Tiffany & Co. Wedding Band

hi verylastminute..

then there may be a difference.. with my limited knowledge, i only know there is one kind of silver.. maybe you can question tiff and educate us.. =)

haha, yup Bs proffy,, i admire them only but tot the price is far too ex for silver. muz as well save up for tiffany stuff. hee...

hi beautiful, i thk that's the normal case for all 925 silver. i always throw mi silver jewellery in the drawer and it will still tarnish and itz quite fast esp aft i wear it once and then put it in the pouch. the nx time i take it out, itz tarnished. but i thk i juz cant take silver, esp chains
although im wearing the atlas ring daily too and itz slightly tarnished maybe coz i wear daily? nt too sure as im not expert so i only base on mi own assumptions. =)

yup, tiffany charges each time for polishing, they told mi to maintain the shine on ur own is to clean it oso.
thk maybe u can try buying a silver cleaner and see if it helps. coz i lazy to clean the items datz why didnt buy the cleaner.

hi pierced, i can fully understand what you mean by the fast rate of tarnishing!
just feel very heart pain to see it tarnish so quickly when we seldom wear it!
tiffany charges for each piece or each polishing session, that means can be a few pieces at the same time? any idea how much is the silver cleaner? thanks!

hi beautiful, ya lor, datz why i gave up on buying expensive silver stuff liao. hmm...not too sure as i only bring an item each time i polish. no pt polishing so many at one go but might be per item. hafta check.
thk the cleaner is ard $20, or u can buy fr the other silver shops like perlinis, might be cheaper...

how bad was the tarnished level of your silver itmes? mine is very bad, near to black i think. can still polish or not har?

same here! mine oso nearly turned black liao, can they will repolish til shiny again. even repaired mi chain for the same price. hehe...

hi pierced,
oh dear!u mean ur T&C turned black????? gosh,i'm really close to buying e Return to Tiffany's chain..dun wana spend so much only to have it tarnish so rapidly!

hi haru, yup quite badly tarnished. maybe coz i wore it once and den kept it in the pouch for a long time. quite sad as i only wore twice aft polishing it. sigh...so i no longer buy much of the silver stuff, maybe only the rings now. mi atlas rings still looks fine even though i wear it often.
but im satisfied with mi platinum band, though got scratches but still looks gd.

hi... the lady at tiff told me before that keeping the jewellery actually causes it to tarnish more quickly. She told me to wear it more frequently. hmm.. do they charge for cleaning the silver.. my past exp is that they didnt charge if it isnt too badly oxidised. Only charge if its really bad and they need to send it to the workshop...

Hi meow, u r rite, juz went down to the shop few days back and she told mi the same thing for silver access. keeping it aft wearing will make the silver tarnish further.
if itz for deep polishing, itz $30 each pc. juz sent mi bands down to polish and they charge mi this price.

hi beautiful,
i just checked with a friend in this line and he said its true....just soak it in soapy (liquid detergent) water and blow dry it with hairdryer the next morning.

hey,
anyone noes how much are the men's bracelet at T&C?

my hubby just bot me a Return to Tiffany's necklace (the fine one) and the bracelet (the chunky one). i've only wore it a day and my tag on my necklace has tarnished..part of it has turned black..hubby is quite upset about it as i just wore it for a day! but my bracelet still looks good, and i intend to wear it daily, and wil only remove it when i sleep... hopefully they can do something about the necklace and i wil seriously consider the silver polish if its not too expensive..

oh my, haru, that's so fast! a day only and it tarnishes.
i juz received a silver earrings too fr tiffany as a wedding gift. looks like it wont last very long if i dun wear it.
thk the polish will only help a bit but not much.
the one they gave mi FOC is only for polishing the platinum gold or diamond jewellery, will not work on silver.

hi pierced,
ya...hubby called them and they said can bring it back for polishing but i'm not too sure if that wil actually remove the black stains..just hope for the best! but i think i wil seriosly consider getting a silver polish cream.

but my thick bracelet seems to look ok, mayb coz its worn on diff part of the body..

hi pierced,
ya..quite bummer. hubby called them and they said to bring it back for polishing anytime.think i'll go tom but nt sure if that wil actually help much to remove e black stains..but my bracelet seems fine. maybe coz its worn on diff part of body. think i wil seriously consider the silver polish..

hi pierced,
great news, i brot my tag back to T&C and they polished it for me, took quite a while but voila! the tarnish was all gone!!! i think its coz i brot it back immediately once it tarnished. they guy did advise me to not spray perfume on it, swim with it or even bath with it to slow down the oxidization process. so i've shelved my plans to wear it all e time. took it off the moment i came home and clean it a lil with the pouch and kept it. =>

i wil still get more T&C stuff in future, but wil def consider the titanium/platinum series so i wont have so much worries about tarnishing!hahahahh...

hi Haru, that's great, did they do it for free? should be since itz not deep polishing rite?

that's wad i've been doing with mi silver chains now that i've polished them, but very troublesome to take off, wear them, keep them properly. rings not too bad, maybe the neck area is more prone to tarnishing??

yup thk i will juz stick to getting more of platinum stuff instead, even white gold. haha...not silver chains. less trouble!

hi pierced,
yup, they did it for free.=> yah, i think neck area is more prone to perspiration, heat from the body and substance like perfume..just gota be careful..

I keep all my silver stuff inside those little bags (looks like mini size ziplock bags) when I'm not wearing them. If you notice, most silver shops including tiffany keeps their new stocks inside similar bags too.

You can get those bags from spotlight

Mine is a Lucida, engraving is free, but a little disappointed with it.

Their craftman took effort to shape the curve of the ring so well but the engraving is so rough. The moment i wear it on after they engrave i can feel the burr of the lettering.

When i look at it with their loop, i notice that the cutting of the letters are not in one stroke...just like when we use ink pen like that.

They offer to sent it back for polishing but that will mean we pay for the weight before engraving but get lesser metal back after engraving n polishing.

We did want to go back again so we just accept it, and hopfully ask time goes by...either our hands got rougher to not feel it or the burr gets lesser.

Hi pple..
We bought ours from US too..
Ours is the Milgrain range 4mm @ USD1150 each.
Give conversion is about 1.6, that is about SGD 3600 to 3800.
We asked from Tiffany in Singapore and it cost SGD 2,500 each so we saved ard $1200 to $1400.
cheers!~

I was also told that polishing would cost me $10, I had got their Tiffany bracelet and a Titanium ring but I have not tried their polishing services yet ;)

hey,
i am planning to send our wedding bands for polishing soon..if i'm not wrong, it costs about $30?

smmerice,

sorry to hear abt your engraving. we got engraved Lucida too. wore it once during PS, but i feel fine. don't worry too much lah, probaby u try using soft cloth rubbing the inside of the rings daily? the cloth is soft so it wouldn't scrath ur ring but will prob provide friction to smooth out the engraving irregularities, yet not as much as polishing.

Charly
i think it is not possible coz its the lettering when look at it under a certain manification u can c the cutting of each word is not in a single stroke. Just like when we use ink pen...u start to write the first point and when u hesitate there will be a bigger lump of ink there. Imagine the lump of ink will be the cut out of the metal.
They are not using normal engraving that we get from outside very nice n smooth. All the lettering got burr thats why me n HB feel uncomfortable when wearing the ring. I remember i took the ring n wear it immediately i feel uncomfortable, that why i took the ring out n feel. That where i notice something is wrong with the engraving and thats why the sales staff give me thier loop to look closely. They look at it also but all they say is oh they use some engraving method that cuts deeper into the metal. If we dont like it we can send it back for polishing. Thats all they offer.
Not the same feeling as without engraving, smooth. We feel sad coz we pay so much for a nicely handcrafted rings yet the engraving is so cheaply and poorly done.
Even after 1yr plus when we use our finger to feel the engraving we can still feel the roughness. I am suprise that why Tiffany never notice or improve this issue. I believe if the craftman know how his/her rings turn out after engraving will be sad.

We didnt want to send for polishing, dont know what will happen again and dont know if we have to pay for it or not. HB dont want to make a trip down n dont want to be further disappointed again.

Hey,
You all can try the shop located at Cineleisure for engraving. They sell "corporate" gifts kinda stuff, just next to "Kiddy Land". The effect was quite good, despite my ring being very very thin only, cos its a half eternity ring.

Hi, some questions to ask:
When do you send the ring back for polishing & how long would that take?

Is there still a charge for this service?

As the sales reminded me to pop in anytime to polish the ring.. I thought it was complimentary :P

I have a silver necklace from them... polishing by hand (they'll use this silver polsihing glove I think) is free for silver pieces, but if you want a more thorough polishing (by chemical I think), the charge was around $15 or $25 I think. I've sent in my necklace to polish for free several times... but there'll be some tarnish left at the corners.

Hi does anyone know if Tiffany charges for shipment if we like a particular design from the website which they dun have? And are we obligated to buy it after that?

Hi all, just bought wedding bands from Tiffany yesterday, will use their engravement since only 2 letters and 2 symbols. Pleased

Cloudz7: T&Co. Singapore won't charge you any shipping if you would like to get an item (that you see from the US website) through the store here. Of course if you order an item, you are obliged to purchase it. I have done it a few times because some pieces that I like were not available here.

Their wedding bands are very nice and the diamonds really bling. We also bought a pair because my FH wants to match it with the engagement ring that he bought previously.

my bf also bought tiffany & co wedding bands, it turned yellow so fast, worse, our bands has a small diamond on it, now yellow, how to see the diamond?! our wedding havent even commerce yet!

gosh...
so not worth the price tag...

Oh dear, that sounds really bad meiling.

May I know which material did you buy? Our wedding bands are from there too but so far so good. We haven't worn them yet though, they're still in the box and we only look at them occasionally.

Maybe you can go back to Tiffany and ask for exchanges?

Hubby just got a simple Tiffany & Co gold band yesterday, a simple design but just love it, cost $780 but good for daily wear especially when have to handle baby. =)

Don't bother with polishing. I don't think they do anything. It comes back looking the same. The saleswomen at Taka branch actually took out a cloth and polished it in front of me and THAT made a big difference. It's a con job.

Hi SummerIce,

Sorry to hear abt ur engraving. I had my proposal ring to change the shank size. after 7 weeks I got it back and I also feel that the engraving "tiffany &co.." like very faint. So I went back to Tiffany and compare to other rings..:P..I think either my eyes or Im too picky that's why I tot it's faint. But actually it's not. And the sales person is very nice to us, she told me that the trade mark is stamping not engraving :P..haha.. My husband bought the proposal ring from her and we also buy our wedding bands from her. The engraving of our wedding bands are very clear too. She is very nice and she did offer me to re-stamp my proposal ring if I feel the wordings are too faint on the shank.

I sent my necklace for polishing (silver and rose gold), they charge $20 but it comes back good as new. They take about a week.

I feel it's worth it to send it for polishing at least once a year.

I was recommended by the sales person not to get the Atlas rings if I'm bothered by dirt. As the roman characters are slightly raised, dirt/dust gets trapped in the cervices. And no amount of cleaning/polishing will be able to get to those areas perfectly.

Am looking at getting A T&C Engagement ring, but after reading the reviews and feedback, I honestly wonder if it is worth the "branded price tag"...

My engagement ring was from T&C and I love every bit of it.

I think every brand will have its horror stories, loose fittings, lousy engraving etc etc.
But I grew up wanting a Tiffany, yes, I got all hyped up into 'the little blue box' marketing. But hey, it's my choice, I'm wearing the ring and not other people.

And my boyfriend, knowing me, he knew that I would rather settle for a smaller Tiffany ring than a bigger one at local jewellers, got me the Tiffany ring.

A lot of people have commented we're foolish as we can get a bigger ring with better specifications at other places. But my dream has always been the little blue box. And also, we've checked out other jewellers and my heart was still set on Tiffany.

After all, it's about giving the girl what she wants rather that what you think she should have.

I may be biased but for say, Tiffany's G or I colour, they are as white as can be and beat local jewellers' D or E colours. And even their clarity grading VS2 beats local jewellers' VVS1. Tiffany's labs are well known for their strict grading.

It depends on your own preferences. If you rather have a bigger ring for the same amount of money, then local jewellers are for you. But if you don't mind getting a smaller ring, then get Tiffany or Cartier or some branded jewellers, if you really want it.

Don't let what other peoples comments decide your choice because ultimately YOU are the one wearing the ring and only YOU can decide if it's worth it.

CareBearz, I had the same sentiments. It was also my dream ring since a child. I guess you were spot on on the comments from friends, saying I could have gotten a bigger rock from say Lee Hwa or Goldheart. But I think end of the day, I will not be selling this ring to "upgrade" for a bigger one, since this ring has its special meaning to me. Should there be a need or I strike some Lottery, I'll just buy another one and still keep my T&C baby.

We been to the Taka outlet and Trissy is indeed a very knowledgable and helpful Store Manager.
Will definately buy from her after we select The One.

[=

Hi IsA, before my bf proposed to me, l totally no idea of what's Tiffany ring as l dun bother at all. But after he proposed to me with a Tiffany solitare. l love it very much. l got a big shock when l know the price! l felt very touched by him as he is very sweet and he told me that he only wants to get the ring that he think it's nice. So he never even bother to compare the price. We also got our wedding band from Tiffany.

A friend was comparing her ring to mine. our spec abt the same yet she kept on telling me that hers is worth as mine was 3 times more expensive than hers. Then l asked her if given a choice to her, will she choose those neighbourhood brand or Tiffany? She kept quiet.

The answer is so clear that she would go for Tiffany. l don't bother the cut, carat, or color..etc.. my bf told me Tiffany has their own workshop to cut their rings so they no need any GIA..etc..

Of course, Tiffany ring is expensive from the practical point of view. At the end of the day, the decision is between You and Your partner not others

hi gals, same sentiments! Me and fiance went ring shopping to private jewellers, lee hwa, soo kee, larry & tiffany.. actually dropped by tiffany just for e sake of trying THE engagement ring since only once in a lifetime to do such stuff.. i didn't choose my ring in e end cos i preferred a surprise but my fiance gave me e dream tiffany engagement ring n i was pleasantly surprised & touched!

My fiance says his friends also bombarded him with e 'u could have gotten a bigger rock w e same price etc ' sort of comments.. but he says ultimately, it's what he tinks tat is worth buying for me tat matters.. n my fiance says if these pple really don't prefer a tiffany, it's really interesting that they seem to b always e ones to make comparisons with their rings or try to justify why they didn't get a tiff without us asking..

By e way girls, i forgot if Tiffany provide free cleaning / polishing for e-ring? I forgot if either one of them is free n do u gals know if it's an immediate service?