These disagreements kept surfacing. It's mentally draining. It was OUR wedding but suddenly everyone has their opinions on how we should do it. It's straining our relationship to a point I wanna give up and call off the whole wedding.
Just when we thought things were going pretty smoothly, the future in-laws had to comment that our wedding date is inauspicious and told us to change it. There is absolutely no way to change everything we have already booked especially the hotel. I feel sorry for my HTB that he has demanding parents who initially wanted just a simple affair but kept giving opinions here and there. Apparently, their definition of "simple" is different.
We have other disagreements on the house, renovation matters and even raising our kids which don't even exist yet.
Any other BTB encountered such issues?
These disagreements kept surfacing. It's mentally draining. It was OUR wedding but suddenly everyone has their opinions on how we should do it. It's straining our relationship to a point I wanna give up and call off the whole wedding.
Just when we thought things were going pretty smoothly, the future in-laws had to comment that our wedding date is inauspicious and told us to change it. There is absolutely no way to change everything we have already booked especially the hotel. I feel sorry for my HTB that he has demanding parents who initially wanted just a simple affair but kept giving opinions here and there. Apparently, their definition of "simple" is different.
We have other disagreements on the house, renovation matters and even raising our kids which don't even exist yet.
Any other BTB encountered such issues?
We have already split our ROM and customary on 2 separate days cos we didn't want to rush through so many things in a day. Plus we wanted to sign the papers before we collect our keys to our house then hold the banquet after that.
But now the in-laws have issues about our customary date. We had to consult a fortune teller who advised us to do tea ceremony + gatecrashing (aka morning stuff) on a separate day (2 days before banquet, also a weekday!) then maintain our banquet date as usual.
This means MORE hassles because we have to book other services for our tea ceremony. I also have to inform ALL my sisters and brothers and relatives to take leave just to be present for the tea ceremony. Most importantly, the feel of getting married isn't there anymore if we do it separately. Because the banquet dinner will just be an ordinary dinner.
To add on, his parents are the kind who thinks money can solve all problems. But hello?? I'm the one who has to liaise with everyone. These troubles to go through are not measured by money! That really pissed me off quite a bit. But I'm on the losing end because his family is bigger and they require more tables than me, so I'm sort of the 'minority'.
They are pretty traditional parents with his dad being a businessman so I feel they just wanna play safe and heed whatever fortune teller's advices about such BIG life matters. Because if we disobey them and should anything bad happen to any of us in the family, I would be blamed.Have you tried explaining to them that changing the arrangement will mean having to book and pay all the vendors for a separate day's service whereby not all vendors are necessarily available on that day (e.g. PG may be doing a prewedding photoshoot that day) and you'll have to pay double the charges which can come up to thousands of dollars? Who is the one who is paying for all these services? If your fiancé is a major "investor", you can even try appealing to his parents' emotional side by calmly saying how you note how hard their son has been working to save up to pay for the wedding and now because of a separate day of morning ceremonies, he has to forgo an extra couple more months' income just to pay for this new arrangement when the money can easily be used to pay for the house etc. You can also try explaining that it's not easy for some of your brothers/sisters/relatives to apply leave just like that, especially if some of them already have an important meeting or appointment scheduled on that day and that it isn't fair to impose on them that way - turn the table around and prompt them that they too won't be too pleased either if they're suddenly made to take leave when they have a major appointment to attend on the same day just because someone decided to change the date of the customary rituals... Hopefully if they can begin to put themselves in your shoes and your helpers' shoes, they will then start to understand the implications of wanting to change the date...
My HTB tried talking to them but they can be quite firm. Even if they try to compromise, I know they are not happy about it. It's very hard to please everyone. Now it's as if I'm trying to please everyone at the expense of my own happiness because eventually, I know I won't be happy after the wedding. It's gonna affect my marriage. I'm already on the verge of giving up everything. Forfeit all deposits that we have paid and just get on with MY own life.Dun think it this way
Is there any way your HTB can try talking to them? Or is there anything u feel u might be able to compromise or even give in to make things better?
Sigh sometimes i really dun understand why some parents behave this way :/ why wanna make everything so difficult![]()
I really appreciate you girls taking time to read my problems and giving me advices! Thank you!!!
They are pretty traditional parents with his dad being a businessman so I feel they just wanna play safe and heed whatever fortune teller's advices about such BIG life matters. Because if we disobey them and should anything bad happen to any of us in the family, I would be blamed.
They know that it is more trouble to take to double book services and stuff but being the head of the house, his dad is willing to pay for extra expenses which I disagree because that would make me more indebted to him! We are seeking a 2nd opinion about our customary date and hope that someone else can advice something better though we aren't putting much hopes since these dates come from the same 'tongshu'.救命啊!!
My HTB tried talking to them but they can be quite firm. Even if they try to compromise, I know they are not happy about it. It's very hard to please everyone. Now it's as if I'm trying to please everyone at the expense of my own happiness because eventually, I know I won't be happy after the wedding. It's gonna affect my marriage. I'm already on the verge of giving up everything. Forfeit all deposits that we have paid and just get on with MY own life.
I really appreciate you girls taking time to read my problems and giving me advices! Thank you!!!
They are pretty traditional parents with his dad being a businessman so I feel they just wanna play safe and heed whatever fortune teller's advices about such BIG life matters. Because if we disobey them and should anything bad happen to any of us in the family, I would be blamed.
They know that it is more trouble to take to double book services and stuff but being the head of the house, his dad is willing to pay for extra expenses which I disagree because that would make me more indebted to him! We are seeking a 2nd opinion about our customary date and hope that someone else can advice something better though we aren't putting much hopes since these dates come from the same 'tongshu'.救命啊!!
My HTB tried talking to them but they can be quite firm. Even if they try to compromise, I know they are not happy about it. It's very hard to please everyone. Now it's as if I'm trying to please everyone at the expense of my own happiness because eventually, I know I won't be happy after the wedding. It's gonna affect my marriage. I'm already on the verge of giving up everything. Forfeit all deposits that we have paid and just get on with MY own life.
Unfortunately, I said it based on past encounters where the MIL has made unreasonable requests about our married life that are totally unacceptable. I've got a feeling she would be a really difficult MIL to deal with especially when kids come along. The only good thing is we won't be living with her so thank God!When you said you know you won't be happy after the wedding, are you saying that purely based on this bad experience? It is very common for anyone to look at the future very bleakly when they're currently affected by an issue as major as the one that you're facing. Don't let this experience cloud your vision or hope on how your marriage can still be a blissful one in the future k? As for the disagreements on the other issues that you have with your fiancé, like I mentioned before, find out the root causes, discuss openly and constructively with your fiancé, and try to come up with a compromise ya?
Exactly my point! They were the ones who said "simple affair will do" and let us go source on our own etc but now everything is set then they start contributing ideas. I'm also glad my family is the less calculative ones who really respect my decisions. So far the ILs have been demanding for things without asking about my mum's opinions yet. Another headache when they officially meet.Girl, I feel your frustration as I'm also going through it myself. ILs are selectively superstitious and they keep changing their minds - giving their $2 (not even 2 cents) worth of comments even though they say "up to you to decide, as long as you're happy". I guess I'm lucky in a way because my HTB is on my side, and my parents are also quite open minded and are really leaving the planning to the newlyweds here, so the ILs kinda get stressed when they realised that they are insisting on many things (I think they also feel paiseh).
Giving in is easy but gotta see timing and the amount of things that we have already done. It's not like we do not have to work and have other personal commitments to attend to. We don't plan our wedding stuff 100% of our time. When we finally thought things were really settled and we could just handle the smaller nitty gritty details a step at a time, they would just make a comment like "this date no good. go change" and expect things to re-arrange themselves.Sigh I agree with @jkwedding308 ... the whole situation really gets very tricky when superstitions come into picture. i always feel that whenever parents or our elders bring up 'traditions', we as the younger ones have nothing to say already :/
anyway, don't let this issue affect your whole happiness! there will always be a way out.. might be an easy one or a long torturing one but there WILL be a solution.. don't fret ok? a wedding must be a happy occasion! hope your 2nd opinion comes fast so that there can at least be more certainty...
but actually at times, i think that to ensure our 'happiness' for the life after marriage, it might just be a good thing to give in a lil to the parents in law.. or else it's gonna be a terrible rollercoaster ride after you get married, which makes you even unhappy![]()
Thanks jkwedding308, traciee and DTa!
It is really frustrating especially now it's already end of 2014 and most hotels are already booked for end of 2015 (my wedding is Oct 2015). I called up my hotel and asked if I could change a date but I gotta get a list of auspicious dates from the fortune teller 1st before I can let the hotel know. Hotel even said it's subjected to hotel's management approval as the date that I chose was a really hot date. If they really have no other dates for me, I might resort to cancelling it with a 30% compensation.So it is NOT possible to change hotel at this point in time.
Unfortunately, I said it based on past encounters where the MIL has made unreasonable requests about our married life that are totally unacceptable. I've got a feeling she would be a really difficult MIL to deal with especially when kids come along. The only good thing is we won't be living with her so thank God!
Exactly my point! They were the ones who said "simple affair will do" and let us go source on our own etc but now everything is set then they start contributing ideas. I'm also glad my family is the less calculative ones who really respect my decisions. So far the ILs have been demanding for things without asking about my mum's opinions yet. Another headache when they officially meet.
How did you tackle this problem when you were stuck in the middle on pleasing both sides and yourself at the same time? I don't think I can ever reach a consensus to ensure everyone is at least 50% pleased.
Giving in is easy but gotta see timing and the amount of things that we have already done. It's not like we do not have to work and have other personal commitments to attend to. We don't plan our wedding stuff 100% of our time. When we finally thought things were really settled and we could just handle the smaller nitty gritty details a step at a time, they would just make a comment like "this date no good. go change" and expect things to re-arrange themselves.
Take for example, I have given in a lot whereby I cut my number of tables lesser so that they can invite more of their family (some of whom they hardly even meet, not even once a year) and some corporate clients. I always feel like "Why do I have to sacrifice myself and my family to accommodate to others?"
2 words. 委屈.
Any of you have disagreements about religion matters? That is probably one issue that I'm facing and I'm afraid to face because I am not willing to convert to his.
They are taoists while I'm catholic. I'm not a very devoted catholic cos I hardly go to church, neither does he go to temple. His family didn't insist on me converting (yet) but I'm sure once I'm married over, things will change.What kind of unreasonable requests have your MIL made with regards to your marriage? Also what is your religion and what is your fiance's religion? Is there something about his religion that makes it hard for you to convert to his? Are your in-laws coercing you to convert as well and is your fiancé ok with you retaining your current religious beliefs?
Thanks jkwedding308, traciee and DTa!
It is really frustrating especially now it's already end of 2014 and most hotels are already booked for end of 2015 (my wedding is Oct 2015). I called up my hotel and asked if I could change a date but I gotta get a list of auspicious dates from the fortune teller 1st before I can let the hotel know. Hotel even said it's subjected to hotel's management approval as the date that I chose was a really hot date. If they really have no other dates for me, I might resort to cancelling it with a 30% compensation.So it is NOT possible to change hotel at this point in time.
Unfortunately, I said it based on past encounters where the MIL has made unreasonable requests about our married life that are totally unacceptable. I've got a feeling she would be a really difficult MIL to deal with especially when kids come along. The only good thing is we won't be living with her so thank God!
Exactly my point! They were the ones who said "simple affair will do" and let us go source on our own etc but now everything is set then they start contributing ideas. I'm also glad my family is the less calculative ones who really respect my decisions. So far the ILs have been demanding for things without asking about my mum's opinions yet. Another headache when they officially meet.
How did you tackle this problem when you were stuck in the middle on pleasing both sides and yourself at the same time? I don't think I can ever reach a consensus to ensure everyone is at least 50% pleased.
Giving in is easy but gotta see timing and the amount of things that we have already done. It's not like we do not have to work and have other personal commitments to attend to. We don't plan our wedding stuff 100% of our time. When we finally thought things were really settled and we could just handle the smaller nitty gritty details a step at a time, they would just make a comment like "this date no good. go change" and expect things to re-arrange themselves.
Take for example, I have given in a lot whereby I cut my number of tables lesser so that they can invite more of their family (some of whom they hardly even meet, not even once a year) and some corporate clients. I always feel like "Why do I have to sacrifice myself and my family to accommodate to others?"
2 words. 委屈.
Any of you have disagreements about religion matters? That is probably one issue that I'm facing and I'm afraid to face because I am not willing to convert to his.
They are taoists while I'm catholic. I'm not a very devoted catholic cos I hardly go to church, neither does he go to temple. His family didn't insist on me converting (yet) but I'm sure once I'm married over, things will change.
His mum ever requested me to "donate" my dog away once we get married n have kids cos she doesn't like dogs as she finds them dirtyThis is one thing I can NEVER do. I told her my dog is my responsibility and she wasn't happy about it. My fiance talked back to her about this issue also and she has never mentioned it again. But like I said, after married, things will always change.
They are taoists while I'm catholic. I'm not a very devoted catholic cos I hardly go to church, neither does he go to temple. His family didn't insist on me converting (yet) but I'm sure once I'm married over, things will change.
His mum ever requested me to "donate" my dog away once we get married n have kids cos she doesn't like dogs as she finds them dirtyThis is one thing I can NEVER do. I told her my dog is my responsibility and she wasn't happy about it. My fiance talked back to her about this issue also and she has never mentioned it again. But like I said, after married, things will always change.
@traciee he has 1 elder sister, so yea, only son. His dad is businessman, so they sort of wanna look good also. Currently, my fiance and I don't discuss much about religion. His family doesn't force me to go temple or what also. I hope they keep it this way. As for my dog, he will stay with me til his last breath. He's my world. And I'm glad my fiance thinks the same as me. I just have to be very diligent to keep my own house super clean if the ILs come over to visit so they won't start nagging.
@nudieposh, i feel you. I was really excited when we started planning for our wedding until hiccups appeared. And yes, it's very true marriage isn't 2 people matter
House reno is another issue altogether cos his parents also have opinions but we still have a few months before we collect our keys so we don't wanna think about it yet. Thanks for ur encouragement!
@jkwedding308, some elders will always have a negative view on having pets at home no matter the size of the pet. Even a slight smell will annoy them. I can only try to reduce any interaction between my dog and his parents to prevent more naggings. If they insists on getting rid of my dog, i might really flare up.
Rachelyn, I can totally hear you. Jiayou and hope everything can be resolved.
Thanks girls!take it one at a time. jiayou and be happy k.
Thanks girls!
Quick update. I pray and hope that things will be fine despite all these hiccups because most BTBs will walk this journey. MILs will always be there to decide matters so we can only give in and respect them as long as it's not too unreasonable. I guess for now we might just stick to what the feng shui master has adviced - that is to hold our customary and banquet on separate days. And then take one step at a time after I'm married over.
One question to post though... Have any of you met with any problems when both sides' parents meet? Any conflicts or "don't like the first impression" sort of issues? I'm fearing the day when both parents have to meet because we both come from different upbringing (eg. his family more chinese-educated while mine is english). And usually when do you suggest the parents meet for the first time?
We are in similar situation then. I'm not on good terms with my dad, so most of the wedding stuff I only discuss it with my mum. I'm only planning to inform my dad that I'm getting married and he'll be invited.Hey babe! Good to hear that things are progressing well for u!!
For meet the parents, I used to have the same worry as u.. reason being im not close with my dad & we cannot get along (my mum passed away 2yrs back) and my future FIL doesnt like a certain group of people and my dad happens to be one of those kind..
But things 'progress' and my dad is out of my life and I've explained to my in laws and they totally understand.. so I managed to 'siam' that part.
Of course I know that you'll never be in the same situation as me.. I also wont want anyone to be in the same situation. For your case, maybe u n ur htb can 'pre-empt' one another parents on how the other party parents are so they can be 'prepared'?of course dun talk bad lah. Hahahaha.
I would suggest before your ROM.. will be awkward for them to meet the first time on your ROM...
Maybe 1 or 2 mths before? Have a meet up lunch or dinner![]()
We are in similar situation then. I'm not on good terms with my dad, so most of the wedding stuff I only discuss it with my mum. I'm only planning to inform my dad that I'm getting married and he'll be invited.
As for his parents, they dont know anything about my dad being on such terms with me. My ROM is in march and I guess they gotta meet really soon then.![]()
Congrats on ur ROM! Must be getting nervous. I hope everything runs smoothly for u. Really glad your in laws are so understanding.ah then i guess it's pretty similar![]()
well at least you still have your mum to be there!think your HTB gotta inform his parents too about your dad? maybe not too detailed but at least they know what's going on.. unless you don't mind 'acting' up a good show for them :/ (which was initially what i wanted to do to avoid all the questioning and explaining... but all troubles saved now because he's not even coming to my ROM in a week's time).
maybe they can meet during new year for a lunch or something? or chinese new year?![]()
Congrats on ur ROM! Must be getting nervous. I hope everything runs smoothly for u. Really glad your in laws are so understanding.
Perhaps my mum might wanna pretend nothing is wrong on my side when they meet lol. I'm just probably gonna keep quiet when the elders meet.
So do the elders discuss the dowry and stuff during their first meetup? Some in laws don't maintain contact after the couple weds, which I feel a bit weird. Then again, some prefers it like that - purely in-laws relationship and not friend friend type.
@traciee you will feel the nervousness soon! My ROM in march, AD in Oct. I'll have to let them meet first before ROM, maybe just a simple dinner to let them meet if not first time meet during ROM very awkward. Then maybe during food tasting for banquet they can meet again and discuss dowry etc.
Initially I thought it would be good for both sides to build rapport since gonna be family soon, but now I feel just leave it to them. If they click, they click. Force also no use.
@jkwedding308 I shall just let the elders 'interact' during the meetup lol. I only can expect comments from my mum after the dinner about how she finds the in-laws. I'm only worried language can be a barrier cos my mum's chinese is pte ltd, while the in-laws can't really speak english.![]()
@DTa my htb spoke to his parents yesterday about how he felt about the planning. His mum just continued commenting a lot of things which didn't match our requirements. Somehow his dad was able to understand that the planning isn't easy so he let us have our way. Now we just need to please Her Majesty.
A lot of superstitions are beyond my own beliefs but I can't ignore them especially when his mum brings them up. This is the time where I tell my htb to speak to them about our differences and pray they can give in a bit.
Oh my gosh. After 1 thing settled, here comes another. When I thought my fiance is ok for both parents to meet, he suddenly flipped the table and said his parents didnt see the need to. Our ROM is in march, and our parents have not met. He thinks that it is perfectly ok to let them meet on the ROM day itself.
How did you ladies deal with this?
@DTa It's not so easy to make him understand because he's quite stubborn and can be very firm with his values. I talked to my mum about this and she said "then if I wanna meet means I 'trouble' them?" This is the feeling his parents give me also since they said no need to meet at all. But now my mum wants to meet and it looks like she's gonna inconvenient them.