(2002) Brides of year 2002

Just to inform you gals that I will be on leave tomorrow and I'll most definitely miss this forum.

>^..^<

Hi Crayon,

I will be 26 this year.

I am also saving up my leave for wedding preparations and honeymoon, but tomorrow I have to accompany my mum to the hospital. She's having a scope test. Nothing serious, I hope.

hi lollipop.

u same age as my hubby leh....

we'll miss u 2molo.....

hey, dun worry....ur mum will b fine....keep us informed ok ?????

hi crayon2512,

u same age as me but u younger lah....cos u dec baby mah....me oct baby :P

Hi Nikki &amp; Arctic Hare...

Long time no c.... Thanks for still remembering me... SO touch !!!!

Me.... planing to ROM by this yr. I'm still waiting for my FH to find time to go down to check 4 a good date.

Will keep both of U updated !!!!

Hi Lollipop,
Snowflake is rite, your mum will be fine. dun worry too much.

Hey..Snowflake,
so we are both "horse"..in the year of horse!!

Any idea of how u gals wanna design your wedding gown? I have bought a few mag to look thru for the past few mths..Mmm...like the tube dress kind of gown..but only gals with thin arms can wear those.. *envy*

Hi Shunkuey!

Thanks for all yr informative answers! Really appreciate it!!

Think i will heed yr advice...leave clothes &amp; bag in the lockers provided by Milan. Juz bring necessities like oil-blotters,mirror etc. me...vain hor??!!

My make-up artiste is Xiaoqing, prearranged by them. She's ok rite?

Oh ya...i have booked my actual day photographer too! Recommended by a fren. Still considering whether 2 book a videographer?? Really want one...juz that there's no budget set aside for it!
Hubby thinks it's extravagant!! ;P

Thanks for asking!
I almost got a flat! But the deal was dropped as the owner wants a higher price &amp; subsequently sold it away to another party.

Therefore, still sourcing 4 my ideal home!
Never mind lor...we gave ourselves deadline till end Feb. If no, then will shuttle bet in-laws &amp; my parents's home temporary. My mum will be more than happi then.....hehehee!

Was yr photographer recommended too ??

Jan

hi seasons,

thanx for referring the link. saw the planner this morning. evon was really helpful to supply this wedding planner.

HI crayon,

yah lor...we 2 horses

hey....me actually choosing the bustier one (tube design) n my hubby approve also but too bad my mum dun like say too revealing so mayb i scrape the idea lor

Isnt that a good date, Sheep? There are so many of us here to get marry off...btw, who are the rest huh? *hee, pai-seh* lazy to track thru' the previous thread.

In fact, i did the reservations last august for banquet (in M Hotel, previously known as Copthrone Harbour View Hotel) and bridal package (wif Julia Wedding News), kinda "kiasu" huh ;p

How abt u?

Tks Snowflake and Crayon for your concern.

You know, I was going through all the postings on this thread, and I realised that there are many Oct brides who have somehow, stopped posting msg... kind of missed them.

Crayon, the gown you are refering to is a bustier gown. That will also be my MTM WG. Before my first appt, I also flipped through many mag, and I loved the idea of bustier gowns but have no idea whether I could carry it well... no worries if you do not have any slightest idea yet, because during your first appt, you will be trying different gowns with different necklines, cuttings and your designer will be able to tell you which cutting is most suitable for you. And I'm sure you will be able to see which gown you are most comfortable in.

Going home now. Will try to catch up on Thursday. Meanwhile, try not to miss me ya?

Hi crayon2512,

Hey. U mean u got 2 choose e new flats juz beside westmall? Wow. So lucky. Me getting 5yrs old flats ard Blk 289 - 290 or Blk 190.

Hi lollipop,

Me born on new year's eve. 31 dec. So actually whole world celebrate with me. Hehe...

Seems 2 me like all the brides here veri young huh??? I feel soooo old.... me oredi 28 liao. sob sob...

Hi IreneL,
Gald to hear from u. So finally decided to tie the knot between u and your FH, ya? Congratulations!!!

Hi Linda,

I've signed my bridal package under Silhouette and have engaged Chris Ling as my photographer.

I've not signed my banquet yet. I'm doing lunch (chinese 8 course) and I'm in a delimma. Don't know whether to choose Four Seasons or Westin. It seems like Westin's food has improved alot recently after gathering some feedback from other forums but ambience wise, FS is very nice but price is much steeper.

Any advice out there ? I can't believe that June is coming so soon! And I only decided last month!

hi kk!

Nice to meet you!

U have sign up with Juila Wedding News huh? What make you sign up with them? Me still considering about getting them, r they good? How much you pay for your package, may I know? When you choosing your wedding grown and when you taking your outdoor shoot?

Hi angelia,

It has been 2 weeks since I last visited daphne's... but will definitely go for oxygenation facial before my photoshoot... think my package is running out soon... *sigh* need to spend $$$ again...

Are you using sothys product? I quite like their product and actually seen results after using it leh...

hallo och, kat, and hallo the newcomers...i still very green, can't remmber all ur names!!

kat, i've shortlisted a few banquet hotels, but all on weekday. cuz since i have tea ceremony in morning, and then church wedding, thot i'd be too stressed out to cheong for wedding dinner all on same day. where u having ur banquet? (sorry if u've already posted it earlier!)

och, thanks for ur encouragement...i try lah ok....

wah..all of u sound like u're so rich! i'm quite lost about the bridal package but seems like flamingo very expensive one rite?

i juz checked out JWN today, but starting at 3988, i thot that's quite expensive!

kk, sorry to sound very kpo, but can tell me what was ur JWN package like?

the gowns were lovely, but then i really not sure if can affort 3988!!

Hi! Newbie here. June's such a wonderful month to get married, huh? I just hope it'll be sunny.

Mine's on the 8th at Mandarin. Anyone else with the same date? Initially tot the date was an auspicious date (cos of the number 8), but sigh... apparently it's only a "fair" date. Oh well.

Wow... so many of you seem to have things all done up alr. I've only had my first consultation with my designer (Blush Blush). And my photography will be in April, I think. Think it's too late???

Hi septembergal,

No Lah.... Flamingo is not really expensive.... the higher end ones...are like Bridal Veil, Silouhette, Ted Wu, Tan Yoong, Kai Couture and Divine. Flamingo belongs to the mid-range but however the price of the package depends on what you want in it and which photographer you choose..

I'm Irene.
OK I'll change my nick back to dance40.

just an update of details

ROM Date: 17 OCT 2002
Wedding date: 10 Nov 2002
Bridal: Paris Bride
Venue: Might be Grand City Chinese Restaurant

Hi Septembergal,
I'm the poorest among the richest on this tread. HiHi! Don't worry! I 've been to Flamingo too but as what you said it's too ex for me. Others like JWN, WP, EC, TY, etc. are about the same price, very ex. Finally I managed to find a cheaper one but don't expect to be "ang mo pai". It's more to Taiwan style, if you like it. My package cost me $2988. Is the price within your budget? As for service wise, don't worry. They got lots of compliments in their forum. That's why I signed up with them.

Hi Gals of this Sept thread,

To assist better.. have compiled a list of the bridal boutiques we are with..

jellybeans: Bridal Veil
Yvonne - Paris (? Have you changed?)
SSL - Jazreel Low Collection
Bleuz - Irene's Creation
Loreal - Cristine Creations
Och -Margaret Brides
Cowie - Yvonne Creatives
jk -Julia Wedding news
tweety - Emanuel B
sheep - Tan Yoong
LMF - Fame Bridal
My Melodys - Still sourcing (Do let us know..
Idah - Santiago
Chemson &amp; Kat22 - Flamingo Bridal
Blossom - Cristine Creations
Liz - Cristine Creatios
kk - Julia Wedding News

Let me know again if I have accidentally left anyone out.. hope this helps...:P

Hi Daisy

Nope lah..i didn't get to choose the flat beside Westmall..i was just aiming at it!! Mine was the 3rd Quarter selection...only the 4th Quarter then get to select WEST Mall area..
i just miss by a bit!!
So your birthday is oso on public holiday!
Oh..age doesn't matter..as long as our topic are the same!!

Hi crayon2512,

My birthday not holiday but eve of holiday...

U select yr flat at Bukit Panjang rite? Why hv 2 wait till 2003 huh? I tot there's a lot of new flat readl liao &amp; still lots of unoccupancy... U mean Premium flat is it the wnole house floor tiles done up?

Me going 4 my 1st appt w my bridal shop tis sat. Veri excited.

Good day everyone

My Melodys &amp; septembergal, i signed wif JWN last year in August. Frankly speaking, we did not put JWN under our choice initially. It happened tt we passed by the shop and i was attracted to one of the displayed gown...

After finding out their package tt day, i felt they are quite ex too. But aft comparing wif those shops we went, we prefer the style of photos taken n the way they arrange the photos in the album. So we tried to negotiate for a better package. In the end, we spent abt 3.5hrs in the shop

Hey My Melodys, FYI. If u r interested to hv their package, remember to tell them tt u r not being recommended by anyone. Cos' if they know u knew someone who had their service b4 or thru recommendation, u might not be able to get more items fm them. As such, they feel u need not worry on their services as they hv confidence tt they did a good job or else pple wldnt want to recommend to u. Futhermore, u must show some undecisive expressions (fm my own opinion). Try to negotiate hard but u must know what is your priority(either on gowns or photos).

Honestly, we hv only visited them twice to negotiate on their package n see their gowns. We r going for the ommunication session wif the make-up artist n photographer this mth. I think our photoshooting shld be around Apr. And, i think i can only tell u how's their service aft i go for the session.

Anyway, if u r still interested to know the package which i signed wif them, pls email me ur address (cos' i oso cun remember the exact items). Same to u, septembergal. i'll be glad to send it to u gals for reference.

hi kk,

would you like to share with me on your bridal package detail since we both signed up with JWN. And our wedding day is just 1 day difference!

hi my melody,

read the other forum on sept 02 brides, think we are in the same wedding day (21/09/02) right!!! would you like to exchange our preparation progress???

how about email me at [email protected]

Hi Inki,

Four Seasons seemed to have a better reputation than westin although the latter's name is a bigger hit.
Decide carefull and see which hotel offers you better peaks and see if you can click well with their coordinators.

Hi Lori
The news did say that 2002 is a "blind" year not very good for weddings. But then again, who cares? It doesn't mean that getting married on a good date = no divorce or = sure have babies....
so never mind lah! June 8 nice mah! Me one day later than you. on 9th and 10th dinner.

You seemed to be a little rushed to take photos in April....Will the photos be ready by June?

Hi daisy,

sorri hor but which bridal shop u go to ???? hope u have a gd time.....me had such great fun trying out the gowns on my first appt !!!!!!!!

tell us abt it okie ????

btw, anyone noes where m2m disappear 2 ??????????

Hi Daisy

Aiyah..around the same lah..oso got haf day off wat..
Yup,my flat is stil building up..schedule to be ready in Oct 2003..quite looking 4ward to new place..especially so high (28th floor)..worried i might get height phobia. There are lots of ready flats..but its all the way inside Bukit Panjang..mine is opposite Ten Miles.

Yup. u r rite. Only difference between Premium and B&amp;D are only the floor tiles are made of parque.(wooden material type) and the doors different as well.

Wah..must be veri anxious ah..so u will be trying out gowns or your gown had already been done..need to make some amendments only?

Hi kk,
Kat22, LMF are getting married on the same day as us. I booked my wedding banquet at Shangrila last November and my bridal package with Tan Yoong last December. Heard that Copthorne Harbour View is very nice. I wanted to have my dinner there but it's booked already... so it's you huh?

Hi Chemson,
You're so sweet! You're always making life so easy for us! Big THANK YOU!

chemson, u r so sweet!
ur compilation made discussions so much easier. i was getting confused since julia n flamingo were mentioned so often, not sure if everyone signed up with them.

hi septembergal,

no problem. there r a lot of bridal shops out there that cater for every budget. i think milan isn't too bad too. not sure of their pricing though.

hi jk,

welcome to the thread!

thanx chemson for doing all the compilation.

just wondering when you gals are going for your photoshoot. any ideas where you wanna go yet?

hi Sheep, i think i was told by the sales personnel tt someone oso wanted to hold a dinner on this date too but was taken up by me...so, mayb it was u hor ;p *pai-seh* So, did u manage to see the ballrm @ level 10? i booked wif them cos' of the ballrm + suite rm. i read fm other thread abt tis hotel n feedback sounded good. hope i din make a wrong choice...any other comment fm u abt them huh?

hi jk, i hv oredi attached ur request to u. pls check ur email n let me know if u received.

hi septembergal, i agree wif och. 1st of all, u must know what's ur priority n budget. then it wld be easier n cld oso minimise ur choice of selection(different pple hv different requirement). Moreover, u must feel comfortable wif their service. Try to observe them n feel whether r they sincere etc...

Btw, chemson, thanks for the compilations. it sure makes it easier for us.

Chat wif gals aft my lunch...

Hi Loriwong &amp; Linda,

I have similar dates as u gals...
My customary is on the 8th and dinner on 10th.

I've booked my banquet with Marriot. wat abt urs, Linda?

btw, Lori.. Apr might not be too late for your photography, i understand dat photographers such as Chris Ling and Ray Ong oni need 2 months before the wedding... I'll be taking mine in March, with Imagegarden... niway, i thot 8th is a veri auspicious and hot date, since my cousin oso chose dat date and mine was picked by fortune tellers based on our birthdates and our parents'...

Hi bleuz,
I'll be having my photo-shoot in June. No idea where to go, hopefully can get some ideas from this thread.

Hi kk,
I didn't get to see the ballroom. I called them up but was told the date I wanted was booked by someone already (u lor...). I've seen their package which they sent to me by post. After discussing with in-laws, they were reluctant to change date so no choice, got to give up on Copthorne. My friend attended a wedding there and was full of praises for that hotel. Well, if not for you, I may have booked that hotel... isn't that comment good enough? what other comments do you want?

Hi snowflake &amp; crayon2512,

My bridal package is fr Divine Couture. I took e mtm package. I definitely hope i've a gd time. Frankly speaking, me oso dunno wat am i suppose 2 do? Am i suppose 2 try on some gowns 2 c wat type of gowns suit me, Then e designer will advise accordingly??? Or am i suppose 2 tell them wat kind of design i prefer? Me got no design in mind yet lei...

hi daisy,

if u got no design in mind then it better for u to request to try different designs on your 1st appt then the designer can advise u accordingly mah.....btw, how much u spend for your package ?

Hi Sheep
i jus ask ask only lar
...cos' it seems like everyone is praising the look of hotel. i havent really heard much abt something like the waiters' services n food (duno izzit gd sign or not). And as for food-tasting, they dont provide FOC. Hence, has to pay half price of the package if we want to try it out. And come to think of it, we feel there's no point paying half as the food is quite subjective. Moreover, the food wld definitely taste better for a table. Then hor, i am oso quite stressed tt both parents wld complain on the food lor...

Btw, how's/wat's ur preparation so far? I m quite lost now of duno wat to do next? do u mind to share wif me

Hi kk,
Just called my friend who attended the dinner at Copthorne. Thumbs up for food, service and ambience! I agree with you that there's no point paying for food-tasting. Don't worry, I've confirmed with my friend and her overall rating of the hotel is GOOD!

There's nothing much to do from now till you confirm your gowns. As long as you've booked your venue, package and photographer, you can relax. Now, you can do a draft seating arrangement for pple whom you know are confirm going, your close friends for example. Decide on the music to use for the March-In, 1st dish, etc. Your bridesmaids' dresses, if you're sponsoring. Facial or any beauty regime to make yourself look good on the big day. A draft schedule for the actual day. The busy part of the preparation will start after you confirm the design of your gowns. It's alright to feel free and relax now. Don't worry.

WOW! Sheep, thank u so much
i m really touched cos i din expect u to call ur fren to check. hey lady u deserve this
@ least u hv "unloaded" half of my worries liao...

And oso thanks for the suggestions on the preparation
i think i shld start to do bit by bit from now.

Hi bleuz
U mean the studio photoshooting izzit? i hv been wanting to go to tt place around esplanade esp wanted tt new bldg as background(*paiseh* forgot wat's the name...something like esplanade by the bay
) duno by apr will the outlook of bldg be ready...but then hor, tt's my initially thoughts. maybe i'll change my mind when the date is near
how abt u then?

Hi snowflake,

My package is $4288. I booked during their show so it's cheaper. Normal is $4988. It incl 1mtm WG, 1 mtm EG, 1 mtm Groom suit, 4 makeup, flowers &amp; photography. That's all. Veri ex rite? But i change my flowers 4 tea dress cos i'll b doing my own flowers.

Hi Daisy

Your package seems like quite ex leh..coz it doesn't include any bridal car or any dad's coat and some other stuff...maybe it could be the photography skill lor.

Hi crayon2512,

It's realli veri ex. But i tink nothing 2 do w e photographer oso. Cos they dun hv any in house photographer. They give us 6 photographer 2 choose such as Robin Photography, Black Box, Wizard of light...etc (cant remember liao). I tink i'll take Robin Photography.

I took up their package is bcos i realli like their bare back gown. So even it's very costly, i oso dun mind. Wat 2 do?

Hi Chemson,
Thank you for once again for helping us clear the BIG cloud in our heads...... getting very blur since our gang is getting quite big

U R most welcome cos I am getting blur and confused myself and therefore, I decided to do that compilation. Feel free to fill in the gaps as we approach our dates...

Hi Daisy
The photography provide by these few photographer is also included in the package? or u only get the photos included only..the hiring of photography to be charged separately.
Well as long as u like their design..that wil be a good reason for it..

Hi Ck,

Well, I am not working at Raffles area but in a Hotel at Marina. Wow, U're very daring, with no F&amp;B background somemore. Although we have more advantage, in terms of experience and connections with suppliers, Those of us who are trained in this line tend to be very careful b/f jumping in, b/c we know too much too well. Esp. costing wise. If U need a new consultant I can always help U.
Mine didn't fall through because couldn't agree upon terms with the landlord and the takeover fee. It is an outlet in Orchard. I don't want to end up just working hard for the landlord. U know what I mean.

Anyway, Give me your e-mail, and we can further chat on that.

Hi Angelia, arctic hare... so far the facials how?? u really recommend pple to go?? i still considering whether to go or not leh...

Angelia, how do u put ur name as angelia but ur bracket as angph38 har??
teach me leh...

Hi Irene aka Dance40, going to Paris tomorrow rite?? wish u all the best and keep me posted...