SG Bridal in JB

hi ladies!
i am browsing thru the forum and realised SG bridal produced great gowns and pics! im shortlisting this BS!

im quite surprised that we still have to pay tax for the wedding album done in msia. very unfair!

pls add me into your list! my AD in 23rd Jan 2011.

Shery's & Esthee ADs: 26 Sept 2009
Xinyi's AD: 28 Nov 2009
Jing Yuh's AD: 23 May 2010
Chloe's AD: 29 Sept 2009
Dione's AD:
Autumncandy's AD: Nov 2011 (most likely 11 Nov 2011)
Misspiggy's AD: 10 Oct 2010
Fashion Closet: 21 Sept 2009
Angel's AD:
Lydia's AD: 18 Dec 2010 (tentative)
Valerie's AD:
Huiling's AD:
Baby pie's AD: 23 Jan 2011

Hihi baby, added! Yups, very unfair lor, why gowns also must tax, why album oso must tax...why the 2 days gst credit rules apply...aiyo, i oso dunno how..

Xinyi...if put early date, still got passport, they'll know when we go in and go out. I think the crux lies in the invoice amt leh or how well u camouflage ur gowns...but i think cannot camouflage lor, so many...alamak! Hehe...

Dione's AD:
Angel's AD:
Valerie's AD: 5 June 2010 (TBC)
Huiling's AD:

Wow Angel you'll be the first among the SG brides for your AD! Congrats!

A piece of advice from my m'sia friend, if you are bringing bulky items into singapore like gowns or albums, it's best that we go thru the custom by car because they seldom will check thru the whole car or the car boot of local cars.

otherwise i think like lydia said lor, book 1 hotel and stay there for a night then come back only after the next day's evening to play around with the 2 days thingy lor.

think it's realli heng suay bah.. we hav so many gowns n we cant hide anywhere in the car.. haiz.. realli see how bah..

i've rearranged according to chronological order..

>Angel: gong xi gong xi!! your big day is less than a month away!
Angel's AD: 20 May 2009
Dione's AD:
Huiling's AD:

Dione's AD: 25 July 2010
Huiling's AD:

Hey babes, ask you all ar.. What colour would be a good colour for shoes to fit all kinds of gown colours? White? Silver? Milky White? Or should bring 2 pairs? But what colours? *headache* Where to get the shoes ar? Not too ex kind..

Hi Autumncandy,
I shdn't hv complained of not hvg this and that...most importantly is to feel happy and blissful to be able to start our own family. Hey wat about renting a Chalet to "Chu Jia" from? Good idea ma? My HTB said it juz looks like a wooden house, really?

Xinyi, i think mirror is very important coz no matter what, the MUA will hv to look at u in the mirror. Ask u to smile, see if your eyes are balanced..not one big and one small..then u'd also want to see the progress rite? And thank you for re-arranging the ADs in chronological order, hahaha!!

Angel, 20th May is so soon..less than a month! U must be very busy by now!!! Congratulations =D

So Lydia, u mean Singapore custom will tax? Not the MY side? Or sekali both of them tax? *KICK KICK KICK*

Dione, i think Silver colour shoes is the solution... OG near Bugis has a quite good collection.. =)

With Lydia's strong recommendation, I have signed up with SG Bridal last Saturday. After seeing the photos uploaded by Angel, Shery & Jing Yuh at Facebook, I know I have made the right choice. Hee, I have heard of the 'tax' issue & have requested for Ivy to issue a separate receipt for me, & she agreed.

True, it's so easy to have conflicts during the wedding preparation period. I am facing the same issue too. It's so comforting knowing that it's quite the norm.

Huiling's AD: March/April 2010

hi huiling welcome to be 1 of the SG brides!

Hey Shery, yah I guess what's most important is both you and your htb have to really talk and discuss all the issues. we decided that i'll rent a chalet to "chu jia" since it's gonna be easier for me too. and i think only singapore custom will tax. haven got taxed in malaysia custom before yet *touch wood*

Dione, it depends on what kind of gown you looking at. for me i preferred silver cos my gown is ivory and white. you can try those shoe shops in city square or holiday plaza in malaysia, i bought mine at holiday plaza for RM$69.

i also bought my heels already...Cost SGD 49 at Charles & Keith,it's white color with lace,i love it so much~,just wonder whether need to buy another pair to match WG,but the dress will cover the shoes,so still need to buy another pair??

esthee, i think it depends if your shoes will be seen while you walk or not. if it doesn't show for your WG then I think just 1 pair should be enough.

ya man girls, i am busy... and tired. tht's why u dun see me replying or active in the thread... and the scariest part is i have not yet seen my album layout... gg in this sat... i hope it will be a good job so i dun need to change anything. does anyone know how the viewing of the layout usually goes? how long is it ecpected to be?

wow...i think i missed alot of discussion... please put me in the list as well.. my AD is 3rd Oct, mid-autumn festival~~

well, i also facing some mil problem lah, sure have one.. coz they heartpain that their son spent so much on us mah... and elderly usually wants a more traditional way but yet not splurging too much. my mil has no chance to comment when i signed SG, coz after we signed then only tell her tt we chosen a BS.but for banquet my fil decided the venue, i am fine with it, let him has the say, at least they feel involved. for the dishes menu, i will juz leave it to them to decide..

hihi Huiling, welcome! Me too experience conflicts with my htb and sometimes MIL...grr!!! But wanna seek peace, trying to be nice to her & bless her whenever i can...hope everyone can live in peace & harmony...but sometimes, quite hurt by what she does eg. treat me as TRANSPARENT! Anw, our rel getting a bit better, hope it will further improves in days to come =)

Xinyi, thanks for helping to rearrange, can really see better now!

Yulei, added your AD as below

Angel, btw, i emailed to Serene (one of the SG Bride) and ask her ur qns. She's the one who intro SG Bridal to mi and without her, i'll be so lost! She's my jun1 shi1 lor...hahaha (*o*)once she reply, will post it on this thread, hehehe

Yulei's AD: 3 Oct 2009
Huiling's AD: March/April 2010

Lydia, thanks

I am getting a tad nervous. recently rather irritable and emotional... think it's PMS-pre marriage syndrome... i hope i will be pleasantly surprised when i go see the album layout in 2 days' time

I'm wondering hor, if take bus in, we normali clear the passport side b4 scanning our stuff ma, den how will the officer who scan our stuff know how long we've been in msia? if he pulls us one side to check passport.. very paisay one rite? :P

wow! the thread is moving really fast!

for tax wise, i think the prob lies in singapore custom, not malaysia. its so unfair for them to charge us taxes.

misspiggy> the officer who scan our stuff will not know how long we have been in msia, unless they are those nasty ones who spot check us and pull us aside to check passport loh. and i agree that this is quite paiseh.

talking abt MIL issues, its never ending. previously i also got some issues with her. but only after rom, i truly knows she cares for me too. so i also try to close 1 eye. now while we are sourcing for AD stuff, she also comment saying dun spend so many this and that. hahaha. i also try to turn a deaf ear loh.

> Dione, my frens told me to go peninsula plaza.. think mos impt thing, u mus know the colour of all your gowns first, then can buy 1 or 2 heels to match your gowns.. i tot silver or ivory are safe? anyway, think i'll try to buy somethg which i will wear in normal times..

> Yulei, 3rd oct is zhong qiu jie!! wanted that day at first but the date is so popular till almost all nice hotels are booked already.. where is your dinner?

> Angel, no worries la.. u will see nice nice albums soon..

> misspiggy, my htb told me it's really heng suay prob.. we are also hoping the customs wun check us.. but u know lor.. singapore custom definitely stricter de.. they check the boots all the time even if there's a jam.. but keeping our fingers crossed..

Hi Angel...advice from Serene
Hope it's helpful

"Anyway, viewing of layouts can be very fast depending on ur expectation. For me, I did the viewing less than 30mins cos i have nothing to amend. It's really depends on you.... Some gals can go in several times just for the viewing cos' they changed many things... I would suggest that you inform Sg Bridal the kind of style u like or prefer (i.e. dramatic... simple... romantic... superstar...) before ur PS as well as during photo selection....

Depending on how much time u have... Not sure whether the timeline is still the same. Production of albums & other stuffs need at least 2 weeks hence if you have less than a mth but u wanna amend, probably u won't get to see the final revised one cos time too tight... U have to work out ur time early and always give at least a month before ur AD to collect the final products....

This is just my past experience. It would be best if u check with Sg Bridal again... =)"

Baby, xinyi's right! I also know that we don't have to worry about the transportation, they'll provide a nice car to ferry us around =)

glad to know transport is provided. what i realised is that most JB BS will provide transport for outdoor, unlike SG BS.
*yucks*
:P

Lydia, i agree with serene. if can just do PS earlier coz we will have more time to see layout if we are a more fussy person. and its important to communicate with PG pior to PS in order to let them know what you want.

my AD in jan 2011, so prolly i will have my PS done in May-June. hahahaha

Having talk so much, i havent even step into SG Bridal to sign! :P

yar yar yar, baby pie, u are right! I was like u, fun nao, where to get a car, where to rent, when to rent blah blah blah, just to realize that SG Bridal got provide the car...coz previously, i was exploring singapore bridal shops, went to ZWed in singapore they said they don't provide leh, i nd to find car for them! So i thought, wun provide...then i realized SG Bridal got provide luxurious car to ferry us around! So good!

dun worry ladies, already planned! hehe
coz my wedding date still far, i won't want to commit anything yet but SG Bridal really attracts me!

furthermore, i can't even book my banquet. so most prob i will settle banquet then follow by SG bridal. i havent even settle my gowns in SG! hahaha ... but i will still hang out here and look out for best deals when it comes!

lydia> yeah. agree. last time i went BS shopping in SG with my GF, and was told by a few BS that we need to provide transport. Big turn off manz! i can't imagine i still need to pay parking while doing indoor shots, and MORE parking during outdoor. not forgetting ERP....

actually i stay in woodlands. so its very convenience for me to go JB rather than town. hehe... what kind of luxurious car they have?
*curious

haha, i oso dunno, i haven't do my photoshoot yet...just told and knw it was a luxurious car!

Anyone can advise, what car did SG use to ferry you for the photo shoot?

babypie, if you want we can go in together! i've confirm on the stuffs that I want and to bargain for already, just that me and my htb are busy with work for the time being.

yup they provide transport to ferry us in from the custom also. i'm thinking of going in next wkend to sign up! anyone going there too?

Xinyi, well.. this is a hot dates, and i have a hard time to book for videoman and make up artist as well. chose this date coz 'moon is round and man reunion' haha.. sounds old fashion. i have my banquet in JB, just that me and my HTH studied in singapore for O's, A's and degree. sad to say, we have our banquet as lunch, coz dinner is fully booked and we dun wish to change to another date.

Angel, no worries, you look great in ur photos shown in FB, ur album will be a great one.. trust SG as well... wat u have to do now is relax and be prepared to be the fabulous bride on ur big day!!

autumncandy> as much as i wanted, this weekend i will be overseas. i dun intend to book so early for the pre-wedding shots coz i havent settle my venue yet. Thanks for the invite. perhaps i can tag along next time when the ladies here going for photo selection or something? :P

lydia> i guess hor, their car will be like MPV. just have a feeling its MPV...

xinyi/misspiggy> yeah, from their pics and the gowns they have, i do believe they are good. even at their service ba!

btw, my photo taking is on 19th may, outdoor only in JB local area, but i am a bit regret and feel like adding desaru as another outdoor scene, anybody can advice on this? like how much they going to charge me, will i get additional page and poses for the top up?

my HTB loves desaru photos after i show him Angel's and Jacqueline's one..

>yulei, oh.. so u met ur htb in s'pore? think additional charge for another location, if i'm not wrong, they quote me RM 300 then..

> all ladies:
1. planning my leave for the whole year now.. can someone advise, normally when do we choose our AD gowns? my ps is in sept, AD in nov..
2. when we go desaru, can we choose which spots we wan to have our fotos taken?

thank u thank u!!

Wahhh, this thread is really moving so fast!!

Warm welcome to all new BTB signing up with SG Bridal ^_____^

Autumncandy, which chalet u will be "chu jia-ing" from? Can share wif me how much it costs u?

My first draft will be out end of May..my wedding is in Sept, i'll have 5 months to change if there's anything to amend! Wuahahaha...

In regards to the tax, i think we shd juz get our coordinator to issue a separate 'fake' invoice as backup plan to overcome any undesirable attitudes of the immi officer.

Hey i oso bot my white (kinda silver-ish colour) in City Square, in this shop called "sugar" smth... they hv quite numbers of good shoes i must say

haha.. actually i 1st met him in JB, then we lost contact.. then bump to each other at checkpoint... haha.. and the stories go on...

top up RM300, then can consider....

hey misspiggy, i might be going in on 30th since i'm on leave =) but have to check with my htb to see which day is his off day since he's working shift =(

hey xinyi, i think so long as it's weekend or holiday the custom will be jammed. but the new m'sia custom is much better now isn't it?

hey yulei, i don't think they'll give additional pages or pose even if you request for additional location. im selecting desaru even though i like KT more cos my htb feels that there's more things to shoot at desaru. initially wanted to add sultan garden but then the thought of the bugs freaks me out so i give it a miss.

hey Shery, i'm deciding between Amara Sanctuary and Coasta Sands Pasir Ris. Pricing and location wise Coasta Sands will definately be better but we'll have to decorate the place and the poor jie meis will have to stand outside the chalet for the blocking of the groom.

Amara Sanctuary is very romantic and nice but then it's at Sentosa and is very ex! I'm having headaches with these 2 places now. My friend is asking me to consider a bridal suite at hotel. I've seen the deluxe bridal suite at York hotel and I think it's quite good =)

autumncandy, sultan garden also have lots of bugs? coz i heard from Angel, Desaru has lots of unknown bugs, and i am freaking delicious towards all the mosquitoes and allies...

i have not decided yet la... but overall if no added pose or pages, i will end up topping up lot.. which i dun intend to. coz i am also getting a album 10' x 10' for my actual day...

yo girls,
xinyi, i choose my AD gowns last sat... so it's about a mth earlier from AD... actually it all depends on u... i like to settle things quickly so i choose earlier den i have a peace of mind... besides u will have time to change ur mind.

Lydia, thanks for the info... it really helps. btw the car the use for me, erm i think it's an mpv.. rather spacious... but kevin is a daredevil when he drives... i was regretting not buying travel insurance when i sat in the car...haha.
yulei, yes i kena bug bites... and sunburnt... it's been abit more than a month since my photoshoot but my bug bites is still there... fading away but still there... but there are pple who dun get the bites... like jacqueline... so better be prepared

hi yulei, i'm also a bug magnet but my htb insisted on desaru cos he felt that if we go on a windy day there'll be less bugs. -_-" i'm praying hard on this now.

hi angel, did you bring along any insect repellent and sunblock when you go for your photoshoot? i heard from another friend, she brought along insect repellent from the army and is quite effective.

just my advise, maybe if you have anyone in NS now can ask them to give you a bottle.