Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Hi Henny,

Thank you. I find Alan very friendly when I talked to him. Still trying to find time visit his office. You are right, I will call him some time before my AD then.

Enjoy your married life!

think it's safer to check with Marriott local sales office abt the rewards card and the credit card is only for US resident.

Have also booked Alan. He is actually the photography who I've been looking for.. he was also the one who did my sis wedding 2 yrs back! The pics were sharp and nice.

Hi gals!!

Long time never come into this thread liao...

henny!! glad to hear that ur dinner went well...mine is juz 2 weeks away...so gan cheong...feel like alot of stuff haven't done up yet...

forest, sorry...too busy with the wedding prep, din manage to reply ur mail...

btw, anyone choose oriental theme mah?? i'm going to choose that...but seems not much ppl choosing that leh...abit scared scared that it might not be that nice...

Hi girlz
actually I also prefer the oriental theme.. anyway, you can "mix & match".. I dun like the "metal gates" along the aisle so I will remove that and instead use the normal flower stands..

I'm new to this thread!

I signed up with Marriott. My wedding will be Nov this yr.

marriott was the first hotel i spoke to, we din even ask anything, so persuaded by them & also like the place alot so we just signed up .. but looking at this forum .. initially thot i would be able to persuade them to waive the corkage charges for the wine that i bring in

Would anybody be able to advise what are the corkage charges if i will to bring the wine ourselves? aiyoh, i din even ask for any perks so would i still be able to negotiate for car park coupons ..

appreciate yr advise!!
many thanks!

hi adidas,

may i know which day of the week you booked for your banquet? b'coz we have got diff. perks according to diff. day (mon-thu, fri, sat&sun) have you signed the confirmation? do not sign before you have negotiated everything you want, once you have signed the dotted line, they will keep telling you "sorry, can't help".
but don't worry about car park coupons and invitation cards, surely can get more from them.

i think it is $20/bottle. it is more worth it if you take the in-house red wine which costs ard $25.4/bottle (waived corkage).

Hi Riushiki,

Which means that the points can only be used in the hotel stay in US and not in Sin rite? I think I have misunderstood

hi lemoncake

it's a wed.

we already signed the contract without indicating what we wanted even for the invitation cards & car park coupons .. sigh ... we were so engrossed that it din occur to our mind to negotiate for such things

oic, thanks!

do you know if they allow us to return the wine if we have excess?

Hi pinkdot,

can mix and match their theme meh?? i also dun like the gates along the way...but i dislike the one that oriental theme uses for the stage...wondering whether i can exchange that for the wineyard affair stage setup...think angela very scared of me liao..i'm too fickle minded liao... hahaha...

adidas, the min order is 12 bottles initially. after that they only charge u for the no. of bottles consumed. dun worry abt those things, talk to ur coordinator..think they are quite flexible in those standard freebies...

gals, if u all intend to bring in ur own wine, can try to negiotiate for a one-off corkage charge, that's wat i did lah...and it's cheaper. And also we prefer to get our own wine becos of quality, i've never heard of marriott's wine lor...maybe i too "sua koo" liao.. ;p

june, there's only 2 themes...oriental and vineyard affair.

hi girlz

thanks for the advise!
.. yah i also never heard that b4 ...

can let me know how much did u negotiate for the OT corkage, for the bottles that u r bringing. can PM me at [email protected] .. thanks!

Hi girlz,

Can u pls advise me how much did u negiotiate for to bring in yr own wine? I was also thinking of doing that.

If it is not convienience, you can e-mail me @ [email protected]

every hotel offers something for the guest, such as chocolates, however, i understand that Marriott has other stuff such as a pair of chopsticks? do we need to top up any $ for it? appreciate yr advise! thanks!

Hi girlz, i am also very interested in knowing about the 1-off corkage charge. Can email it to me at [email protected]? When u say that for first 12 bottles...What does it mean? I am most concern about the beer and wine corkage charges. THink these 2 can reach a few $Ks liao. Any idea if we can negotiate free flow of beer? I have been to view the actual settings of the ballroom...do u think that the stage is kind of 'off-centre'? more tables on the right than the left.

hi adidas,

yes, you need to top up $ if u want to change to other stuff. my coordinator show me a wedding bell for $1 or $1.20.. but there's only one design.. (i din choose that cos i saw cuter designs before, maybe i too fussy! hee..) in the end, i decided to do my own favours, keychains with round coloured bead alternate with round clear crystal..
hope my guests will like it.

Considering Marriott for my wedding banquet for next year too. Met up with Angela already and quite pleased with her service. She's quite open to negotiation too.
I'm also interested to know abt the corkaage waiver and complimentary beer. Any info to share?
Thanks. [email protected]

BTW, blursotong, seen your ealier posts. I'm also a GHA bride.

Anyone has comments on the quality of the food at Marriott? Heard that it's not very consistent?
Any past experiences to share?

Me too getting married in 1st Q2005. Heard abt the early bird discount for Marriot ending 31 May.

Anybody sign up during this period?
Scared if I go negotiate now, they will not barge when i do so as timing very tight.

Heard abt Marriot lowing their rates before, can tell me more abt it? dunno should rush into this early thingy.

MacJames

Im tinking of signing on with Marriott too for my wedding in 2005..so their early bird package extended to 31 May? Thot it ended on 1 May..

Im actually tinking of having my wedding on a wkday cos i cant meet their minimun of 40tables on a wkend..just want to ask wkday brides who had their wedding in marriott, did you go for 8 course or 9 course dinner?

Also, what other perks should I look out for?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!!

Anyone attended any outdoor poolside dinner in Mariott? Care to share the experience? Any idea what is their min pax?

Any recommendation for any good outdoor venues?

Thanks for sharing =)

Hi Peek-a-boo

I have opted for the 8 course weekday package as it is more worth it. I find paying $50 more per table for another additional dish a bit expensive since all other dishes remains the same as we can swop the dishes between the 8 course and 9 course package.
Juz my opinion!

Perks to negotiate include increase to 10 person food tasting, more carpark coupons, and more printing cards and if possible, free flow of beers!

Hope the above helps!

Hi Enternity,

Thanks for your reply. Tink i will prob go for 8 course too as the extra for another dish is really too much...

How was the food, and which menu did you go for?
I hope the portions will be enuff..and hope relatives wun complain that the food is bad..

Hi BugBear

I took the weekday package. Goin to meet a good friend who has juz attended a wedding dinner at Marriott last wed.. she has briefly told me that the service and ambience is good and she enjoy the night! Will let us gals know more when i meet her.. ;D

Hi Enternity,

Just want to ask since you took the weekday package, did u manage to get an 2 nites' stay or just 1 nite? Cos i understand that for weekday wedding, Marriott only allows 1 nite complimentary stay...Is that rite?

Hi Eternity...can i check with you, since u took the weekday package, will ur customary, team ceremony and stuffs be on the same day? or are u doing it the weekend before? the date i am targeting is a weekday, but my PILs don quite like weekday...cos relatives will have to take leave and this and that for the tea ceremony...need some opnions
thxs

Hi Peek-a-boo

I didn't negotiate for an additional nite cos i think i would be more happy to go back to my love nest the next day wf hubby...:D

Hi Bugbear

Yup, all the customs such as tea ceremony will be on that day. Both my parent and I are not particular abt that.. those who can take leave to be here in the daytime for the tea ceremony will be good, if not, it is okie to us. Moreover, most auntie who are housewife can represent heself and her husband. That is what my mum do when my cousin got married. My mum drank the tea on behalf of my father too! hehehe

Cheer

Hi Bugbear
My wedding is on the weekday Mon, and my tea ceremony is on the day before, Sun. This way, relatives who work can attend the tea ceremony as well.. most importantly, everyone can mingle longer during the tea ceremony and not rushing off to prepare themselves for our dinner..

hi enternity, pink_dot...thanks for the advice...i am also thinking of sun tea and mon banquet...don want to rush here and there...very tiring also lor...

I have signed up with marriot, though i negotiated for free corkage charges, it never come true. Can someone forward me the information on the waiver of the corkage charges for wine please? My banquet is on weekday and email is at [email protected]. Many thanks in advance.

Hi sunkiss and to all who asked about corkage charges,

my dinner is on a monday and they refused to waive corkage but imposed a flat rate corkage charge of $250+++ for 24 bottles of duty-paid wine, if I remember correctly. But if we choose to purchase, then the cheapest wine is at $25+++ per bottle...

And hi peek-a-boo,
we tried to negotiate for extra nite's stay but they said this will be subject to rm availabilty, but this is stated in my contract.

Me too. Mine in on Monday and there is no waiver of corkage. No extra nite too!!!!

Isabelle and all,

How many percent of carpark coupons and wedding cards were provided?
Did you gals change the wedding flavours?
Also what theme you use?
Is there extra charge for floweres deco?

a friend has recently went for a wedding dinner in Marriott and said tat the food is lousy... especially the shark fin, roasted chicken and e-fu noodle. can anyone kind enough to share some information on the selection of food, eg. wat food is good?

hi Isabella, same same, mine also on Monday.

Wah...a lot of monday brides here...

SK, i tot marriott food shouldn't be too bad right? by the chinese restaurant? I have a friend who just attended a wedding at marriott...let me go check out.

oh dear! the food really that bad? I'm seriously considering Marriott & will be signing the contract soon. Would you ladies care to give some feedback on the food. FYI, mine also Monday.

I think it is pure luck for food quality in every hotels. My FH and good friend went to attend a wed dinner not too long ago and they were satisfied with the food.

Nevertheless, i will checking eveything out with a friend who has attended a dinner there last week... Will update you all again!

Hi monday brides!!

im tinking of having my wedding dinner on a mon too after the customary on the sun before..just want to ask you gals if you booked your marriott package during a wedding fair?
Not too sure if i shld wait for the next wedding fair cos i tink monday is the hottest weekday wedding cos its convenient after customary on sunday..

thks enternity! keep us informed yah? My mum will be attending a wedding banquet at marriott next week. Let's c what's her feedback.

peekaboo, my customary is sat. Wanted my banquet to be sun but no more avail liao so gotta take mon. The last wedding workshop 2 months ago they give 1 complimentary table, free-flow of beer & $50 disc/table (provided you confirm with them that day & the banquet is in 2004). I didn't qualify for the promo coz me next year..
Heard the next wedding fair will be the last qtr of the year.. Can u wait till then?

Any idea/recommendations on who to check with if i'm thinking of holding my solemnisation by the pool? Any email addresses or contact nos?

hi eternity, niu niu, Bugbear,
thanks for checking ... do update us

any idea wat is the expectation on the "attendence" of Monday dinner? think might have to invite more ... Monday is a working day, many of the guests may not be able to come at the very last minute.

hi angela,
u can contact them at 68314761. ask for angela.

hi all who had their customary on sunday but banquet on monday,
does it matter that monday is not a good day for wedding but sunday (the day that customary was held) is an auspicious day?
im tinking of having my customary (tea ceremony) on a sunday which is auspicious, but the banquet on the following monday which is not auspicious..does it matter or wats impt is the customary date?
Kindly advise. Thanks!

i tried to find other combinations in the period in which i want to have my wedding..but cun seem to avoid this scenario..

peek-a-boo...i think it's alright if the monday is not auspicious for wedding...cos the most important is the day when ur FH fetch u to his house, etc...that's the moment where ppl need to calculate and stuffs...but u might want to double confirm with the geomancer or some older folks about it

I am also thinking of doing it sun, mon...banquet much cheaper and more perks...and not so crowded...i think guests list should be fine...sometimes it's easier for guests to come straight after work...anyway, i have attended quite a few weekday dinners...so far the attendance is good...

Hi adeline,

my carpark is at 20%, no increase cos apparently marriott does not own the building so they can't do much abt carpark...
For invitations I got 70%.
I'm a 2005 bride so I haven't decided on the theme yet... But if we want anything more than is provided in the them package, then we must top up and this depends on how elaborate we want the decor to be. Must talk to June Florist or your own florist abt this.

Hi peek-a-boo,
if you want more perks, then it's better to wait till the next wedding fair like wat niu niu said.

For me I booked the early bird package cos my monday is a public holiday and I wanted to be sure I get that date! (kiasu mah... =p Hee...)

And I think the date of the dinner doesn't matter, it's more the customary day that matters.
Personally, my bf and I picked the date cos it's public hol, so pp can come for both church and dinner on the same day (of course, wedding dinner also costs less!) Plus my bf likes the numbers of the date...