(2002) Brides of year 2002

ok.. yup yup.. now let's see, shall we meet at some place for coffee instead, might be easier than lunch or dinner.

so, how many hands for weekday and how many hands for weekend. i am kind of thinking of a sandwhich/coffee session after work for this first get together. Someplace not too expensive cos we all must save lots of $$ for our wedding end of this year. One good place to try is the coffee places along City Link (e.g. Orbien's sandwich bar, Black teabox? etc if our group is less than 20 cos they r alwasys not crowded and location is central enuff) What do u all think, if u r all agreeable with this, i will proceed to pick the "Auspicious" date!! :P heheh. Pls response.
This is getting exciting

Hi Crayon2512,

Welcome to this forum!

Hi Dawn1002,

I will not be serving wine at the dinner coz' most of our friends doesn't drink wine!

Hi Lollipop,

One thing on my mind now is how to lose some fat at my tummy, that protruding part makes me so irritated. Like you, I haven't been doing excercise for ages. I think I must go Watson's and take a look at the body shaper too!

Hi Ck,

Wow, being your own boss huh? Where's the outlet?

I tried to do the same last year with my BF and Friends as we are all in F&B line but it didn't went through Boo...hoo.... So U're also trained in the F&B line?

Hey, hey, Can I come along too. How big is the group liao? AM I too late? I am for Friday nites? But I am still flexible, can go with the majority. Dun wan to make to organiser's job difficult. My Wedding is in Dec 2002, hope this gathering not strictly for Nov brides.....Starfruit, I just saw your email yesterday..been to busy to log on..I have decided not to use Ben anyway for my renovation..

Hi Crayon2512,

We reply to your postings fast enough because this forum is so informative n addictive, not to mention, I am also quite "kaypoh"

Just a lucky guess, about your birthday. BTW, I am a Dec baby too!

About slimming down, I know it is difficult. Many times I tell myself to eat lesser, but you know, the spirit is willing, the flesh is weak

As long as you have the determination to shed a few kgs, I believe you will be able to do it.

Hi m2m,
Guess alot of us have problems with the tummy area. I am not sure if the Body shaper does work, but I am willing to try out. But today when I come to work, I feel an acheness around my tummy area, you know, that kind of ache when you did too many sit-ups at one go? It feels great! And since buying this body shaper, I feel more encouraged to work out, it's like, yeah! a new toy! must use it, must use it.....

Hi Carol,
No! 4 of us are in this together including me & my BF & none of us can even cook! (well.. my BF is the best amongst all already lah ...)We are engaging a professional consultant to work on a lot of things for us so we can just do the brain work. But it is still veyr tedious, .. meetings & things to do every weekend,etc. Financially very tough too with the wedding coming up!! feel like either postponing the wedding or giving up the cafe partnership many a times ... both are 'once in a lifetime' thing & it is just too 'unbearable' if either fails!
But guess we have gone too far for both already to give up! Got the shop already , it's at Raffles Place targeting the lunch crowd (do you work near?? heee...)

Carol.. do share with me your experience! what were you trying to do & how come it didn't go well? BTW - are u a june bride as well?

starfruit : both r fine for me and i'm in for anything. except i work alternate saturdays (tis wk working
), so if on sat, pls make it after 1pm.

artic_hare : wow, u very kpo leh. sure still remember u. run here, run there then, now also everywhere chup, hahaha...
but u're very welcome to join. everyone's free to drop by lah. aiya, this irene is not that irene u met lah. so how's ur prep?

Irene : maybe u wanna use back dance40 as ur nick cos there's another irene around, thou she dun log in often. juz in case a mix-up of identity.

nikki : aiya, shld be no diff btw now & after ROM lah. now already everyday meet FH for dinner. reception? will have, but still deciding btw River City @ Excelsior and Crown Prince Hotel leh. oso scared it's CNY period so no promo and everything price increase. now jus need to book time to select ROM dress and book Sandy (really scared she on leave) then arrange for facials, confirm no. of person from FH side coming so that can book hotel. oh, anyone has cheap, good and near ROM hotel to recommend?

piggy : hahaha, ur email very cute leh
so when exactly is ur big day? ROM over? booked ur venue and bridal oready?

nikki : forgot to add, i intend to go manicure @ The Nail Bar @ Specialist the day before ROM, but still havent call them to check whether they open or not.
aiya, if can choose again, i surely won't choose this date lah.... now so many worries...

angph38, dun worry, u will be a happy bride on ur ROM no matter what hiccups u encounter... this is from my experience...

Hi angph38,
I agree with JenJen totally. You'll still be a happy bride no matter how it turns out. But I'm sure it will definitely be a memorable one for u and your FH.
Thought of going for manicure & pedicure too. How much does it charge at Nail Bar? Tell me whether it's good or not, ok?

it's been a while since i came by and it's good to see the bustling activity.

starfruit: thanks for your efforts in organising an outing. weekday or weekend is fine with me...and somewhere economical seems a good idea...just pick the date...i'll try my very best to make it.

angph38: i haven't confirm my venue or bridal package yet...yes, i think i've been lazy...should be trying to buck up soon...will let you know then...

look forward to seeing you guys....

Hi Crayon2512,

Welcome Welcome. Mine is a premium flat in SengKang.

My advice is always to give yourself and the bridal studio more time instead of cramping in the end. So better to approach them now. Don't delay.
In fact, I'm due for my 1st fitting this month and my wedding's in 26 Oct. So for you, better start working soon.... :p

Lollipop & M2M,

Lucky gals... don't have to worry abt wines... poor me!

Lollipop,

I will try to go down to Heatwave one of these days to c c look look. Thanks for telling us that.

Hi lollipop
Think quite difficult to slim down liao..coz making of gown will be 5 mths..and left with abt 3 mths to cut down..My FH has told not needing to worry abt gown design just stick to the typical "look slim" design which is having the long sleeve and long dress to cover up all the fats!!! I die die oso dun want that!!

I tried the YSL cream recommended by some brides in this forum..not sure if its works..think so coz my arms looks less flabby.Who knows, could be xin li zhou yong.. :P

Is the Body shaper tat good? if yes, must try!!

hi septembergal, idah, kk,

hello, hello! welcome to the thread! idah, u hv the same wedding day as chemson n me! (thanx chemson for pting it out)

septembergal, dun be stressed out. since u r planning to hold urs on a weekday, ur chances of booking a venue is still gd.
n i think u still hv time for bridal shopping, so dun stress ok?

any september brides hv a schedule for what to do fr now till september? i'm drawing up one now, thot it will be good to ask for a reference.
even better if someone has a ready-made one that i can copy directly.

so is weekday preferable or weekend then?
I would still opt for a weekeday evening as i understand most ppl would usually like to leave the weekends to do their own personal stuff.

so which weekeday should it be? Monday, Wednesday or Friday.

Pls give feedback.

Hope you gals have a nice and fulfiling kopi session! Me also Nov bride but a bit shy lar

angph38...for yr data keeping
me ROM and dinner same day on Nov 3, will be having a poolside dinner buffet at Marina Mandarin and have signed up wif Moments in Life for the bridal package.

Hi angph38
What a concidence! My ROM is also on the 16 Feb!!What time is yours?!!!BTW have you gotten your makeup artiste?

I think (I hope) I have settled on most of the things.
Date: 16 Nov
Bridal: Kai
Venue: Fullerton
Photography: imagegarden

I guess thats abt it rite? Did I forget anything?

Starfruit:Count me in for the outing too! Will definitely try to come!!

Ciao
Janice aka janfyp

Hi Carol,

Thanks for your suggestions, sounds 'cool'...

By the way, will you be going for manicure/pedicure for your photoshoot/wedding? I intend to do so, but not sure what type/colour to go for. My WG is white & EG is silver/grey, thinking of going for silver nail polish. Do you think it's too much, I mean the silvery part of it, cause' my WG though white, has silver beadings on it.

Do you think french manicure will suit my gowns. I think French Manicure looks classic & elegant, but not sure if it'll match my gowns colour.

cheers,
hippo

Ok more info abt my wedding. I have booked with Santiago and my dinner will be held at Carlton. In fact I was quite upset, cos' they both had bad comments on SB. I didn't know about this forum when I signed up with them.......

Well, can't say much about Santiago... but have gone to Carlton twice and so far their service is pretty alright and they have gone thru a major renovation. Hopefully they will be ready by next Nov and maybe they will become a 5 star hotel then... Hee
Dream Dream Dream.....

Thanks angph38 for consolidating... Can just call me "wiz". I blur blur, didn;t know how my surname got in as well....

Wiz

hi Kat22

i've received ur email..thanks for that comprehensive planner!

thanks Chemson for the list..
err..if u read my postings..the blur me actually made a mistake..
my wedding date is 24 Sept 02 n not 28th as earlier posted! paiseh...me sotong lah! hhehehe

hi angph38

no lah... i dun mean to "chup" in the outing, just "chup" in forum oni... me very "zi dong" one...

thanks for remembering me
u really make my day...

this irene is not that irene ah
... so, when's your irene getting married???

I'm new to this thread and I'll be a June bride too! I'm doing mine on 15 June, anyone else besides me ?

Morning ladies!

Hi, Liz, kk, reebok n Jowie
Hv sent the planner. Got it?

Hi, kk n reebok
Welcome to this thread! When's ur big day??

Hi, Chemson
Oh dear...they don't sound very professional
hope they r gd cos fh wanted a gd suit too..if they r not gd, we might get it tailored elsewhere too........let me know shirley's comments if u happen to check wiz her. Do u oso know if they hv a gd selection of materials?

hi, septembergal
ur wedding is just a day b4 mine! hv u shortlisted any dinner venue yet?

hi, och
gd idea to draw up one! me oso no clue abt what to do next

Hi Kat22,

Oh...I learnt it from the rest of the flamingo brides.. there is this guy at Dick's called Kelvin who is good. So.. if you are using Dick's, look out for Kelvin. They have also said that the fabric available is limited and if you want a good one, you need to top up at least $200-$350. If you decide to use another tailor, Shirley will deduct $300. My hubby wants a good tailor as well.. so their attitudes kinda put him off a little. I may not go down too soon to see Shirley, so, you may like to check with her as well.. when you see her for your WG design confirmation.

Hi Crayon & Lollipop,

Me also Dec kids. Wow, same birth month & wedding month. How nice.

Seems to me like most of u gals out there get new flats huh??? As 4 me, we'll b getting resale flat at Bukit Batok. Still looking around. C so many units until so xian...

Hi Dawn,

When wil your flat be ready?? Mine in Oct 2003..seems like very long...meanwhile wil have to squeeze in the same flat wif my-inlaws.
Wah!! U went for the 1st fitting liao?? So fast? My bridal shop says after CNY wil be fine.Think must go and check out tonite.

Hi Daisy,
You are eyeing on the flats at Bukit Batok ah..wah so happened i live in that area too!! Which area u are looking at? Near West Mall?
Actually i am hoping to get the new flats which is now builing up near the mall..but i didn't get to choose it at all...during my slection..but the next selection got to choose it!!

Hi Dawn,

Suggest you go to other branch at Far East Plaza, Lucky Plaza on weekends are very, very crowded, if you know what I mean. It was Snowflake who
recommended Heatwave to me

Crayon,

Yes, better dun wear gowns with long sleeves... sure, we all want to have the "glow" on our faces that day, but not when the glow comes from perspiration. And our climate is hot, so better wear something that is comfy and light material. It doesn't matter how obvious or subtle the flabby parts show on our bodies, it is our BIG day, and that's all that matters.

I'm not sure if the Body Shaper does work, I'm praying that it does!
I don't think I can see the visible results so fast. Last night was just my second time using it. But I have to admit it does feel good, esp after every "workout", my body feels stretched.

Daisy, when did you first discover Earth? Mine's Dec 10.

I've also applied for P21 4-room on 31 Aug 2000, but till now, I still haven't received any letter for selection. Was told it would be this month.

Dee- I saw in Herworld Magazine last mth abt one shop at Shaw Centre call FAVE, I believe is a new shop charging S$10 for manicure, can call and try.

Angph38- Me dinner not confirm, but my bridal is with X-Zen, those who haven't signed up, I strongly recommend them. Fantastic svc. My dinner, I still considering.

Starfruit- I prefer weekdays evening too.

Let me know once you all confirmed. my email is [email protected]

JenJen, nikki : thx 4 the assurance. now jus praying hard it won't rain, else no outdoor photoshoot.

dee, jowie, janfyp, wiz : thx 4 the updates.

wiz : cos u'r logged in. so nick is in brackets, the one outside is what ur name as per entered in profile.

janfyp : booked 10:45am slot. wat abt u? bridal throws in FOC makeup but troublesome, gotta give "ang pow" aka tpt fees 4 makeup artiste to go my place.
so thinking of getting Sandy to do 4 me leh.

starfruit : i vote for friday

Hi Lollipop,
Seems like u have been working out ah..veri motivated...think must go and get one of these body shaper 2 try...Goal for this year, 2 be slim!!!
Both you and dawn stay in P21 tat area?

artic_hare,

i noe u mean "chup" the forum lah, but guess we dun mind u join us at the outing, too. at least got "pioneer" to give advise.

irene? i oso dun noe when she getting married, but not so soon, i guess.

hello Angelia... me not that "pioneer" lah...

really envy you gals, so supportive of this thread... *sigh* so hard to get the June brides thread warm...

My photoshoot is next month... me very excited liao... when's yours?

hi janfyp,

did u book with Sandy? juz called her again but she said she got another customer on the same day abt the same time leh.

aiya, i emailed her, called her but she said call back again cos she might not be in s'pore. now i call again, she said she got another customer on waiting list..
now can only wait for her to confirm with me tomorrow lor...

Hi to Kat22,Sheep & Och

Thank you for welcoming me to join in this thread. I am sorry to reply at this time as i may not come in often cos' of my work. I hope you gals wont mind.

Kat22, I received your planner. WOW! The planner is so detail and professionally done. Thank you for sharing it wif me

Btw, my wedding date is on Sept 22...think it should be same as Kat22 and Sheep

How come your flat selection takes so long?? I applied mine in Jan'01...went for selection in End Aug..Maybe mine is in the West Zone..is faster.

Lollipop,
That means..u have to stay wif your in-laws for the time being lor?

Hi Hippo:
Yah, I woould be going for manicure/pedicure B4 my photoshooting & wedding day.
If you're worried about being too much on the colour, french manicure is a good choice, it suit most colour gown, especially EG. I would be doing french manicure too...

Cheers:
Carol

wahhhh...me lost in there somewhere somehow

lollipop....u applied P21 ? mine also there...applied in aug01, selected my flat in dec01 so now waiting 2 collect keys......how come urs so long ??????

artic_hare,

aiya, previously i think June brides' thread also very active leh. maybe as time draws near, everyone getting busy with their prep so dun log in so often mah.
who knows maybe when in jul/aug, this thread also cool off liao.

my photoshoot not so soon lah. now not even choose dress for ROM yet.
gonna arrange to choose prob on 19 Jan. hope it's not too rush. now headache, hope Sandy can make time for me leh.
shld've confirmed with her 2 mths ago when i email her.

so ur photoshoot next mth 19 izzit?
must watch ur diet. me also cannot eat too much now cos ROM on 5th day of CNY

when u going to daphne's place again? me maybe this Sun. hvn't decide.

HI CK,
WOW! Raffles Place is a good place for a Cafe and one thing you have to provide cosy seats outdoors and indoors. For smokers too. As long as coffee nice, Sandwich nice, seats nice, can liao. People like me sure go!

Inki,
Hi Hi, have you done anything already? banquet? Bridal needs?

Hi angph38

Yeah I have booked with Sandy for the day. I very kiasu and have actually booked last year. She also told me that she might not be in Singapore but she will have a stand in. But abit worried about that, dunno if I should look for another one? Have emailed her and she said that she will get back to me soon.

Ciao
Janice

Dear Crayon and Snowflake,

Mine is 4-rm, and I believe those who applied for 5-rm units later than me have all received letters for selection. I understand from the newspapers that there are more than 2K 5-rm units, whereas there are only 400-600+ for 4-rm units.

I wait so long, wait until I lose the enthusiam already, but yes, it will be nice if I can get my own nook.

Crayon, I think we will have to stay with my FPIL for the time being. I get along ok with them, but I do have my reservations... and I can't bring along my cat with me unless my flat comes..

Hi lollipop
Dun worry abt it!! Actually u have an advantage to it..u stil have lots of time to save for the renovations..not like me..got to have a simple reno for my flat.

True Crayon! Hopefully by the time we get our keys, P21 will be more developed in terms of transportation and amenities.

How old are you?

hi janfyp,

i oso mailed her last yr but didn't confirm her till recently.

what time's ur ROM? oh, where did u stay? if it's nearby, maybe can still make it for me. praying hard...

Hi kk!
Welcome to join us on 22 Sept! Now there's 4 of us having our wedding dinner on the same day! Have u booked ur banquet or ur bridal package?