The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

Hi rach,
Thanks for the compliment! We are quite happy with the photos as well, felt that the photographer managed to capture our "true" selves, not like models posing for shots. She used quite a candid style, only tell us how to pose in some of the shots and just kept clicking away. She didn't tell us how to smile or where to look. We were quite worried cos we didn't know what kind of facial expressions she caught us in. But most of the shots were very natural and happy!

Hi babu,
sent the link to your email.

hi babu!

finally saw ur wedding pics!! so sexy ah! hehe
can see that both of u enjoyed urself a lot!

hi queen!

yup i noticed a few close up shots of both of u looking very natural.. not like posing for it.. nice!

hi queen
have met up with audrey's last evening.
faye is quite a nice lady and quite accomodating. i will be ordering additional 3 bouquets from her and top up to decor the ginger terrace, the railings etc.hopefully it's good.
have u gotten the price of the flower petals?

saw the photos.very natural and well taken.
btw, how to go to those colour bathhouses. always see in pics but i don't know how to go there when i was there.

Hi touraco,
glad to hear that you met up with Audrey's. Yep, thought she is a nice lady too, just that we didn't really like her arrangements.
To each of her own.
I'll be meeting with my florist later. Will ask her about the flower petals. How much is Audrey's charging you for that? I'm also getting bouquets for my bridesmaids. Still thinking whether to decorate the railings, all these extras need money...

The colourful bath houses are located at Brighton Beach. We are not sure how to get there as well, had a chauffeur who drove us around for the photoshoot (in a vintage limo no less!). But I'm pretty sure have to take train from Flinders Station, the city trams will not get there. But it's not that far from the city.

hi queen
i wld agree that the designs are not really that fantastic but i have no time to go look for others and discusss....

i didn't really spend a long time in melbourne...think only 5 days.

Hi touraco,
actually you started posting here early last year... thought you started your preps early too. why suddenly seem so rush? Busy with your job? Not to worry, I'm sure if you tell audrey's exactly what you want, think she will try her best to accomodate you wishes.
My florist quote me $50 bucks worth of petals to line the march in path. Not cheap.
I'll be decorating the staircase railings as well, my boyfriend says since spend so much already, might as well.

hi gals..

roughly hw much are u gals spending on ur banquet in beaufort?? can provide me a rough guide?? includin the florist, wedding favours, cards, beers, wines etc.. i'm actually comparing w the budget that i've prepared.. hehe..

thanks..

hi queen
yah....started early.kind of didn't do anything for a while cos' busy with work and then realise so many things not done yet.
audrey quote me $60 -$80 to do that. i will most likely be doing the decor for the staircase as well.

hi racherlle
i have not been doing the sums yet.
for me:
banquet - think this depends on the menu and the number of tables u have
cake - i had a real cake and that cost me about $500
wedding favors - i got mine from bkk. had a printer to print stickers with names to stick on my favors in singapore. can't remember the total amount
cards - about $500
wines - about $1000
musicians - not confirmed yet,depends on am i hiring duo or trio
florists - additional decor would come up to about $500
hope this helps

Hi rach,
I'm doing everything ala carte. Beaufort does not provide beer and cards. Got my own florist, favours and cake as well. But Beaufort offsetted some of the costs, like giving the 30L beer (cost $650+++) and deducting some of the cost from the rental of the Lawn.
1) Tables: $728+++ (=$845) x 20
2) Favours: $233
3) Cake: $520
4) Flowers (both banquet & lawn): $1150
5) Cards (including printing): $320
6) Wine: $300
7) Lawn rental: $550+++ (=$638, original cost is $1000+++)

Hi touraco,
You are spending quite a lot! I have actually thought of hiring musicians as well, but decided against it cos it's too expensive. And wine $1000! How many tables do you have?

hi gals..

thanks for ur detailed budget..
i was tinking of spending ard 20k too..hai coz nw the cost per table is so ex..
ard SGD845 per table for the cheapest menu..
hmmm...
oh ya lawn rental as in the lawn beside ginger room???

gals.. have u all got any news from SunSun whether there will b any wedding show coming up???

Hi rach,
my $845 menu is actually the Premium menu, which is the medium cost one. The cheapest one is the standard menu which was $628+++ and the most expensive menu is the Deluxe menu which costs $828+++ as of early last year. The prices are adjusted upwards now. I'm not sure how much the cheapest menu cost now, is it $728+++? Quite expensive. Yep, the lawn rental is the lawn beside Ginger Room. Actually the rental also includes the Ginger Room for backup in case of rain.

Er... not sure if there is any wedding show coming this year. She mentioned that there could be one last year, but in the end I think it wasn't held.

hi queen
i forgot abt the rental of the ginger terrace..heehee
that wld cost me $800+++
i am having 24 tables. i bought 48 bottles of wine.
musicians will cost me around $700 - $800,i think.

Hi racherlle,

fyi, you can get cheaper beer from the distributor instead of getting them directly from the hotel. I exchanged the spa voucher with a waiver for beer corkage. as for wine, my frens recommended a distributor that allow us to order on consignment basis. any unconsumed bottle can be returned and refund. but i am getting wine from australia since we've got several family member and frens coming over.

hi queen..

yup nw for the lowest menu the price starts from 728+++..
oki.. i was tinking of using the grand salon terrace to do my solemnization if i were to hold it there...

yup no weddin show was held last year...
and dun tink they will b havin one this year too..

hi elle,
yup agreed.. it's definitely cheaper getting the beer frm outside.. provided u get the waiver for the corkage..

Hi touraco,
have decided to march down the stairs. how would you scatter the petals? should it be 2 neat lines to form the march in path from the stairs or scattered lossely along on the lawn?
Now deciding whether to add floral pews to the chairs...

Hi rach,
Think Beaufort does not need to hold wedding showa. No matter how expensive their package is, it seems like people will still go for them.
Like us loh. It is a pretty nice place for intimate weddings, and I have had at least 5 good feedbacks from friends who has been to wedding dinners there. Using the Grand Salon Terrace is also a pretty good idea. Lots of brides have their solemnization ceremony there.

Hi touraco,

received your email. thanks.
i am not having my solemnisation. just the dinner. dun tink i need the ginger terrace. gonna call beaufort up to see if there's any wedding next weekend.

hi everyone...

hope i can join in this thread...need some advice and hope u guys can share your experience with me..

i just went down to beaufort last week...and my fiance loved that place so much that he's not considering other venues.

the standard (cheapest) menu is at $718+++ and to upgrade to the villa now costs $950+++ per night!!! when we asked for an additional night, our wedding planner told us that the additional night has to be charged at $1300+++...so we only opted for 1 night...

after reading thru some of the msgs here...got a few questions..

1. is the hotel's appointed florist that bad?

2. hows the normal wedding set-up like? anyone has pictures to share? i saw babu's set up..really beautiful..but way pass my budget as i'm also doing house reno now...

3. has anyone booked the villa? how was it? we are intending to hold our tea ceremony in the villa...i didn't get to see it last week as they are all occupied.

4. we would be using the ballroom for our dinner as we only have 14 tables...and our solmenisation at the terrace area...anyone has any feedback on the ballroom???

hope to hear from you guys soon!! much thanks!

hi owlet!!

u r here already

beaufort is lovely isn't it? hehe..

yup unfortunately the menu now is pretty steep for the kind of food they are offering for the basic course..

ohh dear they even increased the villa pricing? hmmm.. geee..

i managed to get a glimpse of the villa when i was there in July 04 to view the site.. there are 4 villas there.. and if i'm not wrong only 1 or 2 of them can have food catering..
i saw a couple getting solemnized in the villa with their friends.. very romantic and sweet!

the ballroom is pretty simple.. depends on the kind of decor u wan.. i managed to see 2 weddings on the day itself.. one in the grand ballroom and the other in the Ginger terrace..
the one in the Ginger terrace has very nice table decor.. and they laid rose petals along the stairways to the ginger terrace.. pretty romantic..
as for the one at the grand ballroom.. i saw the florist doing up the main staircase up towards the ballroom.. hmm the decor is ok.. not my type..

tink the only worrie is that u might have to share the place with another couple.. ur guests might be confused.. it becomes not tat exclusive..
unless u book both the grand salon and the ginger terrace like some of the couples here do..

Hi owlet,
I'll be having my wedding at Grand Salon and solemnization at Ginger Terrace next Sunday.
Will be the only wedding couple there that day. If you like, you can drop by and take a look. Else have to wait till I post my pictures! I used a freelance florist. The hotel appointed florist is ok, just that I expected a bit more. My decor is nowhere near as beautiful as Babu's but personally I think and I hope it will be nicer than the hotel florist's (cross my fingers)!

I think the villa solemnization is very nice for a cosy and intimate affair with close friends and relatives. Bear in mind that the villa can only accomodate ~50 people. So if your party is small, then by all means go for the villa, it's a good deal cos you can stay in the villa for the night, have room for your friends if they decide to crash in. Whereas the Ginger Terrace has to be rented at ~$1000+++. For me there's no choice as I'm expecting more than 60 people at my solemnization.

I love the Ballroom, love the floor to ceiling windows all around. Very resort feel. But I think for 14 tables, it could be tight if you plan to have a stage (it's supposed hold up to 16 tables). And the private foyer is just perfect!

The ballrooms at Beaufort are not the grand kind with nicely wallpapered walls and chandelier. They are meant to be resorty & woody. I mean they are part of a resort! But I do feel that the Grand Salon is a bit old, it sure can do with a little refurbishment. It really depends on personal preference. If you like a grand ballroom , then Beaufort is really not the place. If you want both a grand ballroom and garden solemnization, maybe you can try Raffles Hotel.

Hi Owlet,

Queen is right. Unless u love the 'romantic' and resorty feel, Beaufort may not be your cup of tea. but your FH loved it isn;t it?!! same here. any other hotel we saw after that just cannot match. not abt the decor... but the feel of the surrounding. my HB always say... 'imagine your guests driving to sentosa... iz all about OUR wedding. unlike having it along some hotels off orchard road where pple might think of shopping'
ha!!! only he can think of such things!!

i spent last weekend at beaufort deluxe room. good enuff. i bet the villa must be breathtaking. as i have already gone thru the solemnisation last year, i will not be using the ginger terrace. only the grand salon.

a fren had her wedding at beaufort sometime last year. the florist did a fantastic job for her. it really depends on what you like. for us, we would like the very natural and soothing look, nothing too bright or colourful... u can look thru magazines and get some ideas.

HI QUeen,
i wish you all the best on your special day!!! do post pics to share with us!!!

hi owlet
we actually went to hyatt to look at their balinese garden. it's quite ok but they only have buffet and not sit down dinner and to rent the garden costs $3000+++ to $5000+++. pretty steep.

we both wanted a garden wedding kind of feel and landed in beaufort. love the cosy feel (away from the rest of the hotel activities) and overlooking the sea.

i guess to have your wedding in beaufort is more of to have the atmoshpere more than anything else.

hi queen,
am so excited for you. if my hubby no need to work,i may pop by to take a look at ur wedding. heehee

hi queen!

nxt week is the big day rite?
coming soon!!! muz b very very excited! hehe
hmmm i will b there over the weekend.. might head down to ur wedding site too

Sure sure, all are welcome to drop by my wedding next sunday! Feeling excited, nervous and worried at the same time. Hopefully nothing goes wrong, hopefully the flowers turned out nice, hopefully it doesn't rain, hopefully I don't trip on my gown coming down the stairs...
Hahah

Touraco,
You must be quite excited too! Are you still getting the rose petals? I can't decide whether to spend the mony or not... I'll be going down 2 days before the AD to try out the sound system and wine over. Maybe do a mini rehearsal at the ginger terrace and see whether march in from the room or stairs is better.

Elle/Owlet,
Beaufort was me and my FH's first one in our hotel search. And we love it for the relax and resort atmosphere. Then there is the concern of the guests having to travel down to Sentosa etc. So we went to see Hyatt, Marriot, Sheraton... But nothing compares to Beaufort. Even my parents commented that it feels very different from the hotels and restaurants, they like it too. They were initially a bit unhappy that it is in Sentosa.
One thing to consider carfefully is the budget that you have. Beaufort is not cheap, and there are extra costs of beer and cards.

Hi Girls...

Beaufort is also me and my FH's first one in our hotel search...And it seems that its going to be the only one. We love the fact that it is away from the hustle and bustle of the city and the resort setting of the whole place.

Initially, my mom wasn't too happy with the wedding being in Sentosa, but I took her along for our site inspection last week, and she agreed that its a nice place as well...so thats settled!

By the way, did you all use the hotel's wedding favours or source yourself? Actually, are wedding favours necessary??? is there a meaning behind it? As we are thinking of having a resort theme..thinking of giving scented soaps...

Elle,
Haha..When I voiced my concern about the distance to my FH, he just said its OUR wedding, we should just do what we want...and shld they "complain" about the distance blah blah blah...just don't invite them! (His logic is that they are most likely the insincere type and would be very stingy with their ang pow too...

Queen
All the best to your big day...I'm sure everythings gonna turn our perfect! Do remember to share some photos with us!

Hi Owlet!

Both our HB are probably the same type of men! Same here, i am a little worried about pple complaining about the inconvenience of getting to the hotel. But HB kept insisting that he dun give a **** what others think as long as we have a good time.

if ur mind is set, then just go for beaufort. we have decided on beaufort two years ago when we were driving around sentosa without even seeing the ballroom!!! the hotel on iz own just took our breath away...

but like queen said, u gotta budget for beer and wedding cards. i have asked for a quote for weddding card. depending on the design u want. the one we like only cost us approx 300+. small amount. and we exchange the spa voucher for corkage for beer cuz we'll be going honeymoon for spa treatment anyways!

hey gals..

seems like beaufort are all our first choice.. hehe already wanted to hold there.. except again for the location.. hehe.. my bf and i both loved the place a lot.. very romantic.. gals, i hav placed a tentative booking for the date i wan nxt year.. hehe..

oh owl, as for wedding favour.. u might wan to make a trip to Bangkok and get ur wedding cards and favours there.. hehe i'm going BKK this may to get my wedding favours and cards.. as for the meaning of wedding favour.. i tink it's juz a gift to remind ur guests of ur wedding? so depends on wat u wan to give them.. as for scented soap.. my friend got some scented candles for her wedding favour.. u might wan to explore tat option too..

hello hello...

didn't expect a reply so fast...i realised that ever since me and my FH decided to get married this year...i have spend way too much office time surfing the forum and internet!

elle
yup, guessed they are the same type of men! hehe..venue's not gonna change. its gonna b in nov 2005...not sure of the date yet as there is already a tentative booking on the date that we want...keeping our fingers crossed that we will get it...otherwise its gonna be the 6 nov!
where are you getting your wedding cards from?

racherlle
sigh...bangkok is definately a good place to buy stuff...but no budget to travel as i'm renovating my new house!!! everything is happening in this year alone!!!

and guess what's the best part??? with my wedding in november..have not decided on anything else except beaufort!

hmm...saw some postings and just wondering who is this Kuang person that everyone is "raving" about? photographer?? where is he from? he good???

i also went to pine garden's cake website (we are thinking of replacing my dessert with cake)the cakes look so beautiful!!! any idea if they are expensive???

am also thinking of using my own florist to create a resort theme for my wedding...any suggestions for good florists?

sigh...just feeling quite overwhelmed with all these coordination and decisions!!!

hi owlet
i feel that i am the same type as your hubbys-to-be as i tell my hubby that dun care what others think as long as i like the place.

our parents are complaining abt the distance and the fact thatit can only accomodate 26 tables max in the grand salon and they can't invite everyone.

one of the reason why i wanted there is also because i prefer a cosy affair rather than inviting half of pple i don't know.

i got my favours from bangkok too. had a hard time bringing them back as my luggage went "overweight". my wedding cards cost me around $500. i went to the same printer as queen

i intro queen to pine garden so now we both are having real cakes for our weddings.so excited.
my cake is also around $500.

hi hi!!!

just got confirmation from beaufort that we are gonna get the date we want!!!

touraco
i know what u mean! we had to fight real hard to keep our wedding an intimate affair with only close relatives and friends...dun want to spend my day with pple whom i dun know either!
do you get to taste the cake before deciding on using them?

Nice to see that this forum has come alive!!!

Owlet,
Congrats on getting your date! Now comes the part of plaaning for your perfect setup. Enjoy!

I went to Bangkok to get my wedding cards, but printed in Singapore. Very nice favors there as well, but didn't managed to buy the favors there as we do not have enough luggage to bring them back. You can try www.duetforte.com the favors there is also quite nice.

I'm replacing the dessert with wedding cake from Pine Gardens as well, cost me $520 for 200 pax. Thanks for the recommendation from Touraco.

Hi owlet,

i am sure most girls are like u... upon deciding to get married, we will spend alot of time surfing the website. iz only the beginning!!! we dun have much frens or relative to invite cuz my HB is from australia and not all frens/relative will be flying down to attend our wedding. therefore max. 26 tables is just nice.

i only got a quote from The wedding card. they have a website. i'll search and let u know.

have u looked into the gowns yet?

Hi Babu/Touraco,
Do you remember whether the terrace out Grand Salon is well lit at night? I want to pull all the shades up so that the guest can see through the glass. May want to put some candles in covered holders to create a soft-lit effect... If the terrace outside is well lit, then cannot achieve the effect liao.

Touraco,
Let me know how your rehearsal on saturday went. I would still prefer marching in from the room, really got phobia tripping at the stairs or looking clumsy walking down the stairs in a gown!

owlet
yah...they will let us try various flavours before u decide. i had 2 different flavour for my cake.

queen
no idea..perhaps i can ask the person this saturday.
i think i will be marching in from the staircase and out to the room...

hi ellen,

just decided on my list of BS to see
jawn happy ever after (only decided on them after reading many good comments from the jawn thread in this forum)
silhouette
ted wu
divine couture

will be meeting up with jawn tomorrow...and they said if there's time, they would even let me try on 1-2 gowns...so exciting...haha

what about you? u decided on your BS?

hi owlet,
just sent u an email this evening regarding BS. yep, i have signed up on saturday. u can click on this link to take a read about the BS...
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1/90065.html?1110962277

i trust that u'd like ted wu. but prices are very steep. hence i opt out. silhoutte is more 'ang moh pai'. depends on what u r looking for.

FYI, most BS will tell u that if u want to take MTM package, u will need about 4 - 6 months for the WG and u will have to sign up asap as you have to take PS about 3 months before your wedding. but then again, even u r running short of time, i am sure they will still rush things for u. who doesn;t want money!!! ask your FH since he is in sales!
anyway, my advise is not to tire yourself. all these preparation work can be rather 'bothersome'. plus u r also in the midst of preparing your new house. most importantly is to keep you and ur FH happy throughout the whole process.

good luck!

hi ellen!

u chose Ritz.. hw's their service so far? gd??
hw much did u pay for ur package?

hi owl..
personally i like Divine Couture a lot!
but pretty ex too..

hmm u wanna try Flamingo?? i heard so many brides rave abt her services.. and silverlining is quite popular too..

queen,
hmm.. i don think can see a thing during nite lay.. abit la, those big boat with lights lor.. but still pretty nice thou..

hi racherlle,

i like ritz for the fact that they offer one-stop service (makeup, photos, gowns) but they are not as hard selling as those in tanjong pagar and imm. their service is very personalised. when u r there, the whole focus is on you. i heard that even send the gown over to the studio if u r not taking up their photography service.

ritz has always been the first choice, just like beaufort. we did look around other places. but they are either too expensive (ted wu), or just too hard-selling (milan and golden horse!!! we meet them during a wedding show)

Touraco,
how's your rehearsal at Beaufort? Did you try both marching in from the stairs and the ginger room? which is better? By the way, will your father give you away?

hi queen
rehearsal was pretty alright. i only tried marching in from the stairs. the person told us most couples will just stand there and not march out after the pastor presented the newly weds.we have not decided on this yet.it started raining halfway through so we had to cut short on the outdoor and moved indoor.
yup, my father will give me away.

Hi touraco,
So you will be having a church ceremony? Think I will do the march out. Feels more complete leh.
Also, will your father return to his seat after handling you over to your HB or will he remain by your side during exchange of vows? Or should the witnesses be seated at the signing table first?

anyone has any pics to share from your "The Sentosa" wedding? Considering having wedding there. Do they serve western/fusion cuisine? And do they do theme weddings? Greatly appreciate the help.

hi queen
the ceremony will be officated by our pastor.
we have already registered our marriage last year at ROm already so we won't be signing any documents that day.
my dad will go back to sit after handing me to the groom.

hi gals!

for those getting ur beers and wines outside..
any wine stores to recommend?
hw much u gals paying for ur beer?? and wine?
u gals getting free corkage from beaufort in exchange for some stuff rite??