The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

Hi rach,
Can't help you there, I bought my wines from supermarkets when there was a HSBC 25% rebate promotion for daily spending. So bought a bottle of wine everyday for a month! Haha...
Beer, I just get direct from Beaufort. Not sure where to get good beers. But if you read the previous postings, I think miu66 mentioned that she got her own beer. See if you can contact her. Sun Sun gave me free wine cockage per table only. That is part of my package, not in exchange for anything. So you confirmed a Beaufort bride as well?

hi queen!

hahaha my colleague did the same too!! her wedding was in Nov last year.. keke.. and both of us like crazie like tat.. haha spending everyday.. i bought my cooker hood and hob for tat HSBC 25% everday spend thingy too! keke..
actually wanted to get some hard liquor to keep but in the end didn't.. keke
nw i can't wait for the promo to come again :P

hmmm so u paid like 650+++ for 30 litres of beer?
i was tinking of doing the same as elle and get them to give me free corkage in exchange for the 200 spa voucher..

actually there are 2 wine cellars juz beside my company.. hehe.. most likely will be getting from them.. juz wan to get more quotes..
elle can give pm the contact of ur beer distributor? thanks

queen ah..
i will b bringing my parents down to beaufort on gd friday to let them have a feel of the place

hehe have not put down my deposit yet..
will wait for sunsun to get back to me..

oh ya btw queen.. when did u book ur JP? straight after u confirmed ur banquet venue?? wondering whether it's too early contact him..
coz my wedding is in May 06...

hi ladies...

i will be going down to beaufort to "negotiate" my deal with them next week...heard that they are very inflexible so i'm just gonna hope for the best...

as for beer...i understand that you can buy direct from the tiger brewery (APB)itself...that time my wedding planner actually told me the price..but can't remember..but it is still slightly cheaper than getting it from them...
i really like the spa voucher...so can't see myself letting that go in exchange for the cockage!

any of you booked the villa? i booked the villa as i will be having my solemnisation & tea ceremony there...however have not been able to have a look at the place as it was all occupied the other time...has anyone of you seen it??? nice?

racherlle
which JP are u intending to get? i'm getting david loh...i confirmed with him upon getting the date confirmation from beaufort...even with 8 months advance notice, he is alr booked from 6-8pm! so i had to do my solemnisation at 4:30pm instead...however...i think with yours being may 06, now still abit early...maybe can book him in may/june?

hi touraco!

thanks for the details..

hi owlet
i'm hoping to get david loh too! hopefully he's available..

hw many tables are u looking at?
hehe hopefully u r able to get a better deal! let me noe if u managed to squeeze out anyting from sunsun though it will be tough! hehe
she seems very quiet.. hmmm.. :P

hi racherlle...

i am just having 15 tables....really want to just keep it small...not going to spend it with pple whom i do not know....so just close family and friends...
will be using the ballroom...
what abt u? how many tables?

Hi rach,
yah, during the HSBC promotion, me and my boyfriend really had to struggle to buy something everyday. Both of us had the card, imagine having to spend combined $8000 in a month! There was once I used the card to buy just one loaf of bread from cold storage and the cashier gave me a really dirty look. Haha...
But a large part of the $8000 was spent on the accommodation for my trip in Australia. So in the end, managed to get the 25% rebate.
Yah loh, got the beer from Beaufort, didn't know where to get our own beer.
Any weddings on Good Friday? Maybe better to bring your parents there when there is a wedding going on. You can also get a better feel.
My JP is David Loh too!

We booked him about 9 months in advance.
I think for him, it is good to ask early. He is so popular! But since your wedding is more than a year away, I think no hurry.
You can try this July onwards. Unless your wedding date is a very hot date in the tong shu? Then maybe got to be kiasu a bit.
Sun Sun is a very nice lady, friendly. Quite like her, I think she tries her best to give as much as possible. She did seem inflexible before we confirmed with her. She will tell you this cannot, that cannot. COuld be she does not want to commit when the couple are undecided. Like she will tell you in the beginning that they do not do reserve tables, or provide day room. Now I ask her, she says she will give me one reserve table and try to get me 2 day rooms. That kind of thing. Good thing is Sun Sun has been with Beaufort for a long time. She knows what she is doing.

Hi owlet,

u can try squeezing them to waive more wine corkage. they already waived 1 bottle per table. i managed to squeeze them for up to 36 bottles (i have about 24 tables)

one thing to take note... they do not offer full course for food tasting. after some 'scolding' from us, josiah agreed to give us full course. u can try your luck there too.

i have a fren working in ABP. they dun sell beer directly to public. instead, we can get it from their distributor. still cheaper though.

as for day room, josiah explains that if their rooms are not fully booked on that day, he can arrange one day room for us. but they will not 'sacrifice' any profit.

oh and on one note, if u intend to use their projector... it is available at a cost of $200 bucks! if u manage to squeeze them for free usage, let me know.

hi owlet!

i'm planning to have ard 20 tables..
i will be using the Grand Salon..

hi queen!

congrats for getting ur keys soon!!
haha it's ok! i heard from my friend who is working in Guardian, a gal took a 40c mineral water and pay by the HSBC card too! haha he was like huh???!? hhaha

ya hopefully there will b a wedding on Gd Friday.. need to check it out w Sunsun..

hi elle!
hmmmm they waived off the corkage for ur beer too rite??? if they allow u to bring in ur own beer hmmmm tat's quite a gd deal already...

I am new to this thread.
Would like to ask if the extras that your managed to negotiate from Beaufort written in the contract?
Is going to confirm with Beaufort end of this month and was told the extras is more a mutual understanding agreement and will not be written in contract.

hi elle!

may i know how u manage to squeeze them to waive more wine corkage? Is it an exchange of something in the package?

apology for having so many questions.....

Hi racherlle,

nope they did not waive beer corkage. i exchanged one barrel of beer barrel ($200 bucks) with spa voucher cuz me and hubby always go thailand for such treatment anyways... hehehe
still gotta pay for the other barrel though...

hi minhue,
certain things are not written in the contract u r right. eg my beer corkage is not specified. but they said itz mutal.

as for the wine corkage.... really depends on 'kou cai'... we basically throw this to them and ask them to meet. but we gotta be reasonable as well. of course they can't just waive unlimited n. of bottles. so i told them to gimme a 'limit'.

ellen
wow...u good leh...got a full course for food tasting...
i just asked sun sun for a day room...heehee....she also says if not fully booked that day, will let me have one...heehee

hi elle!

wooo so tat means u managed to get a free barrel of beer?? or u managed to get the beer corkage waive off for 1 barrel of beer???

haha if can exchange for a 30Ltrs of beer, i dun mind to sacrifice the spa voucher too

most likely i won't be getting their weddin favours too.. hopefully to exchange for another room..

hmmm ok will keep note on the full course for food tasting hehee.. try to get out someting from her

aiya...racherlle
typo error... i exchanged spa voucher for corkage for one barrel of beer!!!
i dun mind getting their wedding favours. but will be buying one more wedding favour from external source. which means our guests will get 2 gifts instead of one... "cheng shuang cheng dui" hehe...i heard they have some teddy bear, photoframe and tea ????

good luck with the full course food tasting ... argue with them! tell them that u heard alot of pple complaining that the full course is not filling enough (which is exactly what i heard). so u cannot give it a miss.

hi elle!

hehe okok! got it!

hmmmmmmmmmmmm going to note down all these b4 i go and meet up w sunsun to discuss and make a deposit

thanks gal

hi gals!!

juz brought my parents and granny to Beaufort on Gd Friday..
hehe they love the place as much as we do!! so most likely we are going to confirm w Sunsun soon!
hehe
i'm so excited!!

hey queen!

congrats on ur wedding tomolo!!
gee can't wait for ur pics!

hi racherlle!

welcome on board as a beaufort bride! glad that your folks are overwhelmed! now iz my turn... i have not bought my folks to see the hotel. hmm... but i'm sure they'll like it.

hi queen
sick since saturday and on MC today.
didn't manage to go down to look at ur wedding
i am having a very bad neck and back pain, cough till no voice

hope can recover for my wedding this saturday.

waiting for ur photos too.

posting from Beaufort!

Touraco,
Take good care of yourself in time for your wedding! Drink plenty of water and get plenty of rest.

Yesterday was my big day...
From morning jie xing niang to sending the guests off at night, everything seem to went past in a blur. Only this morning, I had the time to reflect and savour the moments.

The solemnization ceremony was great! It was raining heavily but managed to stop by 4pm. My hubby and I were so worried. The rain made the weather stay cool throughout the ceremony (which was good) but once we march out of the Ginger Terrace, it started drizzling. Damn lucky!

My dinner started at 7.45pm and ended at 10pm.
Overall, we didn't really eat much but a few of our friends commented that the food is quite good for banquet standard. So no worries. Personally, I thought the cold dish was not appetising and the shark's fin didn't taste as good as during the food tasting. The rest like pork ribs and chicken were quite ok. Didn't manged to eat any of the rest of the dishes.
The service was good in general. The banquet staff was very attentive to us during the dinner and when we were outside waiting to for 2nd march in, they brought us drinks from the bar and ask us to sit down.

But if there is one thing I'm really satisfied with, it is my wedding flowers. From my hand bouquet, car decor, corsages, bridesmaid bouqets, to the entire wedding setup of the Grand Salon and Ginger Terrace, I think my florist did a fantastic job with the limited budget given to her. It wasn't created with a special theme in mind, but she managed to give the place a bit of the garden feel. Will post some pictures if possible.

I also adopted a slightly different dinner setup. Initially we didn't want a stage and placed the VIP table at the stage area so that the VIP table can be the centre of attraction and we can march in directly to the table. Our parents were concerned that the guest couldn't see us when we make our speech, so we added a stage at the corner, but placed diagonally. Turned out to be a good choice as the VIP table is still very visible and we could still have a small stage. The overall ambience was really cosy at night.

One thing we weren't too happy about is that Sun Sun was still busy showing potential couples around even when we started our coordination meeting at around 4pm. And there was a couple doing their wedding rehearsal around 4pm and our sound guy was tied up by them. We had to call him a few times before he joined in the coordination meeting. So you all might want take note of this.

Also there seemed to be lack of proper coordination beween the banquet staff and the staff mending the bar. The bar staff actually asked my helpers at 6pm whether we have any wine!
Turns out the the banquet people are holding them. So to avoid any unnecessary stress, better make sure all these are straigtened out during the coordination meeting.

Ok, gotta go get my lunch.
Ask any questions!

hi queen
glad that u had a good time.
i hope mine will turn out well this saturday too
u march in from the stairs and out to the ginger room?

hi queen...
i can hear the happiness and i am sure u enjoyed yourself...!
do send me the pics when you're ready!
by the way... what type of music or songs are they playing during the dinner? or did u compile them yourself?

Hi touraco,
yep, marched out from the stairs and into the ginger room.

hi elle,
For the dinner, I gave them 1 bossa nova album. The march in songs are compiled in a separate CD.
I think they used their own instrumental music for cocktails.

hi queen...
i am looking at jazz ballads. but wanna compile them myself as there;s a specific type that i want (haha.. very troublesome)
but how many songs were there in the album? u got them to repeat the songs right?

Hi elle,
I think there are about 12 to 15 songs only. Was too busy with getting through the dinner programme, didn't really notice whether they repeated the album. But I think so since we only gave them 1 CD. But seriously, I doubt the guests will actually notice.

Hi touraco,
How are you? Back to pink of health?
yah... 2 more days for you before saturday!
You on leave already? The coming days will be like whirlwind!

Hi queen
going off soon...
now is one more day.....starting to feel nervous already
i am still coughing with running nose...terrible.
hopefully it will be ok on saturday

Hi touraco...
good luck with everything. take some vitamin C!

drop us a note after the ceremony and share your happiness with us. Share your pics!

i am back.
everything happened so fast that I need time to recall everything...heeehee
it was raining on the morning so instead of going outdoor for photos before the tea ceremony at my in-laws place, i have to do it indoors.
thank God, it didn't rain in the evening for my solemnisation.

Hi touraco,
Good to hear from you!
It was raining on Saturday morning, thank goodnees we are both spared from wasting our $1000 for the Ginger Terrace.

How did the dinner go?

Touraco,
So you got the jazz singers?
Must be quite entertaining for the guests!
Mine was just the normal cut cake and speech affair.

Queen
it's not jazz singers. i got a singing duo to perform. I got them to march in with the first dish. They also do dedication and performed table to table. My guests quite enjoyed it.

Hi rach,
My guests didn't drink much, surprisingly.
I have a total of 20 tables, only 15 bottles of wine consumed. Open 30L beer, but I think it is more than enough cos didn't have to open another barrel. Including cards, printing, flowers, beer, cake and wine as part of the banquet cost, we lost about $500 or so, not counting the 2 tables given to my mom. Not too bad lah...

hi queen,

Do u mind telling how much u spend for the entire wedding? including the gowns and photography.... excluding the ang pow u get from the banquet....
Trying to get a rough picture of the whole cost of a wedding.........

Thanks....

hi queen!

tat's great!! lucky u didn't lose too much.. hmmmm tink my colleagues are going to drink quite a lot.. so hav to budget for more wine..
u managed to get a free 20L beer in exchange for ur wedding favours rite??? did u managed to get more corkage waiver from sunsun for ur wine??

hmmmmm will be giving my parents 5 tables.. so hopefully won't lose too much.. hw was ur attendence???? coz mine would be pretty same as urs.. on a sunday and having 20 tables too.. hehe

Hi Minhue,
I did my wedding entirely ala carte. From gowns, makeup, photography, favours and even flowers for the banquet were not part of the standard package that most people go for. So I'm not sure whether my total spendings will be a good estimate for you. Gowns, suit, photography, makeup, car deco, bridal bouquet, helpers angbow etc. cost me about $7.5K. The banquet cost me about $20.1K (for 208 pax), including wine, cake, favours and flowers. I did get some of the cost offsetted for not taking the hotel's flowers & favours.

Hi rach,
Actually, it is not so straight forward. I didn't take the flowers and favours, after some haggling, Sun Sun gave me a 30L beer and $450+++ off the Ginger Terrace rental in exchange. Wine cockage was waived for 1 bottle per table and that was already included in our package when we signed up.
Attendane was ok. I think maybe 5% at most didn't turn up? Think there were only 3 tables or so with less than 10 people. I was really happy that my dinner could start at 7.45pm!

hi queen,

Thanks for your sharing..... at least got an idea how much i will have to allocate for the wedding...... ur per head cost for your banquet is high.... how much did u spend on your flowers and wedding favours???? your wedding must be beautiful..... can share some photos....

Thanks...........

hi queen!

hw much did u pay for ur florist?? hmmm..
ok will take note of tat.. hehe hopefully i'm able to haggle for a 30L beer in exchange for the favours.. and hopefully able to squeeze more wine corkage off from her..

great! so u r able to start ur wedding at 745pm! have been attending weddings that start at 830-9pm! pretty late!

gd hopefully my attendence rate will b gd too..

oh ya as for ur wedding cake.. hw much did u pay for it?? u got it from pine rite?

gee! a bit lor sor.. but really a lot of tings to plan.. only left 1 year and 1 mth plus to my wedding! hav not even select on my BS..

Hi Minhue & Rach,
Yah, cost per head is quite high. My basic package is $728+++ which already comes up to $85 per head. Throw in the cards, printing, wine, beer, some top up for flowers, will definitely exceed $90 per head. The thing with Beaufort is that they do not provide cards and beer, these will add at least $1000 to the overall spending on banquet alone. For the flowers (including decor for Ginger Terrace), I spent about $1140. For favours, I paid about $240. For the cake, I paid $520 so total for these 3 items are $1900. But I did get the 30L beer ($650+++) and $450+++ off Ginger Terrace rental in exchange. So had to top up about $624 overall.
My wedding wasn't very elaborate. I think the flowers are very nice, but the setup is pretty much the norm. Nothing like Babu's who had a winter theme. Not too sure if my photographer managed to take good photos of the setup. Will post some pix when I get the photos.

Rach,
Cake was from Pine Garden. Chose the lychee flavour, but sad to say most of my guests didn't really have very good things to say about the cake. Not that it's bad, most said so-so. A few didn't like it.
1 year

Very fast one lah. But still have plenty of time. First thing plan out your budget. Then go to the bridal shops and visit, never sign up in those wedding fairs unless you have already decided on a particular shop. We actually signed up for one bridal shop at a wedding fair on impulse, paid a $1000 deposit and then decided to use the $1000 for an evening dress instead cos firstly, we didn't like their gowns and secondly, we decided to do our photography in Melbourne. My evening gown is ok, but didn't think it is worth the $1000 I paid, probably can get a much nicer one from Pois with the $1k. So moral of the story is be very sure of what you want before signning up, always go shop hunting first.

Touraco,
what about you? Did your guest like the cake?

Hi Queen,

Did you change any dishes in the std package? How was the food from standard package. We actually did a swop from the menus and gotta top up the difference. there are some dishes in the std package which we didn't quite like (the name...)
Haven;t had the food tasting session yet. we'll see how.

hi racherlle,
u still got alot of time! i did selection of hotel and BS only in late Jan (my wedding is in early Dec). Now that I have confirmed the colour and design of EG and WG, basically there isnt much to do except flipping thru mags for floral designs and of course, keeping fit and pretty...haha... dun worry... there;s still time...

I need help! EMERGENCY!

can someone recall (specifically) what is the colour of the floor carpet at Grand Salon? I have chosen my EG and it was a pastel green colour. On saturday, I brought my parents there and noted (from outside since it was locked) that the carpet was green. The last thing I want is me blending in with the floor carpet on my wedding day.

I just called my wedding planner but he insisted that it was more like 'beige' colour, not green. Was it me or him who is colour-blind? SOmeone please help! thanks!