(2002) Brides of year 2002

kiki! intruder!!

kidding, kidding. glad to see u here.

my package includes:
1) actual day videography
whole day filming using 3 ccd Sony digiCam 150 (no time restrictions)
copy of unedited original footage in minidv, hi8 or vhs.
copy of edited footage with effects, animations, 15 photos, background music n songs
1 vcd of edited footage
1 dvd of edited footage
2) extras
photomontage of 30 pix
5-10 minutes express wedding highlights for banquet (special request)
rental n setup of professional projector
3) freebie during fair
1 extra vcd
free live broadcast during wedding dinner
$100 off

it costs $1680 normally. if u dun want extras, it's $1080 for digicam n $680 for 1 ccd hi8 or minidv. but hor... i think discounts r possible. i asked him if he could give discounts to my friends, n he said he will throw in 1 vcd n give $50 discount.

dun know if there's a surcharge for hving ur wedding on separate days. if interested, call eric at 97615104.

Och,
Thanks for your reply. I've seen his work. Quite good! Just considering if I want to take him. I watched the 1ccd and 3ccd video. 3ccd is very nice. 1ccd is not quite sharp but when it comes to focusing, the shots became blur for a short while (1-2 second) but resume back to normal. So a bit worried. not because of his skill, is more on the video cam itself. His advise is that for home viewing, 1ccd is good enough. What's your comments?

hi lmf,

i watched some friends videos using 1ccd. i agree that for normal viewing of daytime shots, it's good enuf even though the shots r not as clear. but the night shots can turn out quite grainy n the colours r quite bland. my banquet ballrm will be quite dark during the walk-in, u see. so i figured 3ccd is better for me. spent so much money already, better make sure i can catch all aspects of my wedding well.

but everyone's needs differ. if the price difference isn't significant enuf to bust ur budget, consider 3ccd lor. or else, just go with 1ccd. at the end of the day, the video is there to remind u of that one happy day. 3ccd or 1ccd, it will still achieve its purpose. if u stretch urself financially to hv a super clear video, n everytime u watch the video, u r reminded of how stressful it was financing that super clear video, then it's also no use rite?

Och,
It's indeed a good advice. Thank you so much! I feel much better now. One more question to ask. I'm thinking of opting out VCD and changed to DVD, of course paying the difference. As VCD is of a bad quality than VHS tape, might as well I get a VHS tape and DVD. For your comments,please.

hi lmf,

glad to be of help. i think it's a good idea to hv dvd. it's hardier than vhs n clearer than vcd.
hv u considered a vcd n dvd? this is just off the top of my head, but i thot it will be nice to hv both copies that wun degrade with time. besides u can always use cdrw to make copies of ur vcd for friends. dun know how much it will cost tho.

och,
I heard that each time you copy from one main tape to another, the clarity drops one step. especially VCD. So dont think of making copies of VCD to friends. I've seen the quality of VCD, really quite bad. Imagine 1 vCD copy to another VCD, oh gosh, it must have turned very blurred. But DVD will be a good replacement for VCD as it has all the advantages from VCD and an addition advantage that it is more clearer than VCD. Anyway, must check on the DVD rate.

hi lmf,

o issut? vcd quality drops? then... all those pirated vcds...
i know vhs quality drops with every playing n dubbing. hvn't heard abt vcds yet. anyway, hving 1 dvd is a good choice.

Hi crayon2512,

I tink those photograher i listed out, if u c properly, all except Whitelight incl films. The price per roll is for additional rolls.

hi och,
See ur name so come in to KPO lor. Then surprisely found u r talking sth am interested too!

Can u explain to me wat is difference between digitcam & 1ccd? Doesn't it mean if taking 1ccd, he will not use digital cam?

Does Eric own a shop or freelancer? If i bargain with him, i have to use ur name?

Hi Kiki,

I am interested in Eric of Mirage also? Maybe we can bargain together, me juz called him, his full package is S$1500 without DVD, if you want DVD then, add S$100. THis will incl. use of projector, highlights of wedding in the morning, and also 30pix montage....

But i find it beri x le....

Corrine

Hello June02Bride, found another cheaper accomodation in Scotland.

It's the Cowgate Tourist Hostel. 11 pounds per person per night. Pretty near to Waverly Train Station and Edinburgh Castle. Sorry, dun have the website with me now, searched for it thru http://www.visitbritain.com

We are busy looking for air tickets to Edinburgh. Instead of transiting in London, may be taking KLM flight to Edinburgh via Amsterdam. Cheaper mah... but the tickets are going fast leh... one minute have, next minute gone.

Nope, we have not driven in Scotland before. But we did so in the States. So, no problem for my FH!

Really looking forward to that!

hi arctic
tks for the info, the b&b u recommended the other time, it was fully booked, we were so disappointed, also most b&b were fully booked the period we will be in town

Good Morning gals,
What are you're busying right now? Haven't hear from septembergal, sheep, chemson, Kat22, etc... for a Long.... Long..... Time!

hello gals,

I just came back from a long holiday. wah..so so many postings..errr...I lost track liao...how's all your wedding preparation? i still have not decide on my bridal pkg..sigh...everyone discussing abt your 1st appt liao...wish i can join in :P

hi crayon2512, nice to 'meet' u!

Hi Novbride,

Welcome back! How's your trip to Korea? Hope it refreshes and revitalises you.

Suggest you decide your bridal pkg soon, we would not like them to rush through the designing stage, providing slip-shod work.

Why not shop around this weekend? But before that, try to do some shortlisting, so you won't have to make a tough decision choosing one over too many.

As I mentioned, I will not be as "efficient" as before, but I will check your postings and reply as and when I can.

Take care! Glad to have you back!

Hi LMF,
Have been busy with work lately, not much time to come in here... Besides, all the VCD, CCD and DVD talks are very technical, don't know what you gals are talking about... so stand one side and watch... hehehe...

Hello Sheep,
Me also not a technical person, but just anyhow "boom"! Ha Ha!!! Have you confirmed any photographers or videographers yet? How about your gown? Design fixed already? Taken your photos already?

Hi LMF,
Wah! Anyhow "boom" ah? Not bad leh... like real leh... Och, Kiki, all kena "boom" huh??!

Haven't confirmed any photographers or videographers yet. Will try to confirm photographers by next month. I may not be engaging videographers, need to cut costs. Nothing done on gowns yet. I'll only get to see the designs in end Feb, still a long way. How about you? Which stage are you at now?

Hello Sheep,
Have your lunch already? I have already booked for my videographer and photographer. Video is Eric from Mirage and Alan (not sure from where) but seems like alot of videographers and photgraphers all receommend him to me, so I take him. 3 Feb 02 going for my 1st round of trying gown. Very excited about it!

Hi LMF,
Yeah, have lunch already... now feeling sleepy... *Yawn*

Actually, if you are talking about trying gowns, I've tried a few already. I went there 3 times before I sign with them. The 1st time, I tried a few and decided on the kind of design I would like. The 2nd time, I brought my mom to see the shortlisted gown. The 3rd time, I tried on some different gowns and finally I decided to sign with them. Based on the kind of cut I like, the designer will show me some sketches in Feb. I'm very eager to see the sketches. There's nothing for me to do from now till end Feb. You signed with Fame right? Which branch?

Hi sheep,

He is cool... he actually sketches what is suitable for you...
I like his style...
Very personalised. Have you engaged your actual day photographer. As for videographer.. think I will be getting my fren's hubby to do... and my fren will be my digital cam photographer... cos I want her to do a montage for the evening on powerpoint..
(Using flip album).. she did that for her own wedding...
I just came back from HK... bought some stuff for the wedding... my hubby got a really good suit bargain from G2000.. his suit, pants and shirt cost less than SGD200 after discount...

hi kiki,

nope, u dun hv to use my name.
i believe that if sales pple tell u a discount is possible without u trying v. hard, they will offer the same discount to everyone who asks.

i wrote all i know abt videography in a previous posting to lmf. maybe u can refer to it? 1ccd refers strictly to the colour imaging technology. vhs also has 1ccd n 3ccd technology. digicam refers to a type of digital camera, hi8, minidv etc r all different types n quality of digital camera. digicam is broadcast quality, while hi8, minidv r not. n digicam is 3ccd while hi8 n minidv r 1ccd.

hi lmf, sheep,

u gals trying on gowns too?
it's v. exciting! can i kpo a bit. what is ur dream gowns like?

Sheep, yes, Ive signed with Fame Tampines. Nothing to do now also. Just wait til my 1st appointment for gown trial. Do you know how does the ceremony goes about? Morning, the groom will come and fetch the bride. Then will go to the groom's house, then go for outdoor shooting, back to groom's house for tea ceremony. Followed by going back to own new house, changed to "kua" and go back to bride's house for tea ceremony. After that will be wedding dinner at the later part. Is this procedure correct? Is it fixed in this way or we can choose to go outdoor shooting after going to bride's house for tea ceremony?

hi lmf,

i think u can choose to go for outdoor photos any time. most pple i know do their photography right after arriving at the groom's house.

Good question..me also wondering leh...thought you all went ahead with it liao...

Hello och,
you should be trying your gowns soon right! You sounds as excited as me. Actually, about dream gown, must have waist length veil, train but not too long, probably something design that will glow or change colours in the dark. Isn't that fantastic? Imaginations run wild.

I think it's better to go outdoor shooting after the groom's house. Ok, will set on this procedure. Anyway, go earlier for outdoor shooting is always the best. If not, I will be perspiring all the way if I go too late.

Hi Nov bride!

Nice to "c" u too!! Think u can take ur time to look for a good bridal shop..unlike mine.. bo bian liao..got to stick to it coz of the deposit i pay.

U just came back from Korea ah? Must be quite cold there..I went there around the same time as u last year..njoy yourself? U went wif FH ah?

hi lmf,

yah lor, very excited!
hee hee. i kept bugging margaret abt my gowns, thank goodness she is so patient.

my dream wedding gowns r those with long, long trains n long, long veil. i like bustiers too.
the bridal gown was easy enuf, she designed something that made my hubby n i go wow! the moment we saw it. it was everything i wanted but much more special. i mean... i'm not very creative, all my ideas come fr bridal magazines. i got my long, long train but no long, long veil cos my gowns has a layer of organza over the train, it will look weird with another layer of tulle over the organza.
she made me try on 10+ gowns to see if what kind of gowns will really suit me n gave me another 2 designs. actually she din need to, i'm so smitten with the 1st design, i was grinning to myself all throughout the first appt.

she designed close to 8 evening gowns for me.
finally decided on my evening gown after 2 appts. the one i picked is more demure looking. u hv a favourite colour u want?

hee, hee, yah, try to take the shots in the morning, it wun look pretty with ur makeup melting. but then hor, do the tea ceremony at the groom's house b4 u go for the outdoor shots hor, else it's very rude.
u can come back later for lunch, no problem. or u can leave for the new place rite after that.

Wow! The ball has started rolling again!

Hi Chemson,
Yes, he's cool. I get to bring home a copy of the sketches too! I can take my time to look through and get back to him.
I haven't book my photographer, maybe next mth. As for videographer, still considering, want to cut costs. Lucky you, not only you got $ to travel when you're getting married soon, you get to buy stuff for your wedding at cheap rates!!!
Envy, envy!

Hi Och,
My gown would be a bustier with a short veil, long train. There'll be beads on the upper bodice and many layers of organza forming the skirt of the gown. Evening gown, no idea leh...

Hi LMF,
There's actually no fixed schedule. It's up to you when you want to take outdoor shoots. I'm not taking any on the actual day. It's your day so you call the shots!

Gals, care to share a little on your gowns?

Hey sheep,

We travel on a budget lah.. but you know.. when there is a sale in HK.. it is really a sale... besides.. the things we bought was for the wedding and flat... so.. it is cost savings in a sense. Now I am broke !

My gown is a princess cut with a small A-line, a layer of silk organza over satin with silver embroideries. I have a 3/4 sleeves to hide my big arms...
Oh yes, my neckline is slight sweetheart and nipped at the shoulder. The min I saw the sketch... I knew that was it ! I mean I did so much research and she helped me at finalising the embroidery design...

Hi, ladies!

wow, ur gowns sound really lovely!
am sure ur hubbies will be swooned!!!

My WG will be a bustier a-line duchess satin gown with organza overlay and some embroidery ...initially wanted a short train for easy movement but now kinda change my mind and will ask for a longer train

hvn't started designing the EG yet but wanted a halter-neck gown. will see what shirley can come up for me

chemson - wah, the man's suit is really a steal! lucky u!
wanted to tell u dat my fh & i went down to dick beaumonde last sat to check out the place. this time they din watch vcd 'cos got customer taking measurements. the guy who served us was very friendly and patient though we din make any appointment. overall impression is quite gd lor. guess, we will make the suit there.

Hi Kat22,

Your gown sounds magical... my EG is empire cut, A-line, gold organza over burgundy purple with beadings... but I will change the design a little... wanted a slit in the middle like cheongsam..
Anyway, now that we have got the men suit from G2000, we have decided to opt out men suit and have decided to have another suit made for the nite...
When is your next appt with Shirley? Have no time to go down to see her as yet...
Need to make my pair of shoes too... :P

Hello everyone,
Wow! So many of you had already confirmed on the design of your gown. I don't even have my first trial yet. Horraayyy!! I can copy here and there for my gown design. HiHi!
Och, I heard that the trend colour now is blue. Sky blue. Thought might want this colour for my evening gown. Alternatively, champagne gold is also quite nice. But still have to see whether I'm suitable with those colours. What is the colour for your evening gown? how about wedding gown? Nowadays, more people are getting ivory rather than white for wedding gown. What's you all gals' opinions?

Hi LMF,

Not using blue for my EG.. initially blue was my colour.. but wanted something diff.. so Shirley proposed gold over burgundy which is a great combi as well... my wedding gown is off-white.. have no preference over which colour to use for my WG.

*Yvonne faints*

this thread so active i cannot catch up!

hi jk, kk
i'm a Sep bride 2 (in case u tot where i came from) coz last time my postings, didnt c ur names yet..
anyway, i read tat u guys have signed up with JWN?? hey me 2 leh! hehehe
have u guys went 4 2nd appt? i'm taking the OTR pkg coz me got budget!
when i signed up, Max scheduled me for Apr photoshooting..but til now they din call me to select the gowns..is it 2 early?
anyway, i oso very bo chap leh...

nothing's being done leh...
me thinking of going down next wk..think must start doing something liao..

anyway, i'll try to catch up!

hi, chemson
tks...hope my WG turn out the way i imagine
ur EG sounds really lovely too! my next appt is on 7 feb..to confirm WG as well as start designing my EG...really can't wait :P u r going to tailor ur shoes?

hi, LMF
hey, me thot of sky blue n champagne gold for my EG as well! we really think alike...hahaha
well, my WG is white 'cos it suits my skin tone better...guess it really depend on each individual's skin tone..so u hv any design in mind for ur WG n EG oredi???

hi, yvonne!
u r not the only one...me got problem catching up too

hi everyone!

hee, hee, let me describe my dream gowns too. my gown is an off-white, straight necklined bustier. i dun take cool colours well, so pure white is totally off for me. the material is dutchess satin, with a layer of organza that kind of wraps fr my right shoulder down to my left hip. dun know how to explain it. skirt is big, big n long, long as i said.
basically i was looking for a grand but elegant look.

tea dress is silvery grey shantung silk bustier, with a straight skirt. evening gown is my tea dress with a royal blue organza sphagetti corti (is that how it is spelt??) over it. the corti's straps hv crystals sewn on them n comes with a small train. margaret will be making me an organza shawl to go with my bustier when i'm not wearing my corti.

lmf: i would love to hv even a hint of gold for my evening gown. think it looks very grand. but my ballrm decor is white n gold. the gold comes fr table cloth n gold sashes wrapped around chairs. looks weird if i turn up looking like the sashes. so decided on the blue-grey combination. know i will definitely wear the grey bustier in the future.

Hi Dec bride,

Guess it's just the 2 of us, for now.......My wedding in on the 6th Dec 2002, when's yours? Have you got all your things planned yet? So far I've only booked my wedding banquet, still trying to decide on bridal boutique.

Well, hope hear from u soon.

wah, u all so active, i cannot keep up!
och, i know where u live, ur house mustve cost u a bomb rite? :-)
gals,
thanks for all ur encouragement about the wedding porblems. well, i am still v. unhappy abt things as FH and i really can't seem to agree. we still hvnt settled on bridal shop yet! this week, i started new job and every nite after work, still gotta go and hunt for bridal shops. and look for gowns. i've been tired out and growing more and more frustrated.
i will try my best not to stress and also, try to bargain w merchant court for better deal
about 8 course or 9 course, FH keeps insisting on 'once in a lifetime' and want to make it 'as grand as possible'. we dun hv much money and i really think we'd have to sacrifice the honeymoon if FH and his parents insist on all those 'face-saving' things that they want. however, this is really something that i die-die also cannot accept becuz this is my last chance to go for a ski-trip in EUR, as i intend to start trying for babies in jan 2003. and this is not becuz of some whim and fancy, but my gynae had advised that we dun wait too long if we want children....that's why.....that's why i'm so dead sure i REAALLy want to go EUR for honeymoon. and i dun mind hvg a simpler wedding.

och, ur tables from from 28 to 42!?!?!??! we can definitely share notes abt EUR! i would like to go to EUR for ski holiday, in particular austria (and stay in those log houses), if no $$ i wont take those tours that bring u to different EUR locations and i'll stay for 1 week in austria to ski and stay 2 wks with my uncle in his seaside town in UK.
LMF i dun know the name of the gal who served me leh. i am quite interested in yunnan inn so i will eml u separeately! thanks hor!i will eml u once that silly yahoo is up lah...
and sorry for not posting for so long!! i work in a high-security place and cannot eml / use the internet lah, so gotta come home and use the PC everynight!
wah, all ur gown designs really make me drool!!

i would love to wear a bustier but i am too skinny! (1.6 m tall and 40-42 kg)... all that stress is not helping me to put on some weight...so....i really dun know....

talk to u all tomorrow....

Hi Kat22,
Yep.. will be making my shoes... probably at Leaping Lizards... which is a stone's throw away from Shirley.. :P Oh yes... on top of the kua... I may make another tea dress... just thinking...
Hope I can find time to go down to see Shirley to discuss more abt the EG before my first fitting in March. When's yours?

Hi Septembergal,
Dun be stressed, ok ? Let nature takes it course... take things one at a time.. confirm your banquet and then the bridal package..dun give yourself too wide a selection.. narrow down to a few choices and assess from there, ok ? Cheer up and enjoy the process...

Hi Dec Bride and ckhoo,

I must be no. 3....

Mine's the day after yours ckhoo, 7th Dec. Just found out only recently that 6th is a public holiday

I've booked both dinner and boutique. Can't think of very much to do yet, maybe you have some ideas?

Hi Girl,

Thankfully the 6th Dec is a public holiday this year. Cos me & my FH wanted to ROM 6th Dec 2001, but had to postpone 1 year and we decided to postpone without even realising it is a public holiday.

Where did u book for your dinner & boutique? I got Sheraton Towers for the dinner, and am still deciding b/w Divine Couture & Wedding Present for the bridal boutique.

I also now sourcing around for photographer for the actual day. Have you found tat too? Basically there's nothing much we can do now except plan. I've got to decide whether I'm having a theme for my wedding, then think about bridesmaids' dresses and who to delegate certain duties to, decoration for church wedding.........etc....
i think that's enuf to keep me busy.

Hi Angelia

Ya, but I haven't book yet, only my bridal package is confirmed. I am piggy lor! Saw someone in other thread also use piggy. What happen to starfruit, long time not in this thread..thought she cooking up a meeting..

Me too, mine is 30 Dec, dinner not confirmed yet. I love Divine Couture romantic back designs, phew, they are beautiful. But the are off my budget. Divine and Wedding Present were on my favourite list before I decided with XZen. Have anyone gone for measurement? I still want to lose another kg before I go..sob sob...

Hi ckhoo,

I signed up with Divine package during one of their shows, was about $700 cheaper.

My designer is Helan, so far been there twice, just to look at some ideas for the gown. She's very nice to work with,and I find it very easy to tell her what I want

We're having the church service and dinner at Shangri-la.

Hi piggycola,

Also trying to lose weight...
My designer says no need to take measurements until after Chinese New Year, so got over a month to tone up

Are you going for measurement soon? Decided on your design already? I'm very indecisive...

Hi Septembergal,
Dun stress! Does your FH know why you're so keen on the skiing trip? Have you tried the soft approach. Talk to him a few more times, maybe he'll give in. Men can't tahan nagging! Hehehe..
Hey, you're not the only skinny one. I'm 2cm taller than you weighing about the same as you! How do you know you won't look good n bustiers? Have you tried any? I thought I won't look good too... I went around trying all sorts of gowns and guess what???!! I made up my mind when I tried on a bustier gown. Both my FH & mom were stunned to see me in the bustier. They love it! You have to try on the gowns to see how you look. Dun feel bad abt being skinny, I'm sure you'll find a gown that suits you. Good Luck!

Hi LMF,
My WG is ivory in colour. I dun like stark white gowns.