2 way cake to recommend?

I think Clarins is pretty good... There are two types. One for dry skin and the other for combination to oily skin type. My friend has sensitive and dry skin and slightly oily at T-zone. She recommended me Clarins two-way cake. I am combination to oily skin type and it works great for me too!

Excellent coverage and looks natural too, like not wearing makeup at all!

Shootergal

Lancome Maquicake UV Perfect Forever can help to control oily tzone and mattifies! It's a Compact Foundation with Matte Finish & Translucent Color SPF 20 PA++. not bad!

it lasts quite long too

last nite i was at robinsons at raffles city.. i wanted to buy the lancom maquicake.. alas! they dont have the case for it.. only have the refill..
so end up cant buy...

guess i w go other lancome counters to check out..

prior to this i using dior perfect skin.. initially i find it's good but, after the 3rd refill, it's not so effective in controlling t zone liao.. i m so happy when i come across the lancome maquicake fr magazines.. hehe..

n/c: actually the case is the same one for Lancome Photogenic powder foundation! maybe you can check out at isetan as i heard there is promotion for lancome maquicake till 11th May

Hi gervynne, how much is the Lancome Photogenic powder foundation, including the casing? Is it mattifying btw? Thanks!

hi stepford,

i just checked. the case is $20 and the refill is $58, however you can use the same case to try out other lancome foundations ie maquicake once u finished using ur photogenic powder foundation as they use the same case

hello astrogirl,

how much is the IPSA one?

I used IPSA Liquid Foundation before and i like it, but stopped coz my skin became very sensitive.

Hi gervynne,

U've oily skin/combination?
I used to use prescriptives liquid foundation cos my skin combination type, t-zone shines v fast.

Feel tt foundation light coverage + stay on longer esp my hands always gana face.

Now trying to find alternatives as they withdrawn fr sin.

Hi gervynne

thanks for the info. w go to scotts isetan then heee....

actually my t zone also tend to shine v fast lor.. other than that my skin is ok ley.. so v sian ley .. t zone shine , shine shine..

miralyn: yes i've got combi skin type. i tried prescriptives before it pulled out of sg but it oxidise badly on my face! I look so dark after 4 hours of usage.

n/c: my tzone also shine v badly hee

Jus to give some informations... I recommend Ipsa's foundation. It suits Asian's skin. ($70 plus) And Shu Uemura its good too... ($68 i think, can't rem) I have been using these 2 brands. Hopefully, will help u guys.

hi gervynne and all...toking abt the foundation oxidising and making the face darker after few hours....is tis common? i hv used clinque, prescriptives and za b4...sometimes i use 2 way cake, sometimes i juz use loose or press powder...

i feel tat in the morning after wake up, the face looks fresh and fair...but by afternoon, the face will looks darker liao....hmmm my forehead will shine faster than the other part of face too....sian!

Hi kalis ho, which Shu Uemura foundation are you using? Is the the Depsea one?

Hi lilacgal, yah... we all look way better when we just woke up! To reduce shine, I use MAC's blot powder. It's been working well for me.

I just bought Bobbi Brown's Brightening compact foundation..a bit diff from 2-way cos it cannot be used for wet application. to save cost i just bought the refill, haha.

The staff told me diff people's skin will have oxidisation at diff speed. some oxidise faster while some may only oxidise a bit. When buying powder or foundation better tell the staff about this so they can recommend the correct shade for you.

Not sure about it until BB's staff ask me how fast my skin oxidise..i was, "huh?" Then she explain to me lor and manage to get the shade i want, and true enough morning till afternoon the color din change much. I wun say color last till night lah, a bit "Kua Zhang", haha. Not bad lor.

Hi Stepford,

Im using the powder one, have been using their concealer, eye shadow, blusher, eye liner n skin care as well. Like their pdts. Hee hee... but skin care not as gd as SKII. Changed to SKII instead. The eye shadow & blusher has alot of variety of colours. NIce!!

Kalis, is the powder one for oily or dry skin? Yeah, I love their eye shadows and mascara too! Can't say for SKII. Tried but my sensitive skin reacted to the products.

hi venusian, how much is the BB's compact foundation?

so if the skin oxidises faster, then we will usually need a darker shade issit?? i hv not been asked of tis q b4 also....guess the BB assistant is quite knowledgeable...

is the shade u bought this time darker than wat u usually buy?

Hi lilacgal, the MAC blot powder comes in compact form. It's similar to pressed powder but according to the sales lady, it's more effective than pressed powder.

Hi Stepford,
Think is for dry skin, but sure there's something for other skin types. Give it a try, Shu uemura is for Asian skin....

lilacgal,

When the powder oxidises, it turns darker so the shade that is suitable will usually look whiter/fairer when you first apply it on.

Hi lilacgal,

Yah like what BB Queen says, when u 1st apply it on, it look a bit fairer than your skin tone.

To answer ur question, if the skin oxidise faster, you'll need a shade that's a bit lighter than ur skin tone. So that by the time it oxidise, it'll match you skin tone liao.

If your already buy a powder exactly or darker than your skin tone, by the time it oxidise,it'll turn dark lor. Hope it clarifies..

hi stepford, thanks...will drop by to check MAC

hi bb queen and venusian, thanks 4 clarifying....ya usually my powder when lst applied is alr fairer than my skin tone....so by the time it oxidises....it will be something like my actual skin tone to slightly darker abit....will take note of this...cos we always hv misconception to buy powder of actual shade as our skin...

lilacgal

You are welcome. Btw the blot powder from MAC is quite good but it cracks very easily coz I think it's fine - just one drop of the floor and the powder is gone! Be careful.

Seems like every sales personnel says a different thing. Went to the Shu Uemura counter, bent on buying the powder foundation but ended up buying the liquid one instead because she said it's for dry skin. Despite not getting what I originally planned, I must say the liquid foundation is pretty good and importantly, did not oxidise very much. I also bought a whole host of other stuff and amongst them all, I would recommend the under base cream which gives a better finishing than M.A.C's Prep and Prime for face, and Recovery Moisture Essence.

hi stepford,

wat's the name of the under base cream? actually it's the same also call "makeup base" rite?

currently i have the MAC's prep and Prime for face and i find it nice to use, makeup really stays. MAC counter says better for combi skin though all skin type can use lor. Your skin is dry skin?

Hi Venusian,

It's called UV Underbase DF. So far I like it better than Prep and Prime for face. The latter causes a stinging sensation once I applied so perhaps the reason why I do not like it as much. Do you have the Prep and Prime for eyes? Now that's something I really like! Even after clubbing, the eyeshadow is still there!!!

And yes, my skin is dry and sensitive.

hi venusian and stepford,

the prep and prime from MAC is a new product? What is the function of it? hmm

stepford: I love te UV Underbase as well! The mousse type really helps to even out my skin and holds my makeup!

Hi Gervynne, I don't think it's a new product. Been around for a while. It's supposed to boost the staying power of your makeup, think oil-free immaculate face even after clubbing. Haha... I suggest you get it at the airport counter since you are travelling soon. According to the sales there, it's a good 12% cheaper than city prices. Personally I will suggest the Prep and Prime for eyes. ;-)

And about the UV Underbase, I'm so in love with it now. Have you tried their Depsea Water Face therapy range? You gotta!!! It's great! Their sunblock smells funny though, very clinical.

stepford: does the prep and prime for eyes come with SPF?

yeah i love the UV Underbase too but i find it quite drying at times coz its rather mattifying. i tried their depsea water range before. their depsea emulsion (moisturizer) is really light but very good! I woke up with supple skin in the morning each time!

how does their sunblock compares to the Lancome one? Also SPF50?

Sadly, Prep and Prime for eyes does not come with SPF.

Shu's sunblock feels less oily than Lancome's thought the latter smells alot better! And yes, it's also SPF50. It's hard to tell exactly which one is better.

stepford: ah i know! is it called Shu Xtra Protector SPF50PA+++? if thats the one, I have it too! i LOVE it but now i'm switching almost all my skincare to lancome instead, except for the sunblock coz i'm happy with Shu for the moment.

how much does the MAC Prep and Prime cost?

gervynne, you are such a Lancome fanatic! Hee...About the P&P, I remember as inexpensive, like sgd27 for the eyes, and perhaps 30+ for the face. Very bad with prices unless I just bought them, sorry.

Hey stepford, i ever thought of buying P&P For Eye but for my shade, it's out of stock, so sian. Is it really that good? Can i treat it like a concealer instead of eye make up base?

Hi gervynne, i also rem the price as not that ex lor. Around the range as what stepford gave but i thought P&P For Face is about $38 lor... hehe I dunno about Lancome's skincare cos i'm trying out this MLM brand call Dr's Secret...

Hi Venusian, geez... out of stock? Wah... I know the P&P face is always not available but I din know that P&P eye is equally in demand. I like it because my eyeshadow really lasts despite clubbing the entire night. I'm not so sure if it can double up as a concealer though because it looks creamy but turns slightly powdery upon application. Don't think it can help conceal.

Stepford: oh like tat huh.... actually i dun really know what kind of eye concealer best suits me cos the texture are all different. everytime after i apply concealer, the dark ring area always appear got some lines. so i thought it's cos that area is dry then i put more eye gel. but the end effects is like still the same... is it cos my eyes are now showing signs of ageing? qte worried.

venusian: maybe u can try MAC Select Up Concealor. its quite moisturizing and covers my dark circles (eeks!) very well! Not drying at all and a small tube can last ages. think its less than $30 also.

Hey gervynne, we are using the same concealer!!! Venusian, I rem M.A.C stocks two types of concealer. Apparently Select Up is the more liquid one but there's another one of a thicker texture(not sure of name) for those where the undereye area is drier. Alternatively, you might want to change your eye gel to something more moisturising?

Hey i'm using the Select Cover up also! Haha, we 3 are using the same kind.

I agree it's more liquid and not so drying, best is it cost about $25 as compared to others which is easily around $30 plus? I think maybe I just set the concealer with less powder lor to prevent those lines showing, yucks!

Haha.. what a small world! Venusian, have you thought of switching your eye cream to something more moisturising? My friend has been raving so much about La Prairie's cellular eye moisturiser, that I'm gg to give it a shot!