RENOTALK PEOPLE

fondue, where did u get the wallpaper? Trying to research on RT but so slow...can vomit blood. I was thinking maybe use those textured rough ones then prob can't see uneven surface underneath. Did u plaster your walls or already smooth? Sorry can't remember cos forum so messy & fast moving here...thanks!

koko - hehe, tks tks. I'll post the pics soon. Just sent u a PM on the curtains contact.

yoyo - i accidentally deleted ur email addy & can't find it. ur PM also not activated. can give mi ur email add agn, so tat i can send u the curtain's contact?

mrspiglet - oh! now they use plastic hooks to hook onto ur curtains. so u dun need to worry abt rust staining them.
can consider. if only metal hooks, i wun consider as well. like wat u sae, will rust easily and also very hard to hook them into the curtains.
And hor, one thing bad abt roller blinds is that when the wind blows, the end will keep knocking on ur window. rather irritating, unless u weigh ur roller blinds down to prevent that.

nottimonster, ah soon/jason hasn't give me the laminates and wallpaper to choose yet.

tonight we meeting jason to get the laminates, wallpaper?, confirm paint and veneer door.

my whole unit is plastered
hehee

Oh ya now I remember your unit plastered cos you shared the quote. Ah soon got wallpaper samples? If you remember then can help me ask him if need to plaster walls? Thanks so much!

familyof4>> haha I do so agree.. anyway we don't wash curtains often, might as well get laundry service to do them.
The shop on the level 2 of Marina Square has some nice ones.. I can't rem the name anymore... *too tired* mm

nottimonster>> am on mc. have been sleeping 3/4 of the day away. I've seen people with untiled walls for toilet also.. mm interesting paint. I wonder if it lasts... Yes Ah Soon can put up wallpaper. I think Vincent did his. though he has disappeared after he moved... :P Wallpaper isn't cheap also...

Hi Christy.. If the interior of the cabinets aren't good then you should change.. check them. Some of the sink leak and the sink cabinet has rotten parts or what.. have to change ah. check the cabinets first?
mm you can choose funkier colours for your cabinets to contrast with the 90s wall colour?

Hi mrspiglet.. went to bed before your post went up.
Have been sleeping on and off..

felina>> plastering is putting some white thing over the walls to make them very smooth. Like cake icing.

familyof4: Yes! its all in my camera. Go home transfer out and i'll post. Was kinda weird having the carpenter boss here the whole aftn and there i'm engaging another vendor to do up the wardrobe. He was staring at the wardrobe when he was abt to leave lor! :P

Pinkpetter: gone to the docs already not? sun setting liao... N u shd be just sleeping n sleeping away. That's my remedy to flu! :P

evelyn: sorry for late reply! immediately after my prev post, the electricity had to be cut off cos they dismantled one of my TV console's powerpoints. I wun be here at 9.30 already. If u want, can come up this sat aftn? i shd be cleaning up the house then. leave me ur email ya?

nottimonster: ah soon has wallpaper lobang. can ask him abt it. my tv console wall is also using wallpaper, they have LOTS of selection!

Angel: plastic hooks sounds better than the metal ones. But will it be hard to hook into the curtains? i was actually thinking of doing those shown in ikea, the ones with the ring, didn't know there's plastic hooks too.

mrspiglet>> looking forward to your pictures.. mm just went and might have to go back cos he wants to observe.. sigh.

felina>> so sorry. pai seh. Sick people see weird things.

Evelyn>> plastering is when they put some cement-like thing on the wall to make it very smooth.

I want wall paper too... just dunno want to put where.... lol

koko: Have view only one unit but nothing much to see.

Pinkpetter: What is the ceiling fan you bought for the living room?

familyof4: Thanks for asking abt plastering! At least can help me decide before I call busy Uncle Ah Soon to come up with quote!

Pet: Tsk tsk...u need to zzz! Already hallucinating!

Looking at the popularity if Ah Soon, can I assume that his worksmanship is good and there's no problem working with him?

mrspiglet - it's okie..i'm aly very glad that u allow us to go over and have a look. okie, i'll pm u my email

pet - thanks for enlightening me!! i love wallpaper too. but htb don't want..sobs~

mrspiglet, when is the handover of ur place? I wana bring hubby over to view ur hse

Uncle came pretty late...5ish becomes almost 9pm. Anyways, he says if we want to put wallpaper, must plaster so that the wall will look smooth and after putting up the wallpaper it looks smoother and nicer

Wah...i add and add until my quote burst to $51k! faint...but uncle says will give me discount and work out for me. he ask me my budget, so i say keep below $45k with the additional works, he says it'll be around there
he says he'll work out and let me know my total in 2 days' time...

weekuan: we love ah soon for various reasons, like he's much cheaper than most contractors out there and he's a very chin-chye uncle that isn't very particular abt charging us for small little things. His workmanship is not fantastic, but i would say value for money. Most imptly, he's got pride in the work he deliver, n sometimes his QC is even higher than us, the owners! :P

Then again, no reno is fuss free. That's why it is still impt that u feel comfortable working with him. And also do your own checking to make sure that any problem can be highlighted to him immediately.

evelyn: got ur PM! check ur email ok? my place also got wallpaper, see if it helps to convince ur hub?

familyof4: my handover supposed to be last sat! LOL! but i'm still having lots of pple in my house today, closet design/painters/carpenters. Dunno when is my 'next' handover, but i hope to be able to mop my floor this sat!

Althou haven handover, but mostly completed lah. u can come over on sat aftn to view if u wan?

Btw, wat did u throw in to jack it up to $51k??! Most be a lot of quality stuff and carpentry! My hub also like tt, i left him to meet ah soon alone, end up he throw in a lot of carpentry work becos he thinks its really cheap. *sweatz*

yoyo: u very cute, reno finish liao still wanna view my place. haha! my place no designer lights no fanciful carpentry lah. just very colorful like ur place! But u r most welcome to see my place if its not too far for u.

My kitchen cabinet.. now w glass panels. Still pending carpenters to chge some of the chipped doors thou.
989566.jpg

Closet Design wardrobe completed today too.

Hub is totally against bottom tracks but the length was too long for 2 top-track sliding doors and too short for 3. So bifold doors was the next option. The doors n drawers came w soft closing too.

No doors yet..
989567.jpg

Doors up..
989568.jpg

Bifold doors opened...
989569.jpg

mrspiglet: Wah your wardrobe very nice! How come you got someone else to do it? Carpenter guy with Ah Soon can't do?
I also love your white kitchen but I think black/dark kitchen suits me better...lazy to clean lor!

nottimonster: i signed with Closet design b4 i even found ah soon. Wanted the pole system initially, most of the contractors we check with couldnt do it. Then after going to CD we chge our mind to american system instead (the one u see in the pic), with all internal laminated wood.

So i dunno if ah soon is abt to do this. i rembr he said he could do the same for fondue?

as for kitchen... i seldom cook, i suppose its ok ba? some forummers feedback that dust is very obvious on black surface leh.. so i dunno which is which also.

hey...need help...received quotation from my ID...please comment is it worth it...thanks in advance...

Carpentry works

1. Design & Construct Total L:15ft Top Hung Kitchen Cabinet c/w ABS Trimming @ Door Side Panel
2. Design & Construct Total L:15ft Bottom Kitchen Cabinet c/w ABS Trimming @ Door Side Panel
3. Supply & Install Total L:15ft Solid Surface/Granite @ Kitchen Work Top.
4. All Internal carcases in colour/wood grain PVC.
5. Supply & Install 1no. stainless steel dish rack with tray.
6. Supply & install 1no. cutlery tray.
7. Supply & install 4 units of drawers.
8. supply & install aluminium integrated handles for all doors & drawers.
9. Supply & install 1no. panel of aluminium frames colour glass door.
10. supply & install 1 pair of imported heavy duty gas spring.
11. mayer kitchen cooker hob - model: DZX730 IX.
12. Mayer kitchen cooker hood - model: DZH519IX.
13. mayer kitchen sink - model: ariston double bowl.
14. mayer kitchen sink tap - model: #8003SL swan neck cold tap.

Plumbing works

1. Extend & connect drainage pipe @ sink area
2. Extend copper piping to kitchen sink area.

Others

1. hack existing floor finish.
2. hack existing wall finish.
3. supply & lay homogenous floor tiles at kitchen.
4. dismantle existing kitchen cabinet & sink/stove support.
5. supply and lay water proofing membrane at kitchen.
6. dismantle existing W.C in 2 toilets.
7. labour to install W.C in 2 toilets.
8. hack false wall in storeroom.
9. plastering for hacking area.
10. paint whole house using nippon paint.
11. chemical washing for whole house.
12. haulage and clear debris.

Total: $11,812 for a 4-room 93sqm...

is the mayer hob and hood good??mayer tap good??

yihua, seems like u're doing toilet and kitchen only. IMO, it's quite an alright package.

mrspiglet, today finalise the layout of wardrobe with jason.

because my wardrobe is 14ft hence not recommended to do suspended. The wardrobe will have lamitak's laminated backing instead to the wall as of closetdesign.

Jason will do the doors on the floor as of closetdesign, the track will be embedded on the same level as the laminated flooring. so won't feet won't kick onto it...

btw i think ah soon and jason know we are so particular, he told us he will get his best carpenter to do for us... fingers crossed.

Now looking at lamitak laminates and deciding to choose for kitchen, wardrobe and vanity cabinet...

ya...will be calling him tml...can i jus tel him wat i need n give me a quote on the spot or need to arrange meet up??then the hob, hood, sink n miscelleanous items i need to buy myself n let him install..or he has suppliers for all the stuffs??

hi yihua, don't think he can give u on the spot... maybe u can fax to him and he will get his son to translate to him for quote?

for the appliances, he has the contact also, but we chose to go and take time to choose on our own.

let us know if you need help ;)

u got your flat already? post up floorplan to see???

haha...is it??tink that's the standard of HDB designers...got any ways to pass my list to uncle ah soon?? i no fax machine leh...

hmm, think u've no choice but to meet up with him and translate literally into chinese for him?

if u're in a hurry to get the quote, see if he can give you on the spot?

Felina>> aisay Goodrich.. dunno I can afford or not. hehe
but I'll go see all the designs hehe
Thanks for the link!!

yoyo>> I also feel like going to see mrspiglet's house. CAN WE ALL GO???

mrspiglet>> I also want to come see your house.. nice nice I like the closet design also..

Yi hua>> looks ok to me. Mayer is quite a reliable brand. but you have to check the model they give you.

Yi Hua>> he wun give you on the spot one... it's a rare occasion.. I think we must be fair to him. He can't read English, how does he know if people not cheating him?

For everyone else who wants Ah Soon's quote and is reading this, we must be fair to him la. 1) He needs to sit down and really think about the pricing properly. Wait he quote wrongly and people hold him to the wrong price how? he's also tired ba, on the spot is so rushed... 2) Not that any of us will cheat him but he has to play safe ma. What we say and what is on the paper, he cannot confirm it's the same thing cos he can't read it. So he has to bring it home for people to see...
Hope everyone understands.

min>> you have email.

fondue: yr wardrobe is 14ft! so envious? can share hw much is yr wardrobe? mine 8ft sure nt enuff one loh but jus duno where to put the extra wardrobe...sigh...

pinkpetter: actualli the contact ah soon has for wallpaper oso supply gdrich..maybe u can ask him for the contact n get a better quote?

mrs piglet: my handover date was oso push backwards ya...now i wonder if u wil get the key b4 mi liao haha..but luckily mi nt in a hurry to move cos havnt bought washing machine, fridge n tv...so hse ready liao stil cant stay...

wahh mrs piglet!! white kitchen!! very brave!! i wanted all white.. but hubby worry about it turning yellowish... he wanted it all black...

so now we compromise... top black bottom white. :p

mrspiglet - thanks!!! can't check my email now..working ar..will definitely go home and take a look
and! i love your wardrobe! the bi-fold is a great idea! hehehe..

fondue: Waiting to see ur 14ft wardrobe! I already feel that my 10ft is a bit overwhelming. haha! Will urs be sliding door or bifold door?
i think the carpenter scare liao lah, ah soon scolded him very badly for my cabinet's defects. I think he'll be pressurizing his workers to do a gd job for u.

yihua: r u hacking the toilet floor and wall tiles? ur quotation didnt state. If yes, then will be like mine, i did kitchen+2toilets, hacking was $1.4k.

pinkpetter: u feeling better? No problem! of cos welcome to see my house! This sat aftn after 3pm?

yoyo: i tot ur house handover liao? u pray already right? mine was from push 3wks till 4wks till last sat (start of 5th wk) and then now still dunno when. The painters still touching up on the painting. Hub just called Jason n stress him say got pple viewing our house this sat, must do swee swee n handover liao. I also cannot shift becos of Qing Ming which is y we also told them initially no need to rush our house, but have already bought all the necessary furniture/appliances, delivery on 18th so cannot tu anymore!

Talking abt keys, i found a set of keys and tried ard.. bingo!.. was for my main door. haha!

ivy: i also super scare the white will turn yellow! so i picked my 2nd choice laminate - off white, instead of pure white.
Solid surface also w white speckles not pure white.

evelyn: u can come on sat and see how the bifold door works. Quite surprise bifold door can have soft close.

fondue: 14ft wardrobe?! Lucky u!

mrspiglet, nice kitchen u have there...and love ur wardrobe too! Mine is a 9ft wardrobe and am thinking if it is big enough

I added in many more carpentary work, that is why my quote burst! LOL...waiting for uncle to work out the better price for me.

BTW, how much did you pay for the pd door? Ah soon quoted me $350. Is this a good price?

Do u think i can suggest to "waive" off some labour charges for installation as well?