(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Fantasy,

Yes most likely will design and print by myself. cheaper ! hee hee ...
I have no idea how to start cos i hv started myself. I think the easiest is to plan the church ceremony first, like wat time bride come, march in, when sing song, say vows. Then from there u will have the church ceremony sequence.

For me, i think i will just put a sequence of events on the prg sheet. I think i will be able to project the songs lyrics, so no need to print. This is one point u got to take note of. If u church don't allow u to use projector then u will need to print the songs lyrics on the program sheet.

Hi KAt22,

I have actually bought the Apex mattress last weekend in the homemaker show. Just wondering what the diff on Felicity. hehehee So the next weekend i will b buying Aircon due to my reno going to start soon(next mth). Times pass really fast, April coming and our wedding is just 5mth plus away only.

Joker,

Aiyah, still trying to adjust myself living with my MIL & hubby
Before marriage, I used to stay at his place from thursday to sunday .... so now I sort of like kept thinking it's thursday or friday liao even if it's only monday

I saw from the website that it took abt 6 hrs to travel by train but the train station is so much further to the hotel compared to the bus station. We were thinking of going by train as 1st of all, we've not been on one, & 2nd, think it's much more spacious & comfortable compared to coach rite? We used to travel to malacca & other parts of m'sia & I remembered he complained of numb buttocks

Hey, seems like KL got some 'happening' place huh? Actually was planning to go in one of the holidays in May ... but see how 1st lor ... think i need to gather more info from u guys 1st b4 we set foot

Hi Calla,

Tks for yr info
So u've stayed in Century b4 ...
How's the hotel ... considered new?

Yeah, I've seen the map that the hotel is pretty near to the bus station & shopping centres. But becos we've not been on a train b4, we'd like to take this opportunity to try something new since we'r not going for honeymoon.
I assumed u have taken the train to KL b4 then? Was it far from the train station to the hotel?

Hey My_Melodys,

What do you think of the Apex mattress? I also saw it at the Homemakers Exhibition as well ? And I agree.. the pricing is very attractive.

Hahaha..... Pegsfur, like tat good mah, every going to be weekend for you

Hmm..... it seems like travelling by train and coach takes similar time. For mi, I simply love sitting on bus, so I don mind. Besides, nowadays coach so comfy and I normally sleep throughout the journey. but hor going by train also not bad, maybe can try during the next trip.

Calla,
Where exactly is Century huh? You say it's winthin walking distance to shopping centre. Which shopping centre leh? So wat other recommendations you have for KL, besides those that I know? So tat next time can go mah.

Actually wat I do nowadays is tat we drive up to KL. Then we park the car in the hotel and take a cab for shopping. Driving up is quite fun too and not difficult.

Joker

Hi Mushroom,

ok .... i think i will print the songs on the program sheet otherwise have to think of who to take care of the transparency.

fantasy

Hi Angeline,

I not sure.
ummmm probably, fullerton square, lavendar park or.......... still finding.......

what about u? any suggestion?

Irene

Irene,

thinking of going Sentosa for outdoor leh but May told me if i choose Sentosa, my nite-shooting will oso be at Sentosa coz not enough time to go other places due to the journey. Sigh, still considering too

Hi Angeline,

Not a bad idea. you could arrange to shoot at the bridge first then go over to sentosa, nite scene there at the fountain should look nice.
On the cable car also not bad.
But mine do not have night scene.

Irene

Hi Chemson,

As we are told for Apex mattress, we don't have to flip and the backcare need to filp. That make us decide to get it. As we need the bed frame size(Bed head height) for the our reno, that y have to buy early. I find that the mattress is very comfortable. Is worth to invest on a good mattress. Anyway, if the price drop before the delivery date, we will still get the rebate(price protection from simmons).

Just took my wedding portfolio in Milan..Havesome comments on jaki ke. he is realli anexpert with ligts and is himself a polite and quiet person. It is fantastic wking alongside with him. Next, the makeupartist assigned to me- Liren is a friendly person. her skills are quite good too. I am really satisfied with the 2, and strongly recommend them to any impending brides-to-be.

My malaysian colleagues told me the travelling time by coach is actually shorter than by train. *surprised*

Pegfur,

Don't worry abt the distance. The distance from the train station to the Century Hotel is abt 15 mins (cannot walk). And it costs abt RM8. You have to go the the taxi counter to "buy" a taxi ticket. Pass the ticket to the taxi driver.

I like Century Hotel
cos' it is near to the shopping distance (very, very near) and there is this famous food street just sort of opposite it. Good food at terrific prices!! Infront of Nova Hotel. My room view can see the Twin Tower!!!! so at nite, it is quite a scene

Century Hotel is a very decent hotel, clean and comfortable. My only complain is the hotel doesn't has much facilities.

Joker,
wat shopping centres...er. Lot10, Sungei Wang (my fave). Sorry I cant rem the names. A few shopping centres. From Century to "qi cheong gai" is abt 15 mins. Explore on your own, you'll find great bargain

My hubby don't dare to drive. He has no confidence

Do you know that if you are taking a nite train, you can choose to sit or have a bed
Of course, the bed is more expensive. I think is SGD64 (from spore). It would be very fun if you travelling with a large group.

Hi My_Melodys

Thanks ! Actually.. it's between Backcare 4 and The New Beautyrest.. I was at Takashimaya and had a taste of Felicity as well as Backcare 4. My fren prefers Backcare 4 and I quite like Felicity. But then as what Kat22 said... it's whether you mind flipping or not flipping the mattress...
See how it goes... we will be going tomorrow to have a look...

hi all, i also hate the idea of having to do all these stuff just to entertain our parents... my mum says need to inform pp that i'm married, but all those pp who need to know i'm married already knew...

and wedding celebration is supposed to be a celebration of two souls who found love in each other...now, so much hassle and trouble....but what to do....alas!!!

so let's all enjoy whatever we can...

Me also a milan bride with Liren, Jaki and Christine being my make-up artiste and photographers. Agree with you that they provide good service and are frenly...

Hi Linda,

I missed out on the checklist....must work out on the helplist first...thanks for reminding me...

so how is your preparation? hope everything is fine.

Hi My_Melodys,

Yep.. we bought the backcare 4. On top of the promotional price, we got another 5% off. We got the divan on top of the mattress (got another 15% off).. cos with the springs of the divan, it will make the mattress more comfortable and less stiff. We dun mind the hassel of flipping the mattress. Another thing is that with the promotional price.. it is more worthwhile to get the Backcare 4 than the westbury or felicity. In any case... we were quite surprised that both were made in Korea while Backcare series are madein Japan.

Hi, gals!!

My Melodys, Chemson - gd gd gd...now we hv all gotta our mattresses
Chemson, urs sounds like a pretty gd deal..gd for u

So...it's shopping for bedheets time!! hahaha...me bought a Sintex bedsheet set from Rivervale Mall for $89.90...thot it was really worth the money 'cos it's 300 threadcount and comes with 1 fitted sheet, 1 quilt cover, 2 pillowcases n 2 bolster cases.The price is the same for king size too..me so lugi leh 'cos mine is queen..hehehe..do take a look if u happen to be there..think the offer ends on Sunday..it's at level 1...sorta like a makeshift eventhall

Och - welcome back! How's ur trip??

its me again..
well, I have finally settled on the gowns for the photoshoot on 14/4...n yup..me still taking the striking blue EG.

now trying to source 4 shoes..i have not selected my actual day gowns so i dun wanna spend too much $$ on the shoes for photoshoot ..in case the EG for actual day is of a totally diff colour.
i wanna cut cost so i hope to find a pair tat will match with my WG and EG (blue & maroon)
tot of getting silver colour..(anyway, think the shoes is covered most of the time)
wat u all think? can match?

LMF/Sheep
I'm opp. of both of u...my hubby is almost 1.90m n I'm 1.65m so I need to get at least 3 1/2 or 4 inch to match his ht. I m not a 'heel' person but i gota look for something tat has a 'thick' heel n not those tiny ones...(def. can't walk in those type)
hhmm...my co-ordinator even say tat i might have to stand on telephone directories during the shooting! dunno if she's just kidding for for real!

will b meeting up with my photographer n make-up artist 3 days b4 the shoot..
any recommendations for outdoor locations?
i only noe a few popular sites like Botanic Gardens, Labrador Park, One Fullerton..
these r more of greenery background..
i hope to have something with building or beach background...
so would appreciate any of ur advice!
Thks.

Oh one more thing...there's a Men's Bazaar at Taka..brands like Acqustum (sorry dunno how to spell), Gold Lion, Alan Delon & some other brands all having sale...
shirts, socks, shoes, travel suitcase, briefs, office suitcase...etc.
it ends on 14 Apr i think..so if ur guys r looking for shirts/shoes..do drop by n have a look.
p/s : I'm not working at Taka

Hey, good to see that you have finally decided on the striking blue gown

I am in the same shoes as you......my hubby is about 180cm whereas I am 157cm!!! So I need really high heels too
. I bought a pair of 4 1/2" heels from this shop called Lorenzo at Marina Square. Really like it cos the cut is sooooo comfortable even thought it is so high
Broad heels too
Can try going there to take a look

My photoshoot is on this wed. For outdoor, we will be going to Labrador for "nature" shoot and Fullerton, boat quay area for "city life" shoot
But all subjected to weather....so..... help me pray for good weather huh......

Hi Kat and My_Melodys,

Speaking of the bedsheets and mattress.. when I got the mattress and divan set and cos of my hubby's height.. the lady consultant actually suggested that we take the length and width of 182 X 198 cm...which we decide to.. cos the feet won't be sticking out.. :P As a result... most of the king sized bedsheet sets here cannot take it.. we have to get the imported sheets instead... and thus, the bedsheet set and mattress protector I got from the JL Sale cannot be used.. cos it is too short to take the length.. therefore, do check the sheets. Have to buy the sheets again...
But then.. we will have time to decide whether to use the original height that most sheets can take...

Hi Yvonne and Cowie,

Wow.. you gals will the first 2 to go for your photoshoot, huh ? So cool !! Other than Labrador Park.. try Cantebury Road (Somewhere near the Telok Blangah Area)... lots of greenery there.. Marina South Park..

Hi Chemson,
Thanks for the suggestion
But I was wondering if it will be better to stick to places that the photographer is more familiar with.....at least he will be able to know what shots to capture, which angle to take, etc...
But hey, must go explore Cantebury Road on my own someday....lots of greenery and stuff??....

Yvonne: Good to hear from you again. Finally decided on striking blue. Alright! Me also do not want to spend too much on shoes. Might go to some big neighbourhood centres like Ang Mo Kio, Bedok, Toa Payoh, etc to look for cheaper shoes. Any good recommendations on neighhood centres whereby i can find a lot of shoes?

Cowie: Does the shop "Lorenzo" you have mentioned sell more on high heels on low heels? I'm looking for a stop place that sells alot of low heels so that i no need to travel here and there. Tired of looking up and down. Any suggestions?

If you gals' FHs are looking ties, there's one place do sells very cheap ties. It is called "Isrida" located at Clarke Quay Satay Club near the taxi stand. They have range starting from 80 cents per tie. So cheap! And they also have accessories suitable for brides. Very nice. I've bought a pyjamas at $4.90 and the material is very cooling. Go and have a look.

Hi, gals!

Yvonne - Some other places for photoshoot...how abt millenia walk, art museum, ur school/college/uni, raffles place, pasir ris park, expo & apt mrt stations ( u can even take photos on the train itself), raffles marina (dunno if they allow)

Chemson - The sintex king size fitted bedsheet set i mention earlier can fit mattresses with dimensions 183 X 198 X 30cm !!!
...i oso saw them at Robinsons@raffles city yesterday..oso selling at $89.90...if u happen to go there today, do take a look

LMF - do try Toa Payoh...they have a few shops selling shoes and some are quite nice

Kat22: Thanks for letting me know..
Will go there and take a look. Now I know where to go buy.. is it comprised of 300 threadcount? I also need to get a quilt cover set as well... cos I got a quilt as well..

Cowie: Canterbury Road is around Telok Blangah Road...
Lots of greenery and stuff there...
Do take a look there, ok?

i went to the Turf City few weeks ago, & immediately my FH & i love the senery there. but rite now they r doing some work on the field... anyone has any idea what they r doing & when will it be ready? are public allow to enter the field after the completion?

i'm also think of going to Marina South for the photoshooting, cos will be able to get the 'seaview' & 'parkview'

kat, thanx. the trip was quite tiring, after a week, i think most of us were ready to drop dead liao.
but thank goodness we had the weekend to visit some parks n monuments. we went to a park with extinct volcanoes. it was freezing cold but the scenery was gorgeous.
think i'm not as "strong" as b4, i'm still terribly jet lagged despite being back for 4 days.

cowie, hv fun at ur photoshoot. tell us all abt it ok, so that we know what to expect at ours.

lmf, did u find out the location of the sea side place with kelong? if u know, can tell me? thanx.

Hi LMF,
The shop is Lorenza actually, sorry for the typo
Well, I think they do sell lower heels too. Actually, it is really easy to find lower heels....they are like everywhere when I was looking for my high, high heels
.....let me think.....if I didn't remember wrongly, Metro have quite a large selection of shoes suitable for bridal use. Tangs studio also. Most of the shoes are about 2.5" to 3" high.

Hi Gals!

Sorry, haven't been around for a while cos' I just came back from Hong Kong. Went for a mini 4days honeymoon.... hahaha..

Now, backtracking to read all your messages....

Irene,

sori for my late reply.

thanks for your tips, will discuss with my Fh.

what abt changi airport, is it nice for P-S?
my FH sweat easily, thinking of some air-conditioned location for P-S leh, any recommendation?

CHANGI AIRPORT..........
The MRT is not bad.... but don't know need to get permission or not.

can ask the photographer.

Irene

I've bought a pair of shoes to match my kwa. It cost me only $8.16 after 20% discount. Isn't it cheap? It's those kind of oriental shoes with a little beads and shiny pieces sewn on the shoe and it's red in colour. When i reached home, i quickly see if it match my kwa. Phew... it matches almost perfectly.
No regrets for buying!

Kat22: Will go to Toa Payoh this weekend. Guess have to plan my time table well. Got lots of places to hunt for shoes now.

Cowie: It seems like it's quite difficult to find low heels for me. Yesterday I've been to City Plaza (ulu ulu) shopping centre. They sell alot of high heels about 3-5" shoes. I went to the wrong place.
This weekend will go to Toa Payoh first, then to Marina Square. Thanks!

Och: You're interested in that place too? The one i mentioned is at Bintan. But i already asked Chin Leng to help me to find out one located in S'pore. Remember that pink dolpine appeared in the news lately? They are at Pasir Ris kelong. Actual location will have to wait for Chin Leng to find out for me. More convenient if the kelong is at S'pore. Will let you know after i received from him.

Jolene: Welcome back! Any gifts for us...
(kidding) Did you manage to buy anything useful for your wedding? Share with us, ok!

Hi, ladies!

Chemson - yes, it's 300 threadcount
The set includes a quilt cover too!
I must check out this canterbury rd too

LMF - i oso need to get a pair of low-heel shoes for my EG n kwa...where did u get ur oriental shoes from? Gd deal leh
Me oso hving problem getting suitable low-heel shoes...sigh...

och - oh dear...hope u have recovered from the jet-lag.

Jolene - oh..so u went to HK...was wondering how come din hear from u
how's ur trip?? Hey, there's this gal Eve from the ST thread who had her wedding at ST in Jan...she said the service and food were very gd! Really relieve to hear that!!

Hi Kat22,

OIC... other than Sintex... what other brands do you know cater to the length and width of my simmons Mattress...
Can recommend? Wow... $89.90 for bedsheet and quilt cover is indeed reasonable..

Hi, Chemson

Erm...i am not very sure abt other brands..'cos i was reading the dimensions to make sure it fits my felicity's thickness... hw the simmons salesperson did ever mention that Martex and Sheridan fit simmons mattresses...i think these two brands shld hv bedsheets that fit ur backcare4
..i hv seen these two brands at robinsons too
Dun worry lah...u can buy 2 sets first to rotate between washes n buy more when u come across gd buys later

Hi Kat22,

Thanks... but then... Sheridan is very ex...
I love Sheridan... but then it can be very ex... no worries... guess I will look for plainer designs to match with my king-sized quilt cover..
I think felicity is thicker than backcare 4.. I have seen both expedition and westbury and they are twice the thickness of my backcare 4 ! Yep.. have to buy 2 sets and rotate around..

Hi Angeline,

Changi Airport is ok lah, depending what u want to take and the style.....

I'm actually hoping that esplanade would be ready by then for me to take photo.......

praying very hard............

Irene

Hi Kat22,
I bought my shoe at Yue Hwa shopping centre, located beside "Da Hwa" Cinema at the big junction road of People's Park Shopping Centre. Got that? Sorry, me not good at describing road name. It's located at 2nd level. There are 2 sides selling these shoes. One side is on 2nd level beside a cashier; another is beside a small koi pond whereby you need to walk up a small staircase. Up the staircase one will look much better but more costly about $30 or more. On 2nd level itself will be much more cheaper ones. Don't expect a wide variety as they only have a few choices for these shoes. Btw, my kwa shoe does not have any heels on it. It's so comfortable!

Irene,

Ermmmmm, esplanade sound familiar leh...... but cant recall when is the exact location. Where is it located, still under renovation?

Hi Kat22,

Oh issit? I will go and see the posting later. My friends attended the Sheraton bridal show and they were offered a discount of $50+++ per table for their banquet!! Much more than me!!!! Do you think I can ask my coordinator to increase the discount???
Afterall, I recommended them to ST.... They also said ST has a new backdrop design and new florist, be sure to check with your coordinator, ya?

LMF: Unfortunately, I did not find anything in HK for my wedding. Not very nice and quite expensive also. Went HK cos' hubby likes the tall buildings there... Now, I am like all of you, searching for low heels shoes cos' hubby is only about 3cm taller than me....

Hi, gals!

Chemson - yup, i oso find Sheridan very expensive...those on offer are not nice and those nice ones are so x!!...dat's why me so happy that Sintex can fit my Felicity...yaloh..i find it quite thick too...I think Felicity is abt 11-12 inch thick...Westbury is 13 inch! So envy u leh..can do up ur hse oredi! Does ur hse have a theme? Zen?

LMF - oh..do u think they have large sizes? I am wearing size 8 leh...dunno can fit me or not :P

Jolene - my coordinator did tell me few weeks back that they plan to change the florist to another...din dare to post it here in case they din change...do u know who's the new florist? Did ur frens say whether the decor is nice?? Must check with my coordinator and check out the ballroom decor one of these weekends
i also only got a $30 discount per table when i sign up during the promotional period in Dec 01...u can try asking ur coordinator lor..if cannot...nebermind 'cos i heard the discount is only for those who sign up during the show and is for weddings after March 03

Hi Kat,

I love Sheridan bedsheets.. they are my all-time favourite.. wonder is the Robinsons sale still one... :P Need to find time to go take a look... actually Ikea also sells sheets that fit our length. My concept is rather English..
Nope.. Zen is too minimalistic and simple... going for a more classy look..
Actually.. liked the Westbury esp the pillow top...
Guess for long-term... Backcare 4 is more ideal.

Hi Kat22,
The largest size for my shoe is 39. I doubt it is size 8. Mine is an on sale item, so very messy and not a lot of sizes around. But other patterns they do have big sizes which is placed on the shoe rack neatly. Just go and try your luck!

Jolene: Seems like most of us are stuck with the shoes things. Got to burn your weekends to search for heels!

Angeline.

Esplanade is located near marina square, city hall and fullerton square.

It is a new building which holds the singapore largest theatre of arts.

I was thinking if I can take there, maybe can take along the bridge which leads it to fullerton square. And hope it's near evening by then coz I did not have night scene so hopefully i could get some evening scene by luck without extra charges.

Irene

Irene,

ic, so it's there! sound familiar to me but cant think of its exact location.
Wa, sounds romantic leh, hope u can stretch your P-S till evening time

Btw, when is their completion date?

Angeline,

I'm not sure.
I only knows that it's grand opening is in 12 Oct 2002.

But the place seems to be almost done liao.
Just hope so lor.....

Irene