Studio D'fia

curious

Calling out to all couples/brides who have done their studio/outdoor photography with D'Fia,

Appreciate if you can feedback any comments that you have.
How long does the session take?
What is the sequence of events that takes place??

Thanks a million.....

2 weeks ago, I went to see Kim at Studio D'fia.
Well, though his journalistic photos are good (B&W), we were not impressed by his colour photos.
However, we felt that he was quite snobbish & unfriendly. I don't know if it that day was just a bad day for him or will he be hard to work with ? But we still have some interest in him because his B&W works seem to be the best.

Can any brides who have used him for actual day photography share with us on his attitude for the day ? Is he comfortable to work with ? The last You feedback is very much appreciated!

Hi bride2B

I did my studio photography with Kim. He is a little reserved / quiet. But he just needs time to warm up. He'll so a good job! Don't worry...

Hi bride2B,

I just did my studio and outdoor photography with him too.

Agree with Genesis that he is a little reserved/quiet.
Not recommended if u r the type who tend to be affected by the photographer's behaviour.
Can consider andrew choi or chris ling. Heard from friends that they are quite good too and their price is around the same range too.

Anyway, I didn't really have a good experience with studio d'fia.

Do note that the following is just my personal experience and feedback.

1) He didn't take polariods to see which angles look best. I have heard that some photographers do that to make sure that photos look good cause certain angles don't look good on certain people. Guess some photographers don't practice that.

2) I gave them abt 6 wks to prepare the album after the shoot. They still didn't call me about 10 days before the wedding. Cannot bear it anymore and called them instead and it seems like the album was still NOT ready. Arranged to collect the album about 5 days before the wedding and my hubby rejected a few photos because he felt that it wasn't done properly. Had to wait till JUST the day before my wedding before we can collect the album again.
The service doesn't seem that fantastic. I was just relieved to be able to collect the album in time for my wedding.

Different couples will have different experiences with the same studio. A relaxed and happy mood will show on the photos so u must be comfortable with the photographer. Go with yr gut feeling when u meet up with him.

Just wanted to add to this thread. I agree with Arica that kim is reserved. but speaking from personal experience, I've used Kim for both my wedding photos and also for other shoots, and I do like the quality of his work. Kim is quite a traditionalist... he will use classic poses and make you look good, and he will not go for very gimmicky shots.

Kim has also now moved into digital photography, which allows you to look at the photo just after he takes it. So I guess he isn't too concerned about the polaroids anymore..

Anyway, if any of you want to check out his photos, you can see my wedding pix at:

http://photos.yahoo.com/niel_jacq_wedding

These are the raw photos, without touchups or anything, so its really just using Kim's natural photographic talent.

Let me know your comments!

I m considering kim too...agreed that he's vry quiet...but my FH quite keen on him.

anymore comments abt him?? dont seem to hv much postings abt him (see alot of posting on chris ling, andrew choi)

Hi Kimfan.

The photos are simply beautiful and natural.
how many outdoor locations did u go? where did u go for honeymoon and when is that? Also which bridal shop did your gown its nice...

maggie

kimfan

just to check with you, the cd rom that kim return to you, can we develope the photos from the cd rom ourselves? isit nice to develope directly from the cd rom? no touch up needed right?

anymore comments on kim from others in this forum?

Hi jes,

hv u chked wif kim directtly regarding yr queries? i'v actually asked him the same qns bfore. he said his digital camera is of a vry different pixel from the normal ones...meaning there'll b no problem if we want to print ourselves. however the colour contrast wld not b as good as those that he has touched up.

also he's using potoshop...so we can also use the same software to do touch up ourselves but he thinks it's not as easy as we tot it to b. he did say that a print directly from the CD will turn nice too, juz that it'll not b good as his

Hi kimfan

hee...we still need your advice coz u'v got the actual stuff. Pls advice us...thanks

hi kimfan,

your wedding gown is so nice!don't mind if i ask how much did you spend on the photography and wedding gown packages...=)

thedevil

thanks for answering my queries....if that is the case then the cd rom is worth it, since we can develope the photo through the photolabs for $0.50/pc

hi jes,

juz called kim y'day. its weird tt he says the promo is up in his website but i seriously cldnt find it. anyway he hasnt seen it yet too, its his web designer who told him its up.

the promo is abt the $2.5k indr/outdr pkg. now its $2k. do u know if he's change his website?

thedevil,

i think he hasn't chg his website, mayb u can try again

thedevil

its sure that the website is not updated. maybe you can tell kim abt this and ask him what is the $2k package, whether is it the same full package of $2500?

hi jes,

i m quite comfirm that its the same as the $2.5k pkg coz he say a few times its on the indr/outdr pkg that he always hv. hee i still paraphrase it! i trust him coz he seem so honest, think there's no tricks .... aiyo think he shld 'sack' the wed designer haha

btw, how do we pay him n do we hv to confirm the date wif him upon payment of deposit?? coz i still not sure when divine can gif me my gowns!! though helen say july is ok but my 1st fitting is in may!! n i hvnt even design my EG yet!!

thedevil

my wedding is in 26/10/02 and i schedule my photo session on 12/7/02 which is before the lunar 7th mth. after confirmation the photography date then you inform Helen and she will co-ordinate for you.
if she cannot make the gown in time she will call Kim to delay the photography date.

first, check with the date which he is available (weekend is out cos he reserve for actual day photography) then print out the order form from his website and write the amount and date of the package you want to book. the numbers of photos and qty on the left hand side of the form will be fill by kim. lastly, attached a cheque for 30% deposit and mail to kim. he will mail you back the confirmation in a week.

hope abv are clear

I'll will be doing my studio & outdoor photography with kim this week. Heard about his "quiet" behaviour, a little bit worry. My BF and me are rather stiff and don't know how to pose. Anyone have done studio & outdoor with him lately? Can share your experience?

Hi Jes,

How was your session with kim? Where did you go for the outdoor? I haven't decide when to go, maybe let kim decide. Hopefully he don't bring us to those "common" places. Did you book kim for actual day also? I haven't book anyone yet. Heard that kim is good in wedding day? My BF working overseas, I want him to decide on this. My wedding is at end dec, hope that kim is not book on my day.

Hi thedevil,

Did you book kim? Have you done your photography session? Anything to share about kim's work or style?

Hi bride2b,

Did you use kim for actual day? How is his "behaviour" on that day?

Thank everyone!!!

hi gekgek,

i almost miss yr posting...juz happen to pop by n saw yr queries
...yup i booked wif kim n my PS was 9 jul.

its true that kim is vry reserve n quiet...but my FH n i r fine with it coz personally, i'll feel vry tired if the photographer keeps talking to me!! he's vry fast worker..will tell u how to post, then he'll take the shot...he can b humorous at times (but vry rare
)...its my FH who chose him, n overall he is happy wif kim...haha sometimes he even justify kim's behaviour to me..haha....if u chin chai wif him, he'll chin chai too (my own experience n tt's wat my WG designer said too)

abt stiffness...my FH n I really hate taking photos not to mention stiffness...but something funny hapened...kim keep calling my FH the wrong name, n the name happened to b my FH's father name....hahaha so we laugh everytime kim call him, tt keeps use smiling! kim will also tell u when to smile, laugh, keep still. after the whole session my FH enjoyed so much tt he even praise himself for being a 'natural'...wahliao so thick skinned...

hope u enjoy yr PS wif kim too
...as for his actual day, i m not sure coz i m not taking him, but i blieve he'll b vry good!! too bad his charges are so high...so i got Choon Huat instead

gekgek

i engage kim for my actual day and studio/outdoor shoor. as what thedevil mentioned kim is generally a quiet and reserve guy, for me its fine cos as long as he did his job professionally.

personally i dun like pple who talk too much and dun do his work well. so as long as you trust his skill whether kim is quiet or not, it shouldn't matters. kim will tell you how to pose and he took shoots very fast, before you know it, the photos are taken.

as for location, you can tell him what you want, old buildings, scenery, modern structure etc or ask him for his suggestion.

for us, we went sentosa, but hv to pay $15 for a carload to go in for photo shoot.

Hi jes

is your photos ready for viewing? are you able to share the photos as I am still deciding between kim and other photographers.

bb

i am able to view the sample print within 3 days after photography. my album is in the midst of processing.

sorry my photos is not ready to view yet.
you can make a no obligation appt with kim to view his portfolio.

Hi thedevil & jes,

Thanks for your advise, I've set a appiontment with kim as my BF is here now. Will keep both of you informed after the meeting with him. BTW, when is your's (thedevil) wedding? Jes, did kim say how long he'll take to do your album? Arica said kim take long time to do hers.

hi jes,
I am also looking @ kim for actual day photography. Do you mind sharing your experiences with him on your actual day ? I know many brides have had a great time with him on studio shoots.

gek gek, hope to hear the feedback from your visit with Kim. my FH and I are both out-stationed, so really am not able to check him out personally. Thanks for all the help

gekgek

kim will take abt 3-4 weeks to complete the album.

sweets

my actual day is not over yet so can't provide you with info.

hi jes
thanks for much for your info
. Hopefully when your big day is over, you can give us better insight into Kim's actual day coverage

Sweets, jes & thedevil,

My BF & I visited a few journalistic photographers (heard that kim's rate is on the high side) before we go to kim's studio. My BF likes him actual day's work very much. He felt non of the photographers we visited come close to him work. I'm agreed so. Anyway, he is going to pay for kim's service. Kim hasn't take the deal as he got a studio & outdoor on the same day and he'll check with the couple whether they willing to change the date for us.

Kim got a very nice studio, you even need to walk though a koi pond to go into the studio. My BF did asked kim a lot of question. Kim is honest, he explain the difference between digital & film to us patiently. Most important is that he didn't "bull shit". My BF does know photography (my surprise), a photographer we visited this morning, anyhow say and try to confused us.

Looking forward for the shoot with him. The "action wedding photography" for studio & outdoor he mentioned to us sound interesting. My BF heard about "action photography" in US, and he felt kim is quite creative. Kim is quite "serious" when he talk about photography, I think he take pride in him work. Maybe that's why he is "quite" or "serious" during the session. Anyway, we'll have a taste of it later.

Will keep you all inform.

gekgek

glad that you like kim's work. i like his actual journalistic style too that's why i engage him to be my photographer on my big day, and i am extremely impressed with the black and white.

what 'action wedding photography'? isit to capture the 'mood' of the couple when they are in action? (eg. jumping, running?)

sweet

will sure update you after my actual wedding day.

Just wanna to add more compliments of kim after reading the abv posting. Dun wori, sweet & gekgek, wat jes & the devil say abt Kim is very true. He is a true professional & i simply like his artistic & yet humble character. Like u guys, me initially wanted to chose another photographer becos heard dat Kim is quiet & does not talk much. But my hubby told me to look at his works 1st before concluding, so i went to his studio & true enough, my 1st impression of him was very good. He is someone that do not put on any airs neither did he try to behave differently so as to make us feel "good", wat he needs to do is to capture the memorable pictures, hence u see he dun have to talk much, everything is displayed in his works. Dat's way we say he is a true professional.

i particularly admired his humbleness & honesty as u koe in this line, there are many photographers dat talk too much, some purposely spoilt our people's reputation. He is one dat u koe at the end of the day will not push u to buy extra photos but onli pay for those u realli like

Hope u guys can make a better choice after all our contributions.

and i find kim is very patient, expecially when i call him several times enquiring. he is ever so patience to explain and never show signs of 'impatientness'.

thanks jes, gekgek and f4 for your sharing....wow! makes me wanna call him to put deposit now hee
Any comments on his color photography..? some people say not as stud ? issit true ? Any comments ?

gekgek, my wedding is early Oct02. glad that all of u like kim. hee but me n FH din bother asking him anything abt photography stuff...he look like a discipline master, so we tot better not ask so much hahah.

yup i was told it takes 4 weeks for the album to b ready. its been 4 weeks but hvnt hear from his assist yet. err, but something i wan to add, heard from a friend she had vry unpleasant encounter wif kim...she was vry pissed n decided not to sign wif him. i dont know how true it is, n wonder if its also coz of my friend's attitude? but from wat i know of her, she dont seem the 'badie' type leh.

do agree kim is quiet & humble, not forget that he does has sense of humorous. there is a joke he told us about "hairless dog", right till now, it still make me laugh whenever i see dog.

we had our photography a month ago, he was quiet but fast during the indoor. it was quite fun during the outdoor. he made us do something like "run away bride" "kick his äss" "ëlope" and a lot of jumping.

a little bit disapionted he didn't help us to select our photo. his assist help us.

just some gossip, he owns that 3 story shophouse and he drive a porsche. of coz, we didn't miss the chance to take photo with the car. admire him that he work his way up to own all these.

anyway, kim you got our thumd up for you! can't wait to see the album.

"don't smile, just laugh" "laugh, laugh........." the words you said most.......

Hi Sep03,
Like you, I was deciding between Chris Ling & Kim. So, my FH & me made an appt to visit Kim first. We were put off by his arrogance and decided to use Chris Ling without even meeting Chris personally.

My friend who had her wedding photos taken by Kim told me she felt so stressful and uncomfortable during her photoshoot because Kim was so quiet and hostile. She told me to think twice but I tot I should visit him to see how. We kept an open mind when visiting him but was really put off by his snobbish attitude. He said he was really busy and have less than 10 days of rest in a year, dun expect him to be like other photographers chit chat with the couple. The moment we stepped out of the studio, we know he's not the one for us!

Didn't know this forum is that "hot", got so much posting.

Got my PS yesterday and going to kim's studio to view the photo this evening. Just to share my experience.

My BF & I are quite comfortable with him. We only see him when he is taking photo on us, the rest of the time he is busy with his work somewhere in the studio. Anyway, he did said he'll be busy doing other bride's album, and asked to make ourself comfortable. Yes, we did, I was having makeup done and my BF was playing playstation & pool. I did ask my makeup artist whether is kim alway that busy, she agreed. And she also said kim is a good & fast photographer, nice guy too, very "chin chai"

I've only EG & WG, so the indoor ends about 2pm. Kim said it is a bit warm to go for outdoor now. We went out at about 3.

Our 1st stop is the ice cool beer at Emerald Hill, after that we walked down to Orchard, running across the traffic over and again. Everyone on street are looking at us, quite fun & felt like model.

We went to CHIJMES too, where we'll have our wedding during Dec. And a carpark near Sentosa, a play ground somewhere at the west coast. It was quite fun at the playground. My BF & me just playing around and kim just shoot. We're just like kids. Of course a lot of running & jumping, very tired. Luckily, I don't have a long train.

My BF asked kim for some greenery, we ended up at the east coast. Did some shots with the greenery beside the seaside and we were down on the beach. My BF & I did some "fighting" on the beach. He ended up wet.

We surrender when kim ask us whether we want somemore. Exhausted!!

After all we did enjoy!!!!

Sep03

chris ling and kim, both of them hv diff personality. chris is more extrovert (i heard from friends) and he may like to joke with he couple to make them relax, but kim's personality is quiet (but he is a nice guy), some pple may take his quiet personality as snobbish. so it depends on the chemistry betw you and the photographer.

i suggest you made appt with both of them and decide which photographer do you think you feel comfortable with.

Jes,

You're right, kim is patient. We're so stiff at the begining, but kim patiently tell us how to pose, 'put weight on 1 leg' 'slouch' 'sloppy'. He pose like model.

thedevil,

Your "chin chai" method really work!! Kim bought us to 5 places untill we totally exhausted. But, we enjoyed. Thanks for advise.

Kim might looks like discipline master as he's reserved and quiet, but he's approachable. Like F4 said, he has no airs & honest.

weiwei,

I didn't see a porsche, we were driven by him jeep. My BF loves car (every men do), if he see it, I'm sure he want to take photo with it. Maybe I'll ask him this evening.

Your oudoor experience sounds familiar to me, I think is what he meant "action photography". Tired, right.

Sweets,

Kim haven't get back to me about my wedding day, I'll be disappointed if we can't get him. We love his B&W so much. You can check his web site to look at him works. His web site is www.studiodfia-kim.com . You may join his mailing list as he said there's always special package for those on his mailing list.

I think whether colour or B&W, as long it's taken by him, should be the same. My BF said B&W is also something about the developing & printing photo. Anyway, I don't understand, but I just like him B&W.

Sep03,

Go to their studio and chat with them. Feel it yourself. People like us can just be a reference, after all is your wedding photo. Anyway, hope you find a photograher you like.

Queen,

I think different people has people expectation. For our case, we're very happy with kim. I'd ask him whether he know that there are some bad comments about him in the net. He said he just want to be a good photographer, whether good or bad comments in the net, as long he is true to himself and make sure only good photo go out from his studio, he's contented.

It might be true that he's fully booked. When he check our date, he went thought all his appiontments with us, we didn't see much blank in it.

Anyway, hope you've good time with Chris. He's quite good. I also torn with kim and chris at frist. I'm happy I got kim, hopefully my wedding day too.

Jes, thedevil,

I think I got a big problem. Too many nice photo!!!! Do you encounter this? How you solve it? We were at kim's studio almost 2 hours, still can't make up our mind. Now, ever worst, my BF has gone back to US for his work.

Very stress now, boss not so happy about I took too many leave. Too many things to settle for our wedding, new house and .......... And I got to deal it alone. My BF suggested quit job and join him in US for 2 years, but I don't want to be housewife so soon. Anyway, will fly to US end this week to check out there.

Oh, I got a piece of good news to share, kim is able to do my wedding day!!!!

gekgek

good to hear that there are too many nice photos for you to choose! if your package allows, you can take the cd back and select slowly. it took me 3 weeks to confirm my selection;p

glad that you can get kim to do your actual day. must be real excited! i am happy for you

gekgek..
which part of US will u be going to ? I am currently based here too, on the east coast
dunno can meet up not ?
heeeee

Congrats!! so nice to find that he can do your date hor ? BTW, when is ur big day ?

Hi All!!

Thanks for sharing your experiences with Kim! Been hearing that he's very reserved and don't really teach you how to pose, that got me a little worried. But now, I'm feeling better after reading your experiences.

I've got a few questions for those who had gone through the photoshoot session - do you meet up with Kim before the actual shooting day to decide on where to go for the shots? Or do you do that on the day itself while your make-up artiste is working on you?? Also, is there anything we'll need to bring for the outdoor shoot? such as, things to touch up the make-up??

Sorry to shoot off like this.....but would appreciate all your advise!!

skye

you will decide where to go on the PS day, you can either tell him where you want to go or ask him to suggest.

bring your own two way cake for touch up when you go out for outdoor will do.