(2002) Brides of year 2002

Starfruit/JenJen/ohno

any of your frends book room wif MM for your wedding? FYI, MM has promo now for rooms, onli $138+++....Pauline quoted me $185 wor

Irene,
u verie funni.... WW4 hor.....

I'm also a bit upset with mil. Yesterday nite she pulled my hubby to the kitchen after i left for my bedroom (that's after breaking the news to her that we r going Perth) and she said the words, <FONT COLOR="119911">"SIAN1 ZAN3 HOU3 ZHOU4"</FONT> to my hubby which i overheard when i came out from my room. After that i check with hubby and he reconfirmed it.

And this morning before i left for work, she mumbled <FONT COLOR="0000ff">"I thot u dun want to go Honeymoon?" </FONT>i told her that we were sourcing again after the Bali bombing and that day we actually consulted her for some advices till she said that <FONT COLOR="ff0000">"everywhere's not safe,Only Sentosa is safe!"</FONT> That was when i juz merely commented, "I think dun go for Honeymoon in this case!"

Then she insist that we get home the next morning after our wedding..... i think to serve tea to her. But i've two nites stay at Hyatt. Think i'll juz wake up early that morning..... and go back and serve her tea. *Dunno whether i need to wear Kwa or not hor*

Regarding the Honeymoon, i think becos my hubby's her Bao Bei only son so she's very protective of him. Many a times when we travel, she will nag and nag or get angry and not talk to us unless she tag around. Sometimes, we even have to say we r putting at my mum's place.

Alamak! something's wrong with my PC.... post 3 similar msgs.....

angelia,
yah....most of them has nice beach pics..... i also want leh..... Perhaps we should juz go ahead!

starfruit,
yah... the allergy can be quite bad.... once i went swimming with him and he got all these rash...... i feel so guilty cos he went swimming in the sea becos of me.

So i guess i'll not take the risk.

hi cowie,
paiseh....
i din realise my msg has this implication until u point out.
i only thought that u r the best person to give medical advice.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
after ur wedding, u update me lah..

so ur <FONT COLOR="ff0000">short honeymoon</FONT> is how long? 2 wks? my long honeymoon only 2 wks leh..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
din know u from TP. me too, graduated 95, stirling campus

Hi julia,

U and Hubby... mid 30s... nah.. u dun look that you are in your 30s... you look more like in your 20s..
Congrats again ! U must take good care of yourself, okie ? Me.. no plans for a baby yet.. maybe start planning next year. But do take good care of yourself, okie ?

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">angelia</FONT>:
Wha Stirling campus ah.. yes, i was there till we moved to Tampinese for 6 mths before i graduated. hmm... i think we might have bumped into each other before hor. so u from ITAS?? i do know some ppl from there too.. maybe ur classmate eh. such a small world

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Bluechin</FONT>:
ya, see ur hubby so Wei Da, sacrifice himself to swim in the sea for u. u must be very touched. anyway, dun have to go swimming at beach resort, these places are nice to just relax and enjoy each other's company

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Angeline</FONT>:
Thanks for the encouragment. I will trya nd be discipline.. hehe

bluechin,

OIC.
maybe u should tell her Sentosa not very safe too.
I think if one is really afraid. Then the best is to RIP (rest in peace).
Coz now everywhere is a possibility for disaster and many actually predicted Indonesia won't get it but they did eventually. So what can we say.

Just pray for the best lor.

Don't be upset.
This week, me going to have the 'ban jia yi shi'.
Think his mother is doing this and then, my house not 100% ready for cleaning yet so pray hard I can have enough time to clean up before she does whatever she needs to do.

And the best is, I've got something on this saturday morning and yet the person (sensei) give her the timing from 11 to 1.

Hope she will dilly dally and do it only 12 + coz I doubt I could reach early. And i've got a feeling, if I late, she'll nag nag nag nag nag nag.
And I wonder how i'll react coz, if I've something on and cannot make it for this type of events, I don't allowed anyone to blame me. Moreover, I'm not the one who needs the 'ban jia yi shi'.

Irene

hi gals... i must say thisto all of ya again

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">THANKS FOR YOUR COMPLIMENTS!!!</FONT>

looks like we all having problems here and there with MIL hor??? guess it's inevitable....

hi julia,
i also think that u dun look 30s at all. can give me some tips on how to maintain?

i dun intend to have a baby yet but my parents and in-laws quite eager. my hubby also being influenced by them liao... he is not the one getting pregnant wat...

anyway, i think i have to save up or at least recover from the wedding expenditure first before i consider a baby. i also want er1 ren2 shi4 jie4 first.

angelia,
i let you again whether i will go to the beach okay..... the temptation's quite <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">GreaT! </FONT>
Btw, i'll be meeting Nick this weekend. Will feedback you after my meeting with him.

My short honeymoon is about 6 days 5 nites.... juz fit into my schedule.....Can buy apple truddels for you to eat. U treat me cakes the last time, this time i buy for you to eat.

Irene,
Pray hard things will go well for us after the wedding.

starfruit,
yah, i agree that we juz need to have each other's company and also to relax.

Btw, i'll be meeting Nick this weekend. Wat r the questions i'll need to ask him or check with him? Anything that i need to let him know?

Hi Blossom,
Hey, no worries.... was joking with you lah...Must thank you for thinking so highly of me....
Hope I did manage to help Julia in one way or another

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
yup, me from ITAS..
nvr got chance to use the new campus, but lucky dun need to go there attend class.. imagine me staying in the WEST!!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene,</FONT>
me oso intend to "an shen" this Sat leh.. timing is supposed to be between 11am - 1pm oso leh.. guess that's really the auspicious time of that auspicious day leh..

wah, u flat can be ready by this wkend ah? so fast.. actually mine oso not ready, still got a lot of touch up to do. see below postings which i posted at the Yew Tee thread.

actually wanted to hv the "ban jia yi shi" together this Sat as well, then can save all trouble.. if can't make it this Sat, then gotta postpone to next Sat (03 Nov), an alternative date given by the shifu we went to. but i forgot the timing liao.. dunno izzit is 3am - 12noon or 3pm - 12 midnite!! guess it shld be <FONT COLOR="ff0000">3am - 12noon</FONT> since usually "morning/daytime" is the more auspicious timings

guess this coming Thur (after work), Fri (after painter left) muz go new hse to clean up liao!!!

<FONT COLOR="119911">solid surface(SS) is up, but the gap like not even. beginning (near fridge base), the gap btw SS &amp; wall is bigger, then as it runs towards the end of the kitchen, the gap gets smaller! asked the contractor, he said cos the kitchen not aligned. but he will check with the SS guy again to see if can fix or not.

last Sat went to "check" &amp; guess the carpenter will hv a lot of touching up to do. even the contractor says after our job, the carpenter will prob need to go on a holiday! anyway, our contractor pretty accomodating.. says will try to fix up or change whatever we want for us. but hope he not juz "fu yan" us lah.

wardrobe also got problem.. asked them to remove a cabinet. after which they re-laminate, but din do properly, so one area like "popped up".

then there's last round of plastering(for lightings area) &amp; painting touch up to do. contractor says prob will be a 1-day job lor.

then needs to change some tiles which are hollow. also asked him to change a wall tile for me cos got some holes on it.

the last thing to be done will be to fix some scratches on the MBR parquet flooring. hiaz.. dun think can get them to hv everything done b4 this Sat... guess gotta postpone my "an shen" date to 03 Nov liao.. but then hor, my new bedroom set coming on 02 Nov.. hiaz..

asked hubby to get the schedule from contractor.. hope can try to get him to do up everything (except touching up the parquet scratches) &amp; handover b4 Fri. then i can "an shen" as per planned on Sat. then get my mum to go down open door for them when they want to do the parquet scratches, cos my dad dun wan them to anyhow enter the hse after we "an shen" lor.</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">latest update from hubby is, this Friday the painter will come, then we'll be at CCKC in the afternoon so that if there's anything else for the painter to touch up, we let him noe &amp; he can do on the spot. the parquet scratches will leave to next wk.

so Fri around noon will go buy my "guan yin", then Sat can "an shen" liao.. hurray!!!!!

talking abt water bills... last Sat the plumber came to install the sink.. then put so much water into the sink to show us it's okie.. wah, i so heart pain.. somemore our sink is those 1 big one, not those 2 small or 1 small, 1 drying recess area type.. then they "release" the water &amp; told ur "release water liao is like that lor.. the sound will be like that" *pengz* my heart bleeding man!!!! even my mum (who's oso there) says so wasteful leh.. so much water!!</FONT>

hehehe.. talk abt strudels... Perth is well known for its apple strudel hor.. hehe.. got to know from the TCS 8 prg lah..

that day my colleague bought a MANGO strudel from (what's the famous shop name??).. it's very nice leh.. but a bit bit too sweet.. so 1 slice is juz nice... hmmmm... how to go on diet like that?!

oh, u coming back juz b4 my wedding hor? buy me apple strudel ah? wan me to put on weight izzit?

Hi Angelia and Starfriut,

thanks for your advice. I don't have a lot of relatives coming,so maybe can spent a little more time for my actual day photography. As for my preparation, seems like almost done. Except ordering of cakes and buying of traditional stuffs. I have booked my honeymoon too. As for my album, I think it will be ready at the end of this month. I got back my samples and at the mean time, creating our website. Thinking of posting my pics on Singapore Brides, but a bit apprehensive becos after viewing so many nice brides, felt a bit 'pehseh' as I am rather big sized.

To All,

Do you have any suggestion where we should go for actual day photography?

angelia,
aiyah.... i buy the struddels for ya..... then keep it in the freezer..... or i bring it to your hotel that day...... u can eat after the banquet....

Hi berlinelee,
Dun be shy..... i'm sure u will look beautiful on your wedding day.

As for actual day photography..... will need to know wat kind of places u prefer. eg. beach or scenic places or perhaps a place that leaves a memory of both of ya?

Angelia,

I also went to check and did a pre-completion cleaning up so that this week won't have too many dust to clean up coz no time for cleaning.

Mine also needs quite a bit of touch up.

And the plumber actually crack a few tiles while drilling things into the master bathroom.

I also complain to the designer and site manager.

Along with are all the painting which i think needs to be redo... And also places that should not have paint ganna paint also.

Besides the window grilles got scratches.

of all, i think the common toilet is the most well done except that there is cigarette burn mark in the toilet which my hubby would note it to them.

In fact, today he going down to meet up with the contractor to go through the whole house.

Bluechin,

Cross our fingers. I do hope so too.

Now that the Monash case happens, I started to worry liao. Don't knoe what will happen next.

Though it might not be terrorist doing (as per papers) but I think it could be. Coz it's possible that they create chaos big or small every where to put fear in humans heart.

Pray hard and pray well.
For all, alive and dead.
For all well being.
And for the best of life

Irene

luckily no s'porean got hurt. but think most prob not a case of terrorism. maybe exams stress, or maybe that fellow juz "follow trend".

okie, let me go get my milo first!

me hurried went to read up ST when i saw monash cos i graduated there, but different campus
but currently my cousin studying in Australia, Melbourne. but i forgot which Uni she in..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">berlinelee,</FONT>
agree with <FONT COLOR="ff6000">bluechin</FONT> it'll depend on ur preference. for me, i'll like to take more beach &amp; greenery shots, so thinking of going Labrador Park
but hv yet ask our actual day photographer for advice.

hmmm... good idea.. then u get to see me "mei mei" hor
but i think after banquet i bz counting $$$ lor..

wanna double check wif u.. u not hving any "shen2" rite? so this Sat is only the "house moving" ritual rite?

my mother 1 day 1 story.. now tell me after "an shen" cannot do house anymore.. muz clean house before "an-shen" &amp; "house moving"!!!

but think i boh chap already.. will try to clean up a bit this Thu/Fri, then Sat proceed with as planned!! hack care liao..

cos my P&amp;R bdrm set coming next Sat, so i find it funny to hv new furniture in before we "shift house". din wanna postpone the P&amp;R delivery cos scared later got defect then no time to change as their delivery time for CCK area is 9am-11am so we only free on Sat during that timing.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff"><FONT SIZE="+2">MONASH SHOOTING</FONT></FONT>
S'porean students shocked
They talk about the disbelief over the incident at the Melbourne university in phone interviews

By Laurel Teo and Ng Hui Hui

SINGAPOREAN Shannon Lim, 22, was taking a break in a student lounge at Monash University when a gunman rushed into a classroom in an opposite building and fired wildly yesterday morning.

Miss Lim, a communications and media studies student, said: 'I was reading an old copy of The Straits Times when I heard a loud bang. But I didn't know what had happened then. A girl came in later and said. 'I think somebody just got shot'.'

At that time, Miss Lim thought that it was a joke because no one had expected shooting to take place in the peaceful sprawling Clayton campus, which has about 20,000 students, including more than 200 Singaporeans.

'I was worried and didn't leave the building because I wasn't sure if the gunman had been caught,' she said in a telephone interview.

At that time, about 11.20 am local time, another Singapore student, Mr Abdul Meerasha, 24, was studying in the same building where the shooting took place.

He was then inside a study room two floors below the classroom where a mature student in his 30's opened fire at his classmates, killing two and injuring five others.

While he said he did not hear the sound of gunfire, he knew there was trouble when he heard a woman screaming.

'I caught a fleeting glance of her as she ran down, screaming, 'Somebody help me please!'. That was the scariest part of the whole thing,' he said.

'Then the building attendants started going up the escalator, even as more and more people started running down. They were shouting, 'Get out of the building! There's a gun! There's a gun!''

When he heard that, he and his friends grabbed their books and ran out too. The campus guards ushered them into the next building and told them to stay there.

'At that time, I was thinking, 'What's this? Some kind of terrorist act?'. Exams are next week, and somehow you don't think such things can happen here. Security has never been a concern here,' he said.

Another Singaporean student, Wong Sing Chuan, 23, said: 'I couldn't believe it. I've heard about such things happening in the US, but never in Australia. This is the first time and it happened so fast that I still can't believe it happened.'

Knowing that their families would be worried by the news of the shooting, the Singaporeans called home to tell their families they were all right.

When contacted, a spokesman for the Singapore Ministry of Foreign Affairs said none of the seven victims were Singaporeans.

Although the gunman had been caught, the shooting had unsettled the student community at the university.

Irene,
Life is like this.... unpredictable.

However we can always make the best out of Life.

Dun worry ok.... Things will always turn out well for ya. Be positive!

angelia,
Yah... see u mei mei
..... but will "crash" or not huh to just pass u the struddels? U can have the struddels for breakfast the next day as well.

Labrador Park? Izzit nice? Haven't been there but i know a few of my colleagues went there for their photo shoot.

When is our next outing?

Crayon

Thank you for your offer. My Wedding this Sat &amp; I m still in the office till this Thurs. I doubt I will have time to meet up with you to collect it. Thank you very much for your offer. I decided to choose :

1. 1st march in - 'You're are still the one'
2. 2nd march in -
3. 1st dish - Aria

I cant remember the title for the 2nd march in. Really soo busy &amp; putting this into least priorty now. Now still planning for the table arrangements. Last min, my cousin then come &amp; tell me say want to bring girlfriend along, relative who dont attend weddings decide to come!!! Got to reshuttle the table arrangements again. So fustratating!!

Everyone, wish me good luck that things wouldnt mess up that day. Keep my fingers cross!

Octbride

Angelia,

me not having any 'shen'.
Just the so call moving house ceremony but I'm not moving any things yet.

By the way, my FMIL mention that on the GUO DA LI day, I have to pass the person who came all that my mum give me for them to take to new house. Do I pass all the things including my new clothes, new shoes etc? Coz I've more or less pack the new things liao... some from my mum, some i buy one.
Tot of passing it together so that i won't have to carry. Is that allright? or should i pass only those things that my mum give only?

Bluechin,

Yap. Make the best out of our life.

Labrador park is nice for photo taking.
I only go to a small part due to time constraint but think might have more but if want to stand at the grass to take pictures, be careful. GOT ANTS>>>>

Yap. When's the next outing?

Irene

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin, irene,</FONT>
wah, u 2 asking for next gathering!!! difficult to set a date cos people going honeymoon leh.. then, a lot still hvn't get back to me yet.

me prob will follow hubby back to new hse leh, cos need to pray pray leh.. but oso a bit funny hor.. hmmm.. will work out something...

as for the stuff, guess ur MIL is referring to ur "jia zhuang", not ALL NEW STUFF lah.. so depending on what is ur "jia zhuang" lor. but my mum was telling me the "jia zhuang" 1 wk later then deliver over oso no problem.. but needs to confirm with my mum lor

<FONT COLOR="119911">speaking of lights, last nite went OG at Bugis to see see look look.. then saw this very "cute" heart shape glass lights, very nice.. too bad i din bring my digicam, so coulen't take pix.

the body is a heart shape, with a lamp shade on top. comes with kerosine wick, but can oso remove the wick &amp; put tealight candle.. but hor, pretty ex leh, abt $16 PER lamp.

then hor, there's another one, more modern tealight holder.. also abt $16 but for this, if next time dun put bedside, can move to other corners oso looks nice.. prob will ask my mum if can buy those type as bedside lamps or not..
</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">i probably getting bz these couple of days.. those people juz requested for some changes to the application system (AGAIN!!)</FONT>

angelia,
i saw the heart shape lamp too..... Didn't get it cos my mother in law prefers an electric lamp.

Regarding next outing, we confirm again when all of us r free.

sorry me didn't come in yesterday cos on course.

val, me with bridal zone, how abt u?
i think seldom brides carry flowers in the night, but if you want it, why not?

Yam Roses are the same as roses, just that its light purple in colour. i choose that becos my color theme is ivory and purple.
its always good to blend in the colour theme so that your wedding will look more wholesome..and classy in a way.
sorry i don't have any pictures on that, but yam roses are quite common in the market, can go to florists and see if they have it, just like some have blue roses.

wah berypig, going so many places, yah i better book my package fast..pinky how much is your package, for how many days and are u visting both north and south?

berypig, i go to shaw centre for my medi, you know lido orchard? pay abt $55 for both mani and pedi.

corie,
i have not fixed my appt yet, but it should be the first week of nov, you want to fixed date and time now with me? berypig, then we meet you for dinner quite late liao leh, finished at abt 8pm. how??

hi strawberry, so u're not aro, no wonder so quiet :P

my package costs aro S$2588 per pax, 11 days and includes north &amp; south island. my departure date is 5th Jan and booked with chanbrothers. r u considering New Zealand also? want to join this group too, then we can go together liao.. heheee

Jowie,
That's a lot of places for outdoor photoshooting for actual day.

Wow, your wedding's in 11 days..... so Fast!...... How's your preps so far. When r u starting your leave.

Pls do check that all your gowns r in good condition and the accessories eg, veil, gloves etc r also in, also the suits for your hubby as well.

For your album, do check that the no of pics is correct and the general condition of the pics. Do check that the pics r intact, meaning doesn't stick out.

Hope this helps.....

bluechin...tks, of coz it helps

do we get the accessories back or the makeup artiste bring it on actual day? I scare she bring the wrong one

preps is ok, haven't confirm the wine yet, starcellar send me a price list, i haven't read thru yet, buffet haven't book, my frend got me the wrong buffet number
so gona get another recommended caterer, and my "juz married" sign not ready, photo frames have to wait until we collect the photos...tis sat FH family coming liao, scary...hehee

Jowie,
For the accessories..... i guess it depends on whether u r loaning them from your bridal or directly from the make up artist. If it's from the bridal, i believe they should give them to u when u collect your gowns.

dear, u better confirm your wine fast cos it's only 11 days u know. If u need help, i can help u..... Call me ok..... As for buffet, who will u be engaging?

Why scary? u scared to meet his parents ah.

Angelia,

sorry forgot to say.
My mum bought two light from me from Gift Land.
Quite nice. Not traditional one lor....
Maybe I just need to stick the 'xi' onto it then after wedding just tear it away and can use the light for normal study or beauty etc...

Irene

Irene,
i think for Jia Zhuang, it will depends on your family. Some bring along jewellery, new clothes, bedsheet covers, pillows, quilt covers, the lamps, bedroom slippers, the sewing box with "xi", those basins, splitton etc.

bluechin,

Thanks. So it's like as long as it is things that symbolise ur family give u one and new and for wedding usage one bring over, rite?

Irene

Hi julia,

Thanks for sharing your pics with us...
That's a lot of pics...
You both looked fantastic..
Thanks again for sharing with us..

Now I have a tough choice.... should I wait till my FH post overseas(US) then go there for honeymood or should I go for a short trip honeymood first before his posting?

hai yoh,
really meh, with me ard now, also quiet, where have all the other girls gone to??

yah, i'm interested to go NZ, both north and south, the one we checked with amanda travel costs nearly to $3k!!!! ok i'll call chan brothers and see if its still too late to book, but before that, have to check with hubby to see if he's still keen.

bluechin...not scare lar, but not beri close, i only see them once a year mah...i scare they wan us to bring them around *faint* i dunno how to tok....

wine i have to compare prices, but mayb save the hassle and order from Magnum which ohno recommended, MM is their customer so they can deliver the wines there directly and payment is after the dinner when we return the unused bottles, but they onli give 30% consignment leh

buffet I might be using Katong Catering...colleague strongly recommend...

tell u hor, last nite i write my tk u speech, i find it so touching i almoz wan to cry hehehee
10270.gif