(2002) Brides of year 2002

hi och,
my WG very simple la. just a spaghetti aline dress with centre split at the back. beneath is organza that is dotted with crystals. on the gown itself is some crystal/beads design (coloured). the gown is qute sexy, in front quite low-cut and its bareback. should be using white duchess satin. haha... really wonder if u can make out what i said.

for my EG, i am thinking of bustier (hehe... learn from u all) aline dress. colour wise, thinking of silver, gold, lavendar, baby blue... depends on what they have OTR, as long as i like it.

chemson, the living rm will look v. cosy with wooden skirtings.
gd choice.

mushroom, oh dear, hope u r well already. i'm visiting london for my honeymoon. how's the weather like in september?
guo da li is the "ceremony" where the bride price, the trotters n cakes r sent over to the bride's home.

blossom, wah, bare back, so sexy.
did u tell the bridal shop that u wanted a bustier? bridal shops go shopping for gowns every few months. if u tell them now, they can keep ur needs in mind on their next shopping trip.

mushroom: Hope you are feeling better already. Drink lots of fluids, ok ? Most MTM EG starts from $350... but the pricing depends on the design, the detailing and the materials used. As such the charges may vary. Try Doreen Chee (www.dchee.com).. her gowns are nice and pricing is rather reasonable. Another one.. try Ted Collections(At Bugis Junction 3rd floor if I remember correctly), their designs (beading work is excellent)are very nice and they make very good cheongsams. Guo Da Li is the exchange of cakes, dowry and stuff like that between the 2 sides' parents. Guess since your fiance grew up in London.. he may not be in touch with much of the culture.

Kat22: No wonder the name Woodsville sounds familar.. great choice.. I like their designs (as advertised in some bridal mags before) See U 2molo.. me.. in case..am a rather big-frame gal... not the skinny side.. very easy to identify..
C U at 6, ok ?

aileen: Tel: 222-2783 for Leap'in Lizards no. mushroom's methods really work... walk at least 30 mins... light meals minus carbo..lots of fruits does help !

Blossom: Your WG is sexy and nice ! Enjoy !

och: Plan to do the wooden skirting when we have confirmed the colour scheme for the furniture as we have bought a dining set oredi.. and its colour is maple wood-red.

Hi El,
Not to worry, you will feel comfortable with Sandy. There is no "attitude" or "airs" from her at all

Hi Jolene,
All the best for your ROM this friday

Hi Blossom,
Your WG sounds very princess-like

Hi Mushroom,
Do take care and rest as much as you can yah?

Hi el

I've checked the market price in Malacca for only 1 make up & hairdo at night cost riggit 200.00. so where r u from.

Kat22

Actually I'm a visual person too but I have confidence in Dang and I saw the design on the book just don't know how it looks on me.......worried!!

Aileen

Actually I agreed with mushroom, the best is still exercising & control yr diet. Over the last 3 yrs I've managed to lose 20 kg. Another 10 kg to go to normal weight. I was considered obese.

mushroom

I've signed up the package with Dang. She is charging me the EG at $350. I bought the material myself as I luv Thaisilk & happen to be at Bangkok.

Hi Kat,

When will be your wedding at Sheraton? Being Kpo here... hee hee..

Yup, certainly hope the flower deco can be done to our liking also. Will try and check woodsville florist out this weekend.

Cowie, your pics ready yet?

hi och, chemson, cowie,
thks. im actually having second thoughts abt the bareback becos my back not very nice. so may reduce it to only half-bare by covering with a layer of organza. have been scrubing my back regularly, my fh said improve a lot already but i think still not good enough.

i did tell the boutique what i want but they dun have it. all their gowns are made by their designer. so if i request a bustier, they will probably take it as if i want to MTM. thinking of going down again before my final measurement to see what new EG they have since i am so free now.

hallo gals!
chemson: keep us posted on how ur reno's coming along!
blossom : dun worry too much abt the gowns, i am sure it'll be OK! are u with JWN? if you are, i think they hv some clause that says that if u sign up for hte cheaper package, they only allow u to choose gowns taht are 6 mths old or somehting like that,...

chemson, OCH, i am going to call IRAS and make sure they let me separately asses...

chemson, OCH: and ur houses sound v. nice leh...hahahah
chemson - abt wooden skirting - remmber to take care abt ants making nests in them ok? my resale flat came with wooden skirting from prev. owner, and the skirting tho made of good wood had tons of ants coming out when we dismantled it.
Och, i gather ur house is warm kind of feeling, right?
julie: u're so fortunate, save tons of $$ on hse and reno..
el: dun stress too much abt the house...if u try to hurry them, some of them can end up cutting corners.
el, chemson - hope u are monitoring the contractor very closely...

kat: i am hoping not to buy my own materials...i hope my shop will gimme some nice stuff.. :-)

Aileen & all: if u wanna lose weight, i think taking out wisdom teeth is a v good way! i hvnet been able to eat much since monday and i think even my ring is becoming a bit loose!

el, blossom, mushroom, i think we belong in the same club - hvnt done much yet.. :-P

mushroom : must take good care of ur health okie! about wedding gown MTM - i think if u juz want one single piece from any of these shops w/o taking hte package they will charge close to $1K or 2K. only if u take a whole package then they will ask u to 'top up' a few hundred to convert something from OTR to MTM... what i can suggest is, 1st, try and see if u want to take any package from these shops, if not, suggest u find a seamstress somewhere, hv the material and design ready, and then ask the person to make. as an estiamte, when i had my ROM back in 2001, i was lokng @ some of these bridal shops who were charging $500 for MTM ROM gown! i was so shocked. what i then did was, flip some magaziens, go arab street and purchase material (they hv lotsa nice satin n lace stuff, but i believe london got better ones), and then go to the seamstress w my intended design. her labour cost was $80 and the whole dress cost - $130 in total.

corti is something like an overcoat that u can wear over a dress, say a bustier or soemthing like that. eg, i intend for my EG to hv a cheongsam style corti, which is removable to reveal a bustier underneath...hope u cld visualise! i am sallow, so look awful in ivory etc. however, i mite try silver...thanks for ur suggestion!

Hi Jolene,
My pics are ready, but still do not have the time to select some to upload. Will try to do so asap, ya?

Hi Blossom,
I also have the same problem as you. My back is not of an even tone.....in fact, quite ugly
But I have checked with my beautician-cum-make-up artist, she said that I just have to undergo a body polish, thereafter she will try to caumouflage my flaws for me by applying some powder and body shimmer. She said this should adequately cover up the marks. Hope this helps

blossom, cowie's suggestions r gd. ask a beautifican to assess ur condition first. makeup may not be able to conceal all blemishes. other than making an organza halfback, u can also ask for a shawl to be worn when u r walking around. the shawl can be in off-white chifforn for a softer look.

septembergal, iras wun know u r married now. they will still send u separate form. u hv to indicate that u r married n give the addr of ur hubby. for my case, that's when iras assumed that i am staying with my hubby n before i knew it, my assessment is at his place.
hv u changed the addr on ur ic yet?
my home has rather zen-like colours, even tho we dun really like the cold, zen decor. so we r doing our best to make it look n feel cosy. u r welcome to visit, e.g. when u r done with the magazines. eeks, the old skirting is actually an ants' nest? yucks. i hv parquet at my parents' place, no such problem so i thot all skirtings r safe.

Hi Gals:

Septembergal: Sure will keep on my progress on the renovation. Dun worry.. my flat is brand new.. won't have problems on the ants on the wooden skirting. We want our flat to be cosy and home-warming...
I dun want to stress too much abt the flat renovation.. that's why we used one previously used before... for quality and trustworthy.. having to monitor their work can be really hassel and tiring as well..

Cowie: Can't wait to see your pics.. remember to take your time to upload, ok ?

julia: Me... also 8 kilos over... after dieting and exercising.. I am back to my ideal weight cos I was able to wear back most of my clothings.. though would like to lose 3 more to be more ideal...

Blossom: If you are going for bareback.. then gotta take good care of it.. go for regular back-scrubbing treatment..

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Nikki, Angeline</FONT>
thank you!! actually nothing changes..
except the ring on 2nd last finger on left hand, haha..

ok, will surely share the photos with u gals..

Hi Starfruit, JenJen, JasTan &amp; Angelia,

nice talking to you gals too!!!

Chinese new year seems like another day to me lor...besides the long holiday, dun think there's anything to look forward to as I get older...

Hi Chemson

Well...it seems like what is left is really really stubborn. The fats generally accummulate near waist, hip &amp; abs area.

Hi Cowie

My ROM was on Dec but upto now, I've not even develop my ROM pic so no hurry take yr time.

Hi Blossom

Me 2, with all the sun tanning (not topless) I've develop the PBS(Permanent Bra-strip) on my back. Can only afford V for my EG. At least the expose part is smaller.

U might want 2 try the product by Lush call Seaweed Scrub. After using u will find ur skin soft and delicate. It also exfoliate the dead skin.Unfortunately the shop in Singapore is close already. If u need, u can goto tis website to order: http://www.lush.com.au/acb/webpage.cfm?
it takes about 10 working days to reach Singapore. The cost is about S$50+/- for 500gm (including shipping cost)- almost similar to buying directly from the shops in Singapore previously.

mushoom

Better take care. Are u coming back 2 Spore soon to plan the wedding? They need about 3 months for tailoring of gown (normal bridal shops would advice that) &amp; if u intend to do photography it will take another 3 months b 4 yr photo can be ready. Yes, if you do not sign package with the bridal shop, they will usually charge u $800 to $1000 to tailor. This tailor that I went for my brides maid gown is rather reasonable. I did a bustier straight cut gown for her @ $185. The material is duchess satin &amp; it is provided by the tailoring shop.The contact is as below

De Art Hi-Fashion Specialist Tailor
Work: 4753969
Fax: 4760238
Mobile: 96623167
Address:2 Leng Kee Road #05-10A Thye Hong Centre

The prices will depends on the detail of the gown. She also do tailoring for WG but I'm not sure what is the charges. The one I did 4 my bridesmaid is a rather simple one without any embroidery / beading.

Hi, gals

mushroom - hope u are feeling better already
So, when do u intend to come back?

Chemson - ok. see u!!

Jolene - my wedding is on 22 Sep. 1 week after urs I think
Oh, must tell me abt ur visit to woodsville!!
meanwhile, relax so u will look mei mei on ur rom this friday

julia - yup, me also worried abt how it will look on me...trying very hard to imagine....hopefully it will turn out just the way i think :P wah...u must hv really gd discipline to lose 20 kg! gd work!

did u gals read abt the sick freelance photographer who molested a 27-year old bride on her wedding day? Must be careful!!

thks gals. my beautician said my condition quite bad. kept asking me to take up a course with her. but u know la, beauty saloon always hard-sell one. my fh said i dun need. anyway, dun wish to spend too much until i find a job.

my back has some scars from insect bites and pimples. i heard that they will not go away that fast. my boutique said they will cover my scars with powder and body shimmer. also, my veil will cover my back, so not so obvious. my designer might give me a v-back too... vertical design to make little dwarf look taller...

Kat22: I did !! I am so disgusted!! I am kinda surprised that after so many times he did to her.. she kept mum until the evening... I dun know why ? It must have affected the whole family a lot !! Read from the reports.. that the guy seems decent but to think he committed such an act.. is unthinkable ! Luckily.. my photographer is a female.. :PPP By the way, are you seeing Shirley tomorrow to decide further on the EG or WG? C U
!

julia: I agree 100% with you.. what's left are the stubborn fats... around my abs (upper and lower), arms and tummy... EEK !

Thanks everyone for your concern. I will take care and hopefully fully recovered by end of this week.

Och: London will be very pretty in September. It will be the end Summer/early autumn time, with daylight till about 8pm. I personally love strolling in the various parks here during those times. Very relaxing and romantic too if you are strolling with your hubby.
But it will be fairly cooling (or maybe cold to some) esp. at night. Can be as low as 15 deg cel. But the trick is to wear lots of layers, instead of a thick wool coat. Twin sets and cardigans are the best bet at this time.

More later... xx

Chemson, Septembergal, Julia:
Thanks for the contacts and tips on MTM EG.

I will definitely consider this options if I
can't find a EG here.

Gals, about the sick photographer. Is his name published?

Septembergal: Corti is very fashionable here in Europe. Lots of girls wear that over their bustier WG for the church ceremony to coverup a little, also 'cos the weather is cold.

Oh, here's some tips on latest European trends for WG and EG.... use bows (big or small), lace, organza materials and go for understated designs..... Fave colours Esp. for EG, it's big on black&amp;White, Hot Red, gold and silver!

It's party time!!!

Hi mushroom,

That sicko photographer's name is Alvin Oh Keng Kee &amp; he was introduced to the couple through the bride's bridal shop.. Cristian Creation. In any case... served him right ! He got 28 mths in prison and 10 strokes of the cane !

The weather in London in Sept sounds wonderful ! THanks for enlightenining us all !
AND THANKS for keeping us tips on the bridal fashion trend in Europe...

Hi Kat,

Ya, I am learning to relax. Woke up at 6:15am today and could not get back to sleep... kept thinking about Friday....

Yup, mine is on 15th Sept. Will give you feedback, okie?

Chemson: When I saw the photographer's pic, I realised it was the same guy who took pics for my cousin's wedding!!!! My cousin booked from Graceful Image, so I guess we should not judge negatively on CC. When I left my cousin's place last year after her tea ceremony, this guy was downstairs, going home also, I think. When he saw me, he immediately changed direction and walked beside me. I was so scared then but as it was along the main road, did not think he will try anything funny... He asked for my hp no. and I said that my FH does not allow me to give my no. to a stranger. He persisted and asked for my email. I tot email only wat so I gave him hoping that he will stop following me. True enough, he left but later, I realised that I gave him a wrong email unintentionally!!!!! hahahaha.....

But seriously, this can happen to anybody. We gals jus need to take care and make sure we are never alone with a photographer who only met on that day...

kat, chemson, i absolutely agree with u gals, that guy is a mega sicko. to think the prosecutor ventured to argue his client was falling fr one weakness to another cos the girl was submissive?!!! what kind of lousy excuse is that? nobody invites molest, nobody invites rape, nobody invites kidnap etc, etc. to blame an attacker's lust, greed, n character flaws on their victim's flaws is just plain illogical thinking.

mushroom, thanks for describing london's weather. glad to know that daylight hours r still long in sept. 15 deg C isn't too cold yet, thank goodness.

Hi Hazel, thanks for asking.

I posted my experience in the Bridal Zone thread. Just click here to access it.

Gotta go for meeting now, catch up again later...

Jolene: Dun be nervous.. I am like you.... you will be so moved by the moment... enjoy every minute of it, ok ? Smile and listen to the vows.. they are very meaningful....

och: I personally think after the first 2 times .. I would have screamed at that sicko !!! To think 5 times..... and him a stranger touching my breasts!! EEEK !! He deserves the punishments !

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">dance40</FONT>
thank you! will try to put up the photos ASAP.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">miko</FONT>
agree wif u that CNY is juz like any other PH where we get to rest

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Janfyp</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">CONGRATULATIONS!</FONT> sori for the late wishes.
me so blur that i forgot we're ROMing at 10-15mins difference. if not, can catch up and take photos together. what a waste! so how's things on that day?

maybe we've seen but didn't recognise each other!

3627.gif

Wow, all are Nov Brides leh. Gong Xi Fa Cai and Happy New Year to all of you. Seem like you all become Mrs liao. Congratulations!!!

Hi Julia,
Hey, I don't think it is a good idea to leave your film for so long without developing....... the colour quality may drop. Better go get it developed, quick
Aren't you eager to see your photos at all????....

Hi Blossom,
Dun worry too much about your back. I have the same type of marks as you have described. Put it this way, so long as we dun mind, our other halves dun mind........ what's stopping us from wearing what we want....

Hi Jolene,
Relax......trust me, everything will go fine once you have planned properly. Eg. the day before, remind the 2 witness to put their ICs into their wallet. For myself, I did not carry a bag, so I put mine in my dad's wallet the day before. If you have made restaurant reservation, either confirm again with them today, or input their no. into your hp so that you can give them a call on your way there after your ROM. Once you reach ROM tomorrow, get a trusted friend to hold on to your phone for you, get her to answer your calls, etc. Just take the phone back and put it into your FH pocket after the solemnisation. This was what I did last week and everything went on beautifully

Our wedding dates are really pushing near.....
I can go select my photos liao this Sat....hopefully they will turn out nice.

I am going for food tasting on 1 March, as well as collecting my invites.

Cynthia, the hotel advised me to send out my invites earlier cos I have quite a lot of guests. SO she told me to start early so that I have enough time to plan.

Anyone know when's the next travel fair?

Hi Angelia,

Thanks and awaiting.

And noq I'm looking for flats so that I won't need to move in to my in-laws place after marriage.

After reading the messages, me abit stress liao. I'm getting married on 22 Jun and my bridal package is with Tan Yoong. Guess wat? I'm only going down tonite to take my measurements, gowns not ready yet. My photoshooting is on 15 Apr. Really need to keep my finger crossed.

cowie, blossom, i agree with what cowie said. what's most impt is that we n our other halves r most comfortable with ourselves.
i think the veil will provide enuf cover of the blemishes.

jolene, ur rom tomorrow rite? savour the moment. relax n look pretty ok?

chemson, i'm glad the judges din buy the defense lawyers warped defense plea n sentenced the photographer. it's just like what is often offered as pleas in spouse abuse cases: abusive spouses should be absolved of their blame for hitting their other halves, cos their other halves din resist n bear the unrealistic hope that abusive behaviour will change.

Hi angelia,
Congrats to u too!!!
I was looking out for the gal in the pic but that day was really crowded that I gave up. I thought I became a movie star cos my family took so many pics that my smile become 'frozen'!!

Dunno if u saw me, I'm the tall gal with a red toga style dress. What did u wear that day, maybe i recognise the dress cos pple usually look diff in make-up.

Janice

Hi Jolene,

Enjoy yourself and dun forget to tell us how did it go.. ok ? Congrats and welcome to the Mrs Club !

Julia: Cowie is right.. better develop your film fast...

Hi Kat22,

Kat: Nice meeting you and your FH. You guys looked really compatible ! Great to put a face to the nickname at last..
So.. what did you decide in the end? The halter or the cheongsam ? I like both designs. The cheongsam suit your frame and I love the behind.. whereas the halter is a more modern design which suits you as well.. tough choice...
So.. what about the colours? I tried my shoes at around 5.30 pm.. it was a really quick one.. I can collect it on the day I am going for my first fitting...
Oh yes.. I liked your WG.... very dreamy and romantic... I prefer the embroidery colour used on Sabjoon's gown. After altering the EG design a wee bit.. I am more confident and assured now.. dun think I wanna change anymore..

Kat22: Oh yes.. I will send you the file from work tomorrow morning, ok ? It's in my work PC...
So stay tuned !
Ah yes. it is difficult for men to visualise the gowns... think my hubby was able conceptualise with the help of Shirley..

Hi Chemson, Cowie &amp; Och,

I am really nervous!!!! Will listen to Cowie's advice and pass my personal belongings to my friend to hold. But, I really dunno how I am going to fall asleep tonite.....

Will let all of you know how it went....

Hi, Chemson

Really happy to meet u too
Yup, at least now can visualise who i am "talking" to
told shirley that we are considering two EGs but nearly fell off the chair when she quoted me $700! in the end, went for the cheongsam style
chose an orange-red two-tone silk for the bustier...hvnt decide on the organza for the cheongsam corti yet...shirley will select a colour n show me...so excited...ur gowns look really nice too! I luv the purple n gold combi!
hehehe...never mind, me oso keep changing some details :P yup, i think the embroidery colour of sabjoon's gown is very nice too but FH din like it
he likes white white gowns...hahaha..so laotu...
no problem...will wait for ur email...mtks!

Jolene - wah..that was really close! luckily that sicko photographer din harm u!!

Och, Jolene, Chemson - agree with och that those are just plain lousy excuses! poor gal! she will hv to live with this horrible memory of her wedding...wonder if she can bear to even celebrate her wedding anniversary!!
Well, really happy to hear that sicko is sentenced to 28 mths jail n 10 strokes of cane!! Bet he cant sit properly for weeks after the cane..

jolene - Hv a great day tomorrow!! wishing u &amp; ur hubby2be a long n blissful marriage!

Hi Jolene - whoa, that was a close call with the photographer...

lucky the poor girl managed to get it together in time and call the cops man...

it is sad, so many reports about angpows getting stolen, now this...think next time we all must also budget for CISCO protection during the wedding!

Hi Linda,

Read from the papers today that SA is having a fair on 3 Mar at Suntec. Chan Brothers is having its own a week later, at the same place too.

Hope your pictures turned out well too, read that you have enjoyed your photoshoot pretty much.

Hi fantasy,

Welcome! Dun worry, I am sure your bridal shop is confident of delivering your gowns before your photoshoot day. Just relax till that day and enjoy yourself.

Hi Kat22,

Great meeting up with you guys. $700 for a 2nd EG? Wow... that's quite high, huh ? I guess it's the design as well as the materials used lah..... you might want to consider... cos there is still time, right? I love the cheongsam.. it will definitely look great on you...
Orange-red combi sounds fantastic...
U R in safe hands... your embroideries will be in white then... but if they are in white-white.. it will be difficult to notice it in the photos.. that's why I opted for silver embroideries and at least it will stand out in the photos...
Stay tuned for my email.. I will be sending you now...

Hi Cynthia,

Have not done so. Probably do it over the weekend if I can spare some time. I just collected my mini-albums yesterday, thought of scanning from the minis since it's be easier to 'dismantle' the album.

Got a friend getting married over the weekend and saw her photos yesterday, taken with Andrew Choi. It's really really well-taken...so envious of her...lucky girl.

Hehee, read about your photoshoot experience. So interesting, inspite of having to endure mosquitoes. :P

CLoVeR

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">janfyp</FONT>
me in grey gown, with hair bun up and a sunflower bouquet.

aiyo, me can only remember seeing a bride in WG, 1 in blue gown, the rest dun remember liao..

what's ur bouquet like? i saw a bride with a bouquet of small teddy bears, very cuuute leh...
3638.gif

Hi fantasy,
Maybe Tan Yoong can complete the album within 1 month.....For my bridal shop, they need 3months from the selection of the photos to the album being ready....so I KS lor. :P It will be alrite!

Hi Cynthia,
Thanks! I will go down to look see look see! Wondering where to go for honeymoon..... U?

I guess it is very important for us to think about how to "store" our ang pow. My friend suggested the friends helping out at the recep should wear a waist pouch for the angpow. Although it will look awful, but at least yr ang pow is safe. Alternatively........we can get our brothers and friends to keep a look out and act fast when such thing happen.

Cowie, Chemson

ya...finally got around to do it. Photo will be ready today.

Hi Kat22

The EG sounds lovely. Agreed, $700 sound a bit x. may be if u r comfortable, why not u take the design &amp; try 2 source for other tailor if u hv enough time.

Hi Jolene

.......enjoy....and hv a lovely evening with ur husband tonite. It is a memorable day.

just need 2 know how do u get those cute smilely face...how do I use it &amp; where can I find it?