(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Och and Chemson,

Happy, you bet! Ecstatic should be the word!
Hey both of you into your fitting sessions already? Sigh, I only get to see sketches... My first fitting will be one week before the shoot. Since Jacqueline will be doing my makeup and heard lots of positive comments about her, including Chemson's comments, I've decided to arrange for the trial makeup on my 1st fitting, that is the 22 June week. You girls would have settled your gowns and your photoshooting by then... must share tips, ok?

I need your help ........ I've planning to make a pair of silver shoe for both my WG and EG but I realised that there are so many different shade of silver, now abit crossed-eye liao. My WG is ivory and my EG is turquoise, not sure what shade of silver will match these 2 gowns. Pls help!!

Hi sheep:

Usually.. for the first fitting, we only get to see the lining as well as the sample embroideries.. and at the 2nd fitting... the lining for the EG and perhaps more details on the WG....
By the time you have had your trial on 22nd June... my photoshoot would have been completed...
Jacqueline is good... dun worry.. you are in safe hands...

kat, thanks for the suggestion. will check with my parents n il abt sending out invitations to relatives later. hopefully they r ok with it.

sheep, can, will share if i hv any tips. u too, must describe how ur gowns look like after u see the sketches ok? i will be away on business then, but i will try my very best to log on read ur descriptions.

HI fantasy,

As what you have said, there are so many shades of silver in the market, very difficult to tell you which exact shade. From your gowns, all I know is you shld not get a dark silver. Most gllitering silver shld be fine.

If any of u r thinking of wedding favours, let me know. Found someone that are doing it part time. I opt for choptick....per piece is $2.50 including the packaging.

There are actually lots more choices other than chopstick.

I actually bargain with Hyatt to swap the wedding favours they provide(cholocate/ fruit cake) with the food tasting for 10 pax. The actual cost I incur is only about +/-$250.

Hi sheep

I think the most important thing is being able to visualise urself in the gown. I seems 2 hv difficulty so now worried lah.........but u must share with us ur gowns design so we can all drool over it also....

Hi Och. chemson, kat22, sheep

I will b sending my invitation in July. My 2nd batch of invitation in beginning Sept, just in case I can't fill up the min table requirement.

Will be doing my photoshoot on 3 June. My gowns r still not ready......wonder will it be ready in time coz u gals seems to be on ur first fitting already & photoshoot only in July....a bit nervous.

My gou da li will be the same day as my Malacca wedding 3 Aug. Due to logistic problem, my parents will be distributing the invitation card (in Malacca) on my behalf and the gou da li done on the same day so that I will not need to go home so many time to settle things.

I got no si dian jin. Apparently, hokkien don't hv.

Is it ok that I leave "niang jia" without any accessories because I know my MIL bought me a diamond necklace and she will wear 4 me during tea ceremony? I don't usually wear jewerally so if I buy extra set I will be sitting in the safe deposit box after the wedding. Such a waste. I am only thinking of buying a pair of earring.

Hi Veil:
So you've decided to sign up with Ted Wu, do share your experience with us.

By the way, which day is your wedding?

Mine is on the 21st.

I'm getting excited too 'cos my photoshot is drawing near, next week.

Cheers:
carol

Hi mist 1108,

I think it's ok to have your church first then customary wedding (kinda like having your ROM first lor). I am actually also thinking of JWN, can share with me which package you took with them? They are quite good at giving discount so I am wondering what I can bargain with them. Heard that you will have to take your studio/outdoor pictures in Jul... that is like 5 months before your wedding... quite fast right? Have you booked your wedding banquet?

pooh

Ah yo Pegsfur, me also panick liao lah. Can you imagine I only finish writing my invitation cards for my colleagues yesterday? The rest all haven write leh. My hubby also haven start. Lucky majority have been asked verbally liao.

2day my hubby & his mom went to order those things for my guo da li liao. hm..... haven prepare ang pao yet. Ah yo really scary leh.

How's yr preparation? How about the others?

Joker

I realise that this tread seems rather quiet. Hmm.... where are the other July brides? Has it always been like this?
yawn.gif

Carol: I can't wait for my photoshoot, and it's just next week, like yours! Remember to share with us your experience, ok? And I will do the same too.

Kittycat: What u described look very nice... At Ted Wu's shop, I've seen several of those see-thru' outer organza pieces with loads of embroidery on it, and they look simply gorgeous! I remember seeing 1 beautiful piece in a "swimming pool" blue colour. Heavenly....

btw, I'll be seeing Ted tomorrow for my final fitting before the photoshoot.

Veil: No problem at all. Welcome to the Ted Wu bridal family.
heehee...

chemson, me going away for 2-3 wks next weekend or so. dun forget me ok.
the trip itself wun clash the wedding preps schedule. 2nd fitting is next wk n my photoshoot is all the way in may.

julia, i think it's ok, nowadays, few pple r so picky abt whether the bride is laden with jewellery. but do check whether ur parents r ok with it. sometimes, it's the parents that dun like their daughters leaving without jewellery.

so u r confirmed not getting hyatt's chocolates? n u hv to pay $250 to trade to food tasting? i'm still undecided abt whether i wanted my own wedding favours.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">dance40</FONT>
wah, dun think we can afford the resale flat in those area, even if 5-rm.

so, what we hv in mind now is get a 4-rm without grant, 2.5 yrs later prob sell n apply new flat lor.

joker,

So we the same lah ...

What abt the cakes? Have u ordered liao? As for the guo da li, did yr mum or MIL have any special request or not? My MIL asked for orange juice in glass bottle one ... dun know wat's that for ...

For me, I have finished sending out the invitations, now doing the seating arrangments ... wah ... it's a headache man ...

Hi Elaine,

I'm a June Ted Wu bride &amp; i'm going for my fitting tmr too... wat time's ur appt?

Sorry to the other July brides, for making this like a Ted Wu thread... hope u can pardon me... 10q

Hi OCH, my actual day photographer is also Hilarion Goh, we just met up with him the other day! think it will be fun working with him on that day! mine's on 28/29 Sept, when is ur wedding?

Cowie, thanks for ur photos! agree! gown and you v v sweet!

btw, have continued my paper shopping, if anyone is looking for plain A4 coloured paper (about 1 ream - 500 sheets) for programmes, EPB Bookstore in Suntec is selling at $11.54 per ream....not gone down to Popular to check out the tracing paper yet, maybe this weekend.

Hi Veil,

I think I'm abt. the only bride who's dreading the wedding day (mine's on the 6th). It's only 4 months away and I don't seem to feel any excitement at all! I really hope that the enthusiasm level will increase as the day draws nearer.

*Grin* You've finally made your decision to sign on with Ted Wu? I agonized over it for a while before making the decision coz it's quite expensive. My 1st appt with him is only in the 1st week of Mar.

Hi Elaine,

Wld love to see your photos once they are ready!Which photographer are you using?

Hey Och: your photographer for your photoshoot is done by Seletar Broadway, right? Will it be hard to co-ordinate the schedule? Dun worry, we won't forget you and do email or message us from overseas, ok ?

Hi Kittycat, why are you dreading the wedding day?? I'm one day after you, but i'm not a Ted Wu bride lah, too expensive for me :P How come ur 1st appt so late with him? I am taking my photoshoot in march liao...

hi all May brides!!

How's everyone?

Our weddings will be coming up soon! ;)
Feeling excited as well as a little pre-wedding
blues, if that's wat it's called.

Have seen my photos recently &amp; made my selection.
Will be collecting them in early May.

Also, decided on my wedding card design. Currently, finalising guest lists &amp; invite wordings

However, still hunting 4 my ideal home!!

Jan

Me also Sep bride. Have you all started calling ur frens to "choop" them for your BIG day? Calling them now a bit KS, hor!!

By the way, my wedding's on zhong qiu jie (mooncake festival). U think funny to give out mooncakes that night with the chocolate???

HI Och

I've traded the wedding favours for the food tasting. It is 1 for 1 trading, I don't hv 2 pay. What I was saying that the additional cost is $250 because if I am paying for food tasting it will cost 50% of the table cost which will be around $400. I've budgeted $650 for wedding favours so the additional cost is $250.

Still looking for my EG shoes. Looking for a strappy 3 inch turqouis or maroon shoe. Anyone seen nice one pls let me know where.

aileen, what a coincidence!
my wedding is on 14 sept, 2 wks b4 urs. is urs the regular package or r u getting the photojournalistic package?

chemson, thanks, u r so nice.
will do my bestest to keep in touch with all of u here. the photography will be done by serangoon broadway, which is different fr seletar. i've already booked the photography date n the makeup artiste on photography day.
gowns will be ready way by end mar. quite ks rite?
but the men's suit is still not done.

bearbear, welcome to the group! i think sending out mooncakes is quite a cool idea n it will be easy for pple to remember ur wedding date.

Hi bearbear &amp; Och,

Great idea... I love your idea of giving your guests mooncakes instead of cakes..... it's a great day to remember! Where is your banquet and have you booked your bridal package yet ? Do share with all of us here. Oh yes... Welcome to the group... so happy to see so many Sept brides around...

Och: U r not KS... cos you are travelling and it's better to settle all these things first esp you are doing your photography elsewhere... it is harder to co-ordinate. Who's doing your make-up ? So envious... by end March.. my gowns will still be in the making....

Hi Vee Kee &amp; Cheerios,

Thanks for your suggestions. I like Marina South too. Will suggest to the photorapher and see what he says

Hi Jan,

Ya , me too. Starting to feel a little stress :P
Will be taking my pics next week and so bad luck, have got a little eye infection. Hope it clears by then.

Hi brides,'

I am wondering if I shd highlight my hair. What do you gals think? Coz a fren was telling me that it can't be seen in the photos.

Still have not sent my invites for printing yet...and I'm still making my accessories for the photoshoot...wah, like so much to do and so little time...:P

Hi Elaine:
So which day is your photoshoot, mine is on Tues.
Really excited.
So will you be going for manicure/pedicure before the shooting?
And don't remember to bring the essential things along on the shooting day.

Hi Kittycat, don't worry, when the day gets nearer, you will be too excited then.
or, till you go for the photoshot, then your excitement will start too.

Carol

Morning Pegsfur,
We just order the cakes last nite at Bangawan. Will be collecting Saturday nite.

For the guo da li, my mom din request for much things except for the 3 basic things for Teochew. Don know how to call them in English. As for the orange juice, it's actually to be returned back to the guys side becos they brought 2 bottles of liquor.

Also 'long2 feng2 zu2' bought by the guys. Don know whether you all need basket? I borrowed from my cousin. Wat else leh?

Joker

Still remember me? I'm back in this big sister group again!

Och, knowing that you will be outstationed next weekend, wish you bon voyage first.

Bearbear, a warm welcome to you! I think your idea is marvellous. Maybe you can consider mini-size mooncake with your name and your FH's name printed on the mooncake... or even the face of both of you...! Nowadays, so hi-tech. I believe they can do something if you want your faces to appear on the mooncake! Hi Hi!

Looks like most of you have confirmed your design of the gown. So envy! Me need to go down for 2nd trial again bcos very indecisive!
Just wanted to share with you gals that I've just bought my wedding bands. For all these while, I'm busy shopping for these rings. Finally...! Have you gals confirmed your wedding bands yet?

Hi LMF,

Welcome back.... guess most of us who have gotten ROMed before our wedding day... would have gotten my bands oredi. But I am making another pair cos my current pair is too plain cos it's only a simple white gold band...

Hi Bluebell,

regarding the highlighting, personally, i think not realkly necessary. For myself, (did the indoor shoot last thurs and doing my outdoor tomorrow), i coloured my hair few days before the shoot to a darker tone, for the shoots, the spray colours, rather nice cos it can do instant highlights. changed 2 colours. quite nice cos the colours are subtle and yet natural.

wow, seems like most of the may brides already doing the invites. me have not even collected my cards from the hotel yet. sigh. better hurry. was thinking that we have loads of time but maybe not!

Hi Chemson,
Thanks for not forgetting me.

So you are making another pair. You mean custom made or buying another pair? Which shop did you go to? I confirmed with Aspial. My band is platinum. Mine with diamond and my FH without diamond.

How long have you been wearing your white gold band? Pardon me i ask if your ring has already out of shape? Bcos' the salesperson told me that white gold is softer. Platinum is more durable. That's why i chose platinum which is more expensive!

Hi LMF &amp; Jolene,

Jolene: WIll be dropping my email to you...

LMF: Yes I am custom-making another pair. Doing it at another jeweller's place. I have wearing my white gold band since Oct 01. Nope... it's not out of shape... just a little too plain.... plus I have lost weight.. my ring is so much looser now...
Wanted platinum... but it's ok.

My actual day photographer is C H Lim. Not a very popular guy but highly recommended by my friend. He charges by per rolls. I think is $60 per roll...... not sure. Gotta reconfirm again. His contact is 97611162 if any of u gals r interested.

Hi bearbear

Welcome to the big family. Yes, do share with us ur progress....we r all so excited.

Hi OCH

Bon voyage.......U took "a lar carte" I thought u took the whole package from Margaret. Is great to be able 2 settle things earlier. At least u don't hv 2 scramble through those stuff nearer 2 the date when u r 2 busy 2 look pretty.

Aileen

Found my "tracing paper" Popular at orchard give quite a variety. It comes in different colour &amp; pattern.

joker,

I thot u didn't want bengawan cakes?
As for me, I just get cakes from those neighbourhood cake shop ... cheaper mah ...

Oic, but my MIL specifically asked for the glass bottled orange juice leh ... she din want the plastic bottle one ... don't understand why also ....

Oh I heard abt the basket ... but think my dad said no need
What's it for anyway? I'm very blur ....

Btw, have u assigned any tasks to yr helpers? I don't know what help I need except reception, ushers &amp; MC ... what else har?

chemson, thanks for being so supportive.
my makeup artiste is sharon. margaret recommended her cos i seldom wear makeup, so makeup that's more natural will suit me better.

jolene, sent u an email liao. i'm now eagerly waiting for ur pics.

lmf, like chemson, i wore my ring since i rom'ed. i got mine, a platinum pair, fr aspial. my engagement ring was of white gold n i wore that for a yr b4 rom. i still wear that occasionally. it hasn't changed shape yet.

Chemson, can tell me more about your new band design? Plain or with some designs?

Gals, any special ideas of what to engrave on the wedding bands? Care to share.

hi julia,

i'm not getting ala carte... it will be too tiring to liase with so many shops for 1 wedding. my original package was with serangoon but i couldn't find any suitable gowns the entire bridal package with serangoon n bought margaret's package. but the photography package is still with serangoon.

Hi, gals!

Bear bear - welcome to this big family!!
My wedding is just one day after urs
Where will ur banquet be held? I think giving mooncakes is a great idea! Meaningful n unique. I hv oso booked some of my frens oredi :P hey, where did u book ur bridal package? Tell us more

LMF - U r back!! How can we forget u
I am oso looking around for wedding bands. Been to so many shops like Aspial, Flower, Goldheart...until I blur oredi...next stop this weekend...Larry...hope can find something nice
Any nice place to recommend?? We r oso looking for a diamond one for me and non-diamond one for FH. Is it true that white gold is not durable? Hvnt decide whether to get white gold or platinum.

Jolene - will send u an email soon!

Initially I really don wan Bangawan, but it's the easiest mah. So qing cai lah.

Ya I heard from my mom that the tradition one should be glass and must be orange juice. But now they simplified and use F&amp;N orange soft drinks. Easier to find mah.

The basket I think is meant to make it look more presentable. The guys side will put the pin li in the basket. But I think nowadays plp also cut down liao.

ya, I had a meeting wif my jie mei yesterday. So more or less duties allocated. Also you must get plp to take charge of things like who to bring the album, liquor, overnite bag, guest book etc on the actual day. Who to take charge of Ang Paos.

Hmm..... I think tat's about all, right?

Joker

och: Most importantly.. your make-up artist must be good...
Did Margaret recommend Leon Lim to you?

LMF: there will be some designs... with one small diamond with some pattern. Usually.. what we wil engrave will be our names and follow by the date of the wedding and year.

Kat22: White gold is more prone to scratch and read that platinum is more lasting but prone to scratch as well.. it's still up to which kind you and your FH prefer...

hi chemson, i'm quite sotong abt makeup. is leon lim v. gd n does he do natural makeup too? margaret din recommend leon lim, but leon lim is not one of her regular makeup artiste. margaret has a crew of regular makeup artiste but she can arrange for the more famous ones if brides r willing to top up. i'm asking for one of her regular makeup artiste first. if i'm dun like what i see, i will arrange for another trial makeup with another makeup artiste.

hi lmf, my initials r on my hubby's ring, his on mine. we hv been doing that since he gave me a 1st set of rings some time back, so we r keeping the tradition.

Hi och,

OIC... in case.... you dun like Sharon.... I can recommend you Sandy Ho... :PP She did my ROM make-up. Cowie had hers done by her too. Do let me know, ok ? In any case... we did not thot of puting my name on his and his on my ring... we just wanted to put our names together... :P

Hi Bearbear,
Welcome to this big family.
Oh, BTW I have also "booked" those good friends whom I want to have as my jie-meis
I dun think it is too early lah....... just tell them that you are giving them "ample notice"
rolfl.gif

hahaha...wonder if u mind a guy hanging ard here...ours is on 29 dec at the M hotel.

we have not done a single thing except trying to org the flat reno 1st...well we were looking at a couple but BV looks good esp The Mens Club has some nice suits..

so far there aren't any new wedding mags out huh? coz usually wed shows has quite good packages (sometimes only)

from wat i read u ladies are pretty much on your way huh....gosh better do something soon..gotta tell me wife!!!!

Jolene, thanks for your ROM pics. You and your FH look great! Mind i ask where did you get your gown?

Kat22, I've been to Aspial, Lee Hwa, TianPo, Goldheart, Soo Kee, Poh Heng &amp; Meyson. Tianpo is having 20% discount. You may go down and see if there's anything you like. Better act fast as their promotion ends til 28 Feb 02.
I more favour to Aspial, Lee Hwa and Soo Kee bcos I am their member and can have 15% discount off. Did you find any thing you like in Aspial, Lee Hwa or Soo Kee? I can let you know my card no. and you can enjoy the 15% discount too. For a pair of band, it is usually both identical in most of the jewellery shop. I can only find Aspial having ladies with diamond and gents without which is a pair.
Do u know that in Aspial, if u find one which you like in platinum, you can opt to have it in white gold they will custom made for u at no additional cost. This option is for those with tight budget but like the design of the platinum ring. Just a piece of info to share. Do keep us update on what you chose!

Och &amp; Chemson, thanks for your ideas on the engraving. Let me discuss with my FH to see what he likes.

Hi Bear Bear,
A big welcome to you! We're growing real BIG, aren't we?
I've booked my friends for my wedding since last December. You'll be surprise how many of them can't make it. I shortlisted 6 but 3 couldn't make it. I think giving out mooncakes is a good idea!

Hi Och &amp; Julia,
I'll definitely share with you the designs of my gowns once they're confirmed.

Hi LMF,
I've got a solitaire proposal ring from Tiffany and a platinum wedding band from Aspial. I've been wearing them since ROM last August. Hubby and I are thinking of getting another pair for the actual day. May be getting a plain white gold one to match my proposal ring. White gold rings do get out of shape faster than platinum ones. If you're choosing white gold, it has to be thick. Anyway, if it really goes out of shape, buy another pair lor...

Hi LMF,

My gown is from Jazreel Low's collections. It will be further enhanced to be my wedding gown in Sept. : )

Thanks for your compliments!

Hi, gals

Jolene - Thanks for sharing your photos with me. U look great! Very pretty!!!

LMF - Thanks for your suggestions! Will check out Tianpo and SooKee. Hv been to the rest. Me wanted something simple but FH wanted a unique design such as a curvy ring! Gee...so hard to find one that we both like..hehehe...will keep u posted on my search for THE ring :P

och - dun worry...i am sure u are in gd hands
Margaret will select a great make-up artist for u
So, where r u flying to??

Chemson - Shuping just called me! My 1st fitting will be on 21 Mar!!!!! I am so excited

Sheep - wow...a tiffany ring! Must cost a bomb!!
U must be so happy when u receive the ring!! Look forward to hearing abt ur gown design!! I am sure ur gown will be fabulous 'cos Tan Yoong is really gd!