(2002) Brides of year 2002

Irene...supposed to be necessities dat you bring over when marrying into your hubby's family. Dun hv to be family give, it symbolise wat the bride bring over to the new family...and traditionally, the more the bride bring, the more well to do is the bride's family lor

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">jowie</FONT>:
Why r u collecting ur gown so early? its almost 7 days to ur wedding after friday. my bridal studio ask me to collect it the night before when i send the car down to tie the ribbons

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">all</FONT>:
Jia Zhuang - my mum say just wait for an auspicious date (1st or 15th of each mth also can - Chu(1) yi(1) si(2) wu(3))and just bring the stuff to teh enw place. it must be there for before the actual day.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Irene</FONT>:
Thats what i did too, stick 2 Xi sticker on teh lamps that i bought.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">bluechin</FONT>:
U better not buy tea lought candle cos the lamp is suppose to be lighted up the whole night on ur wedding day. i dun think a tea light candle can sustain the entire night and u r not suppose to let the light go off anytime during the night. so better get a battery operated lamp cos u will not be around to look after the light.

Jowie,

OIC......

what about those old clothes and stuff?
Can I slowly bring over after wedding?

Bluechin,

heed jowie advice on the lamp.

Me also got a battery operated one.
Coz we staying in Hotel and the lamp is to be on for whole night. And since I'm going home to change to teadress and then go mum place and then to hotel straight, I'll have to on it then. (if I wrong, correct me coz me actually not sure when to on it.)

Irene

Hi strawberry,

Me with Everbliss. Bridal Zone is the 2 shops away from Everbliss? Or is that Bridal Art? Confused liao..hehe..Anyway mine's on the 3rd floor. Din post yesterday cos too many posting liao...see until I blur dunno how to continue...

Ay pinky...the 2588 is for one pax right?

Romona, when is your FH posting...Right after your marriage? Permanently?

Jowie,
oic.... If they wanna u to bring them around then how? U need more rest now that u r going to be a bride soon leh...... Juz try to smile more and answer their queries when asked. Dun be afraid.... all the nov Brides will support u..... "Wo Men Yong Yuan Zi Ci Ni"

I think Star Cellars also tie up with various hotels. They will also do the delivery for u. but i think u can also sign up with Magnum.... i have not decided on mine yet either. Och, another bride strongly recommend Fine Wines Retail Store.

I think Katong Catering might be related to Kyo Cakes cos i saw a picture with the words Katong Catering in the background.Check out the picture here

Wow.... your thank you speech muz be very nice.... muz share share with me okay.
then i can share your tears.

Irene...old clothes can bring over anytime rite?? i also dunno, but the Jia Zhuang is for Guo Da Li hor

starfruit...i also dunno why! i supposed to collect teadress and album tomolo, and they called to postpone everything to fri, and say like it's to my convenience, so i dun have to go down again for the gowns, one time collect everything...i haven't go for final fit leh, wat if my measurement different liao...and they know i expanded coz teadress measurement more than the gowns...they say can do beri fast wan, on the spot can do(?!?!?!)
i keep tinking something is wrong wif them...since they got a reputation for dat

Starfruit,
thanks! i'm still sourcing for nice red lamps......

mee too like Jowie was asked to collect my gowns about a week before my actual day.

I think the nite before the wedding to collect the gowns will be too rush for me and i would prefer to rest more rather than going out in the nite.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene,</FONT>
the list is like what <FONT COLOR="ff6000">bluechin</FONT> listed lor. think for the old stuff, bring after the GDL or wedding oso nvr mind lah.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
we prefer the other lamp, but maybe like what <FONT COLOR="ff6000">starfruit</FONT> says lor, tealight most to most only last abt 4 hrs, then somemore we not around to "monitor", guess we'll get the small &amp; cheap battery operated lamps lor.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
i think better collect gowns earlier cos "bride &amp; groom not supposed to meet each other on the eve of wedding day". somemore if collect early, then found got defect, can get them to rectify. if collect only the nite before, prob they'll juz pin here pin there. juz my thoughts.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie,</FONT>
the bridal will hv accessories for u to choose.. either u wan to use or not, juz take the set u like best (from the choices they gave u). then on actual day, u can ask ur makeup artist if she got matching accessories. if u prefer hers, then juz leave the bridal's accessories aside lor.. then u in win-win situation mah.. else scarly ur makeup artiste got limited accessories &amp; u dun like, then jia-lat.

Strawbery - I should be free on the first week of Nov. Which date will be convenient?

Romona - Wow, ur FH will be posted to US? Yar,when is his posting?

Val - That shop is the Bridal Art lah.

bluechin...hehehe tks for your support, wat i scare is, my MIL really CAN EAT leh, sekali the last week to my wedding i really expanded big time and my gown cannot fit in then die liao

Fine WInes, i tink u gave me the number too, i will call them now.
but i find it hard to compare prices coz seem like different company sell different wines, they dun carry the same brand...

wah my speech dun dare to show people yet, mayb after the wedding

Jowie,
My Jia Zhuang Date and Guo Da li Date's different. Guo Da Li's on 4th November and Ban Jia Zhuang's on 13th November.

Irene,
i think for your old stuffs, u can bring them after your Ban Jia Zhuang.

angelia,
looks like this weekend will have to source for lamps.....

Jowie,
huh.... like that better control yourself.

Do let me know your decision when u have decided on the wines ok.

okok, show us after your wedding.

strawberry and corie, it's ok with me to meet u all for dinner at 8pm. I can go shop shop first

Tell me the date and time again when u all arranged everything lor

angelia...my makeup artist is the lady boss of the bridal shop, i tink they won't let me bring back the accessories coz they need it for biz, but i scare she forgot to bring it on actual day...

romona,
think it depends on where would u want to go for honeymoon loh, if you want to go states, and visit the different states there, then it'll be a better idea to wait for you FH to be posted there and u join him, however, judging at the insecurity and chaos there, u may want to think carefully, also double check with ur FH whether he has the extra time to go for honeymoon or not.

val,
yah i know where's everbliss, think BZ is at the other side, metro side. Bridal Art is nearer to Everbliss.
$2588 is for one pax. are u keen on going too?

corie,
where do u work? or next wed 30/10 can?? fixed the appt at 6.15 pm??
bery???? coming or not???

bluechin...oic! i tot both on same date hehee

i called Fine Wine...the lady recommend Rivergum Shiraz Cabernet(dunno wat
) @ $17...and best is they consign everything, so no minimum purchase, but muz pay in full 1st and they return the unused bottle moni after the event

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Jowie &amp; bluechin</FONT>:
Ya 1 week a bit early leh. dun u all need any mroe measurement/alteration closer to the date. My bridal shop will take my measurement thsi friday but i am suppose to go back 1 more time 3 days before the wedding for them to measure again just in case the measurements are different.

Jowie,
Rivergum Shiraz Cabernet is an Australian wine. In fact, Star Cellars offered Cabernet Merlot which is i think supposed to be better wine at the same price....

Wat do u think?

starfruit,
My wedding's on 20th and i'll be going down for my final fitting on the 9th which they will make the necessary alterations if any (i hope not), after that collection will be on the 14th. I can always change the collection date cos this was arrange two weeks back.

I personally find a day before too rush.

starfruit...dats wat i told them "wat if measurement different" they say won't happen...
anyway i tink go take back everything 1st better, they are really getting on my nerves

bluechin...i dunno which one is better leh, but how's the consignment terms of star cellar? the guy din state in the quote...i supposed for people like me who not expert in drink wine, then study the terms better hehehe
but if u tink Merlot is better, i tink i follow u

Do you know about tis 2? My boss say they are good
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Lindemans bin 45 Cabernet Sauvignon
Robert Mondavi Woodbridge Cabernet Sauvignon</FONT>

Oops...sorry lah..me very blur...ok I think I know where bridal zone is liao. Wah you all seem to know all the shops very well huh?

Strawberry, 2588per pax is really not within our means. So we'll give that a miss...unless we decide to take up the 0% instalment plan. Haven discuss with my FH yet.

Jowie,
Cabernet Sauvignon's a slightly more costly wine than Cabernet Merlot..... Actually Merlot, Cabernet and Sauvignon r the names of the grapes used to make the wine. And they mix them to form better wine.

me no expert.... later u follow me... and i make the wrong judgement u dun <FONT COLOR="ff0000">KoK </FONT>my head ok....

me staying in amk now. next wed i also can join u all for dinner

Sorry gals.. cannot show u all the nailart cos i tried taking wif my digicam, not clear at all

Val, go australia lah cheaper, less than $2k per pax. But then, after the bali bomb incident, will australia be safe

val,
surely will walk around when we're there, esp when sourcing bridal shops that time..hehehe..

i also haven't discuss with my hubby yet, that's why hasn't call chan brothers, its a bit steep for us too loh, but i don't know where to go liao, australia is out as we've been there already. you guys also haven't decided on your honeymoon yet??

berypig,
ok , can take train go home together, i also stay in the north. i think now everywhere also got risk loh, so be more careful...do you girls know that S'pore also listed under danger zone?

yipee.. can go home together

strawberry, have u sent your cards to print oredi? Can u imagine, i am still looking through the draft !! Now it's their fault.. they printed an extra word .. sianz man... dunno when then can i send my cards to print.

Gals.. is it necessary to change into tea dress when the bride goes back to serve tea to her parents and relatives? Can just wear the WG or not

Hi Julia,

Thanks for sharing your pix. You look very good on the photos. Like the outdoor photos alot. Hey, we actually share the same make up artist, Jerlyn. I think she's pretty good with make-up &amp; hair &amp; fast too, don't you think?
Wishing you a blissful marriage.

Blossom, thanks for sharing.

Enjoyed looking at your pictures. Like your hairdo especially the one with the flower-like accessory (studio pix), simple yet elegant. The stripes too, unique. You looked good, very natural.

Wishing you a blissful marriage ahead.

yah i made some changes to the draft, this morning t-dragon called to chase me to fax back to them, now i'm waiting for their fax to see the changes, (final draft). should finalised by tomorrow, cos i need the cards in early nov.

i'm not changing into tea dress cos i find it too mah fan to change to tea dress, its up to you loh, also see if ur parents "pandang" or not, cos wearing tea dress back supposingly means that you're well accepted by the groom's family.

hello gals,

My FH will be going over first coz' I'm have a contact w/ my company.
I dunno he going to be perm 1 yr in US first or have to move on to China, details will be confirm later next month.
Of course I wld love to go to USA - Never been there. If possible, I wld love to go to HAWAII!
10285.gif
. But I also never been to Thailand, want to see their "tigershow", taste their MOST spicy tom yam soup and shop till I drop. :P

heehee.. wonder did we choose the same card or not?
Me also gan cheong to print my cards cos still need to write the guest name(s) on the cards. My handwriting very terok 1...

Have u all settled the cakes to give to the bride's family + relatives? Which shop did u all order from?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">anyone has the album <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Lonely Grill</FONT> by <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Lonestar</FONT>??

i looking for the song <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Amazed</FONT></FONT>

Wow....so many postings since noon huh?? heehee...

Strawberry - 30 Oct should be fine with me. Dun think I will be working late that day. I stay in sengkang so can take train together with your liao.

Berypig - Great that you will be able to join us for dinner. As for changing into tea dress, it really depends on your parents and the elders lor. My grandparents are cantonese so, they are very traditional one. Someone was telling me that a cantonese bride who wear kua back will have a bigger ang boa cos the elders love to see the bride in kua (as in those HK shows), it is their traditional bride gown lor.

I also have not order the cakes yet. Which shop is best recommanded??

bluechin is right about the the names for different name of grapes. Basically Merlot is more full bodied then Cab Sav. Cab Sav is usually a easier wine to drink and not too dry. I bought french wine for my wedding, cos I dun like aussie or USA wine

romona,
maybe you can discuss with ur FH and see what's the best destination.

berypig,
u choose which design, i choose a dark red card, with a square "xi" in gold colour..

yeah, finally there's someone who'll accompany me to do medi pedi, can be quite bored at times when you're alone doing it..ok i'll go ahead and book then, 6.15 pm set?? corie, u hasn't told me where u working? near town?

sorry gals, can't help your out in the cakes, cos me not ordering any, we didn't do any guo da li..

Hi Octbride,

let me be the first one to wish u "GOOD LUCK"!!!
Aniway, dun worry too much, everything will fall in place as days goes by....Juz try to relax &amp; be a mei-mei bride....
Now, struggle, later part, enjoy...HEE!HEE!HEE! U will be the one everybody pamper on tat day, juz relax.....

strawberry, my card design is a boy and a gal infront of the card (pink colour 1).

Have anyone ordered bengawan solo wedding cakes b4?

hi strawberry, u check with ur hubby on the honeymoon. hope that we can go the same trip, then can chit-chat all the way.. hahaha :P

i'm thinking of ordering the cakes from this shop at East Coast as recommended by Angie in the photos to share column. The cakes are very nice, got heart-shape. i think the website is http://www.savouryfare.com/

Halo Gals,

Aiya now everywhere is dangerous but if it's fated that you encounter that I think it's fated lor....Dun forget s'pore also danger country...
Anyway...I saw an SMS that reads...Terrorists are planning to bomb 3 bridges in the world..1st is London bridge, 2nd is Jin men Da Qiao, 3rd is Ang Mo Kio......becos they thot there got alot of Ang Mohs...
I think it's quite funny...but for the AMKers..dun feel offended hor..jus a joke..

Berypig, Aus is one of my consideration but haven really been to travel agencies to chk out the prices...Recently got alot of those like package for 4 pax cheaper one hor...maybe 2 of the couples here can consider going together...
Btw, bengawan solo cakes I eat before...I eat the walnut one before...I think it's really nice..Btw, my sis jus receive an invi card that has a cake collection voucher inside. That means the recipient can go to any of their outlets to collect the cake...Quite special...I think the shop is Bengawan Solo.

starfruit,
u blur blur like me ah..... My friends has been saying that i'm especially blur lately....

Dun be stress ok....Take Care!

U r starting your leave early like me?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
hahaha.. i got a shocked.

btw, ur leave period is from Fri till when? u got so many days leave to clear ah? Friday i oso going on leave 1 day. gotta go deliver my invites to ex-company, then buy my "guan yin", then go new hse cos painter doing touch-up &amp; contractor prefers us to be around so that if we not satisfied can ask the painter to paint some more.. hiak.. hiak.. hiak.. he knows i super "yim chim" oready...

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">aiya, shld ask u gals to send me ur "Leave Start" &amp; "Leave End" dates hor?! blur me...
</FONT>