Stress by bridal studios

Jasper Lau

Recently i have been going around the bridal studios hunting for a package that is suitable for my wife and myself.
However, i find that majority of them have a common way of trying to close the deal...
They will somehow keep putting pressure to make us sign the wedding package... Its takes a long negotiation and several rejections from my side that i will want to consider before they let us out of the shop...

Do you guys face the same situation like i do?

Recently i have been going around the bridal studios hunting for a package that is suitable for my wife and myself.
However, i find that majority of them have a common way of trying to close the deal...
They will somehow keep putting pressure to make us sign the wedding package... Its takes a long negotiation and several rejections from my side that i will want to consider before they let us out of the shop...

I think there are some bridal shops that are known for not being pushy :)
I chose the bridal shops to visit based on reviews here (of cos researching on their websites for gowns pictures to see if I like the feel a not too ) cos I didn't want to go to a shop that is so pushy too!

Yes, we have occurred the same situation when signing up. We are tempted at first when they began to throw in a lot of free stuffs and being very nice, but when the moment we said " we'll consider " they will give us a face -.-" 360 degree change in expression.

I strongly agree. Lately I signed with Z wedding, & I felt like I have never made a decision that I regret so much. their attitude changed immediately after I signed.
It's much more expensive than other bridal and I felt like I'm being shortchanged... Sighs

Me tooo but i believe no one had worst situation as us...
We sign a total of 3 bridal shop:
Hard sell and over promise but can't deliver: Angelica Bridal (JB) - promise to go NZ for PW shoot but in the end told us they can't go
Hard sell No. 2: Yvonne Creative by Jun (Staff) ... when we say consider, she suan us back and we sign cause my Fiance heading back to camp for reservist and so we just sign and go
3rd: Odelia Bridal (This bridal shop will never hardsell you as they focus alot of reviews)
And love the gowns in the first plc so finally =) =)

I think one way to deal with this make it clear that you are just browsing.
Another way is not to let the studios know you are looking for a package, pretend you are doing ala carte. Say something like "I just want to look at dresses/suits". Look at the dresses on the racks then ask to look at more designs in catalogue/album. While looking at the albums you can ask some questions like "Is this your photographer? Are these pple real couples? " If you like everything (everything esp if you want a package) you see, ask about the price. If you don't like, leave immediately, don't even ask the price, don't give them chance.
Be firm.

Hi! I think Bridal Studio hunting is so traumatising! During hotel hunting at least the staff got a hotel reputation and guidelines to follow but for studio hunting they hard sell you like no tmr! I got traumatised after my first/second visit. Felt that hotel hunting was enjoyable but not this! They don't even give you an opening window for you to reject them. When you tell them that you need to consider they will repeat all the same thing again :( Read some reviews of the studio in this forum already, does anyone have any feedback on the studios that you have been too? Can reply here or pm me if possible. Thanks alot :)

I feel you demisnail, after I visited a few of the bridal studio, I decided to go for Ala cart. I've been a few home based bridal and guess what they are all very nice and not pushy.

Hi serene,

Just send you the details. Hope it helps.

Hi Superxyz,

Alisha & lace is a taiwan based bridal shop. Guess the price is not cheap though.

Just giving my 2 cents here:

1st Bridal Studio: This pretty infamous F***** Bridal studio was my biggest regret was being hurried to sign a package by placing a deposit. - to date, I have gone back for my deposit or to finish the confirmation procedure. We had to sit through 2 hours of yakking and glib tongued speeches by the famed salesperson "B*B*, when we were tired and wanted to look around - she actually had the cheek to say "Wow, I say so much you also don't want to give some saliva-money 口水费?". I have never never ever encountered such pushy hardselling ever.
Oddly enough, this sentence provocation drove me and hubby to just give the minimal deposit possible and headed straight out the expo. Seriously.

Initially we wanted to just make do with this studio, but we have had horrendous feedback from forums, personal friends that we just decided to just drop it and head elsewhere which we had a good feeling about. Somewhere with a proven track record and quality service.

2nd Bridal Studio: The studio that starts with Z, was the second bridal studio we allowed ourselves to visit. Even though hardselling was inevitable with them too, but their tailored gowns, photography styles and service (which I prayed continued throughout the process would be good) were excellent. I liked that they had quarterly gown launches at renown places like CHIJMES and W-Hotel. Very classy. Althought it was quite expensive compared to the rest of the studios but we decided to put considerable faith in them in the end.

Our faith was tested when our original consultant quit without notice to us, and there was no one who called us up to remind us of our appointments. However I feel it's our (customer's) duties to also give a reminder to the studio to check on the statuses. Yes, no doubt they are paid a service fee - but you can't just be passive all the way I guess? Ended up, they apologized for the lapse in updates and they subsequently made sure that reminder calls were made the day before each appointment, and that you are well-taken care of. You also have to understand that not ALL gowns that you lay your eyes on will be available for your wedding day, or even for trying. So yeah.. but everything went smoothly, fortunately!

P.S - Amongst the usual sneaky add-ons that they may make you sign up for (e.g. ampoules, 2nd march-in makeup, eyelashes). But the ONE thing you have to watch out are the hardcopy photos / softcopies of your prewedding photos which the bridal studio mostly earns from. Unless you REALLY REALLY REALLY love the photos, should you fork the additional money to have them as keepsakes. Trust me when I say you will actually have eventually LESS contact with the prewed photos than your own-taken selfies. :p.
We really loved ours, but decided to just fork out $ for certain sets of photographs instead of buying the entire photoset. It is still a substantial amount but since we split it among us, it's worth every penny.

We were prepared to encounter hits and misses to begin with. So this mentality helped with thinking positive regardless of any hiccups. Just note that if you are expecting to pay a sum of money and let fate run its course (without prompting) and hoping to get the dream effect/gown/outcome with studios, it would be better to do your personal research and do everything ala-carte instead. It may/may not help to save in costs.

Hope this helps! :D

I have found 5 best bridal boutique that I have experienced with that I would like to share with everyone

1) Digio bridal
http://www.digiobridal.com/

Digio was the first stop we went to because of their wide range of gown collections which is quite overwhelming. The sales girl we encountered was a young lady who was very practical, no hard selling and is very detailed in the package that they have. She actually had her wedding album taken there and she even showed it to us.

They are heavily involved in a lot of marketing prints as their presence in bridal magazines is very heavy and even without me listing them down, anyone whom has done their homework, I’m sure you guys will be aware of them that’s why Digio is definitely part of my list of bridals to visit

2) La belle couture
http://labellecouture.com.sg/

They positioned themselves to be pretty fancy and some what of a middle-high end bridal boutique. I mentioned them because they mentioned that they have the capability to do some minor custom designs on their available gowns to fit the customer’s needs which is pretty interesting for many of the brides out there.

It was also something that I am looking for so I was very intrigued by their flexibility for the gowns but I didn’t settle because my wife wanted to walk around a little more to explore the bridal boutiques around the area.

3) Luna Bianca Bridal Boutique
http://www.biancadiluna.sg/

Their brand looks pretty fresh for a bridal boutique when I walked in but after chatting with the sales person, I realised that they have actually been around for quite some time previously known as Graceful Image and they have just went through a brand revamp very recently.

They have quite an impressive collection of designer gowns and an interesting photo album different from other boutiques but the sales person is a bit shy and soft spoken, if you guys were to go to them, you’ll have to ask more to get more information

4) White link
http://www.whitelink.com.sg/

I added them to the top 5 list because they have packages that seems to cater to budgeted couples and it seems like they are targeting the mass consumers. I had a friend who just got married last year and I was told that white link are quite aggressive in their sales but when we go over, the sales person who served us was quite okay, quite patient in explaining the package to us. They have a lot of celebrity endorsement by Mediacorp as well. For couples who are interested for overseas pre wedding shoot, they also have a range of packages available as well.

5) Z wedding Design
http://www.zwedding.com.sg/

Another well established bridal boutique, they are definitely worth mentioning because their sales seems to be very experienced, they are also not pushy at all. Maybe their target audience are more targetted towards the mid-high range customers where price may not be a concern. They don’t display much gown in their shopfront but their social media collection of gowns looks beautiful. I have to also credit them for their beautiful website. For couples who are particular with photoshoot can consider them because they seems to be the only bridal boutique who has connection with Chris Ling Studio

I have found 5 best bridal boutique that I have experienced with that I would like to share with everyone

1) Digio bridal

Digio was the first stop we went to because of their wide range of gown collections which is quite overwhelming. The sales girl we encountered was a young lady who was very practical, no hard selling and is very detailed in the package that they have. She actually had her wedding album taken there and she even showed it to us.

They are heavily involved in a lot of marketing prints as their presence in bridal magazines is very heavy and even without me listing them down, anyone whom has done their homework, I’m sure you guys will be aware of them that’s why Digio is definitely part of my list of bridals to visit

2) La belle couture

They positioned themselves to be pretty fancy and some what of a middle-high end bridal boutique. I mentioned them because they mentioned that they have the capability to do some minor custom designs on their available gowns to fit the customer’s needs which is pretty interesting for many of the brides out there.

It was also something that I am looking for so I was very intrigued by their flexibility for the gowns but I didn’t settle because my wife wanted to walk around a little more to explore the bridal boutiques around the area.

Their brand looks pretty fresh for a bridal boutique when I walked in but after chatting with the sales person, I realised that they have actually been around for quite some time previously known as Graceful Image and they have just went through a brand revamp very recently.

They have quite an impressive collection of designer gowns and an interesting photo album different from other boutiques but the sales person is a bit shy and soft spoken, if you guys were to go to them, you’ll have to ask more to get more information

4) White link

I added them to the top 5 list because they have packages that seems to cater to budgeted couples and it seems like they are targeting the mass consumers. I had a friend who just got married last year and I was told that white link are quite aggressive in their sales but when we go over, the sales person who served us was quite okay, quite patient in explaining the package to us. They have a lot of celebrity endorsement by Mediacorp as well. For couples who are interested for overseas pre wedding shoot, they also have a range of packages available as well.

5) Z wedding Design

Another well established bridal boutique, they are definitely worth mentioning because their sales seems to be very experienced, they are also not pushy at all. Maybe their target audience are more targetted towards the mid-high range customers where price may not be a concern. They don’t display much gown in their shopfront but their social media collection of gowns looks beautiful. I have to also credit them for their beautiful website. For couples who are particular with photoshoot can consider them because they seems to be the only bridal boutique who has connection with Chris Ling Studio

I'm not sure about the other 4 but White Link is probably one of the worst which I have heard. They used alot of artistes from Mediacorp for their marketing and advertising. But in actual facts, there are many many hidden costs in their wedding packages. From my friend who took up White Link, there are 2 tiers of gowns under white link - Exclusive and Designer. However, the most basic range, which they termed as "EXCLUSIVE" , is actually just normal dresses and probably looks more like a bridesmaid dress rather than a wedding gown. In order to get the better gowns, she needed to top up a few hundreds more. Her photographer was also really rude to them during photo selection. He was making sacarstic remarks like "If you didn't want to buy these photos, why didnt u tell me earlier?" ....

I had another friend who got her gowns from White Link as well. From our understanding, she did not top up any single cent to upgrade her package. Her gown was so simple that it doesn't look like a wedding gown at all. Just a long white dress maybe.

I'm not sure about the other 4 but White Link is probably one of the worst which I have heard. They used alot of artistes from Mediacorp for their marketing and advertising. But in actual facts, there are many many hidden costs in their wedding packages. From my friend who took up White Link, there are 2 tiers of gowns under white link - Exclusive and Designer. However, the most basic range, which they termed as "EXCLUSIVE" , is actually just normal dresses and probably looks more like a bridesmaid dress rather than a wedding gown. In order to get the better gowns, she needed to top up a few hundreds more. Her photographer was also really rude to them during photo selection. He was making sacarstic remarks like "If you didn't want to buy these photos, why didnt u tell me earlier?" ....

I had another friend who got her gowns from White Link as well. From our understanding, she did not top up any single cent to upgrade her package. Her gown was so simple that it doesn't look like a wedding gown at all. Just a long white dress maybe.

Honestly when they approached me already pissed me off with their attitude. Haha. I cannot stand their staff. You want me to buy ur package, give a better attitude.

hey BTBs, will you all try the bridal gowns first or just simply sign package before trying anything?

JTS i went to a TWC roadshow - and experienced hard selling from one of the staff as well. I admit their photos are sooooo beautiful and magical but the hardselling was quite a turn off. and she even badmouthed other bridal studios!!! (eg. Yvonne creative not good etc..)

the other BS i just happened to walk pass was Gown Forestry @ Suntec. ended up listening to the salesperson for an hour!!! she was a sweet taiwanese lady very sweet tongue but when I told her i will consider and cant make up my mind she just -.- me

Currently hunting for BS and PG.. will appreciate any recommendations and what are the pricing like (as I dont want to get cheated! ) TIA!!

I always try their gowns first before hearing about the package. So far I've been quite fortunate? Didn't experience hardselling or pushy stuff. But then again it might be because I am quite fierce hahahahahah

I'm going to walk down Tanjong Pagar this few days with my GFs (SO working), is there any tips for me? I'm just browsing thru all the boutiques and I'm not in a hurry to decide on anything at the moment.

Just wondering will the bridal shop assistant recommend what kind of gown suits your body type? This will cut down unnecessary fitting and time wasting.. Let us know your findings after ur trip to tanjong pagar?

A good bridal studio will recommend gowns that suit you (Vaughn tan, is famous for this).

Or else you can just browse Pinterest and figure out what you like, and try to see if it suits you :)

hey BTBs, will you all try the bridal gowns first or just simply sign package before trying anything?

JTS i went to a TWC roadshow - and experienced hard selling from one of the staff as well. I admit their photos are sooooo beautiful and magical but the hardselling was quite a turn off. and she even badmouthed other bridal studios!!! (eg. Yvonne creative not good etc..)

the other BS i just happened to walk pass was Gown Forestry @ Suntec. ended up listening to the salesperson for an hour!!! she was a sweet taiwanese lady very sweet tongue but when I told her i will consider and cant make up my mind she just -.- me

Currently hunting for BS and PG.. will appreciate any recommendations and what are the pricing like (as I dont want to get cheated! ) TIA!!

Hihi, I walked past Gown Forestry @ Suntec alone and went in to try on a few gowns. The Taiwanese salesperson was really sweet but a tat too talkative. Wouldn't let me off. They have very nice gowns though. Quite pushy.

I am going to rent my gown from BQueen for my AD. They have much nicer gowns than the Bridal Studio (UBS) that did my Pre-wed/ROM.

Indeed, a good bridal studio will provide good recommendation. For the few that I browsed when looking for pre-wed package, they told me that I can only wear ball gown due to my very petite size. They didn't bother showing me any other cuts. However, when I was browsing for purchase/rental for my AD, I came across some sellers who were very nice and they explained that some bridal studios will just recommend the gowns that they have that fit you. I.e. if you like mermaid cut and they don't have gowns your size, they will tell you that it wil look ugly on you.

Not sure if they do packages (I kinda think they should...). You might want to check with them. I only require one gown so the situation is a little different :)
My friend went to check out B queens and was quoted the following

$1688 for 4 gowns, 2 groom's (suit), 2 father's blazer.

Hope this helps! :) im considering bqueens too, heard quite a few good reviews about them.

Hello girls,

Happy New Year!

Went down to Tanjong Pagar with my girlfriends yesterday and here are some thoughts.

1. White Link

Very small, since their warehouse is at Kaki Bukit. Think the sales consultant did not take me seriously cos bf wasnt with me, and my AD is in 2018. She was rather rude, talking down to me, and ignoring my friends. The only time she had eye contact with my friends was when she told me I can recommend friends who are getting married soon, and I said these 2 here will be next. She discouraged me from walking down the lane, telling me that the boutiques are very small like hers, and there's no point looking through. Boasted about having over 500 gowns at their main store. She did not let me take notes of what's included in the AD package too.

2. La Belle

The more atas boutique. A graphic designer attended to me. He showed me their gowns on the ipad and understood what I was looking for. He quoted me separate package for ROM and AD. I think it's because 2018 is still early, he didnt tell me the AD package, and merely just told me that it's about 3k+.

3. Cang Ai.

Given the not-so-good experience in the first two boutiques, I did not expect anything. They got us drinks, and the coordinator started by showing us their gowns, and the background of the company on the computer. She then brought me to see their actual gowns, and actually let me try! I tried a total of 5 gowns, and that's because I'm too tired to try other gowns already. She was impeccable, so attentive to every little detail and helped me in trying the gowns. She helped me to figure out what kind of neckline and gown cutting suits me. We only talked about the package details when we went back down. She also showed me photos of brides, before and after their make-up, to validate the standards of their MUA. As I could not decide without my bf, she allowed me to put a $100 deposit for the promo price. I told her I'll think about it before deciding. She encouraged me to go check out other stores to see if there's anything I like. No hard-sell, not pushy, did not ask me what boutiques I've already visited. I really like her service.

4. Digio

The coordinator brought out a couple of photo albums to show their range of gowns. Introduced me to their gowns on the first level. So 1st/2nd level: AD WG/EG gowns. 3rd: suits 4th: outdoor gowns for pre-wed.

Tried like 7 gowns. They still asked me if i wanna try more I'm like too tired alr lol. They have more WG than EG. The package was pretty standard. Promo was until 3 jan. They were throwing in free gifts = wedding heels from Desiree and a $200 discount.

(my bf joined us when we were talking about the package)

Then another older lady came and she was very pushy, hard-sell. keep asking me to lock down the price cos very good deal. She asked how many bridesmaid i'm going to have, what colour palate for their dresses. I said not sure, cos still it is 2 years away. She said they can throw in 5 convertible dresses for the bridesmaid, while stocks last. Even after knowing our pre-wed will be taken in Korea, she was very pushy and kept asking us to take their pre-wed package to take photos in SG as well.

5. Rico

I asked about Rico, and Digio's coordinator brought me over. Can see that the gowns design are different. Rico has more.. lace. Tried like 2 gowns for the bf since he never see before. I like Digio gowns more than Rico's.

After much thought, we decided to put down $100 for Cang Ai! I'm very very happy with CA's service and gowns.

@capricorn18 if its those bridal studios at tanjong pagar can do walk in but better wkdays so they can serve u better too. if its others like gown warehouse better make appt

Just do walk in, especially during lunch time, they are seemed free when they just open.

I just signed up with Cang Ai on 31st Dec. :)

Ask for Vicky, my friend recommended and no regrets yet, not pushy and very informative.

If anyone decides on Cang Ai, do note that recommendations or references will give you +5 photos for recommend-er and the couple signing up.

Cheers..

1) Digio bridal

2) La belle couture

4) White link

5) Z wedding Design

Thanks Jasper for the list of information! I visited BOWS with my wife yesterday at bugis to check out what they have to offer for my up coming wedding and I'm so glad to have finally settled our hotel and thats one huge thing off the list haha! its so difficult to find so many hotels in 1 place! we walked around the bridal booth with jasper's list, all quite nice but we didn't manage to find one that suits us personally leh

We went to makan beside BOWS to eat the fish noodle and we saw luna bianca bridal shop, since so near then we went to take a look. Surprisingly they have a quite a selection of nice gowns and my wife loved it, their photography also quite professional so after a long day of walking we decided to take up a package with luna bianca after our fish noodle. we wanted to check out digio also but too far liao too lazy to walk already hahaha

luna bianca have good promotion and the shop atmosphere quite nice very comfortable but the price is a bit higher la, after discussing with my wife we dont mind paying a bit more since they have what we want and marriage is once in a life time. So in all we are both very happy with the hunt for our wedding preparation yesterday ! :)

PS you guys should try out the fish noodles beside bows, quite shiok also haha

Hi all, I have yet to list down the bridal studios and visit any of them for my wedding in 2017. But looking at the comments are already scary. Kindly advise me those that will not do hard sell and can advise if we should walk-in or make an appointment. Also wondering do you normally request bridal car from the bridal studio or rent elsewhere? Thank you.

Hi, try to shortlist some of the bridal shops you like, then walk in to take a look (unless you already decided to sign then better make appointment).

Other than that, try to make a list of items that you want to be included in your package, when it comes to negotiation, this list could be very useful, try to ask for what you want to be included in the package to avoid any future extra cost.

Reactions: wsi

Hi, try to shortlist some of the bridal shops you like, then walk in to take a look (unless you already decided to sign then better make appointment).

Other than that, try to make a list of items that you want to be included in your package, when it comes to negotiation, this list could be very useful, try to ask for what you want to be included in the package to avoid any future extra cost.

Thank you so much for your advice!