Tired - Stress

moodlynewgroom

Sorry folks, I really need to released my stress out here!! I doesnt want my wife to feel bad!
Me and my wife and went thru a real tough time before we finally got married last month. We were both very happy and got all the blessing from our parents and family members.
Because my wife is a PRC, I have to obtain a LTSVP for her inorder to prolong her stay here in Singapore. Browsing thru a few forum and ICA website, understand that this pass are strictly subjected for approval.
Before submitting for this application, we have been running around like a headless chicken everywhere to obtain all revelant documents which required.
Finally all done and went for the submittion. I have a bad feeling that the application will be rejected coz:
I am only a "O" levels holders.
I have been working as a freelance Sales Man for the past 3 years.
Past 3 Years Income Tax are contributed!( 33K - 37K)
CPF - no contribution

I am worried that what will happen and what to do if my application are rejected. Does appealing help? I dont think I will be able to obtain any new supporting document for the appealing. I am not sure why is it that difficult for us to just live a simple life in Singapore!!!
I have not been sleeping / eating well since the day I submitted this application. What I can do now is to wait for their letter reply!!

I am really very tired!

I've no experience in this, but i tot as long as wife, PR is not an issue. I've a few relatives, not even "O" level, but no problem leh. Provided its legally married wife lar.

idono,thanks for your reply.
Ofcourse myself and my wife are legally married in Singapore.
Not really, today marriage to a
Singaporean does not automatically qualify a foreigner for immigration
facilities including the grant of SPR status in Singapore. Each application
is carefully assessed and considered on its own merits.
Ofcourse the merits referred to my income stablity and have to make sure that I am able to support my family.

In a practical sense, PR status is not automatically given. Moody is correct - each application is assessed on its own merits - including education, profession of both husband & wife.

I have heard cases where the wife (Malaysian) have to take courses in hairdressing to prove that they are able to earn a living & contribute to the economy in a sense.

Its a bit unfair but thats really the cold hard truth. Having a job & certain level of education does help.

My worried really came true after recieiving the replied letter from ICA this afternoon. Stated that my application was not successful and my wife is only granted with One time 6months social visiting pass with non renewable!
I am not sure about the reason being rejected as there are no inidication in their letter.
I personally feel that there are no point for me to appeal in any short term as I will not be able to produce any stronger documentation for this appealing.
I am totally lost!!!
Wonder why is it so unfair to us!! Everything needs to be so mean here????

stop whinging, it won't help your situation.

go meet with someone in ICA face to face. my experience tells me that sg civil servants are surprisingly accommodating when presented with a problem to solve. if the person you meet is unhelpful, find another who is sympathetic and is willing to give you a hand or offer useful tips for your situation.

for now, don't write or get your MP involved because the statues are not in your favor. the civil servants can play the black-and-white game better than your MP can or have time for.

Hi Tomasulu,

thanks for your advise.
Do you think that those Officer at ICA have the heart or time to entertain each an everyone who faces this issue? Yes, I will definitely make a trip down to ICA to enquiry about this issue.
Emm...as the my MP, this will be the very last resolution before I walk in to them coz I doesnt want to make any matter to become sour as this will not end my application at ICA, more application to comes.

as with most endeavors, your chance of success improves when you adopt a persistent and positive attitude. finding someone sympathetic is key but tugging at his heart string alone won't get you anywhere. you have to tailor your appeal according to ICA's criteria. whatever they are, i assume they boil down to a reflection of your ability to support your family so the state will not be burdened. i'd bring along all supporting financial statements or supporting evidence of how you intend to improve your current financial situation.

Once again for your reply.
I will give it a shot tomorrow morning.
Hopefully I will be lucky enough to meet someone whom is sympathetic enough to listen to me.

MoodlyC

I think u can try start a family.(the govt needs more babies). U can try yr best to fight for SPR for your wife till u successful(I know one case like yours, a guy friend of mine's wife also from China, but of cos, same problem as u. he is self-employed n runs own biz. in the end, his wife was granted SPR based on her making two babies for him.)

All the best.

moodlyc, ya.. i think they will approve SPR based on kids, but it's not instantly loh.. my hb a malaysian, also got his SPR approved when our boy was 5yo.. i guess it's to prevent pple from thinking that after they marry a singaporean, they are automatically granted citizenship.

i suppose that it's because they want to exclude sham marriages, that's why the application process can be quite tedious ..

i know cos before my husband moved here, we had discussed about me going to his home country but it would take 18 months before i get an interview date with the embassy during which i cannot set foot in his country (even for holidays) and then they will need to deliberate if my resident permit is approved .. if approved, i can go there but after two years, i will be called again for another interview with the embassy before i get the PR status .. so troublesome, so he moved here instead. when we registered our daughter's birth at the embassy last year, he enquired again about the possibility of getting the permit for me - the lady again put it across to us that just because we have a child doesn't mean the application process is any less complicated .. she advised us to wait for 2 years of marriage or more before applying .. basically the longer the marriage is more evident of an established relationship and application is more likely to be successful. our 2nd child is due to be born in a few months' time and now the husband doesn't seem so keen to want to move back to his home country so we're not even going to bother about applying for me until plans to move back are more concrete .. he also has no plans to apply for PR here so he's just getting by on his EP.

but each country has its own criterias and selection process .. you just need to persevere.

Hi Tomasulu,

nice seeing you again!
I have went to see the officer last week and manage to got hold of some advise from them. I have drop the intention of appealing as the have grant my wife stay of 6months.
Fortunately I have manage to recd a new employment recently which this will be good enough for me to prove on my stable income and consistency on CPF contribution from my current company.
I hope this will serve as a new stronger supporting document on my next new application.

Hi Cuclainne,

Yes, you are right. Every country have their own criterial and guideness to follow for their immigration to consider with the approval on any PR or long Term pass application.

Hi Folks,

its me again Moodly. Times really flies and my wife LTSVP which was granted for 6Months and non renewable will be expiring soon....
Its time for me to go thru another round of resubmitting the application for her again.

Not to sure if this round I will be granted with the application even thot I manage to got a stable Job with a income of S$2.5k/mth since Nov last year.
Before that I was a self employed but there was no CPF contribution. Therefore my first application was not successful most probably due my unstable income status.

Any folks with related experience to advise??

Thanks in advanced.

Hi MoodlyC, how's the latest update from you? Did you able to extend another new 6mths LTSVP for your spouse?

Don't worry, nothing's impossible, but it takes up alot of your time and it's quite frustrating. But currently, I heard that most applications are submitted and approved online, so filling up forms are a thing of a past. To give you some heads up... I present you my experiences below.....

1. ROM in Sg in Year 2003, Immediately apply LTSVP for my PRC wife.

2. 6mths LTSVP was approved within 5 wks, was granted the pass after her medical examination is completed. (medical examination is to be carried out 2-yearly) if still holding the LTSVP.

3. Try applying SPR for her in end 2003. Was rejected, and told to try in 6mths time. In the meantime, still pay $60 and renew her 6mth pass before expiry. (My annual pay was $25K, was just a OJT at that time)

4. Try apply SPR in mid-2004. Was rejected again, and told to try in 18mths time. Damn it!! Still renewing her visa till 3rd Qtr 2005. I think I have spend ~$400 + transport + x leave for her visa extension so far.

5. Meanwhile I'm taking a risk by purchasing a resale flat with my wife using the HDB foreign spouse scheme in 2006. Managed to purchase an affordable unit within budget. Now it has a resale value of 250K after upgraded. (At least 90K profit) This is really a good decision I have made so far.

6. My annual pay has increased significantly to $32K in mid-2006. Try again in 3qtr 2006 when ICA's advice of 18mths is over. Was finally approved within 3mths time. Phew... .

7. Went down HDB branch to insert my wife's name as joint tenancy after getting her blue ID.

8. I just try my luck to apply singapore citizenship for her in 3qtr 2008. (Minimum requirement for SPRs to have 2years residency in Sg) My pay was about $2500/mth, annual income of abt 37K. It was approved in 5mths within one try. It surprised both of us.

9. My wife flew back to transfer her properties issues, before giving up her chinese passport in chinese embassy and to complete other formalities. Now, she's holding a pink IC now.

So MoodlyC, dun give up hope.

ICA are careful in issuing such approval liao. there are cases of ppl coming into sg on the pretext of marriage, get a PR then divorce.

well that why they have to be stringent in their controls.

Hi Rofthelper,

Thank you for your attention as well as encouragement. Greatly appreciated.

Yes, things went on pretty smooth upon my 2nd submittion for my Wife LTSVP application last year March. She was granted twice 6months LTSVP till the recent one which is one year( Just got the pass 2 weeks back ).

I will try for her SPR later this year even thot I know its not easy these days to get approve but I will keep trying.

Again, Thank you.

MoodlyC, I think it will be better if you can make a trip down.

At least some one will be able to attend and advice on your suitation.

To my knowing, I though as long it is offically married to you, She should be consider a Singaporean too