An Chuang & Guo Da Li Items - where to buy?

Thanks Smilem

Where are the shops in JB that I can visit?

i have her namecard/. the address
No. 4 Jalan Sutera 3, Taman Sentosa
samathe tan tel = 07-3334555

she also sell wedding bears for car deco.
the table lamp have many varieties for u to choose.. enjoy shopping

For JB... can try ideal creations. got a branch at city square. alot of varieties for you to choose. I bought mine from there.

Is ideal creations located at level 3 (inside the shopping street)? I saw that there's only one store in CitySquare selling wedding stuff

yup yup.. at city square level 3.. at inner city?? selling gifts/soveniers/soft toys etc. but do take note.. different branches, pricing also abit different for certain items. gd luck!

Eg: i saw the wedding lamps at RM35 at city square, i found the same one at tesco branch at RM45. I bought 1 set of prosperity set at citysquare (wrapped nicely with translucent heart shaped design wrapping paper plus a big "Xi" ribbon).. The same set at Tesco branch was of the same price. but just with normal transparent paper and with no ribbons. Ribbon can be added but at additional cost?

Juz to check wf ur all:
1) Usually when we start An Zhuang? Can it be done 2 days b4 AD?
2) Who to do the An Zhuang? Parents can? i heard from my mum, the person must be 'Dragon' lei &amp; also must have grandchild :< izzit true??
3) After An Zhuang can we still sleep inside the room? or got2 leave it locked? can we still sleep inside?
4) How abt the wedding lamp? shall we light the lamp? or juz 'yi shi yi shi' light it then off it when we have done the An Zhuang? If we light the lamp, izzit a must to keep the 'light' till AD?

1) My An chuan date is 2 weeks before my wedding. Got the fengshui master to calculate the date and time for me.

Some An chuan information

Step by step guide:

1)Change your bedsheet

2)The groom’s parents or the bride’s parents (whichever you prefer) will move the bed slightly and place a red packet with gold coins in it and Da yuan at each corner of the bed symbolizing unlimited blessings of wealth and prosperity. Usually if one parent is no longer around, you will need to get a Hao Ming Po to help you do bed setting. Da yuan means the husband and Xiao yuan means the wife therefore this step of placing the yuan zi is to ensure that the couple will be fated to be together for the rest of their lives.

OR another belief is that the groom’s parents or the bride’s parents (whichever you prefer) will move the bed slightly and place a red packet with gold coins in it and both Da yuan and Xiao yuan at each corner of the bed symbolizing unlimited blessings of wealth and prosperity. Usually if one parent is no longer around, you will need to get a Hao Ming Po to help you do bed setting. Da yuan means having fate (yuan) with the in-laws and parents and Xiao yuan means the fate between couple

3)Dried longans, lotus seeds, red dates, peanuts, red &amp; green beans, pomegranate leaves, huat kuay, ruler, 2 red packet (each containing $12), 2 oranges, sweets or rock sugar, and finally 1 packet of Da yuan and 1 packet of Xiao yuan to be placed in a tray and to be placed on the bed.

4) A young boy whose horoscope does not clash with the groom and bride will be invited to jump on the bed and invited to eat the sweets which is believed that by doing this the couple will have healthy happy kids soon after marriage.

5) Rest of the Da yuan and Xiao Yuan will be scattered into the drawers and cupboards. The groom's new shirts must be put into the cupboard first (usually 12pcs), followed by the bride’s (Usually 12pcs). Red papers or stickers bearing the word 'double happiness' will be pasted onto cupboards, mirrors and doors

6) After the bed-installation, the double happiness lamp must be lit throughout the entire night. More commonly, let the battery in the lamp run Do NOT replace the batteries or for those of you who bought the electric operated lamps let the lamp run till it fuse.

Some knowledge we thought you should know:
1) Ensure brides DO NOT sleep on the bed once bed setting ceremony has been completed and before the wedding this will lead to poor health for the bride.

2) On wedding day another boy will be invited to roll on the bed and invited to eat the sweets symbolising tian tian mi mi, zao sheng gui zi and zi sun man tang

3) Avoid bedsheets with black, grey, blue, colours that are commonly seen at a funeral and also avoid flower designs like chrysanthemums.

4) Either leave the bed empty after bed installation, bed wedding day or have a young boy whose horoscope does not clash with the groom's as the is a popular saying 'leaving one side of the bed empty, you are bound to curse your other half to death'

5) Traditionally, bed setting is often done by Hao Ming Po (who is blissfully married with surviving husband and all surviving childen) but today it is more commonly done by the groom.

6) If bed setting is done by Hao Min Po please remember to give her an ang pow

my parents are going to do it because my HTB's mum passed on a few years ago...but i guess it is fine for us to do it ourselves too. but since we are following most of the steps in the tradition, might as well follow, cos it's so much more interesting. :P

Hi all, I'm a BTB 2012. if I have my AD first and my BTO flat is not ready then I cannot do an chuang first how? Is it odd that I get another date further after my AD from the master to an chuang? I don't think I can sync the dates leh.

pinkmouse (pinkmouse) > If your elderly pantang kind? If not, no AC also never mind ya... Will you stay with your PIL after AD? If you/your parent insisted to have one, then AC on the bed that you and your hubby are going to sleep from AD till new flat come lo. If you dont find it necessary to have a new bed, then buy a new mattress/new bedsheet will do. I think many modern brides do tat...

I am also waiting for my BTO (sembawang), will stay with my PIL till flat is ready (2014-2015).

Hi candy! I just asked my mom, turns out she is extremely particular abt an chuang. To her newly weds must have matrimonial bed. So if my hse not ready by AD, I hav to buy a bed and put in my current room till I'm ready to move out and I move the bed together. :S

Oh my BTO senja will be ready by 2012. Trying to to time my AD as near as possible to completion date liao...I imagine it will be delivered say 6-9mths earlier than the stated 4th qtr 2012.

pinkmouse (pinkmouse) > But I heard once AC, the bed cannot be moved within a certain period (3yrs?) even move house. I am not very sure la...

Tat's good, you can collect ur key very soon after ur AD. Not like me, btb 2011 but flat will come 4-5yrs later. I m going to sign confirmation letter (deduct the 5%cpf tml)...

smilem> Sorry long time nv follow up, so you bought all necessary GDL stuff? I buy nothing so far, ha... Actually I found it is very dangerous to shop too many wedding accessory shops as you may tend to buy something not necessary impulsively.

Oh really, 3 yrs? Hmm actually my mom also prefer me to customary after I get my flat cos she say what if I get pregnant then cannot shift hse....

pinkmouse (pinkmouse)> I think it is ok la, my colleague also shift house when she is pregnant, the baby girl is super cute... n you got to do nothing when they shift it.. Ha^^

As my family are not familar with the chinese customs/traditions, (Mom is peranakan)

Mom is pretty clueless on the Guodali thingie, besides taking the SDJ and pig trotters etc,
She will not invite anyone on GDL day, just her presence will do,

as such she will not bother to get the stuff for the bride's side (im fine with it and also pretty clueless)

IS there anyone who is in a similar situation as me?

And Is it possible not to do An Chuang?

And also what are the other things i need to take note of?

Any idea where to get Pig trotters? And is it possible to get cooked ones?

Thanks in advance for anyone willing to reply me =)

Any recommendation what are the things to prepare for Guo Da Li and AD as until now my htb is still clueless about? It is possible to skip certain things? He is teochew and I am cantonese.

ALso is it possible to skip the An Chuan even though our date is specially selected?

HI Keidi,

I suggest you ask your parents for Guo Da Li, An Chuang and AD.
If they are not sure, ask if there are relatives who will be opinionated about all these customs.
If nobody is sure, ask for their blessings to do these things simply.

i bought mine from Le Knot at City Plaza (level 5).

The staff there were very helpful and friendly. they explain what are the items for and you can choose some of the items (e.g. lamp, tea set etc.) from a few ranges.
but of course some stuff we know we can get at lower prices outside we just opt out and they will charge you accordingly. so far, my experience with them is great.
didnt go to other places to check out prices anyway because we found it really troublesome.

i bought mine from Le Knot at City Plaza (level 5).

The staff there were very helpful and friendly. they explain what are the items for and you can choose some of the items (e.g. lamp, tea set etc.) from a few ranges.
but of course some stuff we know we can get at lower prices outside we just opt out and they will charge you accordingly. so far, my experience with them is great.
didnt go to other places to check out prices anyway because we found it really troublesome.

We get our Guo Da Li stuffs at La Knot too
Can get all the items u need over there and the prices are reasonable too.

hi is that at JB ?

it's at city plaza, nearest MRT - paya lebar. if you go by train, u'll be able to see the building before you alight. :)