RENOTALK PEOPLE

mrspiglet, fondue: I also worry about the cothes falling off too. I have to drop by their showroom soon so that I can decide on it.

Mrspiglet: I can't wait for u to post your pics!

fondue: u reminded me that I ned to call uncle soon to confirm my appointment with him.

mrspiglet - My AD actually not so soon it's March '10 but got to prep for my ROM in June'09 then followed by key collection then reno will hit the same timing as my PS and prep stuff for my customary wedding...

Rectification rescheduled to today at 1pm, no sight no sound yet.
Called my ID at 1:30pm, she said "they should be here already".

For the record, it's 2pm yesterday, but I cancelled it at 3.30pm as I need to go out to run some errands, and they decided to appear at 4pm.

Updates later.

fondue: ya, that's the reservation we had as well. cos my clothes are of diff color n shapes, dun stand out nice using pole system. u engaged closet design as well?

ur house was same state as mine when we saw him at my place yday! 1 grp fixing the main gate, the other grp drilling holes in the cabinets, another grp doing the solar film. he had to stop the carpenters from drilling b4 we can talk. :P

U going Bellari too? Anyway dun bother to bargain there, its all fix price n all listed there. I tried to bargain after spending $700+ there, but still no discount.

familyof4: yes yes! i will! Hope the touch up will be fast so the wardrobe can be up.

xiaofeizhu: ^5!! my PS was in the 1st wk of my reno, super drained n tired. All the eye bags showing in the wedding photo...

fondue, i bought mine at asia excel. they gave me itemised discounts and overall discount again. i think can nego abit there la.

Update, they came at 2pm, it's another 2 guys, different from the 2 yesterday according to my mum.

I was told to buy a switch for them to change, fair enough. I went out to buy one, came back and I realised they off my mains so that they could work on the wiring.

I'd appreciate it very much if they could at least ask first, my PC was running and I had unsaved documents.
They could wait till I get back with the switch before they start working on it.

Since the switch was spoiled, I got them to shift it out a little, so I can push the cupboard in against the wall. The reflective maroon surface is the wardrobe, beige portion is the door frame, looks a bit weird, but nevermind, the job's somewhat done.

Question :
is it me, or is the switch crooked?
I really give up.

979868.jpg

979869.jpg

lawry, sounds like this is not really a good experience. Think we need to be super hard to deal with when in contact with such people. I'll be a real bitch when it comes to this.

Wah today I was busy at work and didn't come in... then now I have problems following already! haha I have to open two windows to answer!! wheeee..

ivy>> mm ok ok you so understanding.
but I'm sure he can meet two in one night... should be ok one.

Christy>> I Pmed you Ah Soon's contact already. the 3% for the OCBC instalment is a little bit like interest la. Just flat rate interest... I use it to pay for my studies.

xiaofeizhu>> I think Ah Soon's rates are the among the best in town!. And it's not possible for us to help you gauge cos we don't know what you want. If you want to keep costs down, then just have wardrobe and kitchen cabinet will do. Don't make feature wall/console/shoe cabinet all that... carpentry expensive..
AND when we were in RT I remember the reviews on U-home isn't good.. but then... that's just what I read.

Kuek>> ya Ah Soon can give you ideas one.

fondue>> hahha that happened to me also. ALL at my place at the same time.. and they QUARRELLED when ah soon wasn't there! :P Good luck finding the things you want!

Mommy of the House, it's a real big headache dealing with them. If only renotalk is restored, you can see tons of defect pictures there.

hi vonic.. you turned off your PM. please leave your email if you want the contact?

lawry.. that guy is really blind to have missed that. haiz

pinkpetter, I think just another case of bochup, can't be bother, no standard.
I didn't restrict to align it perfectly with the wardrobe. I just want it slightly out, so that my wardrobe can fit in. Getting it straight is like quite basic? Sigh.

hi lawry...i really feel very sorry for you...how can the switch be so crooked!? Can die lor...

Do you think they did it in purpose? I think that is very wrong lor...are you meeting your ID's boss to show him all the defects fotos?

Pinkpetter> Oh thank for the PM will check it out tonight and save it up at portable driver... cannot trust on web-base liao... Haha According the OCBC staff they say (eg) If buy sofa at S$1000 (at least S$500 and above can have 0% Install Plan) than you can opt for 3mths/6mths/12mths installment plan. If choose 3mths/6mths installment plan the bank will change a 3% fee of your total bill which is one time off nia.

I work out for understanding:
Sofa S$1000 (6mths installment plan)
3% of total bill S$30
First month pay S$166.66 + S$30
Following mth pay S$166.66 till end of 6th mth.

mmm ok. the total is the same $1030.

The same applies to my SIM fees. But they divide the 3% out by the 6 months. So using your same example..

Sofa $1000 (6mths instalment)
3% of total bill S$30
Every month = $1030/6 = $171.67

It's the paylite scheme right?

mrspiglet, roamca,
I was supposed to send all the defects photo to her, for her to use as a bargaining chip. I sent it once but it bounced back because it was so big. I DID NOT send it again after that.

But I told her I did. =P
So I asked her earlier, and she said she received it. hmm? Not very honest there. I told her about the crooked switch also, she said she didn't noticed, told her I will send her a photo. =)

Anyway, I would really want to arrange to meet the boss personally, if he's also unreasonable, then perhaps, there's really nothing to negotiate.

I will let all my photos do the talking, Weiken's unofficial web portfolio.

Pinkpetter> Hahah oh I dun know sia... paisey first time buy house and furniture all very kuku.

Oh we went furniture hunting lor... intend to buy from the following:
Natural Living
Unikhome (Would appriciate if more pple can post on this shop)
S&C
Hong Liang - Electrical Appliance

Appriciate if anyone of you post or comment on the above shop

christy>> haha it was my first time in december also. lucky got renotalk
B*** T*** had very bad very bad reviews.

mmm heard that for electrical can try Goh Bee Huat in Hougang also if it's convenient for you.

Heard of Unikhome but never bought from there. I got most of mine from S&C

mmm I think.. it's good to know which are the companies giving "trouble" BUT it's more important to know which ID. Since Good companies can have one or two black sheep... whilst companies with "not so good" reputation might have good IDs also.
IMHO

I usually buy from Hong Liang. But need to know model number and all that. No need to visit the shop, just call and they will deliver COD. But can call other popular shops like Everjoint & Goh Ah Bee (pet, think is not GBH
)to compare.

S&C very good reviews but a bit like online shopping, can see cannot feel.

Natural Living same group as Novena. Can check this forum for details.

this thread is moving VERY VERY FAST!!!!! i have problem catching up...
anyway.. updates from my side : will be meeting darren (plush living) this coming sunday at my unit. Main thing is to let him know what the fengshui master told us and what are the changes need to be make...
I also cannot start renovation during the qing ming mth.. can only start after 25 april... so in the mean time..i will do all my shopping..haa

poseidon_gal>> yes yes we have an archive everyday. :P bo pian. this is the consolidation of all the T-blogs... Wah then you have all the time to pick tiles, laminates, fittings...

familyof4>> good luck for tonight!

thanks pinkpetter! I told uncle if he can't make it, call me earlier, dun rush...maybe can have goodwill discount for being nice to him. hehe

eh? shir I tot I PMed you just now?

familyof4>> hehe I'm only afraid he forgets. But I think for the price he's giving you it's worth the wait...

read somewhere about bad encounters people had with hong liang. Do you guys face any problem? Planning to go check out the washing manchine and fridge

Let me contribute abit since I’ve gotten a lot of good ideas from this thread (less than a week old and it has 4 archives…)

Do note most of what I know are nearly 6 years old liao, just gotten a resale flat so a little more active here again. Please do a search online, I don’t think I have their contacts and I got most of the information/recommendation reading threads here. Had a lot of free time in my old job….

Teak wood furniture – Colonial Antique, Balestier area, I would say their prices about the same as Barang Barang but prefer their designs. BB also had regular sales (2-3 times a year?) and their ‘warehouse’ is somewhere near Admiralty industrial area, should have shuttle buses from Woodlands MRT.

Lighting – Got most of my lights from Chan Huat lighting along Balestier area then. Recommended by other SB forumers then.

Water features – Nature Company (http://www.natureco.com.sg/) has some nice and ‘customizable’ water features, not very cheap though… Am selling mine in the Buy/sell thread if anyone’s keen.

Electricals – go to the Best Denkis, Courts etc, touch, feel and get the model number you are interested in and call the small shops for quotes (Everjoint, Goh Ah Bee, and the few around Alexander Village). What I did was to come up with an excel sheet with the model numbers and when I went to these shops, they filled it in for me. Not all will entertain you but want to save money, got to be a little thick skin. One of the shops even said its better for them, one shot can tell me all the prices.

Prices are definitely cheaper since these shops have lesser overheads but be flexible abit, give and take a little. Warranty is by the company itself so its safe and cash on delivery. For those using credit cards, these shops may not have the interest free schemes.

My personal suggestion, for reno, do the best you can afford, it’s a one off thing and if you going to live there for 5-10yrs, might as well make sure your home is as cosy as it can be. Furniture can buy later but once you move in, very troublesome to renovate in the future. We came up with a list of wants (built-in shoe cabinets) and needs (kitchen cabinets) and gotten a quote, then work backwards by taking out things we couldn’t afford or not feasible.

Again, some of the places may have closed down or their services/staff have changed or lower their standards since. Good luck and have fun. I’m trying to follow this thread for new ideas.

hi ben... emailed ya.

whoa Zig.. thanks for your contribution. can leave the link for your water feature? hehe cos here a bit messy hard to click around.

Super fast moving thread... Seems like Ah Soon is SUPER popular. Can i ask what is the difference between getting a ID and a contractor?

Please advise, thanks.

It seems that those who got Ah soon are mainly resale flats.Even as resale, i find the quotes quite good and reasonable. Anyone has any ideas how much cheaper will it be if its a 4-room new standard flat compared to another 4-room resale, since there wont be any hacking or removal of old tile etc?

Hi Felina... A real ID should be able to assess your needs as a family, your tastes in colours and themes and then create your home in a design suitable for your family to live in. They would take into consideration the number of people, the presence of pets or children, etc. They will try to work within your budget and advise on your fittings and furniture choices to match your theme. They will come up with customised drawings, 3D or otherwise to let you have an idea.

That said, IDs these days are largely salesmen who have seen a lot of interior design magazines. If you walk into ID firms, you'll notice that many are young and just eager to close deals. They DO still provide designs but it's become a "one size fits all" kind of thing. So you will notice that the fees for designing has been waived for many ID firms (though there are still those who charge) because they don't really design something customised for you anyway.

Contractors, on the other hand, are largely known to do what you want. Which means you could already have a rough idea of what you want and the layout of the items you want. Good and experienced contractors are able to tell you if something will look nice or if it's practical. They will advise you if it's not practical or not suitable. However they are NOT IDs and cannot be expected to come up with pictures though there ARE those who do.

Whether you want an ID or a contractor... it's up to you. If you've done your homework and already know what you want in your house, there could be more joy in designing it yourself with some good ol' advice from experienced people.

All the above in my honest opinion and does not reflect on any particular person.

Hi Enivi28... mm I tot I replied this question... but maybe the threads ran too fast... hehe

We're aren't really able to advise you on the cost of your renovations because there are a lot of factors not just whether it's new or resale.

Even if you say 4room, different 4 rooms are of different sizes and layouts. And your toilets (for example) might be bigger or smaller and thus need a different number of tiles. The size of your kitchen also varies and the layout of the cabinets will vary depending on the shape of your kitchen and your needs.

For example... If you don't cook and eat out, you may want to build only the bottom cabinets, whereas a big family with elderly around may want a complete kitchen with top and bottom cabinets + oven space + dishwasher, etc. That could make a difference of 2-4k already.

On top of these that I've named... everyone has different wants and needs... so your quotation depends on whether you want any of the following:
False ceiling in living?
False ceiling in rooms?
shower screens? glass or acrylic?
window grilles?
powder-coated window grilles?
Normal doors or veneer ones like roamca?
Wardrobes in every room?
Walk in wardrobes?
feature walls?
Feature wall to hide bomb shelter?
shoe cabinets?
Customised dining benches?
Customised TV consoles?
Bed frames?
Bedside tables?
Study tables?
Frosted glass partitions?

There are too many variables in order for us to give a general price of renovating a new 4 rm.

we can only suggest if you already have a quotation and we sort of know what you want... then compare the items on your quote with ours to see if it's a "good price"?

hehe My five cents. I hope you understand.

hi chee wing.. emailed you Ah Soon's.

** wonder how many I've emailed today. Better call Ah Soon to ask if he needs a break. **

Hi Pet, Thanks for your advise.
Wow. Renovation seems like a crazy stuffs huh.

I went to the exhibition sometimes back in expo for the renovation stuffs. Two of them are "trying" to do a 3D design for me FOC, meeting one of them this saturday.

She asked me what is my budget, i said around 30k (I thought this is the norm price) and realized it didn't include wardrobe and many of the things you mentioned above.

I still can't confirm what is going to be done for sure since it's going to be my first meet up with her this sat.

Now, i'm a little swayed to get a contractor if it's it's cheaper and more stuffs can be done.