Thanks...that is great. My brief profile here:

Wedding Date: 14 Sept
Bridal Shop: Dang Bridal
Banquet Venue: Grand Hyatt
Photographer: Andrew Choi
Actual Day Photograper: C H Lim

LMF,

Ya....OG is a good choice. My MIL just bought a cheongsam for about $200 odd. They r having sales now so probably is a good time to buy. Alteration only $5. Otherwise, can try great world city. There is some shops that sell "Tai Tai" style of clothing.

All my rings given by my husband will hv the word: forever AJ. AJ is our initial & forever is the word he say when he put on the engagement ring for me. This is when he propose and it was the very first ring he gave me. So all our ring is engraved with this word.

lmf, i think some bridal shops will rent to mothers. u can check if urs does. otherwise hv to buy liao. og, like others hv mentioned, is a gd place to look. my mum is tailoring while my mil said she will shop for hers later.

cl, thanx for ur help. u hv made this forum a wonderful place to chat.

kat, u ring is v. unique. first time i've heard of a octagon ring.

julia, wow, u mean the wedding favours r already delivered?? that's fast! must be a load off ur mind. the present sounds v. pretty. dun mind me asking, how much was the present? i wun be going to the regent fair, since i wun be in sg then.

Hi OCH,

It cost me $4 each. It depends also on the quantity. I have only 280 guest max. I think it is quite reasonable. If u need the contact, let me know.

I've got Hyatt to decorate the reception area for me with candles. I will probably bring my own scented candle. Hyatt only willing to provide normal tealight candle.

I've decided on my theme.... It will be more colour theme....I am using white and green. So I am requesting Hyatt to give me White trumpet lilies and white orchid for the flowers arrangement with lots of leaves. On the centre of the tables, I have requested for a bowl of water with white & green orchid and tealight candles. I will be bringing my own scent. Any suggestion what scent. Opting for somehting refreshing as I do not want 2 put people to sleep.

Hi Chemson

Wow... that is great. Where is yr wedding held? Me & OCH both at Grand Hyatt.

Julia & och, thanks for your suggestions. Will take note for that. I've already checked with my bridal shop. They don't have anything for my mother but i managed to get a white tuxcedo suit for my nephew FREE!

Julia, you and your FH so dramatic and romantic! "Forever AJ" Bet you have a memorable proposal from your FH.

Hi julia,

My banquet is at Four Seasons.. hey.. that means you will be bumping into one another at the Grand Hyatt... how cool !!

hi jastan & JenJen,

im a Paris brides, wnet for my 1st appointment liao. @nd appointment will be on 23rd Mar at 1pm.
May is my coordinator, she bery friendly & helpful. She let me tried abt 6 - 8 gowns during my 1st appointment.

2nd appointment will be choosing my gowns for foto-shooting & design for my mtm WG & EG. Hv u gals design your gowns, do let me noe, okie?
will keep u gals update :p

Hi LMF

no lah.....my proposal was terribly unromantic. He just ask me " Can I buy u a ring, can or not?" I ask him "Buying ring there is a special meaning, why not u get some other item like earring" Didn't really know that he proposes until he said "yes I know, I want 2 marry " & we were at Lot 1 shopping mall then.This is terribly unromantic right. but he said the word "forever" when he put on the ring for me so that is how the word end up on our ring & the initial is because the ring is not big enought 2 engrave both our names.

Hi Chemson

I guess on that day we will b too busy 2 bump into each other but will definately make an effort.

Hi Julia,
You're better than me! At least, i find that this is still considered a proposal. My FH only asked me out of a sudden, "Let's go HDB and apply for new flats." I said "Uhh... What do you mean?" And we have a long teasing conversation. Although it's not romantic but at least it's fun teasing each other. So now which proposal did you consider a real proposal? My FH didn't even mention about rings until i say how can a proposal comes without ring and flowers. Til now I'm still waiting for his proper proposal.

Hi LMF,
looks like i'm also in the same situation as you... still waiting for the proposal *sigh*

me & my FH decided to get married in a very mutual way... the topic started only this january when we started off by saying our future... our retirement... then he just pop out the question saying lets get married tis sept on our 3rd year dating anniversary...

so till now i have yet to receive any proposal / even my proposal ring, everytime i prompt him abt this he will say: 'dun worry, you will sure get it'... *sigh*!

sorry for my long disappearance. after seeking and searching for close to one year, i finally got a job. right now, busy settling in my new workplace.

please dun forget to include me on your next outing.

btw me going for my first fitting in march too. do you gals think it will be ok to have a red cheongsam for tea dress and a red evening gown for the banquet? me used to hate red so it's kind of irony that i ended up with two red dresses.

ok , got to go back to work liao.

hope to see you pple soon.

Hi Van,
I always thought that I'm the only one less fotunate, who knows we have the same experience!

Share a joke with you gals. I kept on reminding my FH about my fantasy of proposing methods. He even ask me to teach him how to propose to me. I told him i definitely want him to kneel down on his knees and propose to me with a ring. No flowers never mind. He said, "Ok! I'll do that when our wedding band is ready for collection!" Not too sure whether i supposed to be angry
or to think that his reply is funny.
What a man I've chosen!

Me will not give up or give in. Will make him do that one day before my ROM if not don't marry him. Ha Ha Ha!

Hi, gals!

Chemson - Hey, ur rings sound really nice too! I was looking for tri- or dual colour bands too! Too bad FH din like them...Are they white, yellow n rose gold??

LMF - no..they are not X at all! In fact, we only paid abt $540 for the pair!! The 2 of us were grinning after leaving the shop 'cos we initially budgeted $1k for our rings!!

Och - Now i am afraid that my mom may not like my rings b'cos of the shape...she din really like us to hv rings with edges so dunno whether this will pass her test??

Julia - wow..i like that "Forever AJ" too
..so romantic! We hvnt even thought of the wordings for our rings yet...

LMF, Van - Dun worry..I am sure your FHs will formally propose soon...I was in ur shoes previously too! Kept telling n bugging him that i am expecting a proper proposal...how can i take "Let's apply for a flat" as one!! No way!! In the end, he proposed last December!

Hi Kat22,
It's cheap. Good, you can save half of your budget on other things. Is your ring white gold or platinum?

Just wondering nowadays, is it a trend to agree to marry him before he actually do the proposal? Seems like most of the guys did that.

hi kat22 thanks for your console...

wat i told him was if i didnt see the ring on our wedding day, i expect him to kneel down in-front of our relatives & friends @ the banquet to propose to me

LMF, Van

Yah......like u 2, I told my husband "the dream proposal" as in, he, kneeling down with a bunch of roses....etc. & the suprising thing is he did it last valentines day while we were shopping at Scotts Isetan... I really got a shock!! It was in the middle of the cosmetic dept & I nearly fainted. By then, we are already legally married and I am very shock. Until now, I still cannot get over the shock. By then, it is more of a embrassment that I really want 2 look for a hole to hide.

Hi Kat22

Julia, i think you should feel proud rather than embrassment. Once in a lifetime thing! Imagine all the people look at both of you in jealousy eyes...! Your FH really very creative! Three cheers for Andrew!!! Yeh! Yeh! Yeh!

Hi LMF

Don't worry....your turn will definately come. It is just a matter of time.

Hi Angeline,

you are paris bride? so am i?
I also was serve by May. So far so good.
Have you decided the design for your gown?
Who is going to be your designer?
I'm having Jennifer and my appointment is 24Mar.
Urs?

Irene

me... also in dreamland hoping that my hubby will do the dream proposal to me as well... ha ha ha ! Fat hope... what he did was he got our wedding bands (used for ROM) and came over to my place before midnite (on the eve of my birthday)... knee down in front of my door to surprise me n he gave me a small bouquet of rose and later when inside he took out the rings and told me that if i wanna marry him.. wear the ring immediately.. hahahahaha !

julia, u mean u hv liased with hyatt abt flowers n decor oredi?!!! that's v. fast! teal is v. nice. i've seen a number of wedding setups with teal tablecloths n they look v. classy. i'm also hving a colour theme, most likely white n gold. but still cannot decide what flowers to get. did hyatt make u pay for the additonal candles n lilies? the last time i asked, i was told i hv to top up if i wanted lilies.

chemson, julia n my wedding r on different floors, so bumping into each other is unlikely on the wedding day. but i think we may meet each other since we r both staying in hyatt for 2 nites.

kat, will ur mum criticise since u hv already bot the ring? it cannot be changed mah, so maybe she wun mind.

lmf, van, julia, u r rite to say most couples n sg agreed to get married b4 the proposal. i remember reading articles in the straits times every few yrs n the poll results always showed that sg men use "let's apply for hdb" to seek their gf's consent to marriage.
i used to rage abt the lack of proposals in sg every time i see the articles. my hubby remembered one of my long tirades while we were still platonic friends. apparently, he was worried that i will reject any talk abt marriage without a proposal, so he prepared flowers n a solitaire n surprised me with a knelt-down proposal during valentine's day. never expected something so gd to come out of one of my ragings.

3804.gif

I will be collecting my wedding invites and selecting the photographs for the wedding album THIS SATURDAY. this is getting exciting for me!

Hi Linda, have you finally decided how many photos to get?

cynthia

Chemson, at least he give you a surprise and he bend down on his knees. Don't know whether my FH could give me such surprises and most important is that he mentioned that he will not kneel down bcos it's not good for me to kneel down in front of ladies. Just hope that he won't spoilt my dream proposal.

Hi LMF,

My hubby is not the romantic kind... so I was kinda surprised and touched that he did it... and to me.. it came as a form of proposal...
I have kept the flowers till today... dried and turned it to a vase of dried flowers...

Afterall, it seems like everyone is "first bitter later sweet" experience about proposal. Wish everyone will have a memorable proposal if you have not get it including myself.

Hi Och

Actually I've discussed this issue with Hyatt when I sign my contract. Yes, they hv ask me to pay extra for lilies. However, I've traded some of the item such as the ice craving, the guest book etc with them for the extra lilies. Anyway, it will not be lilies for the whole arrangement. It will be mixed with white orchid so should not be too much cost added.

I made them put all this down in the contract "black & white" so there will be no dispute.

Just a summary of perks I've got from Hyatt:

1. 1 free barrel of beer
2. 1 day room for my helper
3. Reception decoration with tealight candles
4. xchange the wedding favours with food tasting
5. xchange the ice craving & guest book with lilies & orchid. However only the deco on the aisle. Centrepiece will be the glass container.

Hi, gals!

LMF - My rings are in white gold..guess dat's why it's cheaper...platinium will definitely cost alot more
hmm...maybe guys nowadays need to be sure that we will say yes b4 they propose??

Chemson - hey, i think ur hubby very sweet leh! Still count as the dream proposal la..got flowers, got ring mah...kneel down somemore...

Julia - yeah..u shld be proud! think few men are brave enough to propose in public
U are so blessed!!

Hi, och

Think she will just complain complain la...
Too late anyway...hahaha
Hey, I am thinking of white and gold theme as well
thot it's very classy :P...considering using ivory roses and candles...do u think roses are abit too common?

hi kat,

alright, one person who's choosing the same colour theme as me.
ivory roses n candles sounds v. romantic, i wanted that combi as well, but hyatt charges for the candles i think. dun think roses r too common, especially if they r arranged well... bridal magazines r still showcasing roses in their banquet setup.

hi julia,

wow, ur package is v. customised. u mean u did the exchanges without topping up? n how did u get the free barrel of beer?
my package is quite different fr urs, i'm not serving beer, after i found out how expensive hyatt's beer was, n i've traded away the cards. i've never seen the glass container centerpieces. the only 2 i've seen r the potted roses n the normal round display. how did u select the lilies with white orchids combi? did ur coordinator show u pictures?

Hi Kat22,
Hey, your wedding bands sound quite similar to mine!
Also some angular shape on the surface, but the inside is round..... But got mine from Aspial and it is in platinum......

Hi Van and LMF,
Dun worry gals, the proposal may come as a great surprise.
Mine was..... my hubby proposed to me on a cable car! Yup, he managed to kneel down even though there was severe space constrain
. But no roses, just whipped out the ring from his pocket..... I was so stunned for a while that I didn't know what to say

Hey Julia,I like what you have chosen to engrave in your rings. So meaningful. Like you, my FH began his little romantic speech and suddenly knelt down in front of a big crowd in Paris with a solitaire. I was so shocked with embarrassment in the first few moments that I felt my feet went numb. Also what didn't helped was it was 0 deg cel that night. All I could do was look at the ring and smiled! Forgot to say 'yes' until moments later which made him so nervous. Ha ha!! My FH is usually very eloquent and that was the only time when he stammered a little. But it was all so sweet and heart-warming every time I think about it.

LMF and rest, I am sure you will get a romantic proposal very soon. Most men nowadays know that they should delight their better halves early before they get married, especially with things related to proposal and wedding. Such sweet measures will mean "easier" life later. ha ha!! Quote and unquote from my male colleagues.

Nope...supposed to go tonight. But huuby's car spoil...so better not go in case he no mood and say everything dun want....
Me thinking not to add so much liao.....save $$

I collect my invites liao......But not print the inserts....

Kat22,Och

I am picking roses too. Definitely roses and gotta be cream and white! I am a sucker for roses. My hand bouquet shall be a tight posy of cream roses too. heheee.... I might mix roses with some other flowers for the centrepieces, but I have not decided. Need to see florist to decide such things. Besides a few common flowers, I know nothing about them.. so gals... need lots of help here.

Oh yeah! I have updates now. My friend booked the venue for us. It's Alkaff! The pictures are incredibly beautiful. Also everyone said that on our wedding day, we can be 99% sure that it won't rain. Never rain before on that day, that's what my friends all said. Oh well.. just keep fingers crossed. My FH and I just love the pictures so much that we decided to go ahead and book it. My friend had placed deposit already. But the contract seems very vague in terms of decorations. It just said classy deco. Maybe I should state clearly what is included to make it looks like those in the brochures they gave us. aww... but so troublesome to do that when I am over here. I am getting lazy as well.

Julia, which florist do you use for your hotel deco?

I have wanted tea lights and candles etc initially, but since we have picked Alkaff, and that place always has breezes in the evening, maybe not good idea to use candles and tea lights. What do you gals think?

Hi all,i'm a june bride as well;) Juz collect my invites last week but can't decide which printer to go,u all have any idea??
Due to budget constrain, we are trying to find a good and reliable and most importantly cheap printer,any idea??? Thanx in advance

Kat22, Chemson, your rings are really unique! Must be really excited to wear it right? I can imagine. But don't be tempted lor! Must keep in boxes until the wedding... like you said, more meaningful that way.

I saw this Tiffany's ring the other day that we like very much, but have not bought them yet. Think we will wait a little while, shop around first. White gold and platinium are very popular in Singapore. Over here, yellow gold, esp 18k is more popular and couples tend to go for traditional plain bands. My solitaire ring has a yellow gold band, so I will pick yellow gold wedding bands to go with it.
Before I came Europe, I like white gold too (having being exposed to adverts in Singapore), but now I like it more traditional as well.. Err... just call me fickle-minded lah!

lmf, kat, mushrm, i agree that guys need to be sure b4 they ask... afterall, diamond rings dun come cheap.

mushrm, alkaff mansions is v. pretty.
r u sure u need to get another florist? i thot alkaff's package comes with their own florist. why dun u email them to ask? if u r fickle, then i am too. i used to like white gold n platinum. but recently came across this 18k yellow gold diamond bracelet fr aspial. hv been drooling over it since.

Hi Lotus4,

okie, my experience... started both my MTM WG & EG in early Dec (disussion), then was design phase, finally 3 fittings b4 the end prdt, which is March. I'll b collecting my gowns today for photoshoot. Looks like for my case, it took abt. 3 mths, but diff. designers needs diff. period to complete the gowns, and a lot depends on the complexity of the gowns... my WG has embroideries & beadings... perhaps dat's y it took 3 mths... if u're worried, pls check wif ur designer, mebbe get a tentative schedule of the fitting dates if it helps to assure u...

Hi cynthia & Linda, my hotel coordination has oso asked me to collect my invites soon... heheh... so nice of her to remind me... guess i'll collect them within 1 or 2 weeks' time, gotta settle my photoshotot 1st.

hi dance40,

so we have quite a few Paris brides over here

i haven decide my design yet, will discuss further with them. Aiya, i forgot to ask who is my designer? Do u know how many designers do they have, which one is better har?
My 2nd appointment is on 23rd Mar.

Hi mushroom...
Wow... proposal in Paris... it's so romantic....I dun mind abt the embarrassment but in Paris... just like in a movie...
Alkaff is good... my gal fren had her wedding banquet there as well... hey... mushroom... just to double confirm your wedding profile... when is your wedding... Sept 28th, right? Have you gotten the actual day photographer as yet ? Do update us all.... my list is almost ready... wonder where is Septembergal...she has disappeared for awhile now... :PP

Hi OCH

I've not met the florist or choose it from any of Hyatt picture but I've shown a picture from a magazine I bought to Hyatt. We really really took lots of effort in bargaining with Hyatt for all the freebies. I must say my co-ord is rather patient with us. Thank god she didn't charge me extra. My husband was the one doing the bargaining with her, I must say, he is good at it. It is actually the same package but I traded some of the item.

I hv requested for the glass bowl from Hyatt as I like it. Hyatt agreed but subject to availability. Apparently, they have the stock but just that they might not replace it if it is broken so might not hv enought then. Will confirm again nearer 2 the date.

Hi Mushroom

wah........ur proposal was equally shocking. So when r u coming back 2 Singapore?

I'll b using the hotel florist. Will b only talking to them nearer to the date but I've got all the detail spell out black & white in the contract.

Cowie

Cable car??.........that is the most unique proposal I've heard.....it is so........romantic to propose in the middle of air.

Most of your FHs have their own individual tactics on the proposal and we gals got what we want except for me. It's ok. Wait for another few weeks when my ring is ready, i think it's my turn.... hopefully. Can't wait for that moment? Don't know how it will work? Will i burst into tears? Will i laugh til i drop? Will i get angry with the way he propose as my FH is not romantic and not creative? Just keep my finger cross. Once i got the experience, i will share my experience with you gals.

Hi Choco,

We will probably be printing either the inserts or directly onto the cards using our home printer. Trying to save some costs.

Anyway, dun think the guests are keeping our wedding invites as keepsake. So not spending too much $$$ and creative juice on it.

=P cynthia

Hi, gals

Och - hmm..must check with my coordinator whether they will charge me extras for candles
think i will stick with roses..they are my favorites

Cowie - hehehe...great minds think alike!
Mine oso round on the inside
now cracking my brains on suitable wordings for the engraving
At least u can wear ur rings now...me still got to wait until Sep...sigh....My best pal's hubby proposed in the cable car too...so romantic..too bad FH scared of hts!

mushroom - wow, in Paris! There's so unforgettable! Mine happened in Beaufort when we went there for a short getaway...he din kneel but surprise me with flowers n diamond while i was still sleeping
Din expect it 'cos I was the one who booked the resort!

Mushroom, Och - me dunno whether to get white or yellow gold too! MIL n my mom prefer yellow gold 'cos got more value..hahaha...but me prefer white gold to match my other jewellery...hm...maybe pop by aspial to take a look too

LMF - dun worry...i am sure he's cracking his head now how to give u that memorable proposal

I think this is really a wonderful way to keep tabs of wud we are doing.
Yea, I'm also arranging with my banquet manager to collect my cards. Are you all going for food tasting yet?

CLoVeR

Hi Julia,
Yup, I felt like I was on the top of the world when he did that
But I think he was getting very uncomfortable when I took quite a while to recover from the shock to say yes!

Hi Kat22,
Not to worry, you will be so busy with your preparations that time will fly past so fast
I had my fair share of waiting to wear the ring too.....we bought it somewhere in Nov last year

Hi LMF,
When the time comes, must let us know of how the proposal went hor

hi May brides,

Want to know comments/opinions from u gals!

I was transferred from my post last year

Now, the problem is I dunno how should I invite?
If not for the transfer, I would only invite close colleagues & boss. Now that I am transferred, I know have to invite my "new" bosses, wat abt colleagues? Give them cakes gd enuff ??

got budget leh but don want to offend anyone!!
How?????

Dance40, Angeline

seems like i am quite late in gowns fitting as compared to you. Hope my 1st appointment will be a smooth one.

Anyway, will update you again after my 1st fitting tomorrow.

Juz went to hitech and book with them my printing already. I feel that the quotation they give me is really very reasonable. Saw some of their samples,not too bad,quite clear to me though i dun know wats the standard of other printers but so far i think they are the cheapest already

My hotel coordinator didn't call me to collect the invites,in fact its me who remind her to pass us the invites. When i call her to collect it ,she still say couples usually collect 1 month b4,abit worried about her efficiency now,dun know whether she will cork-up the dinner or not