The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

hi queen
thanks in advance

have not found any wedding cards printer yet.u?
have sun sun gave u the map of the place?

hihi all

Yeah it is true that it is very difficult to negotiate with them. I had my wedding there 2 weeks ago and it wasn't as great asI thought it would be
)) Anyway it is over

Cheerios!

Hi baby!
can you describe your wedding there?
did you also have your solemnization at the Lawn?
Why wasn't it as great as you expected?

Hi Touraco,
Yep, haven't found a printer. Sun Sun has emailed me a copy of the map, but she said she will get them printed out as leaflets for me.
Have your ROM? Will you be doing it on the Lawn?

Hi baby
why is it that it's not what u expected? can share?

Hi Queen
I will be doing my solemnisation at the ginger terrace below the grand salon.

Hi touraco,
Me too! But I haven't decided how elaborate that I want the ceremony to be. Should it be a proper march-in with the whole shibang or just the simple signing of certs? If I invite my relatives (from M'sia), do I have to provide them with translation of the vows in Chinese?

Queen
i feel there shld be a march in followed by you two saying the vows. I think it's ok if your relatives dun understand chinese as i feel it's always very messy if translated to chinese if not done properly.

I had my wedding reception and solemnisation abt 2 weeks ago @ Beaufort. What I can say that the planner is indeed very inflexible like what many others had commented about their service. I was not very happy with their service. Not worth my money really and I was so upset that they set up a tentage at the lawn area just because another couple wanted it on my next wedding day!!! In the first place I might as well not hold the wedding at beaufort when I cannot have the open space right? ))) I think Grand Salon is a better choice if you want to see the sea in the evening.

Hi baby,
Sorry to hear that.
Was your coordinator Sun Sun? I take it that the tentage was not removed? Oh no...I'm using the Lawn too. Other than that? How's the food and service?

I just had my food tasting yesterday. The food is good, presentation also nice. But some of the dishes are a tad saltish. I'm taking the premiun chinese menu.

Do you have the booklet showing all the different menus? I'm taking the Premium Set menu A but we swop the chicken for the one in Menu B.

The 6 dishes we tried are:
1) Braised Shark's Fin with Bamboo Pith and Shredded Chicken
2) Stir-fried Scallops and Clams in XO Sauce
3) Braised Chinese Mushroom with Seasonal Vegetable
4) Pork Rib with Peking Style
5) Steamed "Soon Hock" Hong Kong Style
6) Crispy Skin Chicken (from Menu B)

All in all, the food tasted very good, except for the crispy chicken which was a bit bland. But I would expect the quality to degrade a little during the actual day due to mass production.

I'm a bit disappointed with their wedding favours. Still the same old ones. Now trying to source for better but cheap ones. Really regret not buying them from Bangkok!

thanks queen.
i am looking thru their menus as well.do you have to pay extra to swop? we are thinking of swopping too.

I am not taking their wedding favours.

I noticed that beers and wine not included in their package..... How much extra do they normally charge? Btw, does anyone have the photos of the ballroom to share with me? Can email to [email protected]?

Thanks,
WAsabi

Hi touraco,
I think swopping between menus of the same price (eg. Premium A and Premium B) should not incur additional cost. Not too sure about swopping a dish from Premium to one from Deluxe. I'm thinking of taking the red bean from the Deluxe menu.

Hi Wasabi,
Yep, no beer is definitely one big minus point about Baeufort. The small barrel (20l) cost around $450+++, and big barrel (30l) cost $650+++. Not cheap.

hi queen,
i am thinking of swopping between the menus.have not even decided on which one to take as well.

hi wasabi,
there is no invitation cards provided as well so you have to source and print your own cards.

Hi touraco,
I went down to Audrey's. Their floral arrangments are disappointing.
Their floral stands are so ugly... see more leaves and ferns than flowers. And the roses on the stand are so tight and small and they still say those roses are not from Malaysia! Their table centerpieces are still passable, though nothing special.

Hi touraco,
Not sure leh...engaging florist from outside is very expensive. Have you been to Audrey's? I guess can't blame them cos they have a budget to work with.

hi queen
i have not gone down yet to the audreys. u mean they are reall that bad...die

agreed that engaging outside one will be expensive. did they tell u how much are they paid for the flowers? heehee

have u made your card already?

Hi touraco,
I'm not sure if I can call them bad by others' standards. But they certainly fail my expectations. Doubt Sun Sun will tell me how much they paid for the florists. Unless I find a reasonably priced florist outside, looks like have to take Audrey's. Maybe will have to go down again to show them pictures and tell them to do exactly what I want. But even then, it could be beyond their budget. I mean, it's ok that the floral stands design look ordinary, but at least the flowers must appear to be blooming and not so sparsely distributed that the leaves appear overwhelming right? But I'm only judging based on the photos the lady had shown us.

I've hotstamped my cards already. Now waiting for them to come back. This printing shop prices are reasonable and service is not bad. But can't tell you the quality till the cards are back.

You have problem looking for cards?
Cards here are not cheap.

hi queen
yah...did u ask them to do a sample for you for the centerpiece?

i don't know how to design my cards and where to print the cards at a good rate. u have any lobang? can send me sample of your card? electronic version also can.

Hi touraco,
No I didn't. Their centerpieces are actually passable, it's just that their floral stands are ugly. Maybe you can go down and take a look. You might think otherwise.

I got my cards from Bangkok cos it's much cheaper over there. Should be getting the card back from the printer sometime this week or early next week. Will take a picture and send them to you. Did you check out TDragon? The printer for my cards also have wedding cards I think. You can try this www.aceproclink.com
Designing your own card is bit more difficult and might cost more. But the extra touch of personalization is always nice.

thanks queen
i check out this lil-art and for customised,it's $750 for 300 cards. wow....
maybe DIY but me not creative sort so more difficult

me back liao.. we have a very wonderful, i should say it more like a D&D then wedding!! playing games, dancing, throwing garter etc... so much fun!! and the decor of the ballroom was so beautiful!! it really winter feeling, more beautiful then i expected. we are so proud cos after that everybody is talking about our wedding. hope i can show u gals the fotos when it ready ok.

Hi Babu!
So nice to hear from you...
you haven't been posting for quite a while and seems like only touraco and I are keeping the forum alive.
Good to hear that your wedding went well! Sounds like a lot of fun. Must have really fun friends to help with all the programme!

I was just complaining about Audrey's decor, did they do the decor for you? Or did you engage someone else? How's the banquet service?

hi gals!

sorrie dun mind me for probing in!
i wanted to check w u gals someting..

queen.. u bought ur cards from BKK.. hw much did u pay for it?? hw abt wedding favours? are u gals getting those provided by the hotel?

touraco.. u might wan to try printing it in JB?
shld be cheaper a lot!

and another ting is transport.. did u gals hire any buses to fetch ur guests? coz transportation is another big problem..

hi babu!
can show me ur pics if they are ready?
coz the other time i went down to view the ballroom.. the decor was soso only.. so was wondering hw u make it look great!
my email: [email protected]

queen,
ya, after wedding was really very busy running errands and flying with my hubby..
ya indeed, all our friends are really fun, they plan the games, and my MIL friends dancing (my hubby and me had our 1st dance too).. it really very very fun.. the angmoh friends that attended they said that they felt so at home, cos this is how they throw the wedding in their home town.. the only shame thing is we nvr get our videographer, so we only got our relative to do it.... cos we really nvr tot that the wedding will go so well.. sigh.. nvr mind la, it all in the memory..

no i got secert garden to do it, they done a very good job!!! and the lighting is done by the wedding planner that i engaged.
my friends attended a wedding at beaufort one week b4 mine, when she attended mine, she was asking is this the same place she attended last week? cos it look totally diff.. her's friend was just having few flower stands at the side and a few candles.. that it!! that why she tot she went in to the wrong place..

racherlle,
okie, i oso can't wait to show u gals the fotos.. kekeke.. anyway, u remember the ballroom cover with alots of woody wall? we cover it with willows and cloths with lighting, and we dim down the lighting so u can't see the woody wall anymore.. and we make the whole ballroom very misty, that why it really winter feel..

oh ya, sun sun did get someone to take pix on our ballrm after done, we are really angry! cos she nvr ask permission from us, so if she going to add into her porfolio, we are going to sue them for copyright!!

kekeke.. not to u all la.. we just don like that cos we spent so much money on doing up the place, but if they copy without asking us.. that really shouldn't be the way man..

hi babu!

can really sense ur excitement is still there!
u muz have really enjoyed urself!

hmmm ya if i were u, i wil also b angry coz they didn't get permission from u! tink sunsun will use ur decor the ballroom as her nxt advertisement! or nxt wedding show decor!

no worries we won't copy.. juz wan to see the overall effect... coz i was quite disappointed when i went to view the site in July... the ballroom looks like a normal conference room.. maybe the couple didn't do much decor.. and as u gals noe.. the current price per table is so exorbitant! with no beers and no cards.. and are there any other hidden costs???

i was kinda waiting for their wedding show.. but from wat i last heard from sunsun.. they are not planning any for this year again..
btw gals.. what are the perks frm signin frm the wedding show? thanks

oh ya another question, for those of u who did not get ur wedding favours from Beaufort, hw much did sunsun agree to deduct ???

racherlle,
ya.. everytime met up my friends, when they talk about it, i feel so proud and excited.. kekeke.. pai say..
ya man, they better ask us b4 they use, else i will make sure they kanna.. hahaha..
no la, i don mind to share, just don wanna them to use it as make money tools for beaufort.
for u gals only, if u like our decor, will sure help u one!! swee bor.. kekeke..

ya, i think alot of hidden cost, but wat is that i got to ask my hb, cos he paid the bill one..

i opp out the wedding favours, i think she wavied off the corkage charge for us.

hmm.. may i suggest something? it just a suggestion only la..

we opp out the wedding favours, and we used the money to donate it to Singapore children society, and we printed out the cards and indicate to the guests that we donated the money on behalf of them.. it was really very meaningful and the guest was impressed too, they felt good of themself too..

i can email u the card that i printed if u want. i got the permission with s'pore children and used their logo to printed out the card. and give it to my guest when the arrival, cos the card indicated the table name they seat as well, so every guest got one.

becos i was thinking about the 'tsunami' maybe u can do that.

Hi rach,
Welcome back again! You haven't settled your venue? Thought you might be interested in Rasa?
Bought my card in BKK last year. Quite cheap, about $0.40 per card. Didn't get favours from BKK cos we didn't bring enough luggage to carry them back. I'm not taking the favours from Beaufort; ordering them from www.duetforte.com instead. Sun Sun agreed to give 20L beer in exchange for not taking the favours.
No need to hire bus lah, Beaufort will provide transport from Paragon and Harbourfront.
There was no wedding show last year. Not that I know of at least. Sun Sun did mention before that they might have one last August but it didn't materialize somehow. Suppose to give out free flow of beer or something.
Actually, My bf and I felt that the ballrooms have a really resort feel with the glass doors and woody walls and floors. It give a cosy atmosphere. If the ballroom has carpeted walls and chandeliers, then it wouldn't fit the resort. I think it depends on individual.
Yes, the current prices are expensive, and not very value for money since it does not include beer and cards. Touraco, Babu and I all signed up before the prices were increased. When is your wedding by the way?

Hi touraco,
$750 for 300 cards is expensive. Not worth it to spend so much on cards that people will mostly likely not keep. I remember seeing a magazine feature on a wedding couple who designed their own cards using a very nice casual photo with them sitting on a bench and trees in the background on the cover. Not too sure which magazine it was, Her World or something. Maybe you can get some ideas from there.
What did you get in exchange for not taking the favours?

Hi Babu!
Can really feel your happiness and excitement! Wow, secret garden? Your decor must be really expensive. How much did you spend on the decor? I'm also thinking of using other florist. Nice to have very fun and outgoing friends and relatives dancing with you all. I can't imagine my family and relatives doing that!
Where did you all find the space to dance?
Do send me your pix when they are ready!
My email add: [email protected]

hi queen,
we spent about 9k on decor, that's include lighting and floral as well, i wouldn't say it cheap but it really worth it! cos the effect was really really good..i really hope i can show u pix so u know wat i meant, i should ve invite u gals to take a look at the actual one that day, cos the pix don really tell much too.

to be frank, we lost money on this wedding.. we spent too much liao, but we expected la, so now got to start saving again, everyday bread now.. hahaha.. once in the life time, so bo bien.. but i hope to do it one more time, ofcos with my hb la.. kekeke..

we only got 21 tables in total, the dance floor at the center of the ballrm, and our vip table is a long table at the back of the ballrm raised with platform. so every one can see us, and we can see all our guests as well. Table sitting arrangement at vip was: bride's parents, bridemaid, maid of honor, bride, groom, 2 bestman, groom's parents. so as and when we wanna to talk or toast, we just get up with the cordless microphone and speak! it really fun..

hi queen!

i have not signed anyting with both sides yet..! coz i can't really decide!!! i like the idea of solemnising by the beach (Rasa).. but i also like Beaufort's resort and romantic feel!! so nice!!
keke but at current standing, frm my guest lists, i've only 20 tables.. so i'm afraid i can't hit the min of 25 tables from Rasa.. but for the current price that Beaufort is offering now, it might be better to hold it elsewhere..

oh the free transport from Paragon and HarbourFront is solely for ur guests or shared with the other guests in the hotels? from what i noe.. Beaufort has a free shuttle from Paragon and HarbourFront rite? Is it the same kind of mini buses provided?? hmmm... timing wise???

oh ya btw.. i browsed the webbie of duetforte before and they hav very nice wedding favours
i'm tinking of getting the wedding favours from BKK.. as for the wedding cards.. unless i'm having my dinner in Beaufort.. then i would get it over there..

i'm planning to have my wedding in 2006.. hopefully they won't increase any more prices in Beaufort..

hi babu!
wow! u really make me feel that I wan to get married immediately! tat kind of excitement!! hehe u spent 9k on ur decor itself ah? gosh! but tink it's money well spent rite? geez! i can't wait to see ur pics!!
ya agreed that it's once a life time tingy.. so dun stinge! hehe

oh ya gals.. thanks for keeping me in the loop.. now at least i noe what i can bargain for.. or exchange for..

oh! another ting!
babu! if u dun mind, can u kindly let me noe roughly hw much u lost for ur dinner?? hmmm not 5 figure rite? scary! coz i've heard of some friends losing like 10k for their dinner..

Hi Babu,
Wow, 9k!!! Way out of my budget.
But I'm sure it's money well spent for you. Your wedding really sounds like the dream wedding of many! From your description, seems like you had the long table seating? Did you have chinese dinner as well? Was the VIP table platform provided by Beaufort? Can't wait to see your pixs too! I must say that your suggestion for regarding the children's society was a very nice and worthy touch.

Rach,
The free transport from Paragon and Harbourfront is for Beaufort guests only. Timing is every half hourly. Good thing about that is that if most of the gursts takes the transprt, I think they will most likely be punctual. You can get cards and wedding favours along Phahurat Road (Little India) at BKK. Plenty of shops there selling all these... Be prepared to bring big luggages!

bingo! it 5figure!! indeed! 20k lost... 9k decor, 6k wines and champagne, 1488 for buttering section, 3k plus for villa, 18k for dinner (we change the menu abit) 800 for buffet in villa, 700 for cake, AD fotographer 2600, wedding planner 5k, gown and groom suits 5k, bridemaid dress and posy 500, invitation cards 750, still got alot of things i nvr mentioned... ofcos lost money lor.. sigh.. i estimated we spend about 55k plus.. ang pow collected 39k, that why we loose about 20 lor..

queen,
ya it well spent.. mi vip table is long and the rest is round. and platform provided by beaufort. yes chinese dinner, but becos we plan games and dancing that why we chop chop the dinner into half time, we serve 2-3 dishes at the same time, so after finished we still got plenty of time to do alot of things. the most enjoyable part is mi hb go under my dress and used his mouth to bite the garter out of my tights and tossed to those that still single man.. and the most romantic part was my hb and his friend composed a song for me, and sang by my hb... so touche, and the song we burn into a cd liao, so as and when i wanna to remember, i just play it.. that why i say, the only shame thing that i nvr do is to engage a videographer...

babu! 20K is a lot!!! gdness!! i'm only looking at maybe 3k losses hopefully??? hmmm.. i tink the big bulk of it is the decor and also the wines rite?
hmm ya 1488 for buttering? err.. sorrie wat is tat ah?
oh u got a wedding planner too! tat's nice.. wah! u r able to get 39k for 21 tables? tat's a lot! hmm btw u got a real wedding cake??? i saw a very nice website that provides very personalised wedding cakes.. very sweet!
was tinking of getting one too!

hi queen!
thanks for the advice on where to get the cards!
yup tink i'm going to pack a very huge luggage there.. heehhe going to plan to get my tings for my home too! sigh wonder when will we get our keys???!?!?! hmmm btw have u done any shopping for ur home already??? i've juz gotten my bed last weekend.. hehe very happy w it!

buttering section lor..when groom come and fetch bride lor.. mi bridemaid 'keto' my hb $1488 ang pow... wa lau.. i sibei xin tong man, lucky my mom help, else i think they'll only let him in at 2888!!

ya really alot to us man.. but always console myself, forget it la, once in the life time... ya, we spend alot on wines and champagne.. $24for red, $17 for white, $60 for champagne.
lucky the friends and relatives quite generous, else we die ah!! actually got more one, but my mom kept the angpow on her side lor, else we can get about 43k plus..
ya it a real 4 tiers cake, ice blue color with snow flakes, cos winter theme ma. cocoa cake, taste good! yummy..

Hi Babu,
Wah, your hubby really put in a lot of effort for you, from the wedding preps to the actual day! Serve 2-3 dishes at the same time? Quite rush right?

Hi rach,
I'm also thinking of going to BKK again for household stuff. Yah loh, quite anxious about the key leh, my wedding at end of March and still no love nest in sight. Can you give me the web link to the wedding cakes?
What bed did you buy? Simmons? I'm still looking around for TV console and dining table. Design of our home not totally confirmed yet as well.

queen,
no la, wat effort from him? he only gave me the surprise on the composed of the song only ma, the garter thingy is the surprise from me.. hahaha.. when he go under my dress, i told him, lucky i bath before just now, else he faint ah. hahaha.. 2-3 dishes ok la, they can take their time to eat oso wat.. anyway, if u wanna to have fun, u have to rush them for eating, aiya, our guests oso wanna to chop chop finish and start dancing too, so so far no complain on that.

anyway, i gone thru all this liao, if u gals need help, feel free to ask, i try my best to help okie.

hi babu!
dun tink too much.. at least u have a beautiful wedding!!

haha.. i can feel that i'm going to spend a bomb too! :P
wah the description of ur cake sounds so yummmy!! where did u get it from??

hi queen!
yup i bought a Simmons Beautyrest Glendale.. hehe very comfy!! haha a bit KS rite? coz my wedding is only in 2006! i paid a deposit for it.. the delivery is tentatively set in Aug 05..
have u settled on ur bed issue already?

oh as for the cake webbie.. i need to go home n check.. tink i might have written it down somewhere.. hmmm..

rach,
cake huh? okie i check for u, cos mi wedding planner arrange one, i oso don know where? taste yummy la..
ya i oso think that u better be prepare if u going to held at beaufort, cos they don cover alots of thing, so alot of hidden cost..

babu,

thanks a lot!
hehe.. tink if i have more questions along the way.. i still can find u here rite?

thanks so much for ur help!

Queen!!
i managed to find the website for the wedding cake! i tink this lady specialises in Precious Moments figurines and cake.. very nice!

take a look at the website.. i love the cakes there.. and i tink every couple will have their own design coz the cake designer believes in individuality.. check it out!

oh no! i tried to post this msg with the webbie but it's not allowed! tink i will send u a private msg
check ur mail!

just not here a few hours and it's bustling with activities

hi babu
so happy for you. i can feel the excitement now too. i am not taking the wedding favours too. will check with sun sun on what i can exchange to.

btw, is yours the only wedding that day? think there's another couple sharing the same day with me

i also estimated we will lose money as my mum takes her side of the relatives and my hubby's parents will take theirs...