Silhouette the Atelier

me too going ....

Hi BB,

what's happening? Fill me in please? I've been outta touch coz been swarmed by work... is your sister and hubby going with you? or you going with Rokko only? Can I tagg along please?

hi TT,
lotsa weddings on your hands recently?

grand copthorne waterfront is having a bridal event and silhouette will be showcasing their gowns.
my sister is sitting this out...so it's just the fiance and i. rokko and ck will there too!
i presume, with their men in tow....heheh...this is getting exciting. why dun you drag ngaip heng along? this should be fun.

What an active thread. I love the service at Sil too...going back for my second fitting next week. So excited

Hi Sleepy: My MUA would be Jasmine too. Just wondering..do you know what her style is like? My AD is in Jan too ..Now also busy with preps and house stuff...

<font color="0000ff">tintin:</font> hi tintin! sil bridal show is on 10 oct 12-5pm at grand copthorne waterfront... yah do come!!! busybee, ck and me will be there - tho' we prob wont recognise one another!!!

hey mebbe we shld all try to identify ourselves there, so at least we can place a face to the names! ;p i recognise tintin of cos... but i sure wld like to meet busybee and ck!!

<font color="ff0000">ck:</font> tintin's FH is niap heng from The Pond Photography... and since she's the lovely lao-ban-niang (hehe), she wld be tied up wif niap heng at bridal shoots as well!

<font color="119911">sweetpea:</font> hi sweetpea! wow second fitting - that's so exciting! and that's the time when u get to have ur trial makeup too! remember to have ur camera to click away yah?
btw may i ask who's ur designer?

Rokko, I know how busybee looks like coz she's been to my studio before. You recognise me? Humm... have you popped by my studio before? Sorry, I can't seem to put a face to your name.

BB, so have you decided on a date in dec for your wedding?

I am actually interested in engaging Sil's services. However I am not very sure of their price range. Can someone pls provide me with their package details so I won't get a shock when
i go for my appointment?

pls email me @ [email protected]
Thanks a lot!

hi cutepigs! i think it's better to speak to the designers personally cos sil's style is more ala carte - they charge you according to what you need... perhaps with photography it could cost you something like 5k? sorry i cant really input much - mine's a lot more ala carte (minus photograhy and a few other items) so mine's more of an atypical package

but do go down to visit them anyway! they're really nice and as you prob can already see from the threads here, most of us are already half in love with the designers there!

tintin: yep yep u prob dun remember but yes i popped by your studio b4.... hehe

hi sweatpea,
am happy and excited for you too!
i'm going to sign up with silhouette really soon(perhaps after the show)...and am already dreaming about the gown. heheh....

hey TT,
still working late into the night? work is so very dreary...thank goodness for this thread and all you ladies here! else my mailbox will only be flooded with work stuff...eek....

i've sorta zero-ed in on a couple of dates for next december and one of which happens to be your big day and the other, just a few days later.

hi cutepigs,
rokko is right. drop by, try their gowns and talk to them. the silhouette designers are great! relax and enjoy your session with anyone of them cos they're definitely not the pushy sort and i'm sure they'd work smthg out for you according to your needs.

hey rokko,
you know how we used to meet people at the mrt station control? heheh....think we should all run to tintin at the show and our problem will be solved!
and ck can look out for a group of 3 laughing gals.

Hi rokko,

Sorry that I forgot who you are... I can't seem to put a real name to your nickname. Therefore I am not able to put a face to the real name. But when you see me and Ngiap Heng please come over and say hi ok?

Ha ha... yes 3 laughing gals and 3 blur husbands...

BB get married on the same day lar... then host a beach party at Siloso at night then we can combine resources. I'm sure your sister would love the idea... and we will have no lack of photograhers at the party...

TT, you having party at sentosa meh? isn't it at marriott?
hmmm....wedding party at siloso sounds fun but since my parents would be scandalised and i dun have the funds to throw 2 parties, i'd just have to wait patiently till the day my sister ties the knot. she gets away with most things since she's the baby of the family.

so it's tintin, rokko, ck and busybee having a rendezvous at the waterfront yah? anymore happy people going for the show? hehhh...so fun!

BB,
Lunch for family is at Marriott, Dinner is a bbq beach party with liveband (minus the $4.6k foam machine)
and bikini babes and boardshorts hunks... If you want to have REAL fun you know that family and friends should not be put together wat... :p

Have you all receieved your invitation cards from Female already? I still have not...

TT,
no enough funds lah, so friends and family gotta party together. yeah, i was wondering when female would start sending out the invitations....havent received mine too.

i'm freezing away in the office now. the weather has been pretty dismal lately...

BB,

Yeah I know... the studio weather been killing our bridal shoots...
I'll be in Bangkok next week for retail therapy will be back just in time for the wedding show

wahhh...retail therapy in bangkok! i'd love that too, except it's impossible for me to leave now.

eh! where's rokko and ck ah?

im here! im here! hehee...

and busybee... HAPPY CHILDREN'S DAY!!!! how nice to have a holiday today leh... but im not on holiday altho im also a teacher - only that my students are not "children" anymore... tho' they often still act like one! hehee

and busybee i ditto that about not having enuff funds so family and frens gotta party together... hehee...

hey u know tintin &amp; busybee - i've received the female's invitation card abt a week ago!!! but mebbe becos i sent the cheque out early? well, i shld think the invites will be coming soon for the both of u!!

BB... we've been working our rear ends off like crazy... both of us just need sometime off from meeting couples and spend sometime alone as a couple... its be crazy for us and its gonna be that way till ching ming next year... can imagine...?

Happy Children's Day.

Actually if you have eg fourty tables of family and friends... just have two twently tables meals... the price is the same...

And honestly... friends are not THAT particular about food so you can actually save by bringing them to somewhere cheaper... hee...

hey rokko! where have you been?
how soon did you receive the invi after you sent out the registration/cheque? that will be like a good gauge and i can brace myself for *gasp* rejection! bleak thought indeed...blame it on the weather.

TT,
is it raining in the east too?
my head is spinning with all the pre-wedding preps and have decided to leave the decision, where banquet venue is concern, to the fiance. heheh...like that i can go back to dreaming about the wedding gown.

speaking of which, when are you starting with your gown, rokko? and TT, will you still be keeping the VW design? it's gorgeous and so very you!

Yes my dear BB it is pissing down in the east too... The VeraWang is to keep. I will be wearing it at Marriott... you think that's gorgeous... wait till you see the one Heath is making for me... its made up of full lace with white beading and pearl like stuff sewn on it. Its got a long train with a even longer veil. I am trying to "saiko" Heath to scallop the veil with the flowers from the lace. The gown is made to Ngiap Heng's specifications
So that I can WOW him over at the church entrance... hee hee...

This is how the fabric looks like... very me too right?

167251.jpg

OMG! it's gorgeous!!
you know what? initially, i was crazy about a full lace WG, but somehow i looked mumsy in it. aiyah, guess i can't carry it off.
will most likely be having a girlish kinda gown with beadings and embroidery on organza over duchess satin. the fiance and sister agreed that it's more me. heeeheee...
but miah said he'd see what he can do for the EG, so that i get my lace anyway. gosh..can't wait to sign up and start!

has anyone else received the invitation cards to the bridal show at waterfront?
I am still waiting for mine... if there is one

hi busybee, rokko, tin tin and cutepigs...

have not received my invitation card yet ...
maybe tonight check my mailbox ...
i sent the cheque out last monday ...
should be receiving my invitation soon ... i hope !!

hey tintin,
your pic looks nice ...
your gown some more long train ...
soo nice ....

been quiet lately ..
happy belated children's day to all !!
was my birthday too ...

went to night safari on sat night ...
and ted wu's bridal show at four seasons yest ..
cool ....
very gorgeous gowns ... beautiful ..
simply lovely ..
now i'm patiently awaiting sil coming show ...

<font color="0000ff">busybee:</font> geez... i cant really remember how long after i sent the cheque that i received the invitation... perhaps a week later?? heehee u're funny lah - no way they'll reject you!! it might be the sudden deluge of registration forms pouring in that's keeping the female staff busy...

<font color="ff6000">tintin:</font> oooh the lace looks gorgeous!!!! heath sounds like he's doing a great job on your full lace gown!!!! btw knowing how expensive lace can be, is it costing you a lot?? like busybee, i cant really take full lace gowns too.... going for duchess satin wif embriodery instead....

<font color="ff0000">cutepigs:</font> yes! there's an invitation card - i've received mine liao...

<font color="aa00aa">ck:</font> so u went to ted wu show... was it nice?? tempted to sign up wif ted wu or not?? i was deciding between ted wu and sil at one point, but sil (&amp; miah!!) won me over... heh... and is hotel inter-con nice? it was one of my choices initially cos i heard it's v nice!

hi rokko,

yes .. ted wu's gowns are all good !!
in fact very good ...
every piece ... is different ..
in a way ... not all are tube tops ...
there are those that looks like silk ...
flowy ....
basically the colours ...
are soo vibrant ... with printed flower ...
some are plain colours ... but very bright colours ...matching colours are really nice ..
u know wat i mean ?
like if the gown is light green ... there's a mathing strap that is dark green ..
i notice that most of the gowns have buttons at the back ...
but seems nice ...
overall i really luv it !!
simply classy and beautiful ...

it's at four seasons ..
ermmm didn't go for inter-con hotel ..

happy belated hatchday to you, ck!!
there were loads of us celebrating the day with you. we always have lotsa happy teachers and children on that day, you see.

yeah, was struggling between sil and ted wu at one point, but all i can think about now is putting the signature on the dotted line and geting started with miah!

rokko,
so you've started on your gown...so exciting! heeee....

should be fun meeting you guys at the show come sunday, but still no invi....*brood*

hmmnn ...
i'm home ..
but i did not see any invitation card !!

i'm also awaiting my marina mandarin invitation featuring allure charix ..

busybee,
thanx ...
ha ha ... ya ya ...

Hi gals, how's your experience with sil? am currently looking for a bridal boutique, went thru tonnes of mags, and fall in love with sil gowns. my customary will be in sept'05 and i'm PANICKING!

<font color="ff0000">ck:</font> ooops paiseh leh... i know there's another bridal show at intercon... oh yah the ted wu one was at four seasons rite?? hehee *blur me* oh oh happy belated bday to u too!!! hehee... hope your day was every bit as special as it should be!!!
so how did you spend your special day???

<font color="0000ff">busybee:</font> hey no i hvnt started on my gowns at all... since my AD is only sept next year and im prob going to skip the PS part, so i guess the gown doesn't need to be out in a hurry
miah says measurements only to be taken in mar/apr next year!!! so LOTS of time... hee

<font color="aa00aa">marilyn:</font> hi hi!!! if u read all our comments above about sil (and all archived posts), u will realise that we all LOVE sil and its designers!!! (c'mon where are the pom-poms and cheerleaders? hee)... have u gone down to talk to the designers and to take a look at their gowns yet? you should!!! the service is impeccable (my designer miah was the main reason why i signed up wif sil - i know i can trust him!) and the gowns are lovely, designed according to the bride's preference and personality.... i hvnt started my gown designing but miah has already let me try on a gown which im already so in love with!!! so im prob gonna take a similar design to that

just curious, would bridal shops eg sil/ted wu or whoever else use the bridal gowns that they designed for the brides as their fashion show pieces?

as in the models get to wear it for the show first before the bride on her wedding day (that means bride wears it second had?)

hi rokko,

yes ted wu's 3rd Oct show was at four seasons ..

thanx too for wishing me ..
he he ..
1st Oct never go anywhere lo ..
went for facial then ate pastamania at tampines ..
wondering why soo many ppl eat the pasta there ..
not really fantastic ...
in fact not to my liking ..
2nd Oct went to night safari ..

hi aureus,
i dun think bridal shop like sil or ted wu would do such thing ...
it's not too ethical isn't it ?

those that are worn by models are normally off the rack ...
if u made to measure ... it's purely yours ...
u wear it first ...

yeah rokko...here comes!
168057.gif

yes, marilyn...i canna agree enough with rokko. do drop by silhouette if you havent already done so!

hi aureus,
ck is right on that. boutiques like silhouette and ted wu would never do anything to mess with their reputation. moreover, MTM gowns are made specially for you and you only, thus they might not even look good on the models...heheh...dun think reputed bridal boutiques would want that on the runway.

yo, rokko!
looks like i'm gonna have a headstart on the gown first
though my AD is in december. planning to have the ps in june(ladidadida...everything revolves around mar-jun-sep-dec), so might hafta start working on the dream dress soon! oh so exciting!!

btw, who are your AD photographers again? so good lah you...almost everything settled.

thanks gals...

was just wondering about it. every fashion show has that many gowns...just wonder where they all came from, and what they do with all those gowns after that.

how does one tell whether the made to measure is really a made to measure.
i had some friends who made theirs at some tnajong pagar area shops which told them that theirs is a mtm one, but turned out to be a remodified dress from somewhere else. they said that they could see inside the dress got extra sewing, and one even said first fitting, fit nicely, the next fitting, was too tight. made her suspicious.

<font color="0000ff">ck:</font> hehee yah pastamanian seems to attract many people... even the one at cineleisure seems perpetually crowded!! i've just started on my facials - never believed in facials but now that i've started, i'm so mightily pleased! here's to all of us being 'mei-mei' brides on our weddings! heh

<font color="ff0000">busybee:</font> hahaa... c'mon, gimme a S... gimme a I... gimme a L.... hahaaa... it's almost like back to those school days when we all had to rah-rah our lungs out to cheer for our school... heh... hey u getting a head-start huh? yah i guess miah then has to churn out the gowns for u by june yah? so when u starting the gown designing part with miah? i might start that in dec - so perhaps i'll bump into u at sil!!! heh

<font color="ff6000">aureus:</font> hmmm i've gone to a few BS including sil, ted wu, kai, etc etc while BS-shopping and i was told that usu. for bridal shows, they churn out new gowns and new designs for the models... but after that these gowns become OTR for brides who may take a liking to them, so they can take a OTR package instead... altho' at kai i did see a GORGEOUS lace and organza WG which was made for fashion show and MTM for a model who had an impossibly small waist.... and i was told if i wanted that WG, i had to pay MTM price for it cos it was an expensive piece of WG due to the lace and the long long train... but somehow becos i didn't feel comfortable paying MTM prices for something that's taken OTR (all they had to do was to expand the waistline... hee), i didn't sign up for kai... altho it's such a lovely lovely lovely gown... sigh

actually at all these reputable BS like sil, kai, ted wu, etc, they will never compromise their reputation by giving you a used WG and try to pass it off as a new MTM WG...

rokko,
were you from a girls school? man, it so reminded me of how we could actually out-cheer the guys, cos they can never scream like us.

<font color="0000ff">busybee:</font> yep i was from a girls school, and a super-on one at that... plus the fact that i used to be from a uniformed group in my sec school - super 'garang' one, even the guys frm other schools were scared of us! hahaa... u sound like u were from a girls school as well... perchance we were from the same school?? hee

Harrow ladies...

In an internet cafe at the moment so I thot I pop in and say Hi !

Rokko you an all gal school gal too? wow... quite a few gal power ladies here huh? ;) Maybe we call all do a cheer together on Sunday huh? Ha ha...

yeah, tintin! girrrrl power!!!
you know, i actually miss those pinafore days...my sister and i would talk about how comfy it was, except perhaps when the white shirt started riding up.
then we'd look like cousins of the hunchback of notre dame.

rokko,
excuse my typo error hor. heard my boss's voice floating above the work stations, so had to type real quick.

ahhh...i can smell the weekend....

alrighty!!!! we do a cheer on sunday!!! gimme a S... gimme a I... gimme a L... what do we have? SIL! can't hear u! SIL! say that again SILLLLL!!!!!!!!

hahahaa.... friday madness!!! TGIF!!!

hey so are we gonna try to recognise one another? waddya all think? how shld we do this then??? ;p

yeah, it's friday and we've got lots to cheer about! though i dun get my 5 day work week yet *keeping fingers crossed*, hope that gets straightened out come 2005. i've got loads to look forward to next year yah? heheheh...

hmmm...rokko and i have both met tintin, so "the pond couple" would be the landmark?
wait...i may have TT's mobile number somewhere...i'd check when i get home.

ck, what about you? what should we look out for?

sorrie for didn't replying ...
my boy boy anti sosial ...
he wants to be alone ..
he he ...

gals .. u saw the gal on the stage for the 1st prize ...
i'm the gal !!

there's a catch to the prize ...
must have my wedding there !!
so i dun qualify !!
now i'm selling it off at a cheap cheap price ..
dunno whether ppl interested or not ..
sigh ..