(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hey gals, is it advisable to get a wedding coordinator to take care of the actual day proceedings?? anyone using?? i kinda worry that my helpers not experienced enuff, dunno wat to do leh...

Hi JenJen

I did engage a wedding planner, but coz I juz started everything, so can't be sure to tell you whether advisable or not. Ideally, it should be able save you the trouble of remembering everything on the actual day, eg whether the caterer for lunch buffet is late, wat to do during the tea ceremony, is the photographer/makeup artist late and all sorts of things etc.
My planner is from bridalinc, and the package I got from them include organising the whole wedding, source for suppliers, accompany me during the outdoor photography(coz I know nuts abt makeup!!) and be at the actual day wedding to oversee everything....me and bf are basically lazi people

Hi, LMF n Seasons!

Sent the wedding planner already. Let me know if u din get it.

Hi, Chemson!

Her embroidery is so beautiful....Can almost visualise my WG although I ask Shirley to give me some time to think through before confirming the design. Trying to achieve the "perfect" gown!!

Hi, Blossom!
How r you feeling these few days? Hope all is well

Hi Brides,

Hummm...I'm seem to miss a lot in this forum.
Never come in for some period already.

Hi Freshpoison, still remember me....i'm Lotus4
How everything ??

U going to take your wedding photo shoot soon ??

Lotus4

Hi Septembergal,
Welcome! So when's ur wedding?

Hi LMF,
So how does it feel like to sign on the dotted line? Great, rite? Haha! A load off ur mind liao...
Have u confirmed ur designs for the gowns?

Hi Seasons,
Welcome! If u're keen abt having ur wedding in 2002, u hav to start looking for a venue. Do join us here for discussion anytime. Cheers!

Hi Kat22,
I didn't receive the planner. Can u send it t me again? Sorry to have to trouble u again. My email address is "[email protected]"

Hi sheep,
My date should be fixed on 28 Sep 02-suppose to be an auspicious date for us. And at this point of time, I do not have any choice of hotels except Amara, Meridien, Hilton & Suntec - all of which I don't really fancy. But no choice, got to select the best among the "worst".. sob.. sob..

I guess I'll be appearing very often at this forum to seek advice from you gals who are already expert in what I should look out for..hee..hee...

After deciding on the venue, I got to think of the gowns and photography. Thinking of getting a wedding planner, but not sure how effective it will be and how costly it will be.

wow! just few weeks not in here n the postings r soooo long liao! diff to catch up!
i'm not so active nowadays..so for those who r frequent here...maybe someone can compile the diff dates of sept brides here..easier 4 me to follow up..cowie can help or not?

btw, never c loreal's posting oso..

Kat22
hi! i'll like to have the planner tat u have, would appreciate it if u can send it to me.
pls click on my name for my email a/c. Thks!

Hi, Jowie

Do you mind me asking you how much did you pay for the wedding planner? I am also interested but will like to know the cost before engaging one. If not convenient to post on the net, can you e-mail me at [email protected] ? Thank you!

Thanks Jen jen,

I going down this thursday with a friend.
So I'll let you know if I'm keeping them.

Irene

Hi Kat22,

Congrats... welcome to the Flamingo club. Means that we will be undergoing our preparations at the same time.... even though our wedding date is 8 days apart. Does your hubby like Shirley as well? That was quick... you decide really quick.

Who have you chosen to be your photographer for studio and indoor?

Another question: Do you know how much is the men suit in your package? Which package did you take up? Me.. thinking of going elsewhere to tailor and Shirley said that we can opt out if we want to and she will deduct the suit from the package price..

When is your fitting and photo session? So excited.. you are welcome to join me and the rest at the Flamingo thread as well..

Hi To All September 2002 brides-to-be,

To assist Yvonne and all of us, I have compiled our wedding dates. Hope this is of help.

bleuz - 7th September
Blossom - 9th September
Och & Chemson - 14th September
Cowie - 15th September
JK, tweety & My melodys - 21st September
Kat22, Sheep & LMF - 22nd September
seasons, yvonne, jellybeans, loreal, tweety - 28th September

Hope that the dates are accurate. Correct me if I am wrong though.. :P

Hi berlinelee

Shld be convenient, I have already mentioned it in one of the threads here...hehee like I am advertising for them :p
The whole package is actually $800, but I signed up wif a bridal shop which they are affliated wif and got a discount of $300...so I onli pay $500 for the wedding planning.

hi kat22,

i am feeling better already. thks for asking. u r so sweet.

my fh is quite helpful and encouraging. we just discussed about our interior design concept today. we also went browsing the furniture and electrical appliances to set a reasonable budget and also to see what we need and want. we are currently liasing with a few contractors. my fh will be finalising the contract since i will be busier than him the next 3-4 mths.

my parents have been doing some spring cleaning lately. they found some brand new electrical appliances and have decided to give them to me... can save some money.

actually, i was stressed mainly bcos i have a tight schedule at work. i dun want to push everything to my fh as i want to participate in the preparation. i also feel insecure that everything will be properly done in my absence. but i guess there is nothing i can do. my fh has assured me that he will consult me b4 he make any decisions. so at least i dun feel that worried.

my fh is now challenging me to our slimming mission. as he is less busy, he will be going to gym more often. he is telling me that he will be muscular while i am flabby...
huh! so angry but i guess he is trying to motivate me in an indirect way...

anyway, i may not come to the forum that often these few mths. so pardon me if i seem to be ignoring u.

Hi, seasons!

Just check my email n found a delivery failure message that says the user doesn't have a yahoo.com account. Seems that the email add is invalid. Cld u double check ur email address again. Or do u hv another email add which I cld send to? Anyway, i resend a copy again using the given email add. Let me know if u still din get it.

Hi, Chemson!
I was there with my best pal. Her opinion matters alot to me and so since she is also very impressed with Shirley's work, I kinda just decided there and then!

FH find Shirley friendly...anyway, he leaves it up to me to decide the bridal pack

Just took the MTM gowns & suit, make-up n flowers pack first 'cos we r meeting Andrew Tay from The Edge this week to see his work. Most likely we will just take his outdoor photography. Once we decided, I just need to inform Shirley n she will upgrade my pack accordingly.

As for the men's suit, sorry, dunno how much it costs. Why isn't your hubby taking from Dick's Beaumonde? No gd?

My next appt with her is in early Feb before CNY to confirm my WG design n discuss the EG design. Photoshoot shld be in Jun so first fitting will be in Mar. Hvn't fixed the exact date yet. Prob when I see her in Feb. Will definitely drop by the Flamingo thread one of these days!

Hi, Blossom!
Glad to hear that things r going well
U r really fortunate to hv such understanding and loving FH! Don't worry. I understand. I probably won't be able to visit the forum as often too as work is really starting to flow in man!

Hi, Yvonne!
Sent the planner liao. Got it?

Alrite, hv a gd week ahead gals!

Hi Kat22,

OIC.... I only confirmed my WG design. As for the EG design, I will confirm during my first fitting and I may pop down anytime to see her to change some details of the EG design. As for Dick's Beaumonde... I went there on Saturday.. the shop was kinda quiet and the guys were watching VCD in their office... and there weren't displays of suits.. normally.. the men's tailor shops will display their works on their displays.. not them though. That's why we kinda wanted to source another one ourselves..we dun mind the hassel... guess hubby wanted a good suit. No worries.. will discuss with Shirley.

Hi Seasons,
The hotels u've listed look good to me. I've heard that Amara and Meridien are nice, and Suntec's package includes a stay at Ritz Carlton. Not bad at all. Don't be upset, ok?

Hi Chemson,
Thanks for the compilation! You've made life so much easier for us!

Hi Blossom,
Glad to see that you're happier now!
Don't feel bad about not joining us. Juz drop by anytime you want to.
Enjoy your wedding preparations!

I'm a Nov '02 bride too. Can i join u guys for discussion of our wedding plans if u dun mind?

Hi Sheep,
I have not confirmed my gown design. Die lah, now I'm having second thought. Thinking of changing 15R to 10R photos because I will have more photos for 10R compare to 15R. Most important, it saves a lot of costs when it comes to developing more! I think I have to review this problem.

Hi Kat22,
I've already received your wedding planner. Thank you so much. Gosh... I didn't expect it to contain so much info. It sure helps me to understand more. Once again, Thanks a Million!

Morning everyone,

How was your weekend so far?

I bought the Body Shaper from Watson's and it costs $29.90. Works the same way as the Power Rider, which costs $99.90. Firms and tones up your upper and abdominal areas. I haven't been to the gym for ages so I thought this thing will be useful and hopefully, helpful. Can do more than 18 kinds of exercises!

Ok, got to go back to work liao.

Snowflake, you work and study at the same time, won't you be tired? When will your term end?
Where and what are you studying?

Dawn, yes, I guess it's quite ok that I miss the chatroom sessions cos I can always ketchup! I log on to this website everyday it is getting addictive. In fact I think I already am addicted.

Hi hippo:
Welcome to the July brides Group...
May I know when's your wedding? Mine on 21st July.

So you must be very excited about your fitting loh...
My outdoor photoshooting will also be in Feb.

Carol

Nikki : of cos everyone here welcomes u. rite, everyone ?
care to show with her ur ROM, actual day, bridal & venue?
btw, r u rachael, who i've met at Prego?

starfruit : hey, finally u'r back! we're still waiting for u to organise the outing leh..

JenJen : hv gone down to Paris with my frenz last fri. wasn't impress by their photos (n the diff texture they hv), but the fren who signed up was so fascinated with their "poster picture" that she juz wouldn't bear to let go. browsed thru some of their gowns (i think it's those 2nd hand gowns) but i didn't like also.

then, when i drop by the bridal exhibition at suntec on sat, i realised some other boutiques also hv those diff textured photos...

now i'll juz pray hard that she'll have a smooth ride till her wedding.

btw, i'm compiling a list of all nov brides (KPO lah), their ROM day, actual wedding day, venue and bridal. maybe will add photographers etc as we get nearer to our big day. wld u mind if u post the details here if u hvn't done so? well, no obligations. jus tot it might be easy to track....

ROM date : think, except for ginger and queenie, all others didn't post their ROM date.

actual day : kelling, wutsy, rascal (or racal??)

bridal : rascal, dee, kelling, eden, dreamy, queenie, bumblebee, mint, belinelee, wiz_lim, janfyp, wutsy

venue : rascal, JasTan, dee, Irene, dreamy, Janfyp, queenie, diff, bumblebee, mint, wiz_lim, kelling, wutsy.

Hi gals.....morning to all of u

ooopspppsss.....me got caught by my mgr looking at the forum.......no choice lah...me back -facing her so didn't realise tat she came behind me n by the time I realise she's bside me liao....sighhhhh...me sure kanna marked liao

lollipop,

had a great wkend.....me finally managed to spend the most of sat with my hubby uninterrupted....bth of us had to wake up early so he came fetch me then we went to do errands n after tat went car-seeing wif him......b4 meeting up wif his friends at nite.....normally me only see him on sat at 3-4pm then we go meet his frens...

yup....quite tired hafing to work n study but not much choice leh.....

k.....gtg...talk to u all later...

Hi Chemson,
Just log-in today and saw Yvonne's request. Thanks for "saving" me by helping with the compilation!!!!
I was equally confused as to whose wedding is when.......Thanks!!

Snowflake,

Better lie low for the time being....hope the incident won't put you in trouble.

Spending enough quality time with FH is nice, esp when we can get so caught up with work and wedding preparations...

Ok, less than 10 months to go for all of us, but still alot of things haven't settled..hmm, like wedding favours, invites, program sheets, floral deco, and yes, seating arrangements....must not be stressed...

take care, kiddo

Hi angph38,
That's right! I'm the one who went for the outing at Prego with my FH. And u were sitting right across me, right. My name is Rachelle actually. Sorry, but I can't remember your name...what is it hah?
Ok, I'll be having solemnisation on the wedding day itself, which is 15 Nov 02. I'll be having the banquet at Conrad and using BridalVeil for my bridal services. Was fretting over wedding favours. Although the htl will be giving the weding favor, as usual cakes. I thought of giving something more significant... As u know my FH is of another race, thought of giving something which signifies a union of 2 cultures. Any suggestion from you? Thanks in advance.
Oh yes, it was really nice talking to you and your gal friend that day. So glad we can talk to each other again. How's your friend?

hi Nikki,

so sorry, still got ur name wrong, though i was trying very hard to recall but remembered only the pronounciation & not the spelling.

haha, me initially also cracking my head on the favours, but then decided to abort the idea, since can't think of any that's nice, cheap, significance and guests get to keep. well, will try to think/keep a lookout for u. what's ur budget?

thanks for remember Irene. she's doing well. actually she's juz KPOing the other day cos her big day, the soonest as i can see, will be next yr.
though i keep pyscho-ing her to ROM together this 16 Feb.

hey, what's ur email addy?

adios,
angelia

Hi Linda,
Thanks for 'acknowledging' my note! heee.. guess u gals are so familiar with each other already & I must be a relatively 'new face' here! yeah! I am starting to panic already! very jia liat .. somemore me & BF very ambitious, we are starting up a new cafe with some friends & should be targeting to open in March! Feeling very stressed every day! Besides doing my usual day job, usual commitment in church, still got this cafe & wedding to do & plan! very very bsuy very very stressed! That is why seldom got time to check this wonderful website for bridal tips which I used to do last yr! sigh ...

Hi Kat22,

Thanks for the wedding planner. It really has lots of details and will definitely be useful when the time comes.

Hi Chemson,

Great job you did compiling all the dates. It'll definitely be much easier refering to. Thanks!

Rgds, jellybeans

Hi Snowflake,

If I am not wrong, you were due to select your P21 Flat in late Dec/Early Jan right? How was it? Did you manage to get the flat of your choice? Which floor? Happy & Excited?

Hi Lollipop,

Yeah, starting to be busy with preparations and planning etc. Budget just completed. Finally got the time to sit down and plan. A little headache occasionally. But all in the name of the WEDDING! So not so bad lah...

All,

Have you decided where to get the supply for wines? Any good recommendations? Any lobang?

Dawn1002

hi lollipop,

yup....haf to lie low liao....can only access during lunchtime lor...but me too addicted liao

yup....less than 10mths to go now....me getting more n more excited liao !!!!!!! but also more stress liao lor.....me not even started to tink of all these things !!!!!!!!!

hi dawn1002,

yup....chose my flat oledi....like the surrounding very much.....but too bad it's only on the 4th flr

very excited abt the flat but tink of the reno, me headache liao

u planning to have wines during your dinner ???? me haf not decided yet ..... of cos beer n liqour haf to b in lor but for wines....we haf not decided yet.....infact we haf not sat down n do much planning yet !!!!!!!!! siao liao !!!!!!

wahhh....u n lollipop stressing me liao.....

Hi Kat22,

Sooo sorry, I was so blur that I didn't realise that the address should end with a .sg!!

Appreciate your help to resend it to me at [email protected] - there is an underscore between seasons and luv.

Look forward to see the planner which everyone is praising about!.

Thx.

Och..we have got another bride same date as us.. Idah.. also 14/9.

Liz.. so sorry... must have missed your posting... so... when is your wedding date.. :P

Hi Snowflake,

Good that you like your flat. Don't worry lah, 4th floor is alright esp since for P21 flats, the 1st available floor for residence is abt 4 stories above ground level right? So not that bad. Yours is premium or standard type? For me, is premium, so not much major renovation needed.

As for wines, yeap... will be having them since nowadays pple prefer wines to beer... esp in my family. This will cost me another $1K (cost of wines + corkage fee)

Better to stress now than later. Otherwise, nearer to the big day.... will start finding less hair on our heads... caused by pulling!! Hee Hee...

hallo everyone !!!
hallo kat, LMF, sheep!
how's ur day?
kat, once again, thanks sooooo much for that planner..! i can't believe how organised ur fren is!

my wedding date (church) is on sept 21, but dinner wont be on that day. will in fact be on either 23 or 24, depending on which hotel / restaurant chosen.

compared to you all, my plans are in a terrible mess!! and i'm suffering from a lot of stress and worry over this! we originally were hoping to get marreid in june but seems like cannot make it already. so, end up in september lor...

even trying to book the church venue was a real nightmare for us...

we havnet started anything related to gown, photo, etc etc, and the very thot makes me so nervous!!! will be going to IMM later in the day to take a look since i am on leave today!!

i havne't got much to offer u all in way of the wedding itself, but i cld be of some help if any of u are doing renovations, or looking for flats. i bot a resale early 2001, and have done it up already. now slowly adding furniture bit by bit....

:-)

Can i join in the Oct Bride forum too?? My big day is on 4 Oct..think the same as Cleo and Tiny123.

How long do we need to make our gown? Saw one of u mentioned 5 mths? Do we need such a long time?

hi dawn1002,

mine's a standard flat....can't get the premium ones...all taken up....but luckily me like the surrounding !!!!!!!!

hhhahhhaaa..tink by our wedding day....our haor all drop out liao !!!!!!! then we b botak oct brides lor :P

hi crayon2512,

welcome...welcome....

ur's on 4th Oct ???? mine's on 5th oct - one day after u !!!!!!!!!!!!

tink if u r taking mtm then it's better to give them abt 6-9mths cos they still haf to do up the gowns n we haf to go for the fitting n photoshoot mah !!!!!!!

btw, u got ur wedding package liao ????

Hi Carol,

My wedding's on 28Jul, just a week after yours. Planning to have the ROM ceremony on the actual day at the hotel, just b4 wedding dinner.

my photoshoot is on 10Feb, what about yours? Any suggestions on nice & yet not so 'hot/sunny' place for outdoor shoot?

cheers,
hippo

Hi angph38,
No sweat. Till date, there isn't anyone who can call my name correctly the first time. So I'm used to it.

Well, my email addr is [email protected]
So your ROM is coming up soon. How's ur preparation? Having any reception after that. Oh yah.....congratulations and farewell to your singlehood!!

Hi Dawn,
No, I haven't even thought about wines yet... planning for wedding can be fun yet stressful at times.

BTW, I went to Heatwave yesterday. Lucky Plaza was sooooo crowded.. had trouble finding the shop, but anyways, the shoes are quite ok, reasonable pricing. They told me they'd need 1 month to custom make a pair of shoes, so most likely, I will see how my gown looks like before getting a pair.

Welcome Crayon2512! What took you so long to find us?
Your birthday's on Christmas huh?

Erm, think I was the one who mentioned about 5 months period. That was what I was told and I read from mag as well. So imagine my surprise when my first appt was just last month and was assured that my gown will be ready next month. I think it really depends on individual bridal studios. It's better to give them more time just in case.

Will you be having a banquet? Where will it be held? Tell us more about you!

Hi Hippo:
So your photoshooting is a few days before CYN. About one month more, excited leh...
For cooler places, maybe you could try Fullerton Hotel or MRT stations, CHIJMES. Most photoshooting will be done in the later part of the afternoon, so it's not too hot then. If you want to try something new, night photogarphy would be great.

Regards:
carol

Hi Kat22

I happen to see this thread and oso quite interested in the planner which the Sept brides mentioned. May i have the planner from you? Cos' me too a Sept bride.

In fact, i hv oredi booked for the banquet venue, bridal packages and photographer last year (*hee* kinda kaisu huh
) And now, i am wondering what's next...hope i could get a solution from u

I appreciate if you could email it to address @ [email protected]

Btw, a big hello to all Sept brides!

Hi Snowflakes,

I have got my wedding pkg liao..with Fame Bridal..which i signed up during the wedding exhibtion.. Quite worried abt it..keep my fingers cross..

Hi Lollipop,
I have actually just spot tis topic recently..though always logged on to see u gals chat online..
Well, u r rite!! I am born on Christmas..So clever Of u to guess correctly. I wil be holding my dinner at a restaurant Pin Hsiang coz not veri rich..we have just started working..

Its kinda nice to see u gals replying my msg fast..feeling quite boring to work today..having Monday blues..

I have been trying to slim down for my big day..seems veri difficult..

Hello... Can i "chup" in too?? Nikki, angph38, irene...remember me?? Arctic_hare, the one who sat beside Nikki and diagonally opposite angph38.

Irene has decided on her big day, izit? Congratulations
!! Angph38 too, on your coming ROM..