RENOTALK PEOPLE

Felina.. you're welcome la. Yup Renovation can be a nerve-wrecking, stressful and tiring experience and it certainly helps to be more well informed... We share share some info here and there and MUST SHARE all the lobangs we get.
haha it's Homeowners vs IDs/Contractors. :P

WAH your budget 30k ah? :P even if 30k includes wardrobes.... it definitely does not include lights, hood, hob, toilet fittings... hehe if you see some of the others complaining yesterday...

toilet fittings like bowl, sink, shelf... screen NOT included... will cost 1-2k already.

lights also need to set aside about 1k.

hob and hood, depending on the brand you buy, 500-1000 or even more if you want branded ones..

hehe tell her she heard wrongly... 20k. I always feel that IDs will quote you a few thousand higher just to see how much they can push you for. :P

Hi Pet

So is 30k too little or too much? Mine is going to be a new four room flat, with floorings and doors done. Not sure for window though.

Goodness. Seems like i need to make a list of all the things that are necessary in the home.

mm ya... i think someone mentioned before.. make a list of what you need (kitchen cabinets...) and what you want (customised bedframe etc).

mmm in my opinion ah? Don't ask me la. I'm very stingy one. 20k I also say too much. hahahahah

Hi Pet

I took this from MHT

Hacking of all floor tiles in ENTIRE unit (122sqm)
Hacking of wall tiles in both toilets
Hacking of one 6ft wall
Removal of Balcony glass
Removal of kitchen cabinets
Removal of selected window grilles
Haulage

Tiling of living, balcony, bedrooms and store with 600X600 homo @ $3/psf
(Foyer tiles were upgraded to $10.50/psf - no charge)
Levelling of balcony to living room height FOC
Waterproofing of kitchen + tiling with 600X600 @ $3/psf
Tiling of both toilet walls and floor @ $3/psf
(Some mosaic included - no charge)
Kitchen Cabinet base FOC
Building of wall for study + doorframe and door
Box up of pipe in balcony FOC
Box up of pipe in kitchen
Cement and Plaster over tiles in Kitchen

Changing of 2 toilet doors to bi-fold doors
2 Glass Shower Screens
Labour for installing toilet bowls
Labour for installing sinks
Labour for installing bathroom accessories FOC
Changing of glass for windows FOC
2 mirrors FOC
Plumbing - Stainless steel pipes (toilet + kitchen)

21ft kitchen cabinet (bottom only)
19ft solid surface
Installation of sink, hob, kitchen accessories FOC
Labour and material for installing rubbish chute cover

Total of 15 light changes, 5 SCV points, 5 phone points, 30-40 power pts, change main box, change of switches.
**note: Some were just changing of the panels, some involved wiring of new points.

Painting of whole house + pipes+ doors
10ft shoe cabinet
3 track window glass (est. 14ft)
Main Door + Grille
4 bedroom doors + 1 store room door (2 were FOC)
Installation of shelves for store FOC
Sealing up of vent at Storeroom FOC
sealing up of mini windows in MBR and Bedroom FOC
Servicing of 2 air con units FOC
Tiling of window ledge in MBR FOC
Plastering of balcony ledge FOC
Assembly of items from IKEA FOC
Stainless Steel backing for kitchen FOC
Bamboo Pole holders in Kitchen FOC
2 main door locks FOC
(he installed one, my dad sprayed it cos he didn't like it. Then rest of family didn't like the newly sprayed one, then contractor gave another one.)

So Ah Soon did all these for you for 25k??

Study desks all these included?

Fondue! show off your stuff le! Got good deals???

haha WAH felina you went to get it. hehe if you look carefully.. mine don't have study desk, wardrobes, tv console... ALL DUN HAVE. The only carpentry I have is shoe cabinet, kitchen cabinet and my cute altar.
and yes for 25k.
BUT for you... cos you don't need to hack and tile your living floor you will already save 4-5k from that... rough gauge. so you can use that money to do carpentry.

Carpentry meaning things like shoe cabinet, wardrobes all these la.. You think if i show him (Ah Soon) my floor plan plus my rough requirements, he'll roughly be able to give me a quotation price?

For cooking stove, DIY?

Hi there!As promised,here to show u my Lighted up curtain from Indonesia!!!
It looks romantic to dine by the lights,isn't it?
980157.jpg

felina >> he can.... draft quotation. you list the things you need and with your floorplan. BUT it's a lot easier for him if he can see the place... cos he doesn't understand english.
the cooking hob, you order and deliver to your place towards the end of your reno he will install.

WAH rondy.. looks nice.. but too bad here the picture must post small small.. so cannot really see... SOB. cool le.

Okay.. I can speak both mandarin and hokkien. So communication shouldn't be a problem. Haha.

I want to show him my place also cannot.. Lol. It's still building...

hehe thank you 2k++ for the hob, cooker hood & oven :P yups building suspended cabinet

plus bathroom fixtures spent 4.5k le

haha btw remember in my items to do in rt i put pergo laminate. think was a miscommunications. when we asked ah soon if he can do "pergo" laminate and ah soon agreed. i was crossing fingers that he doesn't think is "dekor" as it sounds like "pergo".

Lol and guess what when we look at today's laminate samples, it's power dekor. Lol anyway I kinda expected it. We are choosing heidelberg oak.

felina...
can. but yours not so soon he sure fly your kite. :P he doesn't have much choice la..

fondue.. aiyah he and english just doesn't go.
glad you are also chincai. but he also chincai with you? I love suspended cabinets!!! but my dad insisted hard to clean below.. *where got* :P

hi mrspiglet, YES SUPER relieved leh. vainpot me wear wedges to shop for these items with hubby. now my feet is aching like mad.

yeah, especially happy with the rainshower, deca basin, bidet spray, kitchen sink, rinnai cooker hood, hob and oven.

LOVE IT TO BITS.

Next big headache is LIGHTS...

HUH fondue... put up legs on chair... prevent veins.
rest rest legs hehe you deserve it after all the walking you did today!

wow this thread is moving fast, after replying to mrspiglet's post, and pinkpetter's is up.

hahaa.. yah we are chinchai people as long as vendors are not too calculative and produces quality work.

earlier in the morning, my hubby was stuck between ah soon and hong ta* installer on the concealed water discharge pipings under toilet tiles.

My hubby offered to give 300 bucks to ah soon for hacking up the affected tiles, and re-lay to conceal air con piping. ah soon declined, and he asked my hubby to keep the $ for a good meal. He also added as long we recommend future prospect customers to him, the margin is definitely more than that. Lol, so cute one.

fondue: i understand!! which is y i always go in flipflops! Shd have taken pic of ur rainshower to show us!

i had the same problem as u. Ah soon told us he will do a conceal drainage pipe but end up his worker forgot to do. We saw that n told Jason. So immediately the hack the new tiles and redo! No more tiles already, so Jason just told them to order again, nvm mind, charge to Ah soon. Next day we went up, all completed. Swee swee!

Fondue - Q2/3 of 2011. That should be the earliest. Which is still damn long... I know it's kind of kiasu to start research now...

felina.. slowly slowly... anything just ask here!
so easy.

fondue>> good good. I'm sure not ba kar la :P now I think when you shop for lights you'll wear flats... hehe

mrspiglet>> how's the progress?

So excited about my upcoming flat though it is not even there yet. Haha.

Think when the time comes to collect keys and do up the reno, sure stressed up.

By the way does anyone got Mr Yeak's contact? Can email me at [email protected]

Nothing much done to my house today, except they've shorten my half wall!

Carpentry stopped all of sudden. My top cabinet doors not done, soft closing also not fixed up. Quite taken aback w the outcome of the laminate for our TV console in MBR, didnt turn out to be wat i wanted. Bo bian lor..

I kena fly kite again. Tell me today cleaning, i dun even see anything done. Even toilet doors n shower screen also not up yet. I think we really take it too slow n easy, nvr rush him at all so he also take his time again.

Grills n gate up yday...
980268.jpg

980269.jpg

.... familyof4 he still not there??? 11 liao le.. you go sleep la. did he call? maybe he went to Ivy's place cos suppose to go yesterday... mm

Mrspiglet - Oh I see, seems like REALLY alot ppl's houses get done up by him hor..

How is the payment settled? Can advise me base on your experience, thanks.

pinkpetter: he told me yday that he will send pple up for cleaning today, i went "HUH? sure not?". and i was right! haha! somehow his workers got hijacked to go to another house. I dun see any carpenters at all today. Give him till end of this wk, i think a lot of pple rushing to finish b4 Qing Ming ba.

Felina: Ya, he gotta thk pinkpetter for all the recommendations! My payment was 40-30-20-10. Last 10% is only when shift in, no problem then hand to him. He's not really particular abt the exact figures, more like just a lump sum for him to pay the workers n materials, so we round down also nvm.

I wouldnt say he's perfect, but he tries his best to give the perfect work for us. Anything we arent happy abt he will rectify straight away. Plus price is GOOD!

Ur house still long way to go lah.. dun so kancheong. Stick ard here n pick up info, will help loads when u start ur reno!

Mrspiglet - Haha. No la, not kancheong. Just wanna know how it work with him ma, i'm so blur, of cos picking up tips from all of your. Plus need to know how he work - need to save $$$ too. HAha..

Anyway night night everyone, shall catch up tomorrow morning..

wah then I must be the meanest.. lol mine was 40-40-20... hahah I held on to the 20... :P haha then after I held on to the VO money... mm I knew I was stingy.

figo007, yes, it's W*IK*N

Mommy of the House, I still can't decide if it's the company, the ID or the workers are at fault when things go wrong. The company chooses all the substandard workers, means all work by them will be the same regardless which ID. Whereas the ID noticed such nonsense going on but didn't make any effort to rectify it either, also at fault.

btw. my ID's initials are R.C.

Thanks to PET & familyof4 for the emails! Wow...Ah Soon looks like he's gonna be busy in the next 6mths. Dunno how he can fit my reno into his schedule. But I guess good things must wait long long lor...LOL

hahah, that's the way it goes.
When one is responsible, does his job well, get endorsed and recommendation by several different people. His services will be sought after!
If only my reno is one year late, I would have asked for Ah Soon as well. Reading all your tblogs and his adventures makes me envy.

juz me >> you have mail.

nottimonster >> you're welcome.

Hi lawry, yup. I think he'll be shocked at how the new business is coming in.. but then he mentioned that he will not be doing for long now... so must earn as much as possible...