(2002) Brides of year 2002

Irene,

ic, so long as u have enough time to reno & will be ready before your wedding

From your description, your flat shd be in move-in condition?

I'm holding mine in Nov also. Have you gals chose/ gone for 1st fitting? Mine is OTR but I didn't manage to select one when I went down a few weeks ago. So getting a bit worried now..

Angeline,

yap, more or less.
there are built in wardrobe in the two other room which we are keeping cos it's still usable and clean. maybe just need to put wallpaper on it if we want to change colour.
the kitchen cabinet is just nice. neat and clean and small. Not those tall type.
the tiles looks ok. The colour is fine. (though i prefer blue but if it's blue, the house would end up looking smaller and dark).

Other than that, quite ok lor.
Maybe slowly buy furniture after married.
Coz, not enough S$ liao.

paid quite a lot of cash for the house.

Irene

joker,

For me, I'm ok with the altar for my FIL cos that one only offer incense or pray during the death anni or ching ming ... but the 'guan yin' thing, she must offer the incense at least 3 times a day ... very smokey leh ... don't like it...

Joker ah ... yr hubby spoilt u leh ... hahaha ... he ying xiong jiu mei some more
Becos I can't cook, I tried to make up by doing housework lor ... so that he cannot complain that i'm not a good wife
... but i only do it once a week lah cos weekday working mah.

Hey, u wash clothes very easy leh ... just dump into the washing machine rite?

Hi moonie,

I m a dreamer also. Everynite sure got dream one. Somtime very funny dream also. Till my colleague say i can be a acting director liao! hahahaaa

Julia,

Thanks for the picture. You look very very pretty! Is your EG also MTM?

Nov,

Welcome to our November Brides Gang

Which bridal shop, banquet dinner did u booked with? Care to share more?

My wedding is on 19 Nov. Mine is mtm, haven gone down for fitting yet, still in process of making

Get your co-ordinator to let u try on as many gowns as possible, see which one u prefer or u may let them know which kind of gowns u prefer lor, get them to let u try on

Arrange for another apptmt, get your friends to go with u, they may be of help to u too
If not, u may wish to mtm one if it is not very costly

Irene,

Looks like u can save quite abit har

We oso didnt buy furniture for the whole house, we only plan to buy those necessary ones!
Its better to keep the house bright!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Nov</FONT>
welcome aboard. mine oso OTR. went last Sunday &amp; at the last min, managed to KIV 3 WG. going down tmr to confirm... and c if got new gowns or not.

dun worry, since ours OTR, can choose till May, no prob... when u going for photoshoot(PS)? juz choose ur gowns 2 mths b4 PS will be gd enuff... if not, ask ur co-ordinator to let u choose the gowns for PS first lor.. maybe u'll find something from there, then maybe can ask for additional 1 or 2 photos for album since u taking 2nd hand OTR for actual day.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Irene</FONT>
me looking at Bt Batok area. how much cash u paid? valuation is how much?

Pegsfur,
True, 'guan yin' needs to put in more effort. For altar, we use the rounded joss, so not so smoky. If not the ceiling will be very yellowish easily.

Ya la, I admit he spoilt me a little bit lah. Tat's why I iron clothes to let him know I work also mah. But hor sweeping &amp; mopping really very shack leh. I go one round I cannot tahan liao. SOme more I got back problem mah. CAnnot strain too much

For cooking, now my ah lao himself say don cook one. Becos after we cook, he got to wash the kitchen for the whole nite. So ta bao more worthwhile for the 2 of us

Hey washing not easy leh. I got to separate the white and black clothings leh Not easy also

Joker

Hi Angelia,

We paid about 24K i think.
The valuation is quite ok. $188K (hope i did not remember wrongly).

Bukit Batok Area should be cheaper. If i"m not wrong.
You could check the price in HDB web so as to agar agar.

irene

Hi Cynthia, I was thinking of getting Bengawan's walnut cake at first. Then, being introduce the Choz tarts. So now very indecisive. Any suggestions? Is emicakes' fortune rolls nice?

I thought that I am very slow already. Just sent the church invitation for printing. Gotten the hotel cards printed. Waiting for the photo album from the bridal now. My mum also keep asking me to get new clothes, but thought have many clothes already so have not go to get many.

For printings, I print at ACEPRO, they charge us very cheap rate. Maybe anyone wants, can call Veronica at 97628361. But she also says b'cos we are the guest of MM so cheaper.

Hi Mo, Take it easy..
Since we are free not, so may as well start the printing....

Have you found any printers?
Maybe you can consider Hi-tech, they are very effcient &amp; with resonable pricing.

I guess more inportant is to start the guestlist.

Hi Kittycat, Me too, not choosen my WG yet, guess will be looking at that next month.

Cheers:
Carol

I signed up with Yvnnoe Creative, dinner at hilton on Nov3. So I think I shd be earlier than majority of you but I haven't got much settled yet! I've been busy with my renovation.

The bridal shop told me to come back in early June as there wd be new stock. I picked one WG for photoshoot but its not the one for the march-in. My photo shoot is in early Aug. Sounds rush right but the designer assured me that its ok cos she said I'm of the "standard size" no need much alteration.

Is there a difference between 1st hand OTR or 2nd hand OTR in the sense that choosing the later allows us to bargain for something cos its like being "shortchanged"?

hi angelia,

Mine is 4 room.
I feel that 5 room is a bit big.
In terms of cleaning, a bit tired.

Hi NOV,

Yap yours will be abit rush.
By the way, Aug is Seveth month. Do you really want to take photo at that time?

Maybe u need to let your designer knows what u want so as to be ready earlier rather than rush out at the end. kind of tedious by then.

Irene

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Nov</FONT>
haha, ur wedding date is the same as my cousin... mine is 30 Nov..

i've heard 2 versions of brand new OTR &amp; 2nd hand OTR.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">version 1</FONT>
- brand new OTR are those that hv not been worn by any brides (but got try lah)
- 2nd hand OTR are those worn at least once.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">version 2</FONT>
- brand new OTR are those that hv been worn 1 - 3 times by brides
- 2nd hand OTR are those that hv been worn more than 3 times

u gotta dbl check wif ur bridal shop what is their definition!!

2nd hand OTR are those meant for outdoor shoot. but then again, they can hv 3 categories : brand new OTR, 2nd OTR, studio/outdoor photoshoot(as in the oldest gowns among all lah). guess they varies with each boutique!

Hi Herimone, no.. I have not tried emicakes' fortune roll. Dunno nice or not, but I thought they looked like Swiss Roll... Anyway, I have already ordered fruit tarts from Choz *yummy*

You also need to buy new clothes ah... My mum asked me whether I want a spittoon ah... *faint* haiz... new mug, new toothbrush, new toothpaste, new pyjamas (she says cannot be too sexy coz need to walk around in it ;p)... I wonder if she will need me to buy new socks and shoes...

She gave me one of her tea set too - for the tea ceremony. Very cute one... like those Chinese Western set. Now, cannot find in market liao

Hi my melodys,

alrite, finally found someone to share my dreams with...my FH also say i can be script-writer for movies liao...ha ha ha. they just laugh at us but dun appreciate our dreams hor...hee hee :P

Hi, gals!

Me a dreamer too! Just few nights ago, i dreamt that a building in front of my almost completed flat collapse and completely destroy mine! I cld really feel my heart sank at that moment and thot i hv to wait for another 2 years for it to be rebuilt :P Whew...thank God it was just a dream..
Guess i am really anxious for my flat to be completed

aileen - thanks for the info!
I might need to get some tracing papers as well...are they A4 size and which section can i get the papers from? I went to Bras Brasah last Sat but only saw loose ones at Popular.

Chemson - enjoy your 3rd fitting tom!!

LMF - no sure if you have gotten your shoes but i saw a silver pair of heels at Hue, Scotts Shopping Centre..think u are looking for close-toe ones rite?

Hi moonie,

Wah! now we got another dreamer to share the dream liao! Somtime I do scared of dreaming. Just wondering after marriage, will all the dream disapper. Actually don't wish to dream everday. That day just dream of a group of people go sentosa beach to play beach boat. All playing happily. But out of sudden shark appear and eat all the people up.....scream.... Was wondering how come everday we got so many funny things to dream. haiz! Really hope thing will get better after marriage.

Hi gals...

I'm so bored... working again... still a lot of things to do but I'm very bored... ah.... stupid...

I'm going to confirm my gowns this weekend...
hope I wun regret leh... a bit the worried...

Hi Nov, welcome to the club...

hi yvonne

just went to clear my email and saw ur poloroid photos. i like ur hairdo and EGs, but cant really see ur makeup. i think u can really pose man and u smile until very sweet. well, i'm abit slow but really too busy nowadays with my photo-taking and reno.

i had my indoor shot 2 days ago. i was supposed to hv my outdoor shot that day but it poured so heavily and we ended up got to go for indoor shot. that day didnt turned up well as i was in quite bad mood due to some bad news i heard the day b4. then just after we stepped into the bridal shop, it started to pour very heavily. that day was supposed to be our outdoor shot only and so we only bot things req for outdoor. in the end my hubby got to rush back to get his other shirts and ties and forgot abt the jacket that is supposed to match my actual day WG!!!! in the end they rented him a very normal black jacket to match with a grey shirt and silver tie and we both dont find it nice. the prob is that as that was my actual day WG, they took quite a lot of shots in that gowns. also, i didnt bring the shoe for my EG and due to them never put the OTR WG which i'm supposed to wear for indoor shooting, i wore the one meant for outdoor shooting. then they refused to let me wear it for indoor and insisted that i now hv to wear it for outdoor. ;-( the one i supposed to wear for indoor shot has a long drag and it will be diff for me to move around for outdoor.

rem i told u all abt the white jacket and black pant?? they said they dont hv a matching pant and in the end my FH wore all 3 black jackets for indoor shot, just that they differ in design. one long jacket, 1 short one with collar and the other short one wihtout collar. the short one with collar is just like any other jacket u can find in the shopping centre!

luckily, there is still something that i'm happy wif, ie the makeup and hairdo. they only took 1 poloroid photo for me, but the makeup looks very natural. the only prob is that i looked more matured in the photo. not sure was it b'cos it was the very first shot and i didnt relax enough. hope that the actual ones will turn up more natural. i also bot my own camera there but the makeup didnt turned up nice due to lack of lighting effect. i looked more relax, more like my real person. i'll ask my fren to scan those photos for me and then i'll send a copy to u gals.

i'm going to take my outdoor shot this coming Sat, but weather forecst is that it will rain. not sure to change the date or not but the prob is that sunday is also expected to rain. ;-( btw, yvonne, was there alot of pp at the tanjong beach that sunday u went? hai....... i must pray hard that it's going to be a good fine day!

Hi girls...

thanks for ur compliments..its actually the skills of my make-up artist.

happy98
yup, agree tat the make-up is not very 'thick' (is it the correct word to use)
coz i told her i juz wanna have natural look..me nvr make-up one...so i like it tat way..

duno y these few days seemed to b rainining..i tot Apr not so much rainfall? hmm...
well, when i took the outdoor..the weather not v good oso..rained b4 we went out...n rained after we finished..we were v lucky..
i was hesitating to have the outdoor on another day..but i have to pay another amt n hubby oso not free..so we went ahead loh..lucky man.
hope tat the photos will not be too 'grey'
there were 2 families there with kids..a couple n some 'lonerangers'
hope to c ur poloroid!

oh btw girls..
my actual photos r out!

my co-ord. call me on Wed sayn tat there r ready but i still dun have time to go!
v. gan cheong leh...

will up u updated.
weekend coming....Enjoy ur weekends!

Hi Yvonne!

Thanks for sharing your polaroids! I love all your hairdo's : very NICE!!
And I must agree with all the other girls, you have a beautiful smile, beaming with radiance!!

Heartiest Congratulations!

Pegsfur,
No leh. Still no plans yet. SO you confirm going during National Day? for how many day? by wat transport?

Actually me still deciding to go Bangkok or not. Now the trip very cheap, but hor if to go, got to spend a sum leh. So still thinking whether wan to part wif the $$$

Joker

wow... you look very sweet and pretty!! I like your make up and hairdo!

Congrats! Thanks for sharing ....

Yvonne,

Beautiful pictures! Like the girls said, awesome hairdo and make-up. ;-) Did you say your bridal package was from JWN?

Thanks for sharing.

Bluebonnet

Thanks. My photoshoot is in early Aug, before the seventh month. I also feel it could be quite a rush, so I'm diligently scouring through bridal magazines (I"ve been quite bo chap till the boutique girl called me to go down for fitting a 2 weeks back). I have decided to call the boutique next month check on new supply and ask for another fitting.

How about actual day photographer? Any recommendation..for one that's reasonably priced...what's the usual budget also?

Hi Nov,

i got my actual photographer through a friend recommendation.
He might not be a posh type of people or those branded photographer, but i've seen his work and find that it's ok.

he charge service cost $250/- to $300/- and each roll of film is probably about $35/- to $40/-.

For me, i think it's quite ok coz i got a slight tight budget and cannot afford too high expenditure.

Irene

Hi Julia &amp; Yvonne,

Can see yr wedding pictures?? My email is [email protected]

Me very enthusiastic abt photos and want to know more....and people on this thread has been raving abt yr photos!

Can I see?

Hi, Jolene

AWT just called me and said that my cards are ready for collection
Have they called you? When do you intend to collect your cards? I think i will collect tomorrow

Hi Dance40,

I dun suppose your date is the same as mine. So can you post his contact number or website address if possible? I am also on budget constrain. Thanks

hi all, just took my wedding photo today... very tired but fun... i'm with utopia, very nice pp...and the outdoor photo shoot places are all very nice, i like it very much!!!

mo, don't worry so much..... i think still got ample time!! i also have not collect my invitation cards, it's under my "things to do in may"..

less than 3 mths to go.......let's count down!!

Sorry that I only have time to log on once in a while. Hope that I didn't miss out much.

Mo:
Not to worry, I haven't collected my invitation cards or sorted out the guest list yet. I just finished selecting the photos last week. Oh, and I need to get the wedding bands soon too 'cos I heard that the jewellers got to send the custom-made order to Japan, and time is also required for the engraving. Have you gals bought the bands already? And to think that my wed date is the earliest amongst the July brides! So in any case, there's still me lagging behind u.

Sparks:
I'm with Utopia too. So where did u go for the outdoor shots?

Carol:
Will the bridal boutique have enough time to finish sewing your evening gown? Mine took about 3 months to complete the gowns.

Its abt 7 months to our wedding and would just like to check how far back am i in my prep. Basically, after confirming my photographer, bridal and hotel, I have not done anything else. Is this normal or should i start to panic?

Jan

Hi Jan,

So far I have confirmed my photographer, videographer, hotel and started going for fittings with the bridal coz mine is MTM... I'm also currently renovating my flat and everyday oso no rest... *sigh*... oh yah... u can start going for ur pampering sessions (facial, etc)...

hi elaine,

we went marina south and east coast beach.... how did your photos turn out???? should be nice...trust travis!

i think we don't have to worry too much...i think regardless of the bridal shop, the photographer or the printing....they will all rush to meet our wedding deadline.... should be no problem!!!

did you all start your bride's facial??? something intensive to ensure that we look great for the day!!!

it's OVER! finally. overall for today is great, i feel. just like Yvonne, it rained cats and dogs b4 we set off and after we hv finished. ;-)

we went to sentosa as planned. i'm quite happy with that place as it has the old building, greenery and beach which i wanted. ;-P but the only prob is that when i was at the beach, half of the sky was dark and the side was abit sunny, so the sky is not that nice. initially i wanted so sunset pic, but in the end we had to quickily finish it.

oh, i was told i can view my photo on Thur!!! hurray, that's faster than what i expected. but my FH may not be able to make it. ;-((((

yvonne,

u've mistaken me. what i meant was that the pics were not very clear, so i can't really see ur makeup. well, i think it should be great cos my fren's pic taken by them too and they are great!

Hi Janfyp,

I'm in the process of looking for photographer, went for first fitting but din manage to find one that I like, half-way throught my renovation, started my facial....what else gals have I missed out? Maybe its time I start those manicure &amp; pedicure session?

Hi Sparks,
Glad to hear that you enjoy your photoshoot, just like what I did last time, tiring but very memorable.... Will always be in our memory!

Yeah! Just collected my printed wedding invitation cards, Well done! At least another thing off my list.
Yap, Mo, agreee with Sparks that we still have time.
Actually, I've taking care of my complexion since my photoshoot &amp; have been going for facial. Hope to look the best on my wedding day!

Hi Elaine,
I think they have enough time, since I'll be going into the details next month...
Very excited about it!

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Happy98

hey..glad tat the photoshoot went well.
yup, it has been raining during evening time these few days...
lucky u! or shld i say lucky us!

u mean u can c ur actual photos on thurs??
tats v fast!
well, have u considered viewing the photos alone 1st? then 2nd time with hubby/// in tat way, some tat u like initially may turn out to b so-so.
can save $$ on the extra photos...coz brides r brides i guess...when they c ...wah so nice..then they want all of them..then u c the hubby beside 'perspiring'!

tats wat i did..my photos r out.
actually i popped by my bridal during lunch to have a quick look at the photos..quite ok ...din really c in detail..
will fix another day to select.
do share ur photos with us k!

Hi Kittycat, Carol, Sparks &amp; Elaine,

Thanks so much for being so encouraging
Really glad to see such positive encouragement here in the midst of stressful preparation.Thanks a lot gals...appreciate very much

Spent the entire weekend coming up with wordings for invitation cards, layout of church invitation card, our very own logo, a bible verse, etc. Quite productive, have settled the wordings and collected the cards. Will be meeting the printers this week to pass them the layout and wordings.

Good news is also that we have finally found our coordinator...after being rejected by one and another had last minute work commitments. Really glad all turned out well now...was pretty worried abt that too.

Elaine,
Yup...better to try to get your wedding bands fast. If you happen to see something nice and they have the size, then it's very fast, they will do the engraving there and then. However, the tricky part is when they do not have your sizes and need to order, that will take some months. So, it's better to get it done soon just in case...
We got ours at Soo Kee, they have pretty nice designs.

Hi Carol,
Thanks for your suggestion, actually we went down to visit Hi-Tech, but realized that the inserts that they are providing are normal coloured paper. We want to print on the translucent inserts provided by the hotel and that can only be done thru hotstamping, which cost quite a lot at Hi-Tech. So, in the end, we went to ExpressPoint at Bukit Merah instead. They are quite good and cheap. For normal printing on the translucent inserts, they are charging only $150 for 450 pieces. And if we want hotstamping, it's only abt $210...compared to other printers charging $300+ or more.

Hi Sparks,
Glad u enjoyed your photoshoot
I enjoyed mine very much too
well, hope all your photos turn out really nice...the selection process can be quite exciting. Have fun

Wah, u gals here sound really cool abt your preps tho some of u have not even bought wedding bands or selected WG...but isn't selecting WG ought to be done way early as advised by the bridal boutiques? Anyway, hope you find something u really like and that there's still time to alter and stuff. Glad to know u gals here...let's keep enjoying the process while we can!!!

Hi, gals!

Jolene - I collected my cards on Sat
too bad we cldnt meet up...dun worry, your cards shld be ready soon..maybe your choice is very popular so out of stock
I hv decided to print the inserts myself..i tried printing on some fancy papers i bought previously on sunday and the effect turn out quite well
I also managed to use the chinese software to type out the chinese invites...hurray..can save more $$$ liao!!

By the way, does anyone know how to word only son and only daughter in the chinese invite? For me, I am the only gal but i hv a younger bro and he is the only son but has an elder sister. I was thinking "xiao nu" and "du zi"...any idea??

Hi Mo,
Woh, Looks like you have done quite a lot for your wedding preparations. Good Work!

Glad that we have found an ideal printer too!

We have been doing the touch-up on the invitation cards: tying gold string, ribbon &amp; designing the embrossed stamping on the envelope. I'm happy that we are progressing well.

Yes, let's keep undating each other!

Cheers:
Carol