(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Chemson, pls do not miss me out... I'm still trying to catch up with the threads with so many msg i already blur liao

my email is @ [email protected]

thanks alot!

Hi Mushroom,
It's okay, no worries......
I got my gown from my bridal (Yvonne Creative). It came free as part of my package.....but of course not for keeping lah

Hi Chemson,
You know my e-mail already rite....

Hi Chin Leng,
Thanks for your suggestion, but well, the girls have already voiced my opinion....... Oh, I do need your help though....I would like to edit the e-mail address which I used when I created my profile....anyway of changing it? Thanks

Does your package comes with photo shooting in traditional costumes? Do you think it's good to take traditional costumes or change them all to different gowns? Please give some comments. If possible, please let me know how to select gowns if it is MTM. Me having difficulty to choose one.

Hi LMF,

Nope... my photography package only covers my WG, EG and perhaps the tea dress/kwa... actually I find it weird to take photos in the traditional costumes...
Will you be MTM your gowns or have you taken OTR gowns from Fame?

Hi LMF,
Mine also covers only my WG and EG. I'll be tailoring a cheongsam myself, and that will be used for the photoshooting too. Some people like to take this chance to wear some traditional costumes while others don't. It's up to you. I prefer to take pics with my WG and EG. Try on lots of gowns to see which style suits you most.

Chemson & Sheep, still wandering if i still take up the traditional?? My WG & EG are MTMs. But don't know where to start from, like a lost bird flying in the sky...
Already go for 1st trial, tried a lot of gowns. Shortlisted 2 WGs & 2EGs from OTR. Not too sure if it suits me the best. Don't know what to MTM. If yes, they will not do exactly the same gown. How??? Stress??? Confused!!! Blur!!!

Hi LMF,
Mine is very flexible. I can choose to take all WG and EG, or mix with traditional costume or with kua....... But I think I will stick to all WGs and EGs. Do not really see the point in taking traditional costume cos from what I know, bridal shops usually provide only the "look a likes" and not the authentic costumes....... Just my personal opinion. So, just go with your heart....whichever you and your hubby prefer. Guess there is no such thing as which is better

hi lmf,

i'm taking with the kwa, cos it's the traditional wedding costume for southern chinese, but not taking the other costumes, cos they dun represent my heritage.
but my hubby may not be wearing the traditional costume, cos he thinks he looks stupid in them.
but it's really up to u. oh yes, normally, photography studios will mandate that u take one least 1 photo for each costume change, so do try out the costumes b4 wearing them to the shot.

Hi LMF,
Try on gowns of different neck-lines, sphagetti, bustier, halter, boat, sweetheart, etc. Bring someone there to give you comments. Try out different waistline, high, low, princess cut, empire cut, etc. You may like some tops of the gowns but don't like the bottom part. When you MTM, you put together all the parts that look good on you. Of course, it must look good when you put them together, that's when a professional's advice is needed. Alternatively, you can go to other boutiques to try their gowns, then feed back to your boutique... hahaha... play cheat...

If you really really like something OTR, go for it! MTM may not turn out to be what you imagine it to be. Go for MTM only if you're very sure of what you want or if you can't find anything OTR.

Hope you can find something you like soon!

My bridal shop provides me 5 traditional costumes. Definitely, taking the kwa, others like japanese, "ang mo", etc style have to consider again. It seems like not many people like traditional clothings.

Sheep, thanks for your info and advice. I'm going for 2nd trial on Mid March. Hopefully can confirm something on that day.

Kat22, the promotion for Tianpo already over. Did you go before the promotion ends?

Hi Kat and all,

Do you know about this show? I am thinking of going to look see and maybe see their card designs.

Bridal Show: (Copied from one of the threads here)
American Wedding Treasures is having a bridal show at Sheraton Towers Singapore. Details as follows:

Date: 30 March 2002, Saturday
Time: 2~4.30pm

You can call 834-0662 or go to http://www.e-awt.com/reg.html for registration, before 26 March.

It costs $20 per couple - inclusive of tea & gifts.

As for photoshoot costumes, I will be given a kwa but hubby says that got Dragon on the kwa so as Christians, its not very good as Dragons are associated with Buddhism. So we cannot wear. So, we will just stick to the WGs and EGs. So boring rite???
yawn.gif
But the boutique is arranging some costumes for us.

We were also thinking of taking some fun shots during our outdoor shoot Eg, playing with water in beach attire at the beach cos' we are beach bums. What do you all think?

There was an article on Erotic photography in Streats on 28 Feb. Its definitely for the adventurous as the photographer will shoot shots like the hubby putting his hands on the gal's breast, etc. All with clothes on, of course. Basically, its like those foreplay type of pictures but not sleazy.

Just imagine a pic of your hubby behind you and smelling your ears and his hands rested on your right breast, both of you in your wedding gown.
If you are interested, I will try to see if I can get the contact no. for you. Must look for the paper....

LMF, thanks for the details. I think I will ask a friend in Singapore to contact Eric to get his email address. I agree with Sheep that the best way to find the perfect dress designs is to try on different bodices and skirts and then team up to find the perfect shape for you. Check the NET for US and European designers to get ideas. Maybe you can get OTR and get them to alter it into your dream EG?

Kat22, just chatted with my my close friend who will be booking the venue for us this weekend.
Think I will go and order my WG over the next few days. Hehehee... now very excited!

Jolene, the Erotic photography is REALLY for the adventurous.
After taking those pictures, who can we show them to? Most parents will freak out!! Mine definitely will. ha ha!

Hiya all!

Loreal, Happy98 and Jellybeans! yay! the 28th Sept kakis are getting bigger...i dunno how we ended up with the date, we just picked it one day in the car and it must be an ok date cos almost every dinner venue in town is already booked up! that's why I have to have my dinner on the 29th of September, one day later!

yessss...wouldn't it be a scream if at some point all the bridal cars whizzed by each other!

I don't know about renting yet, my FH prefers to use own car, but I thot the London cabs were fun cos got so much space to put the rest of the dress and getting in and out without crushing something in the process!

Kat22: I will keep u updated on my quest for the cheapest translucent paper, I can't remember who asked, but to re-cap, I am making our own church programmes and trying to keep the costs down, so bought coloured papers for the inside and will use the tracing papers as a cover as it is slightly stiffer, only thing is, it is about (so far) about 23 cents (Popular) and 30 cents (Paper House) per sheet and I'm looking at getting about 300+ sheets so that works out to $90 just for the covers..nah...being ngeow but want it even cheaper
har har har! I'm just looking for the plain tracing ones.still got a few more months to source.

someone told me there was a great ribbon shop near Beach Road/Arab street area...any one got any ideas?

as for printing, going to check out Hi-Tech in AMK since from the forum, they seem pretty reasonable and reliable.

Jolene: The American Wedding Treasures show was advertised in the latest issue of Her World Brides as well.... There is also another show on April 28th at the Mandarin Ballroom called Wedding Show of the Year 2002... it's $18 per couple. I actually like the erotic shots... cos it's once in a lifetime and I dun care if my parents freak out.. hehehehehhe...

mushroom: Do confirm the details with us when your close friend has booked the venue for you, ok ?

LMF: Take your time.. look at some US bridal mags.. browse through a couple of websites.. like www.theknot.com and www.weddingchannel.com... a lot of gown ideas to look for... dun worry, ok ?

Hi, gals

LMF - oh no...i forgot the last day of Tianpo sale was 28 Feb!...was planning to go down this weekend
well, hope i find something this week! Will keep you updated

Jolene - read abt it in the latest Her World Brides (Chemson - I bought it too!!). Dun think i will go though 'cos got to pay and i hv already decide on my gown designs... hw, i am planning to go down Sheraton tomorrow to take a look at the ballroom decor for some ideas
..they are hving weddings tomorrow and sunday...if u r interested, do take a look!
For the cards, your coordinator shld be able to show them to you 'cos my coordinator showed them to me in a file

mushroom - where will ur reception be? And oh..do tell us about your gown once booked!!

Chemson - wow....din know u so daring one

aileen, i'm also looking for ribbons for my invitations. where is this ribbon shop in arab st? keep me updated ok? thanks a zillion.

Hi Jolene,

Can I see your ROM pix too? My email add : [email protected] Thanks!

Oh, so the new Her World Brides is now on sale. Got to get my friend to help me buy and airmail to me. Thanks again, Chemson

Hi also to all other brides that I haven't spoken to before. Must admit that I am really inactive in this thread but I do read them when I come into the forum. Time really flies huh? Before long it's going to be countdown to the days instead of months!

Rgds, jellybeans

wah, the 'turnover' rate in this thread is real fast and high man! as an new member, i really hv a hard time following and remembering who said what.

hi jellybeans
so u hv booked Choon Huat for your actual day photographer. i email him to ask for quote and wanted to meet him up but he told me he's already booked on that day. heard that he is very good, but now i don't even has a chance to view his great work.

hi sep 28 brides
this is no special date to us too. actually, we intended to hv our customary next yr but only in Feb then we got to know that my future father-in-law wants us to get marry this yr. the reason is b'cos Teochews believe that getting marry with the age ending 3,6,9 is not good and it so happen that my FH, myself and both in-laws all our age end with either 3,6 or 9 in 2003. not sure what is the reason???
then, when i told my parents abt it, they are in favour of Aug cos my parents are Cantonese.

as Aug is a hot month and my fren who has been looking at hotels hv a hard time finding one that has weekend still available. as we were afriad that we could not get a place, so we zoom directly into restaurant and book the very first one we went to! they oni hv 7,8 and 28 sep available. since my future father-in-law wants an even date and Sat, so we just take that date!

hi Chemson
my email add is [email protected]. thanks again for your effort.

Hi Jolene,
From what I know, kua come in the dragon and pheonix ones, as well as in flower beadings ones. So, if you are really interested in wearing a kua, check if your bridal carries the flower design ones. I saw these at my bridal
Hey, do go for those casual shots you mentioned.....I like them. But most likely will not be doing casual shots cos hubby feel that it is a waste

Hi LMF,
Other then looking thru magazines and websites for gown designs, it may also be a good idea to attent bridal shows. Cos it is there that you really get to see gown designs 3D, hence easier to see than from pictures. As for those you "short-listed" from the OTR range, do you personally like them...... that is more important then thinking whether they are the "best"..... there are just endless gowns out there.....

Hi Lotus4,

My WG, EG are both MTM. I have not choosen my tea dress. Will probably meet up with the designer again when it draws nearer to re-fit and finalise details.

For tea-dress, dunno if I should wear kua or cheongsam or a dress.

How about u?

CLoVeR

There's 3 words i want to say to all of you, don't worry. It's not "I Love U"

"Thanks a million!"
I'm so touched... should give all of you a big kiss!
After absorbing some many advices, i should have know what to do.

Jolene, I agree with Cowie. Try to look for something which is flower beads. I think it's a pity if u don't have kwa as it symbolise our Chinese Tradition very strongly. Me definitely going for kwa and my sister bought one (different from those bridal shop provide one) in Hong Kong which i intend to wear it during my tea ceremony. Pardon me if you think that I'm too reserved, that's why i will not go for the erotic photography but i liked the idea. Ha Ha!

Does any of you know where to get mother's formal dress? My mother is having a headache of what to wear for my big day. She don't want to buy as she wear it only one time, so thinking of renting one. She is plump, so need big sizes. Any places?

Clover,

So you have chosen the design for your MTM WG & EG har??

Your wedding date and mine is about 1 week away (mine on 2 June) and I have not get my preparation done for my WG,EG & Tea Dress. My next appt. date with my bridal is on next month, April.

I'm a bit worried that I cannot have everything done on time.

Lotus4

I am berlinelee. Maybe some of you remember me!Long time since I logged in, cos very busy with work.
How are all of you? Seems like all of us are getting excited? Me too!

angph38:
I have the Lady's card. I don't mind going with you! But my figure not very good so don't laugh ok? Heehee! You can e-mail me at [email protected]

Take care! Will join in as often as I can!

Hi Vee Kee,

I only have abt $170 cards...:P Probably will go T-dragon unless I find a even cheaper alternative...

Hi Waves,

The $80 for 300pcs was quoted by Vee Kee...:P
Your hotel's price is 20 cents more than T-dragon's so I think not worth it to go through hotel...

I went to try my gown again yesterday and it's too loose even though last week it fitted
and my photoshoot is next week...sigh...

Hi all. Hope this comes in handy for all of us here!

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">top 5 ways to take a planning break</FONT>
<FONT SIZE="-1">It's no secret that planning a wedding is stressful -- your mother calls 16 times to talk about the invitations, or you find out that five turquoise bridesmaid dresses have arrived, but you ordered seven -- in navy blue! The body's reaction? Your heart races, your muscles tense, and your blood pressure climbs. If you're suffering stress, try one of these relaxation remedies to regain your balance.</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="119911">treat yourself to a massage</FONT>
When your muscles are relaxed, your body is tricked into believing that a stressful situation is over. Massage helps produce fewer stress hormones and calms down the nervous system. More good news: Your body doesn't care who's doing the kneading. Professional masseuse or fumbling fiance, you'll enjoy the same result: less stress. Recruit your sweetheart: Massage is a great opportunity to reconnect in an intimate, relaxing way.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">practice deep breathing</FONT>
Take five to do this easy exercise for decreasing anxiety and promoting calm: Lie flat on your back, knees pulled up and back toward your body, feet slightly apart. Relax your stomach and breathe in and out through your nose slowly and deeply. Clear your mind. Imagine your lungs filling up with air infused with peace and calm. Let this feeling fill your entire body. Repeat until you feel relaxed and your breathing is slow and regular.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">strike a yoga pose</FONT>
Remember when you were little and didn't have a care in the world? Revert to that time with a yoga position called the "Child's Pose," said to be good for calming anxiety with emotional causes. Sit on your heels and drop your forehead to the floor, stretching your spine and arms out in front of you as far as possible. Close your eyes, clear your mind, and breathe deeply. Stay there as long as it's comfortable or your stress subsides.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">take a whiff of aromatheraphy</FONT>
Aromatherapy is a healing practice whereby fragrant essential oils are rubbed into the skin or inhaled. Scents go to work on the body's olfactory system, which sends signals to the areas of the brain that govern hormones, among other things. Different oils have different effects. To relieve stress, try bergamot, chamomile, lavender, clary sage, neroli, rose, or jasmine. Drop the oils into a warm bath or, if you're going to massage them into the skin, dilute them in a carrier oil (i.e. almond, grape seed, or olive oil) and apply.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">waste 15 mindless minutes</FONT>
The easiest antidote to planning stress? Frequent breaks that require not a single brain cell. Give yourself permission to step away for 15 minutes and do anything that relaxes you: Take a walk, sip a steamy cup of coffee and flip through your favorite fashion rag, or put on your headphones and zone out. Most important: Don't let wedding thoughts invade your break! You'll return to your to-do list with renewed energy and oomph.

Hi Lotus4,

I thot u've oledy done ur photoshoot? if so, the gowns can b considered almost complete for the actual day rite? unless u're thinking of having a totally diff. set of WG &amp; EG?

JenJen, I will be having mine this coming Wednesday, 6th March 2002.

Angelia, I am your supporter mah.
Both mine WG &amp; EG are MTM. Aiya, what flaws will you have? You will look nice in anything with your build. It is me instead to be careful not to have style that 'highlight' the flaws.

I can't remember exactly who is with Paris Bride, Angeline or dance40. But just to check how's your 1st appointment fitting?

Hi Bluebell,

If got cheaper lobang must let us know hor?
Me will go check out T-dragon too...

Hey, at least your dress is looser when you tried it before photoshoot! Mine was tighter! :P *sigh*

Hazel,

Yes...I have completed my photo-shoot.
But my actual day WG and EG will be different from my photo-shoot. This is what my bridal tell me when I first signed up with them. (which is a bit different from others)

That's why I need to check from you how long to have all these preparation done lor..

hi angelia, will find out who will be going for my first fitting... if not too crowded, then u can come??
are u at the same place as me too??

hi berline... welcome back!!!

jastan... going for fitting at Paris... do let me know the outcome yah?? think Angeline oso at Paris...

LMF: Maybe you can have it tailor made.. try Ted's Collections at Bugis Junction (3rd level).. my mum had hers made there... alternatively... Doreen Chee (75A Tanjong Pagar Rd) and Avana (they have very nice gowns there...
) Hope this helps.

Jolene: I think I am having flowers on my kwa as well... instead of the dragons and phoenixs...

hi Kat22

I read in the eariler threads thet you've got a really comprehensive wedding planner. I'm kinda clueless when it comes to preparations for the wedding so would really appreciate it if you could email the planner to me at [email protected]. thanks so much!!!

Hi, gals

Chemson - Hv asked Shirley b4...seems that she only has kwa with dragons and phoenixs...no flowers...me wanted kwa with flowers too...wonder if she will be bringing in new kwa?

LMF - maybe ur mom can try OG near bugis...i think they have nice formal wear for our moms...

Hey, I got my rings today! After visiting so many shops...i eventually bought my rings from this relatively unknown Icon Jewellery at People's Park!
Our rings are octagon-shaped (i think, cant remember how many sides oredi :P) in matt 18K white gold. Mine's with diamonds and his without. So happy
but we hv to be careful lor 'cos we heard matt gold can get scratched easily...

hi aileen,

m not a sept bride but would to know about ur package on goodwood park hotel.
can i ask u certain stuff on goodwood park?
pls click on my nick to email me. thks.

Hey Kat22,

Is it... I thot my kwa had some kind of flowers.. maybe I saw wrongly... :P... it's ok with me.. with or without the dragons and phoenix..
In any case... wow.. your wedding rings sounds
so unique.... gosh you gotta wait for another 6 mths to wear it... are you guys going to wear it now.. me... also.. having a small diamond on our wedding bands as well...

Thanks for the feedback regarding the account registration. Appreciate it.

We'll take into the account of all the suggestions and improve during the next upgrade. We may not be able to solve all concerns but we'll try.

Hi och,

I've e-mailed the new password to you. Let me know if you did not receive it.

Hi Cowie,

An e-mail has been sent to you telling how your e-mail address can be changed.

Hi, Chemson
Erm..maybe got both flowers n dragons &amp; phoenixs?? ok with me too although i prefer flowers only lor
u r rite..we hv to wait for another 6 mths to wear it!...dun think we will wear now...more meaningful to wear it then..will just take them out once in a while to admire lor!! hehehe
..Hv u bought a new pair oredi for ur customary wedding?

Hi, Scooby
Sent u the planner oredi. Got it?

You may like to know that The Regent Singapore is having a bridal show on the 17th March, more information can be found at http://www.singaporebrides.com/regent_show.htm.

There will be a promotional package for the wedding banquet that will be available during the bridal show too.

To attend the show, just fax the form that is found in the link above and it is only $15 nett per couple.

Hi Kat22,

Our new pair should be ready this weekend. May go and collect it.. can't wait..cos our design is rather unique as well... three different colours of gold and with a small diamond encrusted inside...
Can't wait to see it as well....

Hi Angelia,

I'm going to the bridal shop at end of this month to talk/discuss with the designer on what type of gown to have before they start making it.

Hi Jastan,

I also paris bride. Maybe you could let me know your experience with them?
So far, mine is ok and also perhaps because when i go a whole group of people tag along to be the judge on what type of gown I should wear.
Perhaps, we've met or so.

Irene

Kat22, your ring sounds so cool. It must be very expensive. How many carat is your diamond? Can't wait to put on it, right? My ring will be ready by end of March and I will be wearing it 3 mths later when I rom in June.

Gals, I'll bring my mother to the places you suggested and try our luck! Thanks!

I've been away on a short holiday. I c u gals hv been really really ahead. Hope u hv not forgotten me.

Need some clarification, what r the discussion on the profile for? Briefly went through it. I am lost!

R u gals going 2 the bridal show. I would luv 2 meet all of u. Then we can hv the Sept Bride "Wu Lin Ta Hui".

Van, Happy, Jellybean

Welcome to the big family.

Och

Got my wedding favours settled. I've spent more than expected. Finally opt for the incense holder for aromatheraphy that shape like a leave and some are a small bowl. Collected it and I am very please with the result. Especially the box. It is put in a box decorated in seashells, some with dried cinnamon etc.

Suprise that the goods was delivered so early. Apparently, she hv stock.

Hi julia,

About the profiles... well.. as our Sept brides family is growing larger each day... we are confused with one another's details. Therefore, I have taken initiative to create an excel file updating one another our bridal shop, wedding day, banquet, photographer and actual day photographer. Pls pass me your email so that I can send the completed compilation to you. Hope this helps.

Hi pooh,

I had change my photo shooting with JMN to Aug instead.
Have u decided to take up with JWN? MTM or OTR? For for your queries, I will need to get the invoice from my hubby's house before sending u back the detail.