SG Bridal in JB

Hey Shery, my coordinator is nicole, same as yours! she remembers you so well that she has been telling me how long you took to chose those photos because you loved all of them! haha.

we haven sign yet because there's a lot of things my htb wants to change and bargain for but we already told nicole that we'll surely come back! my htb can't wait to go back and sign liao! haha.

Lydia, yes I know Chee Hwa! He's my ex colleague and a nice friend indeed! What a small world!

Anyway I think I'm the most kiasu bride here. My AD is Nov 2011! But my htb and I are deciding between 0ct this yr to ROM or oct 2010 cos we intend to invite friends for a solemnization buffet for our ROM then AD is solely for family only. still working on our budget now haha!

My cousin's wedding just pass in March and her bridal studio is Venus.. Let me ask her how she manage to not pay the tax and get back to you girls

Aiyooo! Since when MY becomes so kiang?!! Grgrgr...yeah we better get more info whether they'll charge when the driver is driving MY or SG car..must plan properly ar!!

Valerie, haha..i think we can consider your idea :P

Jing Yuh, it's okay, May next year oso quite soon liao la =)

Xinyi, oh good news, u've settled with the most important thing liao! Yay!!

Hey autumncandy,
Hahaha..ya Nicole was our witness...we reli took 6hrs solid to decide which photos to be in the album. As for me and HTB, we think it will be cheaper & more convenient to arrange two events in one day. Good thing is, we don't hv to get confused over which anniversary date to celebrate next time. Wuahaha... also, my parents wun allow me to stay wif him unless we've married customarily so... that's the best decision for us.

Xinyi, that's a good idea. Gals, let's compile our ADs here. Please add your dates, and do forgive me if i missed out any name =)

Shery's & Esthee ADs: 26 Sept 2009
Xinyi's AD: 28 Nov 2009
Jing Yuh's AD: 23 May 2010
Chloe's AD: 29 Sept 2009
Dione's AD:
Autumncandy's AD:
Misspiggy's AD:
Fashion Closet:
Angel's AD:
Lydia's AD:
Valerie's AD:

Hey Shery,
yah agree with you that it'll be easier to remember if all is done in 1 day but cos his parents insisted on grand dinner (but refuse to pay anything) and my htb and i prefer a lunch informal buffet so we decide to spilt into 2 days to cut the budget. otherwise i'll be a big burn on our pockets cos his family insisted to have dinner at hotel!

I've heard of couples being charged before too, think it's best if you don't bring the albums and gowns back together unless you're driving. lucky me that i might not be taking those actual day stuffs cos we already have our own outfits.

Dione's AD:
Autumncandy's AD: Nov 2011 (most likely 11 Nov 2011)
Misspiggy's AD:
Fashion Closet:
Angel's AD:
Lydia's AD:
Valerie's AD:

Hi Autumncandy,
it's very difficult..feels like the one who gets married is us, but actually it involves everyone in the family..like we must satisfy our parents needs too..Actually one of the factors y we decided to do 2 in one day coz the ROM setting, sound system, etc is FOC...and we only have less than 15 tables..so our pocket hole isn't that big. Oh, so you wont be renting gowns from SG for ur AD hor!

My AD is 10th Oct 2010.

Gotten news from my cousin le.. she say venus helped them fake an invoice stating everything that is inside cost abt only RM$2000 so even if tax only ard $20-$30. she got stopped at sg customs but they let her off even when she told them its for their wedding. They were driving singapore car.

However, she ever heard of brides getting taxed, some worst, they bought those wedding bears n shoes etc but nv remove price tag, so those got taxed too!

so pt to take note: remove all price tag and remind sg to give us a fake invoice of a much lesser amt so tat if suay suay get tax oso not a big hole in our pocket!

Hi Autumncandy,

i understand how u feel.. my bf's msian so the dad wants another dinner in JB, so we're doing juz a lunch reception in s'pore for my side and a dinner banquet in JB for his side.

No choice have to split 2 sides..

Dione's AD:
Misspiggy's AD:
Fashion Closet:
Angel's AD:
Lydia's AD: 18 Dec 2010 (tentative)
Valerie's AD:

Dione's AD:
Misspiggy's AD: 10 Oct 2010
Fashion Closet:
Angel's AD:
Valerie's AD:

Hi Misspiggy, thank you for your info! So i guess the fake invoice will be in action when we collecting our gowns for AD.

Wah,like that i'm considered qt lucky. Tho HTB is Msian, his father isn't very particular of hvg another dinner in JB. Instead, we'll juz hv a simple lunch with his relatives & close friends who can't attend the wedding dinner in Sg on the same day. It will be a super packed day for me ah.. Plus all the jam coz of F1 racing day...i think i can juz sleep in the car la..

Dione's AD:
Fashion Closet:
Angel's AD:
Valerie's AD:
Huiling's AD:

I add one more btb, she's oso SG Bride...Huiling...but i not sure of her date...hehehe..

Hi Shery, yah it's very tough. my htb has got demanding family members (those overseas insisted that we have to wait till they got the time to come back to singapore then we can hold our dinner) and i almost quarrel over our wedding issue because of my future MIL *sighz* but lucky my htb is still supportive of whatever i decided so still ok. yah cos i already got 2 gowns! but i really love SG's evening gowns leh.. see how as it goes i guess?

Hi Misspiggy, thanks a lot for your info! so you having both sides on same day like Shery or spilt into different days?

Hi Autumncandy,
Me and HTB do quarrel (not almost) coz of the wedding stuff too...again it's becoz of family problem..like hw he doesn't like my parents for being so secretive whether or not they coming down to Singapore for the "meet the parents" session. If not he and his parents will plan to fly over to Jakarta. Sometimes i wonder, shouldn't we be in a more lovey-dovey mood coz gog to get married soon? Haiz.... i hope this is a common problem.

Mine will b split to 2 days.. haiz... same prob here lor. we also coz of wedding quarrel. bf's parents want to see date, wan to buy new hse, so jb date not settled yet. i am quite anxious coz i wan to see wat date n all ma, but his parents say its next yr y worry etc.. in fact we dun even dare to tell them we book SG and at wat price! coz they're so set in their old thinking saying bridal shoots shld not spend more den RM2000 and when i say i wan to go for the bridal fair they keep commenting y so early! in order to stop all the quarrels, i wash my hands off the msia dinner
i juz concentrate on my singapore lunch.

my HTB also malaysian but his family is small as his parents are divorced so they are all coming over.Now are headaches to help them get accomodation.if anyone has good lobang likr service apartment can let me know.

Dione's AD:
Fashion Closet: 21 Sept 2009
Angel's AD:
Valerie's AD:
Huiling's AD:

shery where will ur dinner be held at?cos mine also very small group onli 10tables so in the end we are holding @ Singapore Art Musem (glass hall).we are having our solemization and dinner in 1 day.it already cos us a bomb as the venue itself is already $4k and the food is $6k = $10k.

initially we thought we can have a simple one and save the money for honeymoon but looks like the more simple the more u spend.

mine also round 12 tables small event.. but i agree the simpler the more ex it is..

luckily BS cheaper coz sign up wif SG instead of those in singapore!

haha,,agree agree
misspiggy where is ur AD venue? cos i have a hard time when we are searching for our venue cos we wanted smthing special and exclusive.at first we wanted poolside but most of the hotel pool is small and some dun allow us to have buffet by the pool.and also we need to spend money on tentage also which is quite ex too.

my venue is four seasons.. they have this crescent ballroom that is just nice, max can hold 16 tables, min is 12..

at first we wanted rasa sentosa but coz of the pending renovations, we decide to forgo rasa and confirm with four seasons coz hot date scared no more available venue..

I think every couple will have their fair share of quarrels here and there during the preparation. like my htb and me now we prepare everything silently not letting our parents know because we really don't want them to get involved and irritate us again. our signing of package with SG, buying of my gowns and his suit are all done secretly because my future MIL will scream if she knows. imagine she said before that all we need to do for marriage is to go ROM in a simple dress and my htb wearing shirt then get my family and his to the nearest kopitiam to eat a simple dinner can le!!! i almost faint and was damn angry when she said this lor!

Thks Misspiggy for the info. Now i know wat to do. hee...

Luckily, both my parents and in laws are very chin chai, if not i think i will bang wall everyday, cos im doing most of the preparation as my HTB is always busy with work.

OMG, i still have 2kg to shed b4 my PS...

Lucky u Chloe...

u noe hor, i sign up at the bridal fair in Feb, supposed to go collect the official receipt at the shop itself but till now i haven go.. coz when we go back to visit his parents, got no chance to sneak to SG without raising their suspicion... sigh.. so gotta wait..

me and my HTB more garang.we prepare everything half way already then we info our wedding to our parents.We dun even give them a chance to choose the date for us.actually my idea date is 20.09.09 but its fully book so no choice but to put on the next day 21.09.09.I have not even bring them to see the venue yet but i did tell them that it will be a simple one so only invite close relatives and frenz.

Hi Fashion Closet,
My wedding dinner and ROM will be in Carlton Hotel, Esplanade Ballroom. Wah, i can imagine ur glass hall, must be so beautiful =) My ballroom isn't that super grand thing..but presentable la..most likely only gog to hv 12 tables. It's an 888 nett dinner package so for 12 tables will be S$10,656. Argh..faint..not yet buying wine, etc. Hurhur... yeah..again..need money loh.

Misspiggy, we also considered Four Seasons..but the dinner package is so expensive during weekend..1k+ so..we forgo la..if not...reli cannot tahan, though the ballroom is super beautiful loh.

At first I also thought of doing outdoor..but my skin reli can't take the heat..and also considering of mosquitoes attack..so in the end..oso forget it la..hahaha...

ya..my also have not include red wine..im looking for bulk purchase now.if u have lobang must let me know.At first we thought of serving ice-wine but its too small bottle 375ml only so we will need lotz of it and it will cost more.

i book a room at carlton for our wedding night cos we need space to put our stuff also and for make-up.i book a junior suite.$350 for a night.

Hi Autumncandy,
That's so mean of ur MIL...i wld probably end up crying in the room if i heard mine saying such thing. Simple is simple..but it's every girl's dream to have a perfect wedding..it's not like back in the 50s!!

Lucky my parents are not in Singapore nor JB, so i can visit the BS as often as i want ar! His parents are very chin-chai and not so kiam-siap la. We also never bring our parents to visit the venue yet..haha..i think they'll only find out during the food tasting..wuahaha... I think my parents and his really give us a freedom to prepare our own wedding. They'll just support from behind and follow la. After all it's our hard-earned money ma!! The only problem im facing nw is to get my parents and his to meet and discuss about the guo da li stuff.. My parents are being so difficult..taking their own sweet time

Ya... my lunch itself oso ard 1K+ le.. so my mum make alot of noise.. but HTB n I feel its our money to lose anyway so juz ignore. but till date he dun dare to let his parents know its that ex coz they will convert to RM and have a stroke! kekekekekeke..

meet the parents session is the most headache part.lucky his mum is very chin chai.its my father very difficult and also cause lots of problem,but anyway all solve liao

haha,,my parents and MIL knows the amt we spend but never say a thing cos its all our money.they also never offer any help so better keep their mouth shut.haha

Fashion Closet,
I'm also hvg headache providing accommodation for my relatives who'll be coming from Jakarta. The service apt price can go up to S$2800 per week leh.. crazy not???!!!!

All of you must be shaking head after hearing this. I hv no dressing table in my room!!! I only hv this 35cm x 20cm table mirror sitting on the table. Wuahahaha...very bad hor. Jenny would be very shock ar. Currently we rent a whole hdb flat (2+1), with me and sis sharing a master bedroom and my hsemate stay in the common room. Does your junior suite include a separate room for the living room and the bedroom? Im planning to rent an affordable nice executive room to "chu jia" from..my current flat is not nice.. I also need a door to the bedroom for the "gate-crashing" purpose...as well as a proper dressing table *sigh*...

Another alternative is to use my bridal suite...but... i don't wish the suite to be in a mess during my wedding night leh...

HI Shery,

I guess using the bridal suite is one of the best choice.. can get room service to clear up b4 ur wedding nite?

I've got NO mirror in my room at all, have been relying on my bro's full length mirror and my mum's dressing table for the past 14 yrs :P but luckily i am doing away with the 'chu jia' custom so no need to pick me up from my hse..

But den again hor, his dad wan the chinese custom so will do it on the day of the jb dinner, which means dun need to think coz i am washing my hands off the JB one..

Oh dear...im so thankful to got tht im not the only one!! Wuahaha.... u r still better than me, i don't hv full length mirror in the house... so all my daily office wear is based on "agaration" & mind judgement.

How u do away with the chu jia thingy ar? Your parents ok ar?

But if i use my bridal suite, that means i need to top up additional night leh..., correct? Or maybe i can check in at 4am? Dunno if they allow with no additional charges...customer service ma...

Hey all, i really appreciate today's sharing la.. it reveals that we are all hvg common problems!!

We signed last November leh...dunno if it's too late for a negotiation..sigh.. furthermore i think Carlton is hvg major reno..so my coordinator must be very busy. But no harm trying hor. Thanks misspiggy, i think i'll do what you recommend.

Hi, maybe can ask SG Bridal help to drive in all the gowns using their MAS car (extra service).

How you gals got your AD 2010 as the 'Tong Shu' not yet out?

For banquet I booking with AH YAT ABALONE (15 tables)and now they having promotion.

Shery, I think I'm the worst! I don't even have my house to "chu jia" cos my parents are in midst of divorce and I'm staying with my htb now. All i can think of is to pray hard that by 2011 we already got our HDB flat then maybe I can chu jia from there or just simply use the bridal suite.

We haven plan the meet parents session yet. my htb thinks it's best we plan and book everything le then let them meet just to discuss the guo da li and ROM details. imagine if my future MIL said those kopitiam thingy to my mum! i think it's gonna be war and headache lor...

Hey Valerie, you booked with AH YAT ABALONE at turf city? how's their service?

Hi Autumncandy,
Their service not bad cz when we went there for food testing was weekend and most of them are very very busy. My family and hubby like their food very much. Their packages start 398, 498,698 and 888nett and if u book 11 to 20 tables free 1 table and free red wine per tables booking.

hi girls,think preparation of the wedding can create lots of arguement.I even heard some couples broken up beco's of different opinions/parents problem,which i find very pity. And the the progress of preparation,in fact,is really helps a couple become mature.Even me,also,get thru the experience,we had alot of different opinion with MIL,so we give in part of it to settle. Our wedding dinner will hold in Msia -ttl 45 tables,which i think is A LOT,they insists it..so,we give in to exchange no Band/Karaoke..
Quite exciting,as his parents coming to my house for "ti qing"..ahahah..not sure how will be on the day~
We will ROM in Singapore,so will hold a simple buffet chalet. Any one has idea of which chalet & catering can introduce???

wow.. i only MIA for 1 day and i missed so much..
esthee, for catering wise, u hav any budget? tung lok has their own catering services, mayb u can try? as for chalet, any budget?
ladies, haiz.. me n htb also argue quite alot over weddin stuff.. he has no relatives while i have 2 big clans of relatives from my parents.. htb at first wanted bbq by the seaside, but in d end, my parents objected violently.. to him, wedding shld be ours not others'.. but in d end, we learnt that marriage is realli not only 2 of us.. ha.. it's realli marryin 2 families..
missypiggy: i'm having my AD at rasa sentosa.. the reno will start only next yr.. i've considered 4 seasons but it's ex for us.. we need at least 30 tables.. haiz..
fashion closet: u can try grand mercure roxy, sentosa or i think amara has by the pool side too.. or u can try all the ctry clubs.. raffles marina or even the zoo!!
ladies, i also hav no mirrors in my room.. how's the mua goin to the make up? is mirror needed?

Angel, congrats to you! Ur AD's coming soon =) Jiayou orh! U'll be mei mei de...jiayou orh!

Hi ladies, i chk with my friend working in Singapore customs, he say they'll collect GST lor, anything dat comes into Singapore, nd to pay GST de. GRrrrrr!!! Then i said, if like dat, how come ppl go Japan buy Burberry bag, few thousands, come back Singapore got tax meh? He said, if go Japan, come back more than 2 days (48 hrs) then each one of us given $300 gst credits...no nd tax...so can play around with the 2 days thinggy and maybe ask SG to give us an invoice.

I think this one is heng suay and whether we got bump into those nasty officers or not lah..