Rings

watching

I'd like to how what a consumer's rights are pertaining the following and how to go about it. I am aware most of you probably aren't lawyers but I'd like to hear your gauge.

We've bought 2 custom made rings from a jeweler. When we collected the rings, they were ill-fitting. I immediately confirmed mine was too tight, it was also visible that SO's ring was also too small. The shop owner asked what size I ordered, and I mentioned size XX. He then proceeded to mislead me that size I bought was indeed XX by measuring my ring swiftly in front of me. The shop owner said, "Try for a few days and if it is still ill-fitting, come back." To SO he said, men have bigger knuckles, so they have more problems getting the ring in and out of their fingers. With that, we left the shop thinking after we could still return the ring for a bigger size free of charge if indeed they are ill-fitting. (Fingers change over the course of a day due to many reasons)

A few days later, my ring still felt too tight and I went to another jeweler to ask what size of the ill-fitting ring is. It was a size smaller than the size I thought I had ordered. I phoned the shop to ask jeweler to resize my ring. He said costs would be incurred. A discussion went on....all these while, SO, the easy going guy had told me his ring was okay as long as he doesn't take it out so I mentioned to the jeweler that it is only my ring that was ill-fitting. The diamonds on my ring are not entirely "correct" but that is another story for now.

SO e-mailed the jeweler and mentioned he too wants a resize, stating something along the lines of refunding the total sum or resizing the rings free of charge. We've checked the background of the jeweler, they are not members of any organ where you can complain. Any complaint can only be directed at them. Unless of course, if you take this to court, which would incur a lot more money. The jeweler replied the employee who measured our size were given confirmation from us. We are laymen. The employee took the measurements.

Appreciate all the legal advice I can get.Before anybody suggest to expose them, I´d rather get our money back.

watching,

who is the 'he' in this sentence? "SO e-mailed the jeweler and mentioned he too wants a resize, stating something along the lines of refunding the total sum or resizing the rings free of charge"... isit the jeweler?

honestly i'd try something on the amicable front if possible without further costs incurred of cos. the receipt should have the ring size rite? if wat they give u is wrong then they shouldn't be arguing, but of cos give them some chance to redeem themselves before taking it further...

Do you have any invoice or any b/w stating the size of order?

We had our rings custom made too and our jeweler did state all details n sizes on the invoice or some documents which he will use that to instruct his workers for work orders.

Resizing if its their mistakes usually will not have any additional charges. Our jeweller din even asked us to topped up any cost for increasing its gold content.

You can proceed to CASE for assistance, and get them to go the alterations for you guys without any additional charges. If you want to get your money back, maybe a little tricky unless you totally reject their goods.

i do suspect they could be trying their luck giving u rings that may have been rejected previously and left in their inventory.. as u mentioned the diamonds are 'incorrect'...

my recollection for custom rings, especially those u put diamonds n stones on them is that, they normally ask u to come for a fitting Before the proceed to set the stones and polish it to perfection. has that step been skipped? if it has then it's a point u might wanna add or ask abt.

ps: same for us, no extra costs for resizing... unless maybe like 2yrs later our fingers gets fatter than there's a nominal charge. else cleaning and stuff is free, full polishing after 2-3yrs there's also a nominal fee, tho i can't rem how much.

am very disorganized sometimes when I tell my story. Here´s the fuller version, red sentences are new.

I'd like to how what a consumer's rights are pertaining the following and how to go about it.

We've bought 2 custom made rings (wedding bands) from a jeweler. When we collected the rings, they were ill-fitting. I immediately confirmed mine was too tight, my boyfriend had trouble putting on his ring. The shop owner asked what size I ordered, and I mentioned size 16.5. He then proceeded to mislead me that size I bought was indeed 16.5 by measuring my ring swiftly in front of me. <font color="ff0000">Well, he did not deny nor confirm what size it was, he just pointed the scales of the measuring staf. Being a lay person, I didn't know where to look exactly and assumed it was the size I ordered</font>. The shop owner said, "Try for a few days and if it is still ill-fitting, come back." To my boyfriend he said, men have bigger knuckles, so they have more problems putting the ring on and taking it off. With that, we left the shop thinking we could still return the rings to re-size with no charges if indeed they are ill-fitting after a certain period. (Fingers change over the course of a day due to many reasons) <font color="ff0000">We weren't asked to sign anything declaring if we accept the rings at the first-go, that would be the end of it.</font>

A few days later, the discomfort on my finger was still present and I went to another jeweler to ask what size my ill-fitting ring was; turned out that it is half a size smaller than the size I thought I had ordered. I phoned the shop to ask the jeweler to re-size my ring. He said to do that, costs would be incurred. <font color="ff0000">He mentioned he has the piece of paper whereby the sizes are stated specifically, he would gladly show it to us. But the thing is he took that piece of paper away when we there. I said he down-sized our rings by half a size each.</font>All these while, my boyfriend, told me his ring was okay as long as he doesn't take it out so I mentioned to the jeweler that it is only my ring that was ill-fitting and not my boyfriend´s.

We e-mailed the jeweler (shop owner) and mentioned the <font color="ff0000">gentleman's (my bf's)</font> ring needs re-sizing too, asking the jeweler to reimburse the total sum if he in unwilling to re-size the rings free of charge. The jeweler replied the employee who measured our size were given confirmation from us <font color="ff0000">to go ahead with the sizes we allegdely ordered. We had our fingers measured at the shop, I am inclined to think they bear the responsibility of the measurements. On contrary to purchasing rings on internet, the client is solely responsible for measuring his/her ring finger. The jeweler said we are fickle minded, backed his argument with "We were at first okay with the gentleman's ring and now we are not."</font>

We've checked the background of the jeweler, they are not connected to any organ where you can complain. Any complaint can only be directed at them. Unless of course, if you take this to court, which would incur a lot more costs. <font color="ff0000">We've paid the full amount of the rings on the day we ordered them. (they wouldn't have it any other way, no 50 % deposits or the likes) The invoice does not state the size of of rings, only the gradation and carat of my diamonds. </font>

<font color="ff0000">I am trying to settle this amiacably and in a civilised way but the jeweler is putting his foot down.</font> Appreciate all the legal advice I can get.

<font color="ff0000">ps: I think the reason the juweler is being difficult is because I told him another jeweler told me the diamonds are smaller than the ones I ordered. Yet another jeweler said my carat of my diamonds are conformed the certificate but a grade lower. I wouldn´t have checked these if the rings fitted well. I said they are custom made because I requested mine to have a `stripe` 1/3 away from the rand. It is actually a design they already have but they weren´t in display in the vitrine.

We only had one fitting.</font>

Yeah~ as what Powder has mentioned, they will ask for a fitting before they proceed with the final polish n settings. If the rings is a new design, they will create a mold for you to check if the size n design details are correct before they proceed casting the actual ring.

If the diamonds or stones are from you, they usually will ask u to keep them n bring them back when the rings are ready n they will set them at your pressence. This is to avoid any conflicts / loss / or any misunderstanding...

Just to check, is your jeweler a direct jewel maker from factory or those who is a 3rd party who later hands over their works to jewel maker? This may make sense if they are a 3rd party as they may not want to go through the trouble to drives down n get their maker to do alterations or they may have given wrong instructions to the makers n the makers charging them for the additional work n gold contents (if its to increase the size).

Snoopie,
The diamonds aren´t mine, there is a third party who made the rings, not the jeweler himself.

Powder,
who is the 'he' in this sentence? SO e-mailed the jeweler and mentioned he too wants a resize, stating something along the lines of refunding the total sum or resizing the rings free of charge"... is it the jeweler?
-`He` is my boyfriend who now realises his ring is ill-fitting too.

I suggest you consult CASE better. At least they are in better position to advise you. They do not represent any legal party, but just to act as a negotiator for any sales unfairness to consumer. Prior to that, out of courtesy, it is good to inform your jeweler that you will take advise from CASE, n hope they will be alarmed n agreed to alter ur ring without additional cost.

yeah i think u were too nice in accepting bfren's ring even tho it wasn't perfect at that point. most of my advice would be moot at this point except perhaps to point out the steps pertaining to the final product.

whilst deliberating on your next step, of cos best being to have the current idiot agree to resizing... (incidentally have u spoken to the boss/owner?).... i guess next is to explore getting another good shop to quote u on resizing and weighing the costs involved. i prob wouldn't go back to the same shop if they make things so difficult.

seriously those guys are assholes, this is such a basic thing where rings are concerned. and the measurement normally takes a few confirmation becos ill-fitting rings can be so psychologically-irritating...

i guess it's now weighing the costs against the hassle. meantime i'll prob be dropping by daily to put up a sign to discourage patronage until such time i am appeased.

I had come here too soon....after exchanging 2 e-mails with the jeweler/owner (the one we've been corresponding by e-mail, phone and also the one who manned the counter when went to pick up our rings), he relented, he is going to re-size the rings with no additional fees.

Our e-mails to him included words like the jeweler being a professional who took the measurements. We also gave him a time frame to set things right. All very polite but firm. All this in e-mail to record the exchanges.

Woohoo !

Yo Powder,

For you to put on you thinking cap for me, does that mean we cannot "fight" anymore ? Wouldn't it be akward ? (not rhetorical) I like "fighting" with you leh.....

Awaiting a witty answer.

if we agree on everything... u might as well give me a ring... and we do wine tasting together...

but there's a reason why we dun have a pair made for us.

i guess if we ever agree, maybe it's topics like these?

wow... that sound very scary lor to buy a ring end up like tes...

which jewellery shop ...

how much the ring .. thank god ..

Make me very worried .. but, we have already buy ...

Powder,

If what you want is a fling,
I will give you a golden ring,
It will be for your dangling-thing,
Or is it my neck you want to wring ?

Oh Donna,

Excuse me for not telling which jewelry shop, I don't see the need to after settling this. I have never bought anything from a jeweler on my own before, didn't know what to expect really. It was an experienced jeweler against us inexperienced rookies, he had the ball on his court but mapping out on how to go about it strategically made him redeem his mistakes. Of course I am talking in hindsight now, I couldn´t guarantee success yesterday.

well if wat i wanted was a fling,
it will not be with u, watching..
neither would your neck i wring,
i'm just happy doing my own thing...

Uncle John-John,

No, we are not getting married, we just bought the bands because they were in offer (cheapos), in case we marry. Got people like that or not ?

I still owe you a hamsap story, you wait ah......now got something more pressing to attend to.

Dear watching,

You very free isit? Buy a ring in case you get married. Where got people like that one?

After you get fat fat, ring kenot fit then how?

Uncle John-John,

I dunno leh....nobody buys offer stuff meh? Cheap-cheap so I buy-buy......If I get fat-fat then I ask the jeweler to make adjustments loh......

You suddenly not hamsap anymore meh? My story is pending.......have patience, probably by Friday ready to be edited by you? Oh yes !

Dear watching,

You of all people should know marriage is a serious thing.

Kenot simply whack one. You got conned liao. Actually you bot old stock, that's why got offer.

Another thing, why offer must buy? Got two and half months bonus isit?

Uncle John-John,

Aiyo.......so many questions, yet you won´t tell me who you are. If I screw up and cry mother, cry father, I´ll come here to be slammed by predators and scavengers. Of course there are outliers.

Well, new bands are being made as we speak. Wether they were old stock, I wouldn´t know but ours were modified existing designs.

Dedicated to you, Uncle Porn-Porn.

Starring, in alphabetical order, Blow-Up Doll, Donkey Kong Power, Horny, Silo.

The moon casts a shimmer of silver light at Geylang, creating the perfect ambiance for a steamy night. The narcissistic Donkey gallivants at the red light district, he catches the glimpse of what seems like the silhouette of a woman. Eager to have his ego (and dick) stroked, he puts on his ornamental horn and declares himself a unicorn. He gallops to her scent but is disappointed upon closer examination; she is made of plastic. Nevertheless, he pronounces, "Do me and you shall be rewarded, hee-haw, hee-haw." Yes, Donkey is capable of coherent Singlish despite being an animal. (his lineage can be trailed to Shrek's pet, they share the same pedigree) Aroused, Blow Up Doll's hand runs through the curvature of Donkey's spine and slide down to cup his balls. Donkey couldn't get it up so he uses his plastic horn to penetrate Blow-up Doll's warm, fuzzy tunnel of pro-creation, forgetting she is really made of plastic. Poke, poke....frenzied, she flies chaotically in the air, but her neng-neng were the last to be deflated. Donkey attempts tit fcuk in the nick of time.

His heart bleeds, his indignation was roused against Donkey for accidentally slaying Blow-up Doll. There was something about Silo´s frame of mind. It almost seems like he had a propensity towards rape. Silo who had been lurking around all these while had a thing for Dolly. As if he was tagging along for some premeditated offense. He flies into a rage, strikes at the faux unicorn's ornamental horn. Bam ! Wham ! Nearly ravaged by Silo, Donkey, bereft of good manners, hurls vulgarities at Silo. He rashly lifts up his hoof and gives him the middle <strike>finger</strike> hoof. Donkey has the audacity to flare up against a crazy aggressor.

Amid the turbulence, Horny, pops in and tells them "Make love, not war...". He suggests to Silo to be sexually emancipated, to indulge in bestiality since this was the closest thing to love for him. Baffled, he thought for a while.....and heartily agreed. The duo´s gazes interlock, that itself is the greenlight. (Donkey is insatiable so he relents.) Horny instructs Silo to gyrate his dick meat in Donkey's butt-hole. Donkey hoists up his ass in the most endearing way to be taken from behind. Fumbling in the dark, Silo finds his way to Donkey's funky tunnel of defecation. Silo thrusts his heaps ferociously onto Donkey´s virgin ass, his balls jingle and slap against Donkey meat. Donkey groans and moans "Hee-haw" and gasps for breath when Silo hastens his pace. The momentum courted Horny, seducing him into a compliant trance. Watching them is like giving them possession of sexual potency. The perfection of the rhythm swings back and forth like a pendulum. Horny, all pumped-up, joins in the fray (orgy) but would have preferred it much more if Silo had just gotten his transgender operation. Horny the horn dog likes doing it, doggy-style, loves bitches. But first, he tells Silo to gag the willing victim and secure the victim´s hooves in rope. Horny perfected the art of bondage....he pinches the Silo´s nipples, leaving a tingling sensation.

Horny gets up and takes off his leather suit with buckles and studs (courtesy of SM sex shop) The porn stars were panting thereafter, all clammy, Silo exclaims, "Thirsty....". Funny hydrates Silo's mouth with a cascade of pee, trinkets of urine drip unintentionally. Donkey murmurs he's hungry, Horny turns to him with a grin.... Oh yes !

Copyright belongs to Watching.

I have actually got my rings frm poh heng. the sales person isnt very friendly or patient. as we were trying diff ring size he like not happy cos we keep on changing rings to try.