Thank you speech

• Thread starter Thread starter speechless
  • Start date Start date

speechless

I've been to a few weddings b4 but I was curious is it necessary for a bride to give a thank you speech during dinner?

There are either wedding couples who each gave a thank you speech to guests and parents or only grooms will do the thank you speech and bride only juz stand besides him. Which ways is better? Is it rude to juz stand aside without expressing any gratitude to guests who came to our wedding?? Is there any standard speech I can refer to??

The problem is that I have stage fright, shy and worried on wat i want to say in front of everybody (known and unknown guests).
I'm also conscious that I may sound "fake" or "insincere" if i want to quickly get over the speech, especially when it come to parents.
I simply cannot express my affection in front of so many ppl. I need some advices, thanks a lot!!

me too, speechless! i'm even worse than you. both me and my hubby going to skip the "thank you" speech...he don't want to do it and neither can i (also got stage fright....and my voice is so cranky!!!) HOW??? can we skip the whole thing ........

my hubby did the speech in Mandarin and I did it in English, same speech. in this way both got to speak

hi sparks,

me too, thinking of skipping the " thank you " speech but will it be rude for us not to say anything???
What will our guests think leh??

Joyce,

Can share your speech with us?

me too hv stage fright...so worry that i will say the wrong things or just simply tongue tight!

Me too have stage fright. But then again, my parents will kill me if we go without the thank-you speech, especially to thank those who came all the way from overseas. And I think we should also thank our parents. I am thinking of buying 2 bouquets of flowers for my mum and MIL also.

hi gemi,

Good ideas to present flowers to them

Who shd present the flowers to who? Shd i present to my mum while my fh present it to his mum or the other way round?? Beside flowers, what else can u give them, maybe something which they can keep for remembrance....
any other suggestions?

Hi Angeline,

Actually I was thinking of the other way round. Me present to my MIL and my hubby to my mum, for thanking them for everything they have done for us. I suppose you can always present other gifts, which you think they will like. But frankly speaking, whatever you give them on that day, they will be very touched. My only question is, should we also present to the dads?

Thanks Chin Leng,
It is really a very good speech. I will be so touched if my husband said all these.

Hi Chin Leng,

It was indeed a very touching speech. Thks for sharing this speech guidelines.

Is it necessary for bride to make a thank you speech or each of its own??

Chin Leng : thanks for sharing the speech guidelines...but i think it'll kill my hubby to say something so long... and i'm so shy, i will rather make it a short one so that i can get out of the stage asap...

and angeline, me also thinking of ways to avoid saying "thank you" line....but don't think we can...stressed!!!

Hi Speechless and Sparks,

During our wedding, I just said a very short thank you message to the guests for coming to the banquet in English, while my wife said it in Chinese. Don't worry or feel stress. Just treat it as saying thank you to your friends. Really, it is not as difficult as you think.

Threw my speech away long ago, basically thanked helpers parents and some personal messages to certain pple. keep it short and sweet 'K.I.S.S'

I personally find that it's not very nice if you don't give a thank-you speech. It's not just thanking the parents who took so much pains to bring you up and watch you get married *finally*, but more for the guests who took time off their busy schedule or their weekends and giving up their own activities to attend your wedding. They took the effort to come, I think it's nice to appreciate their presence and for making the event come true.

I have stage fright too, so does my hubby, but we're determined to practise so that we don't stumble too much. Most importantly, be sincere

One friend's wedding was really pleasant. The father of the bride gave a short speech, addressing some personal names who either took effort to fly/drive down to Singapore, postphone an operation etc.. These people felt really warm and cherished for their relationship with the family.

My hubby attended a family wedding and the thank you speech from the groom was LONG...a lot of guests commented on the text too. He mentioned a lot of names like :"Mr. XXX, CEO of XXX. And Mr. YYY CEO of YYY......." All those he mentioned were BIG names from some major companies.....

My question is, is there a need to spell out who your guests are? Some older folks thought it is plain 'hao lian'..... I am not too sure cos some think it is only polite to mention..... How?

It's ok to mention those names and give thanks to those who mean a lot in ur life
, not to those big corporate bosses loh!! That really sounds "hao lian" and fake loh! It doesn't sound personal. If i were the boss, I won't be impressed and i will feel paiseh!! :P

hi Gemi,

so u will be presenting flowers to your MIL while your fh present it to your mum, huh??

Should both gifts be the same or can it be different har?

As for dad, i think it would be nice to include them
They will be touched if we were to present them with token of appreciation for briging us up

Sparks,

Ya lor, dun think can escape the " Thank You " part liao!
No matter what, still have to say a few words lor!

Chin Leng,

Thanks for sharing with us the speech, though it waslong but it was VERY touching
But both my Fh & i got stage fright leh, dun think dare to present such a long speech

Do u still have your " Thank You " speech with u, can share with us? What r the major things that we need to metion?

Hi Angeline,

Er... actually, I didn't prepare any speech. It was impromtu.

During my wedding, I really didn't know what should be said in a wedding speech. Only later when I attended my friends' wedding, then did I realise that I've missed out stuff.

Anyway, the speech below was roughly what I said for the wedding speech.

"I would like to thank every guests for making time to come to our wedding dinner even though today is a weekday. Please enjoy the dinner and please forgive us if there is any lapse in service. We are very honoured by your attendance tonight. Thank you."

I think it's really important to make a thank you speech at your wedding. Husband and I are shy so we decided to skip it, however i really regretted the decision coz it's the only time when you can thank the people who are closest and dearest to u and let them know how much you appreciate them. If i had a chance to do it all over again, i will never give up the chance to make a speech.

Hi Everybody,

Do you know where we should give our "Thank you speech" during the dinner?

Hinn

depends on how long ur speech is going to be, else i think it's better to do at the beginning, i.e. after 1st walk-in when everyone is seated. but then again, if the dinner has been late in starting, ur guests might not appreciate a long one. mine was just 5min (husband and wife), so we went ahead with ours.

halo julia,

u might wan to refer to linda's speech under the thread "Bride's Speech - What to say???" under the topic "Anything Under The Sun"

it's very touching

Calling all brides-to-be,

Anyone of u doing a tahnk-you speech during ur dinner? Me thinnking of getting hubby to do, but he veri shy.

I juz thought it would be more personalised and memorable if the wedding couple were to say something during the dinner. If not, wif so many dinners that pple attend, who will remember ur wedding, rite!! So I guess, no matter how clumsy, a sppech should be made lor... :P and i think it would be more memorable for the wedding couple themselves too..

So, appreciate it if I can get some ideas here, at least can help psycho him into agreeing.... hee hee hee

A plot in the nursing!!!

was wondering if this thread is still 'alive'?
My partner & I not shy one...hahah... both planning and wanting to fight with the mic and talk!! Not only many thank-yous, but many stories of our lives to share with the guests who will definitely laugh their heads off as they are also part of the stories.

To all shy people, treat it like chatting with frds and it will be natural.

nelle

there is one link that Chin Leng has posted. I can't remember where, but i think its under Anything under the sun, under the topic of thank you speech as well?

hope it helps.

nelle

Hi Babu,

Sorry that I don't have a speech that was written by a bride. I think you can adjust the speech from a groom's speech accordingly.

I would think that the points suggested in the article The Groom's Toast could be adapted for a bride's speech.

I told my guests that I did not prepare any speech because speaking from the heart is most truthful. I continue by thanking people who have help me in order of least important to the most important. I "tee-up" my mum and went all the way to her seat and give her a emotional big hug.