So Sad.. I've Failed my TP Driving Test..

hmmmmm.... i have a different view.

for the old-bird trainees, the various aspects of the circuit might be deemed as silly after a certain period, but i guess it's def more for the newbies. i think it also tests the testee's complacency and patience at the same time, so it's good to include that as well.

Thanks, really appreciate all those kind advices and encouragement from you guys here. Feeling much much better now. Hopefully I will be more calm n composed in my coming test. And I am certainly not telling anyone about it. Passed by SSDC everyday aft work, and yesterday.. As the bus drive past there, I looked from afar into the test circuit ( it's at level 1), I told myself- I will do all I can to conquer those areas of testing. And I think I will tell myself this everday. Even if I pass, this is only the beginning.. The circuit is the 1st thing I need to work on now. To think of it, can't imagine I cried buckets cos of hitting 2 blardy kerbs, could have took it better.. Lol.

Mint leaf,

think of it this way. If you feel nervous during your test, you'll feel even more nervous after you've passed the test and you have to drive on unfamiliar roads. Take the failure in your own stride.

All exams (including interviews too) are all about confidence and calmness. I am sure you'll do well in future! I was a student from ssdc too and I passed first time not because I'm damn good or what but because I'm a teacher, I know how to calm myself down for exams like these.

Circuit training is important. It's funny how many commented that circuits are nonsense as the roads out there are very wide and spacious. The circuit training is good for ridiculously narrow carparks in some parts of sg hehe.

Denise, long time no see.

I don't agree with the circuit thingy. No carparks are with poles. The best training isn't the circuit but the carparks itself.

Frankly, the space to drive through in the circuit is quite ridiculous big as compared with real life situations actually. The best parallel parking training is actually doing so in the real environment. I love hatchback because I can find lots to squeeze in when most others can't. Extremely useful especially when driving oversea where carparks are not as systematic as locally.

hahaha it's true that no carparks are with poles...but the S course is really good for carparks..esp the multi-storey carparks.

U know? Now SSDC has not poles for parking already!

Denise, S course is definitely not the same as multi-storey carparks. S course is a breeze. Look at the markings at the walls of all the carparks. It clear evidence.

One need to exercise the right level of engine brake while maneuvering down slope. And folks like me with motion sickness needs to consistently switch my focal point between the turning slope and something not moving, else its too nausea.

Yea..it's different nonetheless.

I'm alright with driving a car but I have problems with directions at times and must always study maps for a long time before I am confident of driving to unfamiliar places

Another thing about the circuit, we take our own sweet time to park. No pressure. In the real carpark, there is a long queue of cars waiting behind. One should be considerate to either park quickly or move aside and do so slowly when not obstructing traffic. Singaporean think they are big fxxx and should just park their own sweet time. And if anyone is impatient to wait for their snail parking and cut through, it is reacted with stares as if its something wrong with the driver for not waiting happily for idiots to behave like retards learning to park for the 1st time.

You are not alone! If I don't go to a certain place for some time I will forget my way here. I always check Google Maps, use expressways, agar-agar and look at signboards along the way.

For me, I'm ok with direction. I'm only very bad with parallel parking, esp on those smaller lot. I always aim the first or the last parallel lot. If there are only those middle ones left, I will just leave. Never bother to try.

Jialat man.

Milo

I kena once by a auntie driver before. I did a calculation for her: she took 11 attempts to park into a vertical parking lot. Ridiculous right? This was not all. She knew I wanted to exit through but she just simply bochap!!! I honked her to give way but was ignored. Super selfish man!!!!

She was having difficulties parking her car and you honked impatiently and yet she is the selfish one. Geez go out and buy some perspective won't ya?

haaa...I thought so too...I mean perhaps Mrs Chew could have offered to park for the lady...after all, we're all women and don't we kenna many criticisms from men enough that we can't drive or park?

Btw, between parking and getting directions right, I think my problem is worse hahaha..at least Mrs Chew, you got there and just need to be lucky to get a lot. I don't even get to where i want even though I have no problems with parking hahaha how ironic

toma, its the whole damn bloody row of drivers time wasted to wait for the incompetence of one individual. Yes, the driver is selfish. If I knew I'm going to take time, I always move aside and signal for others to go 1st. This is BASIC DECENCY and common sense.

Being a lousy driver doesn't excuse being totally inconsiderate to other road users. I would definitely honk. It doesn't matter if she thinks I'm damn impatient. None of us are kind of the road. She gotta learn and realize the road is shared by everyone. So, don't block them damn traffic for themselves!

The kind of stupid tissue paper mentality once again, I'm here first, so, I dun need to be considerate. Just take my own sweet time and let everyone wait. Just as how jokers hog on the ATMs and AXS kiosks with multiple transactions taking over 10 mins at the station. Get your own perspective right.

Reminds me of a personal incident. In one of the lorong in Geylang. A stupid woman was turning out from a minor road, stopped her car blocking the traffic and refused to move off. She demanded drivers illegally parked on the sides to drive off. None came forward. This went on for 20 mins. Some folks even offered to help her drive her car. By then, the long queue of drivers stucked is all the way behind.

All was nice and patient with her for so long... not action. And she doesn't see what a bitch she was. Patience went thin, I came out from my car and scolded her with some crude language. Pointed out what a long queue there was waiting for her idiotic and inconsiderate action. If she cannot drive, don't. Just put to neutral gear and push the car slowly and safely. Why hog the entire street and expect somehow the cars park will be cleared just for her lousy driving.

Finally, she realized the long queue and decided to drive aside. Something she could have done all the long. Her entire family was incested with my outburst came rebuking me. Tried to block my car by standing in front and took photos somemore. Till now, nothing seen in stomp with my car.

At that, people at the coffeeshop were clapping and cheering for my outburst at that idiot. My language would be more controlled and the vuglarities were bad. It has rarely been used out of SAF except this instance that I felt she needed to be given a piece of mind like the men in NS before she would move her butt.

Did I write that I honk at her impatiently?? No offense, you should be the one who need to be more perspective. After her many attempts, I only honked once to request her to give way for me to exit out of the carpark. Sorry, I'm not that considerate like you. I had my baby in the car, rushing off to drop him of at the nanny's hse and off to work later.

Denise80
'haaa...I thought so too...I mean perhaps Mrs Chew could have offered to park for the lady...after all, we're all women and don't we kenna many criticisms from men enough that we can't drive or park?'
How do you know that I won't help if I didn't have my child with me? Also, just because I'm also a female driver, I ought to forgive and help other selfish female drivers too?? I don't agree though.

the school circuits might not be the most ideal or realistic, but i suppose it is the next best solution to hogging the public carparks with learners?

for people who couldn't park the car in less than 10 seconds - need some private training. same goes for those who leave paint marks on the pillars and walls. that female driver with 11 or 12 attempts forgot her poles.

well, I can safely say that majority of us here don't even bother to follow what we've been taught in theory after we've passed and out onto the roads.

congrats, mint leaf..
just to share i also passed at 4th attempt..10yr passed i still never dare to drive..i find driving so stressful!
i felt so useless, have to depend on hb to drive me