can...in my case, I wanted both my solemnisation n luncheon together to save the inconvenience. Speak to Terence, the manager. See what can he offer to you.

joker,

Hahaha ... they r going to ask him questions abt & if he answers wrongly, he'll have to eat/drink: 1. wasabi sandwich
2. syrup - undiluted
3. 'ku cha' (bitter tea)
4. freshly squeezed lime juice

Then if he goes thru this stage to open the main door, he still have another stage to go cos my bedroom door will be locked
Then he will have to pick the correct key out of the 3. If he chose the wrong one, he will have to sing a love song loud enough for me to hear, state 10 reasons why he wants to marry me, or perform something. If he 'heng heng' took the correct key, then he will have to read out the 'Pledge of Love', signed & thumb-print on it before he can open my bedroom door

How abt u all? Maybe we can exchange tips & tekan our hubby more

Hey, I'll be going off in abt half an hour ...
Boss not around ...

julia andrew: I paid RM3888 for my package. Divine Culture at JB is at the hotel beside Holiday Plaza...previously the Holiday Inn Hotel, i think.

Cab won't be much, less than RM10. I usually bargained with the drivers to bring us there for less than RM8..

Wow, you really well prepared liao hor. My jie mei also will also ask him the reasons why he wans to marry me. But hor I tell my jie mei cannot do things to harm his body lah. Scare he can't take then the rest of the days he 'jia luk'.

But hor will sure tekan his brothers.

Actually me din really think of things to tekan. Leave it to my jie mei.

Hmm.... believe you knock off liao

Joker

Ladies: Anyone have engaged Sandy Ho as their make-up artists? What's the comments like?

Hi el,

For your infor, cowie and I both used her to do our ROM make-up. Her charges are $80 for both hair and make-up. Her make-up is on the natural side and she is a very friendly person.. easy going and great to chat with !! She uses mainly MAC and Shu Umera make-up.. everyone commended how well my make-up was done ! Sandy can be contacted at 90055210. Hope this helps !

dance40: Why r u looking for a house in serangoon? r u parents or in-law living near there? ya serangoon dun really have a lot of houses on sale. which type of flats r u looking for? 4rm, 5 rm or excutive apartments type?

hi pegsfur,

u excited or not??? i feeling so excited for u leh.

wow!!! u really know how to tekan ur hubby... like my ah yees tekan my hubby like dat. :P.. but i guess it's only this time then they can get tekan... otherwise, no chance liao.

i think going to east coast or pasir ris for ur outdoor shoot is a gd idea... very windy & not so hot... otherwise, u all will be perspiring! i think pasir ris park will not have so many pple.

so wat time will u be chking into the hotel? i might be ard that area... maybe can take a peek at the beautiful bride of the day.

Actually,i've a makeup artist already. But I was pissed with this lady..hence i decided a switch. I should've listen to Hil's advice, booked Jasmine Tiong the other time i got hold of her...

Hi! from jasmine's website... hers.. is more on the bridal make-up side.. as for ROM... you may like to look at Cowie's make-up.. for me personally.. I am not a make-up person.. therefore I was pleased with her work.. not too dark and not too light...

Chemson: thanks. btw, is cowie's rom makeup pics available online? Or preferably, I should ask cowie to email it to me?

paiseh ah....to trouble u...

Hi el,

Guess you can request cowie for her pics...
Alternatively... you can go to the ROM thread on makeup and hairstyling.. some of the gals there had their make-up done by Sandy as well... you can also request for their photos.

Hi Starfruit,

basically our parents are staying in Toa Payoh and Queesntown.
Initially we wanted that but too expensive and the cash money is too high.
So we choose Serangoon.
1) it's the next MRT interchange i believed.
2) I teach dance on Friday evening there..

I'm looking for 4 room.

Irene

Thanks... U R most welcome...
She is very good at doing hairstyles for long hair... you can check with cowie of course...
R U using her for your wedding day or ROM? She charges $350 for bridal day make-up (day and evening) Do book her in advance, ok ?

Hello all May brides !

how come so quiet !

All must be busy with the wedding preparations

going to see my photos today *keep fingers crossed*

I've just completed printing of the invitation inserts ! I used Hi-Tech, $90 + 3% GST for 300 cards, inclusive of gold strings...I think it's quite value for money..until I saw vee kee's $80...neber mind lar...oredi printed..

now looking for actual day photographer...headache, seems that my wedding date is very popular...26 & 27 May *sigh*
anyone has good actual day photographer to recommend ?

anyone has new flat in sembawang ?

Hi cynthia,

Hey I also got 36 pcs of pics all together.
Good to hear that your photos turn out okay.

I cannot do my cards now. A bit worried cos have to send to hubby's relatives in Malaysia and Australia. Dunno in time or not. MIL in Australia now only coming back like next week to settle the cards thingy. FH in US. Have to write the Chinese characters for the Chinese portion of card. Dunno how to write FH's dad's name.

I will probably be having 4 ah-yees and 4 ah-gus plus one maid-of-honour (my sis) and one bestman (FH's brother). Probably get the ah-yees, maid-of-honour and bestman to do reception.

CLoVeR