Silhouette the Atelier

Hey Mad, ur EG sounds very cool! Must show photos when it is out! Can picture it to be a very sexy gown. Too bad i cannot carry off the drama look - i look too young. Haha

Church deco has not been settled cos i need to coordinate with another bride. Hope tt the schedule on AD has no hiccups. My fear is tt the earlier couple at 11.30 and their guests may have a long lunch, and create problems for car park lots and my caterers to set up. Ugh... But we preferred the later slot cos pple would find it a hassle to turn up so early. No choice i guess...

Ur church deco how?

Btw, u must show me pics of ur gown when u go for first fitting. I'll show u also. In fact, we may bump into each other at Sil! Heh

Yah, I guess thats the problem if u have another couple using the santuary before u....well, dun worry, I am sure things will work out.

I was afraid that my EG will look too sexy....so I kept telling Minda she must do it tastefully. I trust her...so shd not be a problem. Will email u the pics after the fitting....which I think will not happen anytime soon...but I am so excited already.

As for my church decor...well, b'cos I have been bursting all my budgets ie: at Sil, photography etc...am getting a church friend to do for me.Got some ideas in mind which will be easy for her to follow. Guess I should be saving some money in that aspect. Then my next headache is the decor for my recep at Fort Canning...

When u gg down to Sil? Have u seen the new guy?

Mad

Hey Mad, i'm going down to Sil at 11am tm. Will let u know how the new guy looks =)

Btw, for church deco, if ur friend is doing it and buying flowers wholesale, it shd be quite cheap. Cos i heard tt the florists earn a lot for their labour... As for deco at recep, maybe try to reuse some of the church flowers such as the flower stands. Shang's florist did say she could help me reuse the flowers from church for $250, to cover transportation and preservatives to touch up the flowers in btw so tt they don't wither...

Hey Count....thanks for the advise. Yah, I guess I shd be able to save more..as for the recep, I might decorate with balloons instead. Got some quotes and it seems like a cheaper option than flowers.

So u will at at Sil tomorrow? Good! All the best for the discussion....I am sure it will be fruitful. Will try to meet some videographers this weekend.

Sorry, been MIA for a while. Just got back frm Milan today.....hee.....shopping..... So, have I missed out anything??

Hmmm.....abt church program, didn't know you can have your own performances besides the ceremony itself. But I guess we'll not have anything surprising, cause neither me nor my hubby can sing, better not embarrass ourselves.

A real cake for the wedding, yah, that's what I'm planning for. Am now gathering all the quotes from caterer, will decide once we've determined our budget.

My hubby has just confirmed that we'll be back in S'pore in Feb for 2 weeks, so happy.....at least, can get most of the things done this time. Hmm...will probably drop Minda an email to check if I can drop by to discuss abt my gown. Btw, I asked her abt taking out the EG from the package, it's $500.

Hey, it seems like you girls are really fast, you are talking abt the church decor, flower arrangement and all that. I haven't even confirmed a single thing.......
kao_scared.gif
Panic!!

Hey girls,
Just went down for my first appt yesterday and they took measurements already. Wah stress. What if i gain or lose weight in the meantime? Now must maintain or lose weight already. Going for the princessy look for WG cos Minda said i'm more suited for it. It will be a tulle A-line gown altho i have yet to decide on the bodice of the gown. Don't know whether to go for a "softer" look or sth more corseted for the bodice

Oh and i saw the new guy Kenji. Quite big sized and friendly looking. Reminds me of the gentle giant type. Hee

Mad, how was ur search for VG? I'll be going down to Sil again in mid-Feb during lunch time to discuss more ideas

Mudpie, envy! U managed to shop so much! FH would love to go Milan and watch AC Milan play! Yes, glad tt u'll be back in spore. Shd go and check out the various vendors for wedding cakes and caterers, and meet Minda. Btw, Minda is very very organised. Impressed by the fact tt she had printed out all the photos tt i sent her and made helpful comments

Oh, u must tell me all abt ur visit to the wedding cake places cos i love wedding cakes. And share pics of ur cake next time! Hahahah

How come u're doing away with EG? Is it cos u have no banquet?

Btw, we're not fast lah. Just thinking of ideas and doing research at our own pace so tt we don't have to rush everything at the last min. Still looking for a suitable place to make a CS...

Hi Count,

Yah, shopping in Milan is really great, the discount they offer are really genuine. Bought a coat (wool/Polyamid/Cashmere) only 89 euro, a jacket at 24 euro and also a Valentino bag for my mum at 25 euro. All at 50% or more discount. Nearly bought a Furla tote bag at only 59 euro, but thought I'll wait, cause, will be going to Paris this coming Tues and Madrid the week after CNY. Was telling my husband that he may have to drag me out of the shops at the end of it.....hee... So girls, if you are planning to come to Europe for shopping, do plan ard Jan to Feb, cause there seems to be a lot of sales going on ard this time of the year comparing to other seasons. Was in Milan last May, but not much sales going on at that time.

Ok, enough of those shopping, back to serious stuff. Wedding cakes, well, it seems like the caterers do include wedding cakes if you require. Will probably check with them first, if not, will look elsewhr most likely frm the list you provided.

Am not having EG, since we're thinking of not having banquet, no point having it, don't want to spend so much time going for change and all that. Just want to enjoy myself on my DAY.

As for CS, doesn't Minda do CS too?? Thought I saw in their website that they do hve CS too. If not, I remember couple of yrs back my mum made a CS frm this guy call Andy (can't remember his 2nd name), think his shop is at Golden Landmark or something. Very popular then, but ex of course, think we paid $500 for her CS, all black with printed big red roses on it. Otherwise, you can go to Holland Village, think it's call the Windmill Shopping Ctr or something (next to the foodcourt), 2nd flr, there's this shop selling CS, off the rack, seems very popular too, their business is quite good.

You girls going for VG?? Hmmm.....think I'm doing away with that.

Mudpie, seems like u go somewhere really nice every other week..and all the shopping u did! If I were you, I would not have the energy to even go online. As for me, I reall y have to control my spending since we need to save up for the wedding...and its really hard cos I am a shopaholic!

Count, sounds like u made pretty good progress on ur WG. I love tulle...though I think does not suit my character. Have you decided on the type of neckline u are gg for? Bustier, off shoulders, halter? Yah, Kenji looks a little like BFG! Heard him talk to some customers and he seems pretty good. How abt your EG? Any ideas yet? I guess I am pretty set on the lace black top with the chiffon bottom. I would prob borrow one of Sil's kua as well just in case.

You looking for CS off the rack or MTM? I usually do my CS at this place called Fashion Clinique at Stamford Court. Their prices are very reasonable. Good workmanship. However, its better if you have a design in mind so tat they have an idea of wat you are looking at. I hv also been to the place Mudpie mentioned at HV. They have got pretty nice designs but I thot its a little pricey for OTR CS. What is ur budget like? Is it for tea ceremony or its another EG? I am still looking around for the VG. Met up with one on SAt....very affordable...but I guess we will meet up with a few more before we decide.

Yeah! CNY is coming...its our last year to officially collect Ang pows!

Hey Mudpie,
Just to let u know so u're mentally prepared. The wedding cakes offered by caterers can vary widely in terms of their quality. I have seen some very nice ones but others are very fake and plastic looking (esp those they include as part of the package). So u may want to actually look at their cakes and not take the caterers' word for it

Envy u can shop so much! I also want to shop. Restraining myself cos going to US in march so intend to do lots of shopping there! Yes Minda does CS but i was thinking of going somewhere which specialises in CS. Depends on budget also cos quite ex...

No worries abt VG. We're doing away with it as well cos no $ already. At most we'll get a friend to just tape the exchange of vows. Heh

Mad, i haven't decided on the neckline yet. Just tt it'll be a bustier, but the exact shape is unclear. Haven't even decided whether i want a softer look for the bodice or the corseted look

Thanks both of u girls for the CS contacts. Will go and check them out. Hopefully can find time. Cos quite busy at work and then with marriage prep course over next few weeks, then US trip and another marriage prep course...

Intending to get a CS for PS cos FH likes the look of CS. Me too! Very elegant! Prob budget of $500 max cos i'm not wearing it as an EG

Haven't decided on colour for EG. Want sth bright like lime green or turquoise but they don't seem to have the precise shade that i want? Don't know how leh...

Yes, it's our last year to take AP. Must enjoy!

When are u all next going down to Sil? =)

Hi Count

I heard from someone from this thread previously that you can try to borrow a dress from Sil if you want ....why not ask Minda if she can loan u one just for the photoshoot? Then u dun have to spend money making one just for the PS.

Not sure when I am gg down next cos the next time I go, I will have to bring my boyfriend along to choose the colour of my WG. We both can't agree on the shade of white!

Hello girls,

Mad's idea is good too, if you can get Sil to loan you a dress, then you can save that $500. Hmmm....me too, am trying to save, that's why I don't really shop much, except for this trip. In fact, while in Ireland, I don't shop at all, and anyway, I don't go out when hubby goes to work, so, don't get to spend. Most of the time when we travel, I will usually just go for the sales items, not those branded stuff, don't see the need in owning them, esp I'm currrently not working. Unless one day my hubby strike the Euro Million Lotto......
kao_love.gif

As for the cake, thanks Count, will take note of that too. So, you gals not having VG, yah, thought can save some $$ from that, that's why didn't want it. And you going to US, wow, which part of US you going?

Btw, gals, do you all hve an acct with Friendster?? If so, let me know, maybe we can also communicate throught Friendster too.

Hmmmm......a lime green/turquoise dress, that's nice, it'll help brighten a person up. But you're right about the right shade, cause if choose a wrong shade, it may make one look dull too.

Mad, you having problem with the shade of white for your WG?? What about off-white, it seems to compliment Asian skin colour generally. Anyway, I guess it all depend on an individual skin tone too. Maybe to be fair, can ask Minda for an opinion then. So you 2 won't fight over this. As for my neckline, guess very likely I'll settle for sweetheard neckline, unless Minda has other recommendation.

Hi Mudpie

U really sound like a tai tai in the making! Do u get bored sometimes since you are alone when ur hubby goes to work?

U see, the thing abt the shade of white is that I love ivory..and Minda agrees that I look good in that colour since I am on the tanned side. However, my bf thinks that a bride shd wear white. He does not refer to clinic kind of white...but not ivory cos he felt its not white at all. So we need to compromise.

No lah, no friendster acct...

I will be hvg VG...but still looking for one that is good and affordable. I guess if u want VG, u must set aside at least $800 for a decent one.

Talking abt turquoise...Count, dun worry, I am sure Minda will go source for more samples for you. Cos I was not happy with the lace she had around the shop and she actually went to look for one that i will like. And as usual, it was exactly the kind of lace i had in mind. Minda somehow can tell a person's taste..and thats good!

Ok, time to knock off...talk to u gals tomorrow.

Hi Mad,

Wish I can lead a tai tai lifestyle. The definition of tai tai is having a maid doing each and every housechores for you, and you in turn can go shopping, have coffee with friends, wearing all branded and expensive stuff. But on the contrary, I have to slog at home with all the housechores (though hubby do help me once in a while), no pretty clothes, no branded and expensive things to wear (sob....sob....). You know, I feel more like a maid from S'pore. Once in a while, my master will bring me out, but most of the time staying at home..... Also, haven't been wearing makeup for so long, hmmm.......think will look out for some cosmetics when in Paris tomorrow, at least make myself look pretty once in a while.....hee......

Well, of course I do get bored, that's why my hubby is currently looking out for another job that can bring us back home or if not, in Asia, at least it's nearer to home. Other than housework, I surf the net, that's why can chat with you girls, also read books, am currently reading this book call "Empress Orchid", very interesting, it's about one of the empress in the Qing dynasty.

No Friendster huh....okay lor..... otherwise, can share with you gals some photos.

$800 for VG, think cannot afford.....

Wow, you mean Minda actually went out personally to source for the exact material you want??? That's good isn't it. Just hope that she can understand what I want too.

Knock off already, sigh.......one person less to chat with. Okay lah, will go to the bank downstairs to run some errands then.

Hey girls,
Add me on friendster lah. My email address is [email protected]

Yes Mudpie u sound like u're living a tai tai lifestyle. But i guess it can get kind of boring after a while esp if ur hubby is out at work most of the time. My friend went over to visit her bf in London and ended up cooking and cleaning for him while he was at work! Heh

I'm going to the west coast of US which means LA, LV and SF. Hopefully can do some outlet shopping there and buy accessories and shoes for AD. Hmmm... and perhaps rental is a better option to save $. Shall ask Minda if she has nice gowns for rental, and whether she can find other colours for my EG

And Mad, i agree with ur problem and the shade of white! I went to Sil on Sat with my mum, grandma and FH. Minda and FH felt tt ivory looked better but my mum and grandma insisted tt pure white was more suitable for a bride. Don't know how. May compromise in the end by using off-white. Maybe u could ask Minda to show u off-white. Ivory is not bad, but a bit unconventional. Also quite worried abt how it may look on AD cos my church lighting is orange, so the white of the gown may look slightly different...

Mudpie, come back to S'pore soon! How's ur husband's job hunt? No possibility of u finding a job in S'pore as well? i think if i were u, i'd probably end up baking and cooking a lot cos i love to do so and would have lots of time on my hands. Heheheh =)

Morning everyone!

Looks like Mudpie is off to Paris today so wun hear from her for awhile....so envious!

Just wondering, have u gals found a place to stay yet after u get married? U buying or renting? I was thinking of renting first cos I think it may be too stressful to do the reno and making sure all is ready when the wedding is here.

Hey Mudpie, I want to see the pics! Do u have an online photo album to show? I usually upload my pictures onto ofoto.com. Would love to see all the places u have been to in Europe.

Hi Count, looks like I am not the only one in a fix abt the colour of WG too! WEll, thats why I have to drag him down to look at the colours again. Hopefully we can settle for something off-white but slightly more to the ivory side. I guess I will have to bear in mind the lighting in church as well. I know that under the sunlight, ivory looks pretty white too.

I wonder how my friend's appt with Sil went last evening. Better call her to check.

Will be around Tanjong Pagar area this afternoon...I think there is a shoe shop there that specialises in bridal shoes/MTM etc. Guess I will check it out.

Talk later!

Yo Mad,
We haven't decided yet, but prob going to stay in with his parents until our flat at Duxton is ready. Wanted to rent but $ concerns cos the wedding will cost a bomb, esp the dinner! Hopefully, there won't be IL problems when i shift in *fingers crossed* What is ur budget for renting and do u have a specific area/type of house in mind?

Yes, looks like the colour of the WG is a problem for us both. Will prob ask to see albums the next time i go down to Sil so i get a better idea of the effect in photos

U went to leaping lizards is it? Think their shoes are quite ex. Very broke already. In fact, was thinking tt i will just get some reasonably priced shoes below $100 for my WG and EG in US. If not, just go to Tangs to get a reasonably priced pair of white shoes. After all, i need comfy shoes cos i get irritated easily when i'm uncomfortable and have aching feet. ANd i don't think i will wear the white shoes again so don't feel like spending too much. Will remind my photog not to take photos of my unglam shoes!

Mudpie, ur photos on ur blog are very interesting. Envy u - so well-travelled... Do update us when u're back from Paris!

Hi Count!
U got a flat in Duxton? Very good location. Heard it was selling like hot cakes...happy for you...i am sure u will enjoy the place very much. I dun dare to stay with my ILs cos I am an only child and I think I may not be able to fit into the family easily....they are really nice and all. But living together is different. BUdget wise for the rental..not sure yet but I guess nothing above 1K a month.

I was shopping around yesterday and saw many nice shoes at Tangs etc. Really affordable ones below $100. Actually, Allure Charix has got quite sexy shoes for around $89 a pair. My friend got hers at Paradox...its more ex of cos...but i think design and quality wise is nicer than Leapin Lizards. Well, if your gown is long enuf, frankly, u dun get to see much of the shoes. But how abt your EG? Guess u need to look for EG shoes too right? I know Paradox will dye the shoes for u to a colour u prefer after the wedding so that u can wear it again.

Alrighty, we'll con't tomorrow. Ciao!

Mad ah,
Yes we got a flat in Duxton. Thank God for tt cos the applications came at the right time. Cos i was a student and our income was below the $8k cap and we wanted a centrally located home. As u said, living tog is a different ball game. Hope to get used to it. We did do a bit of research on rental. Seems tt $1K will prob be for a flat or unfurnished apartment? Cos my fren who got a pretty gd deal still paid $1.2K for an unfurnished condo in upp bukit timah... Have u started looking ard yet to get an idea?

Envy u leh. Can shop on weekday afternoons while i was busy at work! Had meetings for half the day today so brain quite fried! Hahaha. I am definitely going to check out Tangs for WG shoes already! Cos it is within budget. As for EG, i may get nicer shoes hopefully in the US!

U settled other things already ah? How come u started looking for shoes already? I still have so many things to do - wedding bands, gown design, search for CS... Hahaha

Hey Count!

Yah man, u are really lucky...my bf only proposed to me after the Duxton episode so no choice lah. Yup! Looks like we may have to settle on a flat. As long as its near an MRT station and not too ulu I am ok. Rather spend the money on our real home later.

Wish I can go US to shop for my shoes too! Well, I am just kiasu about all the wedding arrangements...or rather I am excited. Well, since I am quite sure how my gowns will turn out to be...i tend to look around and notice shoes that will match my gowns. Though I was really tempted to get some that I really liked, I had to force myself not too cos its too early!

What is CS??

I'm back.

Really so exhausted, hurt my ankle frm those walking again. So much walking not from the shopping but, the changing of the trains. And I'm really not joking, the train system in paris is really confusing.

Okay, what have I missed out??

Ok, 1st thing 1st. Count, think we've added each other in Friendster, you look so sweet. And wow, didn't know that you're so young, sigh....so nice to be in your twenties.......

As for place to stay, guess I'm lucky in the sense, my hubby alrdy bought an apt before we even got rom. It's a walkup apt along Serangoon, hes' got everything done up alrdy, so not a prob for us. But am hoping that he would sell it away eventually, cause I didn't feel comfortable to live in it, it look more like a showflat than a place to live in. Also, the area, as I've all along been staying in the west, so, feels really handicap staying in Serangoon. Yah, the mrt is just abt 5 mins walk away, but still feels very funny leh, don't know why. Besides, it's just right along the main road, so noisy, can't sleep at night, as I'm so sensitive to noise. Okay, I know, I guess, it's better than not having a place to stay in right....sigh.....

Mad, you can give me your email add, so I can send you the pics. I load all of them in yahoo photos. But, I didn't take much photos in Paris, cause I was all alone and it was just so cold, so, didn't even bother to stop and snap. Most of the time, my hands were in my pockets.....ha.... Only managed to snap one shot of their "Academic Nationale De Musique" building. Moment I stepped out of the station I saw that building, looks really awesome, so took a shot, that's all. Oh, they were also having sales everywhr, went to Galleries Lafayette, and bought a Coccinelle bag and wallet. Yah, LV & Gucci are cheaper there, too bad, doesn't fall under my category of budget, cannot afford. But lots of mainland chinese approached me to get me buy for them. 300 over euro for a wallet, No...I wouldn't pay for it. Anyway, in the end, didn't buy for them, cause they want me to pay by my credit card and they pay me cash.....no way, how would I know if the cash they give me are real currency......

Shoes, actually, I haven't even think of that yet. I'll probably get a simple and not so expensive one, cause it's going to be beneath my gown and no one will even notice them. And who knows, I'm just going to wear only once, or maybe will get something more versatile so I can wear them again for dinners or something.

Staying with ILs, hmmm....didn't really like the idea too, esp if you are newly wed. You need time to adjust to each other habits, but then again, sometimes, I guess the reality just doesn't permits that.

Count, when you going to US, only been to Seattle and LV, but really like LV alot, really very vibrant in the city, esp at night, you feels like the whole city has come to live. Must take lots of photos.

Mad, think CS is CheongSum, right count??

ok, my msg is too long, just trying to squeeze all in one, better stop here.

I'm back.

Really so exhausted, hurt my ankle frm those walking again. So much walking not from the shopping but, the changing of the trains. And I'm really not joking, the train system in paris is really confusing.

Okay, what have I missed out??

Ok, 1st thing 1st. Count, think we've added each other in Friendster, you look so sweet. And wow, didn't know that you're so young, sigh....so nice to be in your twenties.......

As for place to stay, guess I'm lucky in the sense, my hubby alrdy bought an apt before we even got rom. It's a walkup apt along Serangoon, hes' got everything done up alrdy, so not a prob for us. But am hoping that he would sell it away eventually, cause I didn't feel comfortable to live in it, it look more like a showflat than a place to live in. Also, the area, as I've all along been staying in the west, so, feels really handicap staying in Serangoon. Yah, the mrt is just abt 5 mins walk away, but still feels very funny leh, don't know why. Besides, it's just right along the main road, so noisy, can't sleep at night, as I'm so sensitive to noise. Okay, I know, I guess, it's better than not having a place to stay in right....sigh.....

Mad, you can give me your email add, so I can send you the pics. I load all of them in yahoo photos. But, I didn't take much photos in Paris, cause I was all alone and it was just so cold, so, didn't even bother to stop and snap. Most of the time, my hands were in my pockets.....ha.... Only managed to snap one shot of their "Academic Nationale De Musique" building. Moment I stepped out of the station I saw that building, looks really awesome, so took a shot, that's all. Oh, they were also having sales everywhr, went to Galleries Lafayette, and bought a Coccinelle bag and wallet. Yah, LV & Gucci are cheaper there, too bad, doesn't fall under my category of budget, cannot afford. But lots of mainland chinese approached me to get me buy for them. 300 over euro for a wallet, No...I wouldn't pay for it. Anyway, in the end, didn't buy for them, cause they want me to pay by my credit card and they pay me cash.....no way, how would I know if the cash they give me are real currency......

Shoes, actually, I haven't even think of that yet. I'll probably get a simple and not so expensive one, cause it's going to be beneath my gown and no one will even notice them. And who knows, I'm just going to wear only once, or maybe will get something more versatile so I can wear them again for dinners or something.

Staying with ILs, hmmm....can't say much, in case someone read this thread. But it is always good to spend time alone, as you need time to adjust to each other's habits, but then again, sometimes, I guess the reality just doesn't permits that.

Count, when you going to US, only been to Seattle and LV, but really like LV alot, really very vibrant in the city, esp at night, you feels like the whole city has come to live. Must take lots of photos.

Mad, think CS is CheongSum, right count??

ok, my msg is too long, just trying to squeeze all in one, better stop here.

Are there any brides here who had bought back their gown from sil?

Hi Count,
I strongly recomend Paradox's shoes. I bought a pair ... 4 inch high. Used the same pair with my WG and EG. It's very comfortable and my legs don't ache at all after a whole day. Furthermore, it doesn't "bites" the legs when i first wore it. Although it's a bit ex but i think it's worth it. Do consider.

Hey Mad,
No worries abt the housing. If u're keen on HDB flats in Tanjong Pagar area, the Cantonment Towers flats have passed the 5 year mark and are now for resale. For $500K, u can get the best units facing the sea and on high floor (25-30th floor). Quite near Duxton. Cos i did call up to check with housing agents recently =)

Yes, Mudpie is right. CS is cheongsam. Still hunting for a reasonably priced and pretty CS heh

Mudpie
U're not tt old lah. At least u look very young ;) I think i know where u stay cos my place is btw Kovan and Serangoon MRT. So we stay very close. If i'm not wrong, the main road u're referring to has a flyover of sorts right? Heh

Paris sounds great! Would love to visit one day if we have more $. In the meantime, must stay with ILs and save money. Was telling FH tt if problems arise, we'd prob rent or i'll go overseas to study until our flat is ready...

LV sounds amazing cos many ppl have told me abt it. Am really looking fwd to shopping and eating during the trip, hopefully i don't gain too much weight!

JJ,
I'm not going to buy back my WG from Sil. Only keeping EG. When is ur AD? is it over already? Thanks for the info abt paradox. Will go check it out and see if budget permits. Or else, may have to get some simple shoes =)

Welcome back Mudpie! Do send me your pics...here is my email: [email protected]
I like PAris alot. Was there only for 1 day on transit. But things were so expensive I felt like a pauper. I remember eating McDonalds which cost almost S$20 for a meal!! I guess its a place to go when u really hv the cash to spend...only then I think one will enjoy the city alot. So where you heading to next? I guess everywhere in Europe is pretty cold now. BTW, when are you set on coming back to S'pore?

Count! I saw those flats at Tiong Bahru...super good location. But not sure if I want to pay 500K for a flat. I think I dun mind living slightly further away like Commonwealth, Holland V area. Mudpie said u look really young....hmmm....so how old r u gals really? Well, I think at the end of the day, it does not matter how old u are but how young u feel right? I have to make sure I maintain myself cos my bf has got a very boyish face.

So are all of you not keeping ur wedding gown? I know its not part of the pkg...but I am really tempted to keep it though. Everyone said there is no point cos u wun get to wear it again and its hard to upkeep the gown. But it is a speacial dress afterall right? I will see how my finances are like after the end of the wedding. A good friend of mine was really lucky...she did not pay to keep the gown. But after her wedding, her BS decided to let her keep her gown and actually delivered her gown to her place for free!

Will let u gals know if I see more nice shoes ok? PLaces that usually have nice ones are Hue and Peddar Red...my fav shops!

Wishing all of you Gong Hey Fatt Choi!

Hi Count,

Yes... my AD is over already. Nov 05.

Hi Madelaine,
We are buying our WG. No doubt we are not going wear it again. But it's something with sentimental reasons for keepsake. Afterall, we already spent thousands on it.

How did your friend get to keep without paying?

Now wandering if anyone here has bought their gown back from Sil.

Btw, u gals' designer is Minda?

Enjoy your designing process and Happy Lunar New Year to you all.

Hey Everyone!

My wedding is in November this year, still shoppping for gowns. Any good words to say about SIL? I have been down to see Miah - so far so good, but a little pricey. So far I have narrowed down to The wedding present, SIL or Emmanuel B.

Any words of advice?

Hi Count,

You stay around there too?? Wah, we're neighbours.... Anyway, since you stay ard there, you shld know whr the Punggol Nasi Lemak is, our apt is, there's a bus-stop very near to it, our apt is just right in front of the bus-stop. Few units away frm the big pet shop.

Yes, Paris is really very romantic, we stayed very near to the Seine River, really nice to take a walk if it's not too cold. Expensive!! Well, because of the currency, e'rywhr in Europe is ex. But since we are staying here, we really cannot afford to be too conscious about it, or we'll not be able to live life here normally. So, no choice, we'll have to think it as 1 to 1 (1 Euro to S$1) and not convert based on exchange rate. That way, we'll feel better, but, really, nothing can be compared to Ireland, it's just so ex here comparing to other places in the continent.

LV, yah, the shopping at the factory outlets is really good, must really go, and be prepared to spend the whole day there.

So, you're staying with ILs huh, well, sometimes, it's really not up to our choice, since it's only temporary, so just try to live with just one eye and one hear opened (if you know what i mean) till your new place is ready.
Mad, Count is right, you can consider Duxton area, or maybe even, Spottiswoode Park, there's some 5-room flats there, really nice and peaceful there. Oh yes, saw your email add, will send the phots to you shortly. But must warn you, I've got a lot of album, so, be prepared to receive a few emails.

You are right about Paris, even in other parts of Europe, it would be good to go shopping there if you've got $$$. Like I mention, if you are just visiting, you'll tend to convert to S$ each time you come across something. I've stopped doing that unless it's too great a difference. Btw, my next destination is Madrid, will be flying there next Sunday and be back by Wed, then following day, will be catching a flight back to Singapore. Just can't wait to be home.

I like Holland V area, love to go there when I'm in Singapore. Don't know why, whenever I've got nothing to do or no one to go out with over wkend, I just like to pop by there to walk around or have a drink at the cafes there. You can try that area, but think it's quite ex too because of the location. After few yrs of staying there, if you are thinking of getting another property, you can even rent it out, cause it's near to industrial area and universities, polys.....

You are right about a must to maintain ourselves, that's why, I'd rather shop less here, but still spend a fair share on my skincare, that is a must for me. Even my hubby knows it.....so vain. And of course, it's impt to look younger than your other half, cos somehow, women aged faster than men.....sigh.....so sad. Oh yes, do let us know when you've found your shoes, and I like Hue too, think their prices are quite reasonable right??? Can't really remember.

Keeping your gown?? well, it is very individual, some think it's troublesome and waste of $$$, but others think it's for sentimental reasons, whatever it is, as long as you are happy, you decide....it's once in a lifetime.....
kao_love.gif

Here's wishing you girls a Happy Lunar New Year and may all good fortune befalls you.

Hi eltgal,

Just like, I'd narrowed down to The Wedding presents & Sil. But due to price reason, I chose Sil at the end. I like both BS, nice gowns and nice people. It all depends on which one you are more comfortable with.

Dear Sil brides... me have visited like 10 BS and planning to see another 3 more... (Not gonna list all.
haha...) but quite set on signing with Sil already...

Other than the professional and pleasant Silhouette Experience, we were also much attracted by the package tied with Robin as PG. it cost another 1k to do the PS only. Has anyone taken this package b4? Anything to take note of? We plan to speak to Robin 1st b4 confirming tho.

I have kinda shortlisted Sil and Bridal veil so far cos i like the simple yet elegant look. but i thought Sil would be more flexible with the design and i like embroidery that BV doesn't do at all. Sil's embroidery were gorgeous but some BS has commented that embroidery makes the bride look older. Is that true?

My only concern is the extra cost like fake eyelashes, ampuoles and dry cleaning... Any comments on these costs?

My appt was with Miah. (How do u pronounce it? issit "my-ear" or "me-ah") But my fiance is more comfortable if a lady work with me. Has anyone had any experience with changing designer after the initial meeting? Does it make a diff anyway?

Reading the threads here really boasted my confidence with Sil. I just need extra dose of assurance from ex- and current Sil brides. Anyone care to share their photos with me. Pls send links to [email protected] if convenient. thank you all in advance!

Hey eltgal and Su, i was initially under Heath but he left so Minda took over. Actually, i think a male designer is ok cos Sil gets a lady to take measurements for u. But if u're conscious then maybe u shd request for a change. As far as i know, i'm not sure if Sil has any hidden costs. I know u have to pay for dry cleaning but as for makeup related stuff, not too sure cos i'm getting my MUA separately

Can't really advise on PS with Robin cos i got The Pond and have yet to go for my first fitting so no photos

Perhaps one way of deciding btw BS is to see which designer u feel most comfortable with, and whether the designer understands ur style. If cost is a concern, u may want to double check with the various BS abt any hidden costs/top ups for ur gowns. Hope this helps =)

Mad and Mudpie, yes i know hue and pedder red have very nice shoes. But must restrain myself from buying cos must check out US things first! Hahahah. Or else no $. I'm not tt young lah. By my AD i'll be almost 24 and FH is 5 years older. We wanted to settle down early and enjoy couplehood for a bit first before trying for a baby. Heh. FH has a very boyish face as well so i must maintain!

Mad, if u're quite free perhaps u could start looking ard for a home. Holland V is a gd area if u can stay near there cos there are amenities. But kind of ex also. But if ur budget is abt $400K i'm sure u can find a flat in a pretty gd location. =)

Mudpie, i think i know where u stay already. Haha. In fact we prob go to the same MRT station when using NEL!

Wah envy u get to travel so much. Have not been to Europe and i think it is such a romantic place! Maybe that's why they charge so much! Cos they know tt pple will still go there! Heh. Madrid should have quite a lot of stuff to shop for like Zara, Mango and Waipai. Heard it's quite cheap there. So can shop more! Gd that u'll be home soon. Keep us posted on how ur meeting with Minda goes =)

JJ, how much did u pay to keep ur WG? Got any photos to share? Would love to see ur pretty gowns from Sil! My email is [email protected]

Happy CNY to all Sil brides! May u enjoy bountiful blessings in the year ahead! =)

hey all!

I actually met Miah, he's really nice. He was recommended by my friend who had her wedding last year - her gown was Beautifoooooo!!!

Weedding present is pricey, but I tried on this gown and really liked it there...I wonder if SIL can design gowns if I have pictures/ diagrams of what I want?

I think of all the BS I went, Miah was the only designer i managed to talk to.
The rest were either just sales personnel, assistant or photographer. In a sense, felt more confident that we will get focus attention from the designer himself/herself at Sil.

Hi JJ,

Yah, would be glad if you can share with us your gown's pic. [email protected]

eltgal,
I'm sure if you show Sil the pic/diagram of the design, they'll be able to do a duplicate for you. In fact, I just love the designs in Bridal Veil, so, what I did was, I told Minda to check out one of the gown in their website as a reference, as I just can't find anything close to that to show her.

Su, think you should just go for whichever that makes you feels comfortable, cause eventually, this person will follow through the whole making of the gown process.

Hey, it's New year's eve now right.......sigh....really, really miss it.

Hi Count,

Can't believe it, we're almost 10 yrs apart. You're right abt spending some yrs together before planning for a family.

You are right abt all those boutique chain in Madrid, have been nagging at my hubby to set up meetings there since last yr, so I can tag along. Both my sis alrdy told me to look out for things for them......stress, so much things to look out for. Am also hesitant about buying so much clothes, cause not even sure where we going next after my hub's contract is up by Aug'06. About shoes in US, remember to look at Kenneth Cole & Nine West, it's cheaper there.

Mad, yes, I really agree with Count, HV is really good location, so accessible.

Mudpie, poor thing. U sound so lonely! U'll be back soon so don't fret! Been eating lots of goodies over the past few days. Am afraid of getting fat! Must diet already! But quite difficult cos have more new year lunches and dinners this weekend

Wow! Kenneth Cole and Nine WEst must be really cheap cos many pple have told me so. A friend's friend bought 20 pairs of Kenneth Cole shoes and shipped them all back here! What's ur hubby doing? Management consultancy? Does his work require him to be posted overseas for long stretches or u think he can apply for a job in Singapore after his contract is up?

Hi Count,

Phew, so good to hear frm someone again. Hve been quiet for a while, feeling even more lonely..... Have you started work alrdy??

Anyway, it's good to have gatherings during the festive seasons. And yes, some of the stuff in US are pretty cheap. And they have all sorts of funny things there.

My husband is in Credit management, his contract will be due in another 6 mths' time. Well, we're not sure if he can find something back in S'pore, if not, we'll have to stay on for another 2 yrs I guess. We've discussed abt it, if we were to stay on, we'll probably move nearer to the city and I'd sign up some short courses.

Hey mudpie,

it's so funny. My hubby to be is moving to SIngapore from US. I didn't want to be homesick, so I told him to MOVE here. haha....

SIL sounds really good, what about BRIDAL VEIL? Isn't that the one with HUI MIN? I heard she is selective about who she is nice to. But that's a hearsay, I guess.

Hi eltgal,

Good that you can move back to S'pore.

About Bridal Veil, well, I did read from the thread about the inconsistent service they rendered to their clients. That's why, though I really like their gowns, I guess I'd give it a miss. As I'll be away most of the time, so, I can't afford to have these additional problems in my preparation.

Happy New Year!!

Hi Count,
We have not really discussed the additional cost to top up. However, we were told it's around $500.

Helllooooo everybody!

Happy Lunar New Year!! Have been MIA for awhile...sorry. Was busy visiting and pigging myself out! Looks like I have missed out on many conversations now.

Thanks Mudpie for the pics! They are beautiful. I love the tulips in ur Holland pics. Infact, I was thinking of using tulips for my wedding bouquet. I too was thinking of bridal veil, wedding present before deciding on Sil. Decided not to take up BV cos I have also heard abt the designer and how opiniated she can be. And I have got pretty strong character so I thot we might clash. Basically, I was really comfortable with Minda and felt we could communicate..which I think is key.

Hey Count...yah, will try to persuade my bf to start looking around for our flat. I love HV! Just like what u and Mudpie mentioned, the area is just so nice to hang out. However, I know the flats there are pretty old hence might hv a problem selling it off in future.

Eltgal - I am sure Sil can copy the design you want and maybe even give suggestions on how to make it nicer! I saw a gown which Minda copied from this designer - Amsale which a previous bride wanted and it looked good! Just like the real thing. So no worries there...they are skilled enuf for sure.

Hey JJ, thanks for ur photos! Very pretty! U have such huge and lovely doe eyes, and slim figure. After looking at ur photos i think i know who ur hubby is - sgwestie right? Cos i saw some of ur pics in the FS thread. Hee. Love ur photos. In fact, we are getting NH to do our PS too. Nearly got FS but couldn't cos our guest list was too big...

Btw, where did u get ur kua from? Cos i tot Sil's kua is very simple while urs has many embellishments. Also, was ur EG colour provided in the samples in Sil? Cos i was looking for brightly coloured fabric for my EG such as bright green, turquoise or scarlet but Minda didn't seem to have any samples tt were suff bright?

Mudpie, yes i've started work for abt half a year since graduating. Working is all right as i enjoy my job. Only thing is FH works quite long hours so we hardly meet. Sob sob. It shd be pretty easy for ur hubby to find a job in S'pore cos credit management is always in demand, i think. Heh. Hope u can come back to S'pore also. I am such a sucker for local food i would absolutely suffer if i were to stay long-term overseas. Imagine - i was in BKK for a week and suffered withdrawal symptoms for soya bean curd! When i saw a sign saying "Low fat, no cholesterol, high calcium" in BKK from the 2nd flr, i immediately dragged FH down in search of soya bean! And it was actually there! hahahah. Not to mention all the local snacks and hawker food. I am such a glutton ;)

What type of courses are u hoping to take if u move to a city area?

Eltgal, whcih part of US is ur FH from? I didn't visit BV, but heard from friends tt u have to be prepared to top up quite a bit for more crystals, so u may want to visit BV and ask to look at their std gowns and those with top-ups =)

Mad,
No worries. I also pigged out over the past few days. My clothes are now tighter, thanks to kueh lapis, kueh bolu, love letters, pineapple tarts and other snacks! Hahaha. Take ur time to look ard for flats. It'll be fun. Maybe u could start with the classified ads in the papers and narrow down areas tt u're interested in, then go check the flats out =)

Hi Count

Thks for your compliments. Yup... sgwestie's my hubby. When's yr PS with NH? NH is really good! We enjoyed our PS with him very much.

My kua is not from sil. Don't really like Sil's kua. Wanted the traditional one, so we rented it from a shop called Chinatown Clasic in Chinatown.

As for my EG, the colour sample was provided by Sil. Initially also wanted turquoise blue. Then decided on lime green as it suit my skin tone better. The material was shantung silk. The colour wasn't that bright on the material but we were surprised how bright it turn out on photos. Probably u can ask Minda to show you the samples of the shantung silk.

When's yr next meeting with Minda?

Hi Madelaine,

Rented the kua for $328 for both PS and AD. We've been to House of Ettiquette too. You can go to Chinatown Classic to take a look too. The shop is along Smith Street. Their kuas are slightly different as they use the traditional buttons instead of zips.

Welcome back e'ryone!

All of sudden, I feel I've missed out so much....he..he....

Mad, I agree with you abt BV, though we're not paying 10 thousands of $$, but still, it's quite a substantial amt to be treated right. And tulips in Holland, yes, I love them, bought 100 stalks back to Ireland, really cheap, but, they don't seems to last long though.

Hi Count, wow, only started work not long, you really are very young then. Good, then you'll have lots of time to plan for babies.....! As for job for my hub, it's not very easy, as his position is rather niche & specific, not many in S'pore. But he's also looking out in other areas like the Banks.....

As for food, it's still not much of a problem, cause i managed to learn how to make things like, fried carrot cakes, chwee kuey & lor duck frm my MIL. We have the carrot cakes almost e'ry week. Talking abt BKK, will be going for a couple of days when we're back in S'pore. Need to get my haircut and also enjoy the massages there. There's this Japanese hairdresser I go to very often whenever I visit Bangkok. He's very good, was originally in S'pore with Shunji Matsuo. Oh yes, it's so much cheaper too. And you mean you don't like the food in BKK?? I thought they were good.....value for money too.... Just feels so good when you're in BKK, feels like a queen there.........

As for couses to take, would probably go for French. Was taking them for a couple of mths when in S'pore. Or even, take a look if they have any Chinese classes. You know, though we speak mandarin in S'pore, but I feel we all don't speak really proper Mandarin, maybe it's good to brush up the language too, esp. my written mandarin, really bad, probably can't even write a letter. Anyway, with China opening up, think we should seriously look into it. Have to go for short courses, as will travel back to S'pore e'ry few months, and also at times, may travel with hub.

JJ, your pics are really nice, you look so sweet. For a moment, I was wondering who is this, can't remember abt me requesting for your photos......he..he...he... Your pic was featured in the main page of SB right???

Sigh.....you girls talk abt the goodies you have, really missed it. And, also the angpows, though alrdy ROMed, but not customary yet, moreover, this is my last yr collecting angpows.....
kao_angry.gif

No wonder I thot JJ looked familiar....now I know why. Yah, agree with Mudpie...JJ looks so sweet!

Wow Mudpie, 100 stalks of tulips? Must be really nice. I remember my bf gave me a bouquet of tulips when i visited him in Montreal and it lasted for 2 weeks. Maybe its the weather there...flowers tend to last longer. Whereas here in S'pore, gosh, they wilt like almost immediately! Yah, heard that some of the reputable hairstylists here in S'pore have got salons in BKK or they have moved there.. and its much cheaper. I love the shopping and food there. So Count maybe you only like our authentic local food thats why u missed the food here right? Heard that the weekend market in BKK - Chatuchart (not sure if I spelt it right)will be closing this year. Apparently there is a new developer and will be increasing their rent 10 times. Hence many of them will be moving out. So I guess Mudpie U hv to go there if not no more Chatuchart next time.

Oh yah, I mentioned on this thread b4 that my friend got to keep her WG for free....she was with BV. Lucky her...I guess Hui Min liked her.