(2002) Brides of year 2002

Jen,
Me also not trying...haha!!

Jas,
Both of us are planning a nice picnic at botanic gardens in the evening for anniversary...wanted to run off for holiday but got to attend friends weddings...so staying till dec then run off...

Jas,

I think my colleague told me got bigger and red nose is expecting a baby gal but some old pple also saying is expecting a baby boy, so I actually also don know. Since you have seen your gynae on Saturday, I think should be able to tell me which theory is true?

Me thinking to go for holiday too but dare not take any action becos baby is due soon, by then, we need $$$$ so would rather hold it.

We will be celebrating our 1st year ROM anniversary next week first, maybe just for a nice dinner. By the way, nowadays also quite lazy to move around as sometime can be quite tiring.

Mint, that's a pretty good idea.

For me, I might be staying at the Oriental Hotel for a night since I still have an outstanding voucher to be utilised.

Cherly, there's lots of different kind of saying, so much that makes you blur ??? After the confirmation by my gynae, I'm expecting a baby boy.

I am planning for a short holiday trip maybe to genting, but not confirmed yet. Thinking of whether can I take long journey on the coach.

True, nowsdays walking about for an hour is tiring, must take a rest first before continuing.

Jas,

Is a boy, your hubby must be happy lah, especially your MIL, usually old folks like to have a boy first then girl. My grand MIL also like that.

I think is not adviseable to take a coach to Genting as the journey is quite long, you will be quite tired.

<font color="aa00aa">jasmine,</font>
congrats... agree wif <font color="ff6000">cherly,</font> ur PIL &amp; hubby muz be very happy.. if my 1st kid is boy, think my hubby &amp; PIL oso super happy!!

wow, ur company muz be very big, muz use couple of weeks to remove the worm. ours only took couple of days.. only need to run the fixBlast &amp; install the patch leh

<font color="aa00aa">mint,</font>
wooow, so romantic

at the moment no plan for anniversary.. but was thinking shld i plan a "house warming" 1 day b4 my anniversary.. hvn't done our house wraming yet leh

don't think we'll go anywhere cos juz back from honeymoon 1st wk of Aug, &amp; hubby no leave... or maybe will plan a getaway to BKK
hehehe.. but we juz went in Feb

<font color="aa00aa">jowie,</font>
why u still hvn't done anything to ur house? hurry lah, then can start trying liao

hehe... me oso haven't done house warming... seems like many of us still haven't settled house... my hubby just cleaned up one of the rooms which he used as a store room yesterday... wow... finally i can sit in one corner leow!!

Jen, Jowie &amp; Angelia,

I thought you all got the key and have shifted in to stay before &amp; after your wedding?

We have done up our house 1.5 years ago but also didn't throw house warming. So we only invite some of close frens to have steamboat at home, no need to fry, to cook, so simple and easy.

<font color="aa00aa">jenjen,</font>
ya lor.. i oso got so many things hvn't done yet.. e.g curtains.. &amp; still looking for a gd &amp; nice chest drawers.....

<font color="aa00aa">cherly,</font>
we all slowly do mah.. our house was done last Oct/Nov. if house warming this end Nov, will be celebrating 1 yr wedding &amp; house(shift-in) anniversary

huh, curtains still haven't do is quite jia lat leh...

btw, so shall we organise an outing now?? since this thread is slowly becoming alive again?? maybe we shall all go and visit bluechin.. hehe...

Cherly,
Check with my hubby, actually he got no preference, boy or girl is the same since it's the first one. Of course, the second one would prefer to be the opposite sex. He is happy anyway on becoming a father soon. How happy he is I don't know, he seldom express his feeling outwardly...

As for PIL, I think they are as well. They have made the effort to go and pick the shell from the bean sprouts, sun them real dry, to make the baby pillows. It was tiring to having to pick out the shell, I had a go last week and was hard work...

Hmm... in that case, maybe I will try Bintan then as an alternative...

Angelia,
Thanks. I believe you that your PIL and hubby will be happy if your first child is a boy.
I really envy you, been to lots of honeymoon...

I have some sort of 'house-warming' a week before going for honeymoon last year. Just invite friends and colleagues over for a gathering, got caterer to prepare the food. This is more for those helpers who helped us on our wedding day and also muslim colleagues.

Agreed with Jen, so when's the next outing. Have not been able to join in for the past outings you have.

jastan... so good... hubby dun mind... my hubby dun want kid leh... hehe... i think if next time i kanna then inform him, instead of bring happy, maybe he'll brood... haha... he like dun intend to have leh... the only pple who are pressurising me are my parents and grandma... even ILs oso never pressure... hehe

Jen,
Don't worry about hubby dun want kid... I have read a few magazine that also relates that some man (hubby) is shock or surprise that their wife is pregnant. Initially, they are not able to accept it, but as the baby grows, their thinking changes and grow to accept the news and love the baby too.

At least you don't have much pressure, so you can take your time. Looking from another point, you can spend more time having a world of you and your husband, which is not a bad idea either.

I just had my housewarming in Jun this year. My guests did not really come to my house cos we had a bbq downstairs instead.

i also did not have a proper house warming.. only invite couple of friends to my house watch DVD and cook some simple dish.. by the time I shifted in, most pple already 'warmed' the house liao. hehe..

office a lot of restructuring.. maybe have to shelf baby-making plans liao.. may relocate or lose the job! *sigh*

cherly, think it's our former pk lor...

thanx jastan for trying to console me... it's good not to have pressure from ILs... but my parents and grandma are the ones who pressure us instead... hiaz...

Jen,

Why your hubby don like kids? Usually men are always like that one but when you pregnant, then he act so differently. Just like my hubby, he given me the feeling like he don like kid, now he will look for baby stuff, start enjoying baby kicking, buy CD for baby to listen, so funny...

To have a baby inside your tummy is fun, the feeling is so great and amazing, I always wonder how come my small tummy can keep a baby, when I saw my baby on ultrasound, I wonder why are they so enjoy in playing inside my tummy where nothing for them to play around. Guess all these will wait till you upgrade yourself to our stage then will understand. Cheers...

cherly, he likes to play with kids... but when they start screaming and crying or become very very naughty around the train, then he very fed up... say the parents dunno how to take care of the children anyhow let them run... haha... then he say now economy not so good, we earn money to spend on ourselves can leow... dun want to spend on baby lor...

Agree with Cherly.

Cherly,
Really envy you, at least your hubby got excited about the baby, takes the initative to scout around for baby stuff. Mine is not so, he is so busy with work, came home pretty late most of the time around 11pm. I am always the one who got him to accompany me to look around for baby stuff on weekends. However, seeing him so tired out with work, I let him sleep and have a good rest on most weekends. As such, I go out shopping with my mum and sister instead, at least they can offer valuable suggestion and view on the things to look for.

Jen,
Tell you frankly, I have the same thoughts and feel how your hubby felt when kids started screaming and crying and naughty, I will get frustrated and irritated.

Of course, having a baby will incurred extra expenses, but the feeling and the joy that comes with it is an experience that money can't buy.

Jas,

My hubby will only look see, he dare not buy those stuff becos he afraid wait not suitable for baby. He will then bring me along to buy but he bought CD to play for my baby.

Every kid will be naughty and crying but I saw my sister's kids are quite "Kuai" and when they cry, I feel so heart pain. Usually when they wanted to cry is eye turn red, nose turn red, eyebrow turn red then follow by tear, so pitiful like that. Anyway, this is the step of growing up, when they get older, you will miss their cry...

Cherly, Luzon
Any idea which hospital you will go to for delivery? I am given a choice of either Mt Alvernia or Thomson Medical, don't know which is better. In term of price, they are pretty close.

<font color="0077aa">Jastan</font>
I'll deliver in KKH but the cost is not cheap either cos I've chosen a senior consultant.

Wanted TMC medical initially cos there's a gynae's clinic just opp my house but afraid couldn't afford the high cost in case of complications (*touch wood*).

<font color="0077aa">Jen</font>
after u've decided on your family planning, u can just call the mummies anytime.

Jas &amp; Luzon,

I will be going to Mt Alvernia, at first thought of KKH but even the gynae we chose will not 100% be the gynae when we deliver. I don feel comfortable with this arrangement, that's why I change to Mt Alvernia.

jasmine,
no lah, i din go for many honeymoon.. juz 2 leh.

jen,
no choice leh, can't decide on what to have for the rooms, curtains or blinds!! then oso "no time" to go source for curtains.

<font color="ff6000">maybe u gals can help by posting ur curtains expense here so i can reference a bit?

<font color="119911">i very KS one, now more or less decided on the gynae &amp; hospital liao, though i'm not pregnant &amp; hv not even visited the gynae
but heard he's pretty okie (fren's SIL went to him), he's got nite clinic on certain days, his clinic is 1 MRT station from my place &amp; he delivers @ the hospital i hv in mind

<font color="0000ff">i am contemplating to hold our house warming on 29th Nov cos next day is our 1 yr wedding anniversary.. and 1 Dec is the official day we stayed in the new house
then a lot of our relatives has not been to our place</font>

<font color="ff6000">angelia</font>
huh? u've not got ur curtains yet? have u started staying in ur love nest yet?
my curtain cost abt $680 (est.) for a 4-room flat cos my bedroom windows are very small (only 2 window panes each room). My living room is with day and nite curtains and the bedroom is with the normal 1 layer type. My other quotes is abt $800+, my friends who are staying in 5-room flats will spent abt $1k+ for their curtains. This will also depends on the type of materials, size of windows and sometimes the day curtains are more ex.

<font color="119911">angelia</font>

My curtain will be more expensive than <font color="0000ff">luzon</font> becos mine is 5 room flat and all my bedroom window are quite big, 3 panes each room and I make Romen Blind for every room. My living hall got 2 windows also 3 panes per window, we make day and night curtain for living hall. My total spent in curtain is $1800.00. If didn't make Romen Blind for all rooms, the price will be $900.00.

<font color="aa00aa">luzon,</font>
we (officially) shifted in on 01 Dec last year.

hmm.. guess we'll hv to spend 1k+ for the curtains cos my living room is full length window, with 6 window panes, bdrm 1 &amp; mbr has 3 window panes while bdrm 2 has 4 window panes!!!

huh? the roman blinds so expensive ah? if dun do can set the cost back by 50%?!!
hiaz... headache leh...

Cherly, Luzon,
Thanks for the info, I cannot decide really. But I been to TMC once for the detailed scanning. The impression I have is that the building seems 'old'.. hee hee...

Angelia,

According to the shop owner, he told me the roman blinds is so much expensive than normal one. In fact, he is persuasing to make normal curtain, so that can save cost but I don like becos I can't decide whether to make full length curtain or half length for bedroom. Furthermore, I prefer roman blind so I don bother.

Angelia,
You are not KS, but rather I term it as advance planning least last minute panic...

Curtains for 4-rooms flat cost around 800 - 1000 plus, depending on what type you making. Simple or complicated design, full or half length, type of material etc. Actually, I don't recommend having a day curtain (double layer), it gets dirty easily. Of course it looks very nice and classy with the day curtain down and normal curtain folded.

I am using curtain for my room, normally is in folded form, lazy to put it down and also it collect lots of dirt, was thinking to remove them away, but then, the room will be very hot with the late afternoon and evening rays shinning in. I also use the roll-up type of blinds (in one piece - poster-like) for one panel of the side windows in conjunction with the curtains.

Hi angelia,
I made curtains for hall, foyer and 3 bedrooms. The hall has full length curtains, the foyer has roman blinds, study room has 2 full lengths curtains and 1 roman blind and the other two rooms are half length curtains. The rails that we got are the more ex ones. The shop owner told us that they are from Japan so more ex. Total cost including installation of rails: $1500

My grandma and my hubby's aunties are pressurising us to have a baby soon... but we still have our own agenda not fulfilled yet and definitely baby is not on the list. Can be quite sickening with all of them asking "when your baby coming huh?" I always answer them, "you give me $$ and help look after it then I'll have one..."
Both of us still planning to further our studies so where to find time for a baby... sigh!!!

<font color="aa00aa">jasmine,</font>
we definitely hv to do curtains for the bdrms cos pple from the other blk can see us. then the morning rays R too bright for us to sleep late during wkends. now we using those extendable rod &amp; curtains from carrefour for the MBR

as for day curtains, oso intend to do cos it's pretty bright when we watch TV in the daytime.. partly oso to not let the next blk's occupants see us so "clearly"

<font color="aa00aa">jen,</font>
thx...

erm.. actually i oso not sure which type is roman blinds.. what abt roller blinds &amp; venetian blinds?

<font color="aa00aa">mint,</font>
wow, seems like u had a lot of windows in the house.. muz find sometime to go see see...

<font color="ff6000">angelia</font>

Roman blinds is those usually show in HDB new flat show room type. Is not roller type... I don know how to explain to you, maybe you can drop by at mint's place to see or go and have a look at those curtain shop.

angie, roman blinds is made of cloth material (like curtains)... the only diff is when u pull them, they "go up" in sections...

roller blinds are 1 piece type, like OHP screen like that... mine is roller blinds, u can come and see...

venetian blinds?? I think it's like those normal "plastic" 1 strip 1 strip across ones, isit? or those 1 strip 1 strip vertical like office type... this one I not sure...

Hi angelia,
sure, you're welcome anytime to look see...
I dun have many windows lah...normal lor...except for the study room where there are two full length windows and a normal window...so a bit difficult to put curtains for it. The foyer window is very small...actually no need to put curtain but I "hiao" so put a roman blind for it.
Next week is school hols for me...so let me know if you would like to take a look....but must give me 3 hours notice for me to mop floor first...hahaha!!!

Hi angelia,
I have a voucher for Copthorne Orchid Hotel. It's 2 rooms for $128+++. But both rooms must be used at the same time. Understand that you held your wedding at this hotel... so was thinking you may be interested in the voucher. Expiry is 31st Oct...can take an early anniversary celebration. Let me know if you want it then maybe we meet at Yew Tee or something so I can pass it to you.

mint,
huh? 2 rooms ah? then i book already me &amp; hubby each stay at 1 room ah?

or u &amp; hubby take up the other room??

aiya, no need to specially mop the floor lah. if we drop by, usu will be wkends, reason u noe lah

luzon, i told starfruit yesterday to come in here... she say she bz leh... *sigh*... i meeting her for lunch later... must tell her again... hehe...

Hi Girls..... I AM BACK.

Wow a lot of mummies-to-be in this thread eh. COngratulations.

Apologies, I was suppose to organise the next outing, but due to my busy work schedule, have not been able to arrrange\. I am soo sorry.

So how have all of you been? besides busy making babies... hehe :P

oh wow, starfruit... finally u responded huh... hehe... u must wait patiently for some responses here... cos not many pple know yet... so when a lot of pple, then we organise outing okie!!

Gee thanks Angelia,.. *Sigh* old liao.

Its good to see thsi thread active again. So how have u been?

Ohno/Luzon: How have u been? ok? any nausea still? must take care ok.

cherly: Congrats on ur good news? any idea if its a boy or girl? so when isit due?

Hi Startfruit,
Welcome back!!! I just came back recently too...

It's good to be busy with work nowadays..

Anyone went to or going to the COMEX'2003 exhibition now till 7th Sep 03?

I am thinking to buy a camera, but not sure to get the conventional type or digital type. Any advise for a digital camera?

sorry jastan, wat is comex huh?? paiseh.. :p

starfruit.. ur bday just over ah.. aiyah.. then should have treated u lunch just now..

Starfruit,

Welcome back and Happy belated birthday.

My due date is one day earlier than Luzon, is on 12 Jan 04. Gynae said most likely is a princess...

jastan Hallow... wha, so long never see u. How have u been?

jenjen: aiyo nevermind lah. we can always meet for lunch again next week.. heheh.:P. kidding only