SIMEI DWELLERS RETURNS

im not married yet.no intention of getting tied down so soon.currently staying with parents.btw,his name not stark.his real name philip & his favourite designer is philip stark so he put his nick as tat lol.b4 he moved here he stayed at 107 near the basketball court.

jacky.... OF COURSE I WANT... quick quick... *take out paper and pen*... how to bargain more huh?? i really stressing out cos lots of things to be done due to the condition of the flat.. but budget budget... my dad has been nagging at me on the costs...

i am facing simei green loh.. staying at 3rd level... RP flat from WIS in Feb lah..

forgot to say...

jacky... you can give me some design ideas also?? still pondering whether to have an island top in kitchen... hee...

starbucks coffee no problem... heee...

zacey, yours is a 5I is it? kitchen v big hor? initally i was also toying with idea of island, then figured if it's just island with no sink or hood, then might as well just buy a table put in middle! next time can shift around somemore!

if got sink or hood then cost will jump astronomically high.... so in the end... no island...

island not practical for kitchens there as most are quite narrow unless ur unit is at the corner,zacey cuz those corner units there are slightly bigger with the dining area in the kitchen.if u wan me drop by take a look i can do so after work.normally reach home around 9.30-10pm.if wan can sms me at 81460584.

an example of island.notice its not against a wall but rather in the middle of the kitchen.hence the term "island".very popular in europe but locally limited to mostly landed & condominiums as they do not have limitations as to concealing piping & wirings unlike hdb units.

470934.jpg

♪ twinkle ♪ (chendol)

no lah.. mine is corridor flat.. 4A.. my dream to buy a corner flat since young.. but then, no need for 5-room.. actually, i am moving in with my dad and younger sis only.. so too big, hard to maintain..

jacky.. thanks for the offer... but dun think i will stay so late during weekdays cos haven move in mah... teach me how to bargain can? hee...

ya.. an island top will really cost a bomb.. so i guess, i will listen to you all and forget the idea.. hee... how abt an island console?? hiak hiak...

yah that island is very swee! plus has sink and stove.

the plus of an island is that more people can cook on it (i.e. stand on both sides of the stove)...

zacey, basically the impt thing is to find an ID or contractor that you can trust, and get along with, cos you'll be liaising with him/her for quite a long time. and also dun go for the cheapest one. cos if u'll find out from others' experience that you pay peanuts really get peanuts. better to pay a bit more and get less headache.

if i not wrong,ur kitchen should be facing ur main door right?another idea is to integrate ur kitchen & ur hall together with a counter top to separate the 2.some people even go to the extent of using the same flooring for both hall & kitchen so it looks seamless.only major part will be hacking down of tat piece of kitchen wall & building up a breakfast counter.tat way,the counter can serve as a peninsular type of counter rather than an island type.most island kitchens u see are mostly from cooking shows on tv i believe anyway ^^.also,if u know how to use the correct finishes for the floor & kitchen,u dun really have to dig any deeper into ur pockets to be the singapore version of jamie oliver :P
to know wat to bargain on have to see wat u are quoted on 1st.can only teach u wat to bargain on if u are comfortable with showing me ur quotes.actually to be able to give u ideas for design,need to know wat ur limitations are & of course ur budget.not really neccessary to go up as i grew up in tis estate & i know the layout of most of the units very well.& dun worry about me trying to "psyco" u to ask me to do ur reno lol.i wun give u sales talk one.only genuinely trying to help^^.next time u drop by juz gimme an sms then standby 1 starbucks frappuchino & i'll go help u design foc :P

twinkle,not really true tat u pay more u get more.go look thru the forums & u'll see tats not the case though if u pay peanuts u really do get peanuts.sometimes its a matter of luck too.a creative person who can think of wonderful designs may not be able to co-ordinate the works as well & vice versa.even if he can do both well,u still have to see if his workers can do a good job or not.remember to always have things down in black & white even for minor details.will save u a lot of headache in the long run.being in this line for all these years,i've seen all sorts of funny things that inexperienced IDs can do.if u find ur ID looking not very experienced,dun take the risk.find someone who is more experienced.u dun wan some sort of apprentice learning how to co-ordinate works & workers in ur house rite?

jacky, no lah, i am not worrying abt sales talk from you... that never come cross my mind.... just that it is really pai seh to ask you to come over mah... heee...

i have thot of doing wat you proposed initially.. but fengshui wise, not advisable.. kitchen should never be seen from main door...

i am ok to show you my quote... pm you...

onz!! your starbucks frap will be waiting for you... but you will hang me cos there are lots of constraints... given by my fengshui master loh...

twinkle... i agree that the cheapest quote is not really advisable... thanks for the advice... i am also concerned with the rapport built with ID.. so will take into consideration the experience of ID, the personality as well as the quality of work done.. this means i got to go see past works loh... faint...

pengz..
i hate feng shui master...
they always someone seem to spoil my design one lol.
anyway to counter the facing door problem can always construct some sort of partition at the door way.btw dun juz pm me ur quote.need ur floorplan oso so i can see if ur ID got "tok" ur carrot head or not.& dun paiseh to ask me go over cuz i'm only 2 blocks away & i'm sure u will bring ur sis along right? ^^

wow zacey u realli fortunate leh. got a advisor to advise u. when i did my renov 1 yr ago, everything oso duno, end up did a v v bad job n had to bear with it.

jacky, do u hv contact for window contractor? cos whenever heavy rain, e rain water will seep into my hse as my window tracks do not hv a lobang for e water to flow out.

when i was searchg for a flat, i did saw 1 unit wif this kind of island kitchen concept. think its at blk 165 there. they hack away e wall between the kitchen n living rm. realli make e place look bigger.

jacky

haha.. though i am not an ID... i also sianz cos i can think of mega ideas and when the fengshui master comes... all my plans gone... floorplan?? mmm... email you can?

like that, i really need to buy you more than 1 starbucks frap.. hahaha...

my sister?? hahaha.. as per your wish.. hahaha...

hi cleo..

i also thank my fortune stars... hee... the starbuck frap cannot dun treat liao.. hee...

my fren staying at 226.. sometimes, we pop by her house for dinner.. the other time i went, i bio out and saw an island top concept at 225 too... the owner is cooking.. so nice... hee...

yah in the end my kitchen and toilets were the most expensive. after souping it up so much, better cook and bake more! not that got a lot lah... still got room for dryer! dun believe in dishwashers though.

i dun believe in fengshui so save money and can do anything change plans anytime haha.

wan cleo ur case tricky.do have contacts.will pm u his number or if u wan to,i can go take a look then let him know the problem.after tat u can liase with him straight

keke i nv renov anything to my kitchen n bathrms. i oso dun believe in feng shui. dun wan e feng shui master to spoilt my ideal renov haha.

jacky, tks. actually nowadays dun hv prob liao but duno when will e prob happen again. e best part is e water seep below my floor tiles n come out from e middl of e living rm.

if the problem persists gimme an sms.i'll get the aluminium guy to go up see wat he can do.u settle straight with him can liao.small job like tis no point i mark up & earn oso.

wah cleo u mean yr water from the kitchen seep out to living room ah? sounds very serious leh.

anybody watches football at the coffeeshops? haha, a lot of regular uncles there. sometimes i go with hubby... Hola always too crowded. the one opposite munch house still okay.

twinkle,
no lah. its from e living rm windows the water will seep below e tiles n come out from e weakest point of e tile in e living room which is at e centre of the living rm.

oic... yah i had that problem in my MBR too. Turns out need more sealant around the window frame. now okay liao.

hi twinkle, I had that problem in my MBR..was so sad when when my parquet was wet when there's heavy downpour.. Applied silicon ard the windown frame...prob solved too!

i think my husb went to put some liao tats y its not so bad now. but still can see tat when it rain the rain water will flood at the window track. but it never seep into the hse. so i hopeful its ok. we did complain to the town council n they send ppl come over. according to them its v common n say its bcos simei's bldg structure is different.

i wrote to town council to ask them to install lights. cos right in front of the corner units quite dark. hard to open door cos so dim. after a few months when they were supposedly reviewing, now they say will install within three weeks. yay.

actually after we complainted, i think they actually did sthg outside the wall cos we saw they hang a gondola outside our hse and since then we do not hv e prob. but we forgot to tell them tat e ceiling at the common corridor oso got water leaking out whenever it rains keke.

wow twinkle ur letter so powerful. actually i saw blk 120 got 1 unit i think on e 2nd flr install their own lights outside e door. wondering isit legal or not.

twinkle, u r at which side of blk 123? from my hse i can see ur blk, we can wave wave at each other. tat time nearly bought a unit at 123, think 10 or 11 flr too. but tat agent v blur. showed us e hse at 7pm in total darkness cos e owner hv moved out n hv cut off e electricity. but we oso nv go for 2nd viewg again cos find e hse got too many bedrms (4 bedrms) n we dun like e layout.

i think theres alot of different layouts in simei flats. when i was huntg for flat tat time, i was suprised tat different blk got different layouts. Some layouts will make the hse look bigger, some layouts make the hse smaller. But its fun going hse viewing keke.
472417.gif

cleo - I think hse hunting for me is a tiring process..cos' my guy was outstation the other time n onli mum was there to give me opinion.

yes, it was very tiring n frustating. My husb work shift, so everytime we go viewing is either on wkend early morning of wkday evening. Plus we took 6 mths to find an ideal hse which both of us like. But then, I like hse hunting cos can we alot of different hse, c their decor, visualise how to decor e hse.

wah, cleo that's your floor plan ah? I like!

Mine is similar main door, but kitchen is bigger, and master bedroom is next to kitchen. Living and dining area same as yours.

I like the simei flats layout, cos the rooms are properly shaped, so no weird corners like the newer blocks. Also the hall and dining area for the 5I are very spacious! We are thinking of putting string curtains as dividers between the living and dining but then wondering whether it'll make the big space look smaller...

Mine is the middle of the block.

Did you see the most recent 'boasting' flyer from HK James (the agent)? Wah someone actually paid $42k above valuation (i.e. all in CASH) for a block 130 5I. Wah lau. that place must be newly renovated and move in condition or sth.

twinkle, yap tats my hse layout. ya my fren stayg at admiralty got odd shape living rm, so most of the furniture got to make to measure to cover up e odd cornors. for me i dun like make to measure furnitures. only e kitchen no choice gonna hv built in cabinets. e rest of my hse r all moveable items. :P

ya i saw his flyer. cant believe it. he was the blur 1 i was tokg abt hahaha.

when i was sourcing for a flat, some1 oso asked for $30k abv valuation for a resort style hse n open kitchen. but as all e things r wooden i find its not lasting, n wif open kitchen, its gonna make e place oily.

cleo which block are you at again? I think you mentioned in the old thread, but that one no more liao.

Did you convert yr storerm into walk-in wardrobe? yr layout can do that...

there used to be RM who stays in the same block as me too... but think she doesn't come to Sg brides anymore.

i at blk 124. my father at blk 135. my sis at 123. my ex bf at 120. hahahaha

nope i nv do walk in wardrobe. infact i didnt do much renov. only did e flring cos when i bought its e original tiles n theres some holes on e flr bcos they hacked away e sliding door at the balcony. I actually use e bedrm 2 as my slpg rm. masterbedrm is my study rm n wardrobe rm. but i had a door opening between e 2 bedrms

yr sis also at blk 123?! wah your whole life macham around simei hor?

the short part of blk 123 nearest yr block has this HUGE tv near the window on third floor. dunno whether your sis also can see.

hahaha ya. my sis is oso 1 of e pioner stayg at 123. her unit is at e centre so i dun think from her hse can c tat HUGE tv. My sis always complaint tat her blk very hot even tot her unit is not blocked at the front. Another thing tat we noticed is theres always ppl sellg their unit at tis blk. my sis say e feng shui is not so good for those who do business cos heard alot go burst.

yah! got one owe money pay money on fourth floor. think that 4rm flat was sold recently too. dunno whether by bank or hdb...

heheh that means i can see your kitchen windows... & u can see my hall windows.

the other day went to savannah condo park to quote a customer.1st thing tat hit me when i reach me was "WAHHHH"
u feel as if u are out on an excursion to the zoo & all around u the landscaping done & planned by the architects are 1st class.
of all the 7 condo in simei & compared to others in sg,tis is the most magnificent i've seen.anyone with a few million to spare can buy me a unit there pls?? :P

theres another owe $ is at 1st flr jus beside e new lift upgrading site. tat unit outside is full of plants. think owe a few cos saw they paint over e wordgs then few days later kana write again.

actually i can c ur hall n bedrm windows. n u oso can c all my windows.

jacky,
no need few million lah. tat condo is not tat high end. i heard its v nice n 1 of my collg stayg there, but dun hv e chance to go n c. think they even hv a small bowlg alley inside.

yah one of my colleagues also staying there. but not mrt, really not conv lah... of course those staying there prob have car.

some really love the greenery, some say like jungle! I also haven't been but for me, mrt and convenience is very impt... yah, jacky no need few million. think they were trying quite hard to sell that place, maybe $600k can get a good unit liao?

hahaha mayb jacky eyeing for a penhouse there instead lah. but penhouse oso abt $1 million+ loh. ya i oso find mrt v impt. i think now e condo still hv free shuttle bus to e mrt. but dun think will last long. but wif such a landscape, i think e maint. fee is oso v high.

wow twinkle, i think e 2 of us r e most free 1. always chatg down here. wat r u wkg as?

heard from the owner tat i quoting say he paid about $450/ft² for his penthouse.his whole unit including rooftop terrace about 2000ft² so should be around 1m for tat unit.
anyone here got extra 1m dunno how to spend?