Vietnam - Ho Chi Minh

mrs_goh

Hi icebaby

You mentioned above that you "Took cab to De Tham to book tours. Tours range from USD4 onwards. We booked to Mekong Delta USD10: Full day + includes lunch".

May I have the name of this tour agency, address & telephone numbers email or website address (if any) too.

I will be there for 3N 4D in HCMC for FNE and am looking for a reasonable priced and good tour agency to book day excursion tour. Any other good recommendation?

Mrs Goh

thy

can advise where to go for shopping? so many postings but i hv no time to read up. still working now. thanks!

thy

i heard its better to change to SGD to VND in S'pore ? is it a good idea? where to change?

thy

also.. what is good to buy there? i heard abt sea cucumber, cashew nuts, and of cos their emboidery bags, shoes.

thks.

icebaby0

it is better to change VN Dong in Vietnam rather than in Singapore.

My advise as I have checked that there is a vast difference.

pierced22

heal no need to change much dong as we used more of US $ there. plus they will give u the change back in dong. in case u end up having too much dong.

never heard to buy sea cucumber but cashew nuts plenty, can try their coffee to see if u like the taste and their tea is not bad, mostly embroidered stuff there like ecushion covers, etc too.

kittyrain

I juz came back from HCM last tuesday taking Tiger Airways(quite cheap, $180-return)Recommended place to visit.
Ya I agreed with Icebaby to change VND in vietnam cos my experience is i lose ard S$60+ cos i can VDN in the budget terminal(SG) quite upset. Then remember to check especially big notes like (100,000 VND) onwards cos I got a note (500,000 VND) from the budget terminal that the corner of that note gt abit chip off then we nv noticed it. When we r there, we try to use that note but nobody wan to accept it, I was very frustrated. In the end, I can with my hotel(Amara, Dist 3), I lost ard S$4.

nanshee

hi All

Not sure if this thread is still active ... just wanna check how much to change for a 4D/3N in HCM? We will be staying in New World Hotel. Any idea how much is the cab fare from the airport to the Hotel?

Thks

kittyrain

hi nanshee,

the rate of 4D/3N depends with hotel & airline u take. That time i went, i took tiger airway & stay in Amara (4D/3N), it cost me ard $320.
The rate from HCM airport to ur hotel is ard S$4-6. New world hotel is in District 1. Must go Ben Thanh market ....... very near New world hotel.

nanshee

Hi kittyrain ..

thanks for your reply. We are taking tiger airways as well
u mean we can give the driver in S$ instead of US$?

May i know if you have book any tour package with the locals?

kittyrain

Hi nanshee,

I paid the driver US$. But my advice is best 2 pay them Viet Dong.
Btw remember dun change ur money to viet dong in spore cos the rate no good.
That time i booked the local package with hotel tour desk. I agrees with Icebaby is more ex.

stepford

Hi nanshee, I would recommend that you shop at this nice quaint shop at Dong Khoi Street. Many Jap expats throng this shop for their pretty bags and cute little stuff which are reasonably priced. It's Kito. Exact address is 78B Dong Khoi, District 1, HCM City. I bought a bag at 8USD and an incredibly cute coffee beans grinder at3USD! But I din enjoy Ben Thahn market; the stuff there is of slightly more inferior quality and people are quite pushy. Perhaps it's people whom I encountered. Still, it's worth a visit.

I also managed to tailor an Ao Dai (pronounced ao yai) at Nam Silk, located at 264 De Thahn Street District 1, HCM City, for about 20USD. It's near the Sinthahn Cafe where day trips to CuChi Tunnel, CaoDai Temple and Mekong Delta may be booked.

Try visiting the Paris Deli at Saigon Centre, Blue Ginger at 37 Nam Ky Khoi Nghia, and Temple Club at 29-31 Ton That Thiep, Ben Nghe Ward, District 1 where Brad Pitt and Angelina had dinner! Prices are very affordable, from 8 to 15 SGD per dish.

stepford

Almost forgot! Spa mani and pedi are very cheap too. Spa mani at SGD4, spa pedi at SGD6, and paraffin wax only SGd4. I went to the Huong Nails at Sky Garden at District 7.

kittyrain

Hi Pjen,

I went to HCM on Oct 06, for shopping u can go 2 place like Ben Thanh market in District 1, An Dong Market(Chinatown, District 5), etc. Remember to change ur currency oni in HCM, the rates is better. For sightseeing, can go Cuchi tunnel or the war museum.
Here is the website u can see, 2 find out more:
http://www.hochiminhcity.gov.vn/eng
Hope this can help u.

stepford

For shopping, you can try:-
Nam Silk (for Ão Dài) at 264 De Thahn Street District 1, HCM City Tel : 84-8-886007.

Atelier Kito (for pretty bags and cute souvenir gifts) at 78 Dong Khoi Street. , District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam Tel: (84.8) 829 6855.

Remember to go for manicure/pedicure. Very cheap! Only cost me SGD2 to 4!

puppylove888

have done a search seem nobody mention Mui Ne visit?iszit not worth a visit?
Me have book SQ HCM promo and travelling in May
Just want to check is indochine hotel walkin distance to Sinh cafe?

pierced22

puppylove, Mui ne is not bad, got the sand dunes but itz a distance from HCM which u have to take bus. so if u have time, den u can check it out, try nha trang too, the beach is nice.
cabs are cheap like icebaby said. wont be too ex.

imitation bags i dun see any there. vietnam not famed for that. more of embroidered bags n wallets.

puppylove888

PIERCED
I think this trup only can afford go Mui Ne
Wanted to get Ocean blue resort but under reno so decided to choose COCO which is recommneded by many on the web
Do you think book through sinh cafe or resort direct is cheaper?
ya HCm night activity is shop and eat only?nothing interesting?

icebaby0

sin cafe is NOT near Indochine. It's at the backpacker's location.
I never see cyclos...dun know what they are. Take cab only. =)

pierced22

Puppylove, not too sure whether which one is cheaper.
did u check out sinh cafe's website?
usually i juz book the bus alone for travelling. not the tours coz it will cost more.
i juz reached the place and ask for price of rooms.
Sinh cafe buses will drop u off at a particular accomodation and u can choose to stay in the place or juz go off to ur chosen accom.
cyclos is actually the trishaws in vietnam. didnt try it out as i thk i can walk faster. hah!
There's act a lot of tour agencies around not juz Sinh cafe. U can enquire the price. they dun differ much unless u bk directly fr the hotel. Plus, they are all connected as in they share the same buses for pick up of tourists.

puppylove888

ohhh Indochine hotel to near Sinh Cafe...so is there any travel opertaor next to the hotel so can book transport/tour package easily
think I will book online coco resort first and book a transport to Mui Ne
first time in Viet hope nothing goes wrong

icebaby0

puppylove888. As I stated, Indochine hotel is NOT near sin cafe!
U can take a cab to sin cafe area and it cost only abt SGD2 or somewhere there. Or take a 20 mins+ walk there.

The tours to chu chi tunnel cost from USD4 onwards, while mekong delta from USD8 onwards.
If u book at the hotel area, it will cost like USD25+++. Seriously taking a cab is far cheaper outweighing booking at the hotel.

It was my first time there...but i find it very easy to navigate.

puppylove888

icebaby
thks...think I will book indochine hotel for HCM stay
than book coco beach resort from the net and book transport from HCM->Mui Ne
do u know at Mui Ne can we book own jeep and hire a driver to go where-ever we want?
iszit vali expensive this way?

pierced22

puppylove, u can check the sinh cafe website for ideas.
when u arrive in HCM, u can purchase one of the copied vietnam lonely planets. it helps a lot. that is, if u havent gotten it yet.
go to mui ne and ask around for tours. There are plenty around esp if u travel down by Sinh cafe buses.
frankly speaking, vietnam is one of the cheapest places in SEA i hv been to. even cambodia was more ex.
total we spent like 1.5 k only for 3 whole wks in vietnam and itz was a pretty comfy trip too.

puppylove888

just back from vietnam today

mui ne is nice....esp our local gudie in mui ne
he is realli nice and caring
onli charge 20 usd per pax for whole day trip
same px as other but he bring u to more places like rice wind making,fish sauce making,see the whale skeletion and other activites is as per normal
His webby is http://www.muine-adventures.com/Mr.Binh/Home.html for ref
oh ya...coco beach resort is beatiful!!!!!
but I will go for Tien Dat resort as onli 32 USD as compare to COCO 75 USD per nite

In saigon me did not book sinf cafe as me staying in ANAN hotel http://www.ananhotel.com/index.php there is a travel agency downstair (TNK travel)
Hotel staff are nice and friendly too

Highly recommended !!!!!

sirwin

hi puppylove888,

Welcome back, I will be gg over to ho chi minh tis sunday morning, 5D4N f&e.

May I ask u, or anyone who been to ho chi minh, cos I realli a bit confused over using USD or VN when over there...

1) understand shld change dong in HCM, how abt USD? change USD in sg beter or HCM?
2) Can u advise when u all are there, which currencies u used for
- taxi
- hotel
- local tour
- tipping (if any)
- shopping at market/shopping ctr
- daily makan

Any things U want to advise me on when we are there? e.g. lookout for ???, careful of ???

pierced22

Hi puppylove, glad u enjoyed ur trip.

Hi win, it would be better to change ur US$ in Sin. HCM has moneychangers but u need to look ard for it. plus might be unsafe to change as duno if they would give u fake $.

most of the time, u can switch between using dong or Us$.
-hotels, local tours, usually take US$. they would juz convert to dong if u wana pay by that. rates depend on shops.
-Taxi preferably Dong, since itz very small amount only.
-I didnt tip in vietnam, anyway wouldnt be gd to encourage this as it might make the locals greedy.
-daily makan depending on where u eat. if u eat at the rdside stalls, they would only deal in dong. if itz cafes/rests, they accept US.
basically, u dun need to look for a money changer there to change dong too. juz buy something from a local shop and they will give u change back in Dong too.

puppylove888

Hi WIN,
U just need to change some USD in SG
DONG U can use SGD or USD to change it in saigon and me only pay in DONG for makan,shopping,taxi,etc
Day tour u can book it from any travel agency but the famous one is SINH cafe,KIM cafe,TNK travel.
Hotel?as I mention I put up in ANAN hotel

Shopping?depend wat U want to buy but nothing much to buy except spent most of $$$ buying laquar stuff
Realli CHEAP!!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to 99, dong khoi street...name of shop Mimosa
Good quality but must bargain
If U can get 60% off the price tag is a good deal

Have fun!!!!!!!

puppylove888

ya also agrred with Pierced22
chg USD in SG else U can use SGD to convert DONG in saigon also
but u still need some USD for aiurport taxi to hotel
just book a SASCO taxi counter (USD5)after U have cleared the custom and U can also grab a HCM map there for free also (not so good but take 1st)

puppylove888

WIN,
Below are some shopping complex in Saigon:

DIAMOND PLAZA (34 Le Duan Street District 1)
Opening hour : 0930-2100
Diamond Plaza is Saigon's premier department store and opens late (10:00 am, closed Monday's) considering the city's street stalls are busy from 06:00 am in the morning. The prices are fixed so you can't bargain, but you will find genuine designer clothes from Vietnamese designers as well as imported brands, shoes, watches, sports equipment, make-up & perfumes, CD's & DVD's and souvenirs. The famous brand 'Made in Viet Nam' can be found on the 2nd floor.

Home Zone (41 Dinh Tien Hoang District 1)
The nearest thing to Habitat or Jerry’s Home Store you will find, Home Zone is awash with baskets, teak and wicker furniture, glassware, candles, seagrass mats, crockery and table linen--all chosen with impeccably good taste. Stunningly understated polished cement mosaic vases cost USD20. Cool terracotta tiles, the smell of teak and helpful but unobtrusive shop assistants make this shop a delight to browse. Home Zone offers discounts to members of International Ladies in Vietnam, the Japanese Business Association and the British Business Group in Vietnam. Gift vouchers are USD20 each.

Lucky Plaza (69 Dong Khoi District 1)
Centrally located and accessible from both Dong Khoi and Nguyen Hue Streets, Lucky Plaza is a relatively modern mini-mall. The three floors hold 24 shops and one restaurant. Here you will find everything from cheap toys, candy, inexpensive watches and shoes to high quality jewelry and sportswear. Traditional Vietnamese gifts of lacquerware and purses can be bought in several of the shops. The top floor consists of a medium range Chinese restaurant with excellent service and traditional ambiance.

Saigon Center (65 Le Loi Boulevard District 1)
The Saigon Centre is remarkably calm for a shopping center in Saigon. Perhaps the crowds are put off by the prices. If you're looking for gifts, Western style crockery, smart casual menswear, Siemens home appliances or bedding supplies, though, this place is definitely worth a look. On the premises are also a couple of cafes serving good coffee and a supermarket that may be useful if you are short of toiletries.

Saigon Square Shopping Center (39 Le Duan, Ward Ben Nghe District 1)
Saigon Square is another step forward in the modernization of shopping in Vietnam. It is new, clean and modern. There is a large supermarket in the middle of the Square surrounded by almost 20 small shops including upmarket brands such as Longines, Boss Perfume, Motorola and Nokia. In other shops you can buy eyeglasses, watches, furniture, air conditioners, film and inexpensive clothes, luggage and shoes. If you are hungry, grab a bite at any of the restaurants now serving sushi, Chinese food, sandwiches or pizza.

sirwin

Thanks all for the valuable advises...will do!

anyone know SINH cafe is near to which hotel/landmark? understand is at backpackers area but i got problem trying to visualise & afraid will be bought to fake 'SINH cafe' there

hi puppylove88, SASCO taxi counter (USD5) is regardless of any destination? or USD5 is just a guideline for your case? Are they using metered taxi? so for the SASCO taxi, i need not request for meter,juz neg. 1st on the spot before boarding? I be staying at Indochine.

I was thinking to look for money changer inside the airport to change some dong 1st cos initially thought need to look for metered taxi at the airport taxi stand & understand when U pass them big note(as most money changer will issue), they will say 'no change'

Hi pierced,
"basically, u dun need to look for a money changer there to change dong too. juz buy something from a local shop and they will give u change back in Dong too"

U mean if I use sgd or usd small notes, they can change to dong for u? or U mean big dong to small dong? thanks.

sirwin

1 thing is, for 1st-timers, is roaming ard HCMC easi for us? heard from frn who went there say best to get local tour guide due to lang. barrier? can vietnamese speak basic english? thanks.

icebaby0

1) There is several tour agencies that offer the same tour to Mekong Delta/Chu Chi Tunnel. So it doesn't really matter. (Backpaker's lane is just a long street, it's like turning into Peck Seah Street where there are two rows of shops) Dun have to worry about "Fake" as you can always ask for the tour price. As long as u know the tour price, you won't be cheated.

The tour agency I went was:
Contact Office: 267 - De Tham St., HCM City
Tel. : (84-8) 9202 112
Hot line : (84) 903 977 976
Fax : (84-8) 9202 107
Email : [email protected]

**Trust me, you won't get lost as long as you have a MAP and cash to take a cab if needed. =)

2) HCMC is very easy. Dun need local tour guide, you just book those tours from the agent above, can liao. Cheap.
You can email them first, ask them for the tours (pls. remember to ask for non-private, cos private tours are very expensive)

3) Taxi
- when you walk out of the airport, there will be alot of taxi drivers, saying USD10 blah blah. You just keep saying Meter cab. Someone will just quote USD5. The USD5 can take. DO NOT BOARD without knowing whether meter or price!

4) Money changing.
Yes, change abit at the airport. Dun change all cos Airport currency is very low and they charge commission. After that, when you are at De Tham St, there got a few money changer, change there. =)

And yes, money works the same where everywhere. You pay in Dong, they return in Dong lah. Paying in USD, you might not get change.

icebaby0

No need to worry about language. For Food, dun speak Vietnamese, just point lor. In Benh Teh Market/Shopping Centres, there are people who speak English. Just speak slowly. =) Benh Teh Market got people speak chinese or dialect even!!!

icebaby0

Once you are in the city, go to the tourist information building (which is opposite REX HOTEL). Get the map there, it is more detail. If you are unsure of certain place, just ask them. They speak good english and they are willing to assist.

Vietnam's online streetdirectory is (which the tourist office use): http://www.diadiem.com/Eindex.aspx

Other maps online:
http://www.indochinatour.com/vietnam/map/map_hochimin_1.html
http://www.hoteltravel.com/vietnam/ho_chi_minh/maps.htm

Here is my travel page for HCMC: http://members.virtualtourist.com/m/aff39/167100/
There got tips and info (which I posted here also)

rara

Hi, does anyone know what is the most time-efficient method to get from Ho Chi Minh to Siem Reap other than by air, and how long the route will take? Is it a must to stopover or change bus/boat at Phnom Penh?

puppylove888

WIN
For 1st timer would advise to take SASCO taxi..at least no need bargain USD5 to D1 (4 pax)
USD6 (MPV)
If u want dun wan than go out and find a yellow color taxi and go by meter or bargain with driver for USD4 or 5 to D1

SINH cafe is at Le Tham street....where u can find plenty of agent.
Tell us where u staying so we can advise which agency nearer/convenient for u

And yes!!!u need not chg DONG but pay in DONG is at advantage to buyer!!!
eg a USD2 thing if pay by dong onli 3000 DONG
so U save 200
More u buy more u save...understand?
unless u are those rich type who dun bother

pierced22

Hi rara, there are buses departing from HCM backpackers St to Siem Reap/Phomh Penh. I have seen many foreigners taking the bus to Cambodia thru the tour cafes there.
only thing is i read bef in the lonely planet that that route might be quite unsafe as u have to pass thru a cambodian border town that is considered like the gangster town. so u might have to research more on the safety issue.

pierced22

Hi Win, puppylove has replied ur qn to mi: u dont need to change the Dong in Sin. Some places do not have US $$ so they would juz return ur change in dong to u.
Best is to get the money changers to try to give u small US $ notes when u change not the $50 kind otherwise u find problems getting change unless u are paying for tours/hotels. get the $2,$1 $5 notes as it's more convenient.

rara

thanks for the replies. now i'm thinking of just doing the cu chi tunnels in HCM and then taking a mekong delta cruise all the way to phnom penh. but i have yet to research if the 3D2N cruise will be worth the time, or a 2D1N cruise will suffice.