The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

Hi babu,
Thanks for the offer to help! I think your angmoh friends more fun lah, most of our Singaporean friends and colleagues will probably want to rush home rather than to stay back and dance. My wedding is on a Sunday somemore.

Hi rach,
Wah, so early buy bed. Where you bought the bed from? Dunno why, but I can't seem to access the cake website...

Hi touraco,
me a bit kan cheong already. Not sure if I have covered everything. You settled all the guo da li stuff?

hi queen
i am quite worried abt my invitation cards actually. have decided on the date for food tasting and the date for Guo Da Li. My mum has given me the list for Guo Da Li.

hi Queen!

haha ya lor KS hor haha :P
but i juz put a deposit only lar.. will pay up before the delivery which i tentatively put in Aug 05.. I bought it from Simmons Galleries.. the lady is very nice.. she even allows me to change the model if i wan prior to delivery.. and she will also refund me the difference for the pricing if the price of the mattress were to drop prior to delivery
nice rite?
oh ya btw.. did u see my email on the HDB release of flat thingy?

hmmm u can't access the website?? tat's funnie.. i can leh...

Hi rach,
managed to see the cakes! Very very nice. Wonder how much they cost?

Hi touraco,
Have you decided whether to design your own cards? I'm not sure what is the cost of designing your own... maybe you can email Panzz. She or her husband has some contacts. Else just get from Tdragons...I saw some nice ones at their shop. Did you check the tong shu for a good Guo Da Li date?

hi queen
i think i shld be designing my own cards. i think i have lost panzz's contact. do you still have it? can PM me?

did not check tong shu, just anyhow find a date lor.

i am also having my own cake for the wedding, wonder if not using their dummy cake can exchange for some more freebies or not

Hi touraco,
Just PM you Panzz contact.
Me exchanging wedding favours and florist (maybe) for beer. Dunno what else we can get in exchange if we want a real cake leh.

thanks queen.
will be discussing with sun sun when we go for food tasting then. she asks us to go earlier so she can tell us some things before the food tasting. did she ask you to do that too?

Hi touraco,
Yep, Sun Sun asked us to be there earlier. Basically, she wants to show us the wedding favours, explain about the day's setup etc.

Hi rach/touraco,
I have got a partial quotation from the Cheryl cakes. Want me to email you all?

hi queen
i see.
i already ordered my cake from Pine's Garden but pls do send me the quotation as well.
i can PM u my cake quotation as well but has to be tomorrow. Need to retrieve my invoice.

Hi touraco,
Collected my wedding invites. Emailed you the pictures of my card. One of the pix is not clear cos difficult for the camera to get a clear focus...

Hi racherlle,
OK, will send the pictures to you in the next few days cos the pictures are in my BF's pc.
Or maybe touraco can forward my email to rach?

Hi touraco,
The printer is a company called Acepro Creative.
www.aceproclink.com, look for Veronica.

hi ladies, i haven't really participated in this thread but have been reading it on and off over the past couple of months. anyway, i just had my wedding at the sentosa resort and spa this past weekend and all i can say is, it was wonderful!

i was quite worried initially after reading some people's comments (from a while back) but the evening was great, our families and guests enjoyed themsleves immensely and my husband and i thought the whole thing was just beautiful!!

some things to share now that my wedding is over:

- i didn't use the hotel florist cos i was very very particular about all the decorative details but for those on a budget or not fussy about flowers, you can probably still go ahead and use them, cos the setting is so beautiful that your guests may or may not even notice in the end.

- their banquet staff are very professional. we brought in our own wine, beer, hard liquor and champagne and all the unused bottles were returned in very good condition after. i don't recommend buying wine or champagne from the hotel, their selection was quite foul.

our wedding was gorgeous and we are so happy! i would definitely recommend The Sentosa as a great place for an intimate wedding.

Hi miu66!
Wow, great to hear another bride who had a wonderful wedding at SRS (short form lah)!

- Which florist did you use? I'll be bringing in my own florist as well. Still sourcing.

- You even brought in your own beer? Where did you get the beer?

- did you have any ceremony conducted at the lawn? If so, what time did you start? Was it bright enough?
I presume the weather must be perfect for you.

Touraco,
How's your preps?
Had your food tasting already?

hi miu66
nice to hear your wedding is so wonderful
really hope mine will turn out well too

can i know if they charge for the beer and where did you buy the beer from?
and yah...any photos to share?

hi queen
food tasting next week. must find time to take a look at aubrey's before deciding whether to use my own florist.
how's ur preparations?

Hi touraco,
I'm definitely looking for my own florist. Thanks for your recommendation, I ordered a big 3-tier cake from PG too! Will be taking the lychee flavour, yum yum. I will be replacing the dessert with the cake. So far, most of the things are settled, except for the Guo Da Li stuff. 2 more months to go. In some ways, I can't wait for the wedding to be over. Then can settle down and prepare my love nest.

Hi queen
great that you got the cake from PG. i got 2 layers of lychee flavour and one layer of triple chocolate.
did you change for something else since you forgoing the desert?

i also can't wait for my wedding to be over. a lot of things pending and can't do because of the wedding.

Hi touraco,
My cake will be all lychee flavour cos my FH worried that some older relatives will find the chocolate too sweet.
I'm forgoing the florist, favours and dessert in exchange for a 30L beer and offseting part of the Ginger Terrace rental. So in the end, only have to top up about $250 or so on our own, mainly because the cake is almost double the price of the dessert. Any honeymoon plans?

queen
forgo so much for the beer ah...wonder if worth it or not leh.
have not confirmed invites design yet. i have emailed you regarding the invites actually. made an appt to go to Acepro this saturday.

touraco,
just replied to your mail!
Actually the 30L beer is worth $650+++, Sun Sun also agreed to offset another $450+++ from the Ginger Terrace rental. So all in all, still ok.

hi queen
sounds not bad for the exchange. i am trying to get the rental waived but too bad, someone wants it on the same day as me as well.

hi queen and touraco,
no pics yet. we were blessed with beautiful weather that day. the ceremony started at abt 6.40pm at the ginger terrace but the sun was still pretty glaring. by the time the ceremony was over (after abt 15-20mins), the light was perfect. so it might be good to start a little bit later. my photographer commented that it was quite hard to get good shots cos of the sun (the guests will be facing the grassy bit, so it's against the sun).

my florist was pizzicato plant, a small florist that does really original creations for events etc.

my husband ordered the beer (tiger) from this company in pasir panjang. i'll go find out the name from him later. SRS said there would be corkage but i think we managed to get most or all of our corkage waived cos i didn't take quite a lot of their things. whatever it is, bringing your own beer is definitely cheaper i think.

hope this helps you ladies!

Hi miu66,
I was hoping to start the ceremony at 6.20pm! Does that mean it is too early? Was afraid that the ceremoney will start too late. Oh no, does that mean the sun will be too glaring? I have already printed 6.15 on my cards for the solemnization. Did you have to pay for the rental of your lawn?

Hi Queen,
Hmmmmm, that is quite early. I put 6pm on our invites, but my friend (who acted as our coordinator) and my husband decided to push everything back on the day itself. Apparently it really was quite sunny. Unless your schedule for the day is very tight, why don't you (well, not you since you'll be busy getting ready
but your bridal party) see what the weather is like on that day and then make adjustments?

Yes, we did pay to use the Ginger Terrace, but it's definitely worthwhile!

Hi Touraco,
They don't have a website, they are located on Bukit Timah Road in a shophouse just before the turn-off to the CTE (when you are going in the direction towards KK Hospital).

Hi miu66,
thanks for the info!

Miu66, Babu,
Any photos to share with us already?
I have problem deciding how to decorate and set up the Lawn...

Touraco,
How did your food tasting go?
Did you managed to get any cost offsets?

queen
we posptone the food tasting as hubby's mum is not feeling well.

have not sort out rest of the details.

btw, have u seen the room that you will be staying during the wedding night?

Hi touraco,
no... actually, never thought of asking Sun Sun to show us. As it is not so important to us in the grand scheme of things. Come to think of it, Sun Sun has never offered to show us...

hi queen & touraco,

tink u muz ask her then she will arrange for u to view the rooms.. the other time when i was there.. i requested her to show us.. but was told that they are full for the weekend.. so in the end my bf and i took a walk ard the 4 villas there and saw a couple havin their solemnization in the villa.. very fun!

hmmm sunsun is very quiet.. u hav to push her to show u more tings..

hi touraco..

i've not decided whether to take the villa or not.. but it's really nice! if i'm not wrong we have to top up 800+++ rite? if we were to take the villa alone.. have to pay 1200+++ rite?? hmm can't really remember the price already..

and i tink only 1 of the villa allows catering rite?? hmmmm

hi touraco..

i only managed to look from the outside and also the pool.. hmmm
didn't managed to get into the villa..
tink most probably would have to arrange w SunSun on a weekday.. then maybe can view the villa! so "hot" even though it's so exp!!!!!

touraco & rach,
Happy CNY!

touraco,
will you be having the stage?
I am thinking of taking away the stage and put the VIP table there instead, like the idea of a long VIP table facing the guests. But my folks and in-laws may feel weird sitting only at one side of a long table facing everyone. A round instead of a long VIP table at the stage area?

Happy Valentine's Day!

Hi queen,
i think most prob will be having aa stage as need a place for the MC to talk and to cut the cake etc.
Last time did thought of having a long table but think it's more suitable for buffet style so decided to have the stage instead.