RENOTALK PEOPLE

Mrspiglet.. if you're referring to the glass for the toilet windows.. the 8 pieces.. then mine are free. I happen to know that they cost about $7 each so 8 pieces cost $56 and 2 toilets cost $112. whahah yes I got them FOC. At first he say he try to clean for me... but I bugged him every day then he just CHANGED THEM... Xiaomei = small fly around his ear. :P
And I think that $100 can be easily waived la.

And are you going to change your lollipop?

Wah fondue.. I think Ah soon so busy.. if you're afraid that he might drag finding out then you might want to purchase yourself? just in case? haha When I see how busy he is, it's really scary :P

Ponytail report liao!! hey hey! Is that the finalised one? The first picture! Definitely looks better! What is the progress like now?

Need your help guys.
975198.jpg

That's my new neighbour's door. As I'm buying my recess I'm thinking of getting a new door grille (and hopefully door). But I've looked around and I dunno what this kind of door grille is called. It's not your usual wrought iron one. This one the rods across are squarish... by any chance does anyone know it and how much it costs? My neighbour bought the house and it came with it so she doesn't know.

finally i am done with my fengshui..
met up with my FSM master today and alot of information inside my head now.. some of the designs my ID give cannot be use..so need to brain storm again..
but this FMS is gd lah.. at least he can pacify my FMIL.. my FMIL very traditional one..

Hi Pet,

Thanks for ideas on my floorplan. Just a few days didn't check here and the thread already has 2 archives! You ladies are fast

poseidon gal... good for you. I think that's the hardest hurdle and your FSM passed!! so it'll be more smooth sailing for you

hey Ziggy.. no prob!!
haha

Harlow harlow! I'm back from my cleaning! Wah seh.. arms tired man! But it was a real pleasure cleaning our own house.
(ask me that a couple of mths later, and it may be diff!) My hb din even wana come back, said that he'll spend the nite at new house! I tink he reali wun come back if finished his packing liao.

mrspiglet! u've got
975765.gif
Hee.. yupz, very few defects. And those defects are very very minor ones too. Yeak came today to fix the defects. And he even lend us his electric drill w/out us asking! Think he's really v nice and responsible. Now he's rushing roamca's house. hehe.. wonder hw's her house liao. Tink carpentry shd b almost all up liao.

ponytail! Great to c u! Hee.. Fierce hor? Hehe, hope that it wun b too fierce and my hb & I always quarrel there. hahah! :P Ur new 3D looks nice! What made u change the laminate again?

poseidon gal! Good to hear that. Share with us ur new ideas when it's out k?

fondue! Hee, most welcome. Hope u get a gd quote. Kinda tink it'll b gd to do ur curtains near the end of ur reno, b4 u shift in. If not, they'll need to drill the rods into ur walls, and u'll need to clean the whole place agn.

ok, we're gg to unplug the comp liao. I'll reply to u guys as soon as my comp is up.
Chat with u guys soon, in my new home!

Pinkpetter: yes!! i finally see Ah soon today again! 2nd time after my reno started. Haha! He offered to chge the panes for me in both toilets FOC! WooohooO!!!

I'll be keeping my lollipop room after much consideration. Today go there very nice look. I think it was the evening sun the other day that made it look so fierce. Hub very jealous my room turns out nicer than his and he's tempted to exchge room w me! LOL!

Anyway ur gate right, i think its still wrought iron leh, just that its customised. may have to talk to the gate pple directly to see if they can do similar ones. If not wrought iron, there's also wrought aluminium which some shop in IMM claims to be more versatile in terms of design (aka more ex too!).

Angel: got ur mail!! Cleaning ur own house is sweaty n tiring but worth it right? So exciting! U'll most prob be smiling and reading this in ur new house happily liao!

Some updates...
Just after i was wondering how come my reno like slow tortoise, it went lighting speed these 2 days! Plumbing, carpentry, lights, even my window grills were removed when i went back to check at 9pm+.

All plumbing done yday... all in 1 day *amazed*. Thkfully hub was on MC and went up yday, otherwise they would have mounted my common toilet basin in MBR toilet cos "jason (ah soon's bro) says its nicer." *faints*

975915.jpg

MBR Toilet with my rainshower!

975916.jpg

Common Toilet

Carpentry guys came today and was super fast as well. Came in only at 11plus, when out for lunch after putting the carpentry things.. n half a day they completed a lot of things.

975917.jpg

Top L: Worker fixing the cabinet in my lollipop rm, R: My kitchen door
Bottom L: Half done kitchen cabinet, R: TV Console at false wall.

Lights also mostly up except downlights. And i dunno which group of workers broke one of my glass piece for my MBR lights. Argh. 1 small pc of glass replacement cos $38 when my light is only $80!!

I was surprised they did a proper cabinet for the lollipop rm, i only asked for simple doors so that i can hide my shoes inside the cove area.

Gonna ask if i can lower my TV console wall a bit since i'm not wall mounting my 40". Didnt wanted to make them go thru the trouble... but really like a little too high liao.

Hi angel,pinkpetter,roamca,piglet,fondue!i miss u all lei!hahaha..didnt know u all already shifted here from renotalk!haha....
Angel,your house sooo fast!!!!Saw a few picture u upload,from inside looks like landed lei!!!swee oh...

haha RONDY!! miss you too la!! aiyah this is our temporary home lor. ANgel already unplug so I guess we won't see her for a few days... Maybe Monday ba.

Wah Mrspiglet!! WHat a lot of progress!!! and I'm so happy for you the panes are free... heheh and the carpentry seems all done! Ya the toilet people are quite efficient one.

hey Fondue what's the progress like? *exciting*

oh yes... thanks mrspiglet.. for the info on the gate. then I shall print out the picture for the window/grille uncle see how.

hi pinkpetter...

we went to adamas, ho kee, royal franco, poh joo and gr link all in one day on saturday. so tiring man.

we haven't found the right WC. Tap mixer from the brand Atrix is so expensive close to 300+ for 2!

Basin for 2 toilets think we will pick the brand deca.

Rain shower - Atrix

Kitchen sink most likely will be bravo.

Thinking of going to Adamas at Tradehub today...

wah fondue you are good! I went two places with my parents and I just wanted to give up already. You went so many??

mm what kind of WC are you looking for? Mrspiglet and i bought the one-piece WC from Eestilo at Geylang...

hi pinkpetter, first up is i'm looking for a WC where our butt sits comfortably on and a reasonably good flush system. lol

Adamas got this brand - Claytan, Sales rep recommended the LISA from this brand @ $240. *Faintz* http://www.claytangroup.com/c_product.php?mcatID=2&catID=47

If I calculate all her recommendations, my MBR toilet will cost close to 1k. double faintz. 1k = deca basin 150, atrix mixer 180, atrix rain shower 390, claytan "lisa" wc 240, Bidet spray + Accessories easily 100+.

Common toilet - tr basin - 153, atrix mixer 153, claytan "lisa" wc 240, shower 100+, Bidet spray + Accessories easily 100+.

In all close to 2k, it's MAD!

So now trying to find ways to cut cost.

fondue, Claytan I think the Aries is selling $190 w/o soft closing and $220 with soft closing at Poh Joo. Looks similar to the Lisa that you mentioned. Angel got the one without soft closing. I think it is made in Malaysia.

mrspiglet - like your rainshower. Very nice pic taken, can almost see the droplets of water! Look already also feel shiok.

fondue.. wah one toilet 1k?? two toilets 2k?? too much ba... We spent 1k on both toilets... mm yes yes do more research. Do you need the things to be delivered soon?

I though Poh Joo is quite reasonable in pricing.

rondy: Yes! we all seeking temp shelter here. Hope RT will be up soon, its painful to upload pics here!

pinkpetter: very fast hor? I was shocked also leh. The plumber chop chop finish everything within 1 day. Lightning speed. carpentry got a little miscomm betwn jason n the carpenter, they missed out my shoe cabinet.
capenter uncle was quarreling w Ah Soon over the phone when i told abt the missing item.

fondue: i got my rainshower at Bellari at J.Besar. Whole set is $429 inclusive of rainshow head, shower handle, mixer. PJ quoted me $500+ for a similar square head set. Generally round heads are cheaper. U may wanna go Bellari take a look? Their aftersales service is quite gd so far.

As for my WC, i took Claytan 4506 from PJ, it looks similar to Lisa model, and going at $120 only.
All in all both toilets cost me ard <$1.5k, excluding Gas heater thou. U want i can send u my breakdown see if it can help u?

zonkkie: thks!! when i bought it my heart was aching, asking myself why i need to spend so much just to bathe! But now fixed up already it just feels shiok looking at it. hehe!

mrspiglet.. oops missing shoe cabinet wor. I quite like hearing them quarrel le. haha Anyways it's only a shoe cabinet and can be put up later cos carpentry is quite easy to put up. What else is there to be done?

fondue: U've got mail!

Pinkpetter: Ya, i was quite surprise that Ah Soon managed to last a gd 20mins with the carpenter over the phone! That's the longest i've seen him on a phone! hahahha! I'm ok with the shoe cabinet, like u say.. its simple piece of carpentry. I see them quarrel, so scary!

Now left with grills and lights, some rectification to tiles, electrical points.

And i just asked Ah Soon's wallpaper lobang to chge my window panes' solar film. He's bringing the workers up now!

poseidon_gal: I was surprise when i read others' spending few thousands on toilet stuff. But when i went ard shopping, i also succumbed to spending!

thanks mrspiglet. hehe we are so confused after seeing so many shops.

think next weekend we have to confirm on the - --- kitchen cooker, hood and oven
- bathroom fittings (wc, mixer, shower)

mrspiglet...mm grilles can be put up in a couple of hours.. so mostly it's the electrician's job already la.. mm that's fast! Do you think it'll be done by Friday?

fondue: dun tired yourself out! still got lights, furniture for next round, must preserve some energy!

I also wanted to save every single cent i can, but in the end i think i would have spent more time n petrol running ard for the cheapest deal. So i learnt to settle once the price is right and within budget, and DON'T compare anymore. Else my heart will ache if i see cheaper deals. haha! Hope my list can help u thou..

Pinkpetter: They took down my living room grills but nvr take down my bedroom 3 grills. So funny! I think the carpenters need another 1-2 days to finish up the loose ends n solid surface. Quite a bit of rectification to do, esp when i chge my mind on the half wall tv console height (my bad!).. dunno if Ah Soon will charge me for that or not.

Fri.. hmm. I dunno leh. Jason say can complete by next wk, but nvr give me actual date thou.

enivi28: you've got mail! Got him thru pinkpetter's recommendation. Read my lengthy mail..

mrspiglet: Think Ah Soon wouldn't charge u de la. If charge also small amount. Tomorrow is the day to hand over by them. These few days think Jason rushing your house thats why not much work at my side. Still got some bits and pieces. Tomorrow can finish. Tiring tomorrow for me cause all my funiture and TVs all coming.

hahha mrspiglet... that's what happened in my house. they wanted to take down all my grilles but I stopped them. I kept the grilles in 3 bedrooms. LOL :P

mmm I wonder how are they going to make the half wall shorter... hack? mm

Wah Vincent... congrats! Call all the shops beforehand to make sure they are coming so you don't wait for nothing ya?

Zonkiee> Haha ya I have been in the SG Brides for 1yr liao... Hhahaha Am I the most senior here...

All> Wah only a few days I cannot catch up liao... Everyday check RT still down wor.
Btw we just received our approval letter from HDB... after this will we still receive another letter regaridn what to do on the 2nd appt with HDB???

vincent: they shifted all the plumbers, carpenters, n electrician to my house since fri. When i told ah soon all the things to be rectified, he say wait wait.. wait till final already then one shot do all for me. haha! i think he needs to channel the guys to ur place to do touch up. U no need to clean b4 shifting furnitures ah?

Btw, Jason say my shortening the half wall is a challenge leh. I dun think its easy job for them, cos of the metal structure inside. I feel so bad now..

Pinkpetter: my case opp leh. they are suppose to take down the grills in living room n guest room, but they only took down the living rm ones. I dunno how they gonna chge my half wall. But the wall is badly aligned w the TV console. Dunno whether issit my original wall slanted or the half wall slant or wat..

christy: have u got ur 2nd appt date? Cos some of us know it on 1st appt, but like myself, i only got to know it 1wk b4 the 2nd appt. Letter only came 3 days beforehand. So was quite rush to take leave.

halo...sisters &amp; brothers! Few days didnt come in already so many post le...haha...last sat went up and saw my kitchen up le...so love lor...but the kitchen top not ready yet..will be up tomoro!
977844.jpg

977845.jpg

somemore pictures
my main door
977858.jpg

my bedroom door
977859.jpg

my master sliding wardrobe (not up yet)
977860.jpg

my gal sliding wardrobe (not up yet)
977861.jpg

WAH Roamca!! Your doors are beautiful! Did they cost a lot??? *envious* and the kitchen is very nice. what colour is your top?

mrspiglet.. I'm sure they have their way one ba. Might be a little more difficult but should be doable. DUn worry too much.

mm Christy>> I was informed of my 2nd appt later as I did mine through my lawyers... Cos mine is a bank loan.
Yours?

hi pinkpetter...my kitchen solid top is white but got abit shimmer type...

which doors you are refering to? haha...i post so many doors pictures leh...

Hi Ponytail,
The layout of your kitchen cabinets looks like mine. Could you please share with me where you will locate washing machine, fridge and wash basin?

I spent a few weeks to find a good layout with minimum changes (cost) ... but I'm still stuck

Thanks a lot!

mrspiglet &amp; pinkpetter> Oh I received my approval letter from HDB with the 2nd appt date. But it did not state the time for the 2nd appt and what to bring or prepare on the approval letter. So I was wonder if any more letter will be mail to us. We took up a bank loan for bank too.

All> Btw have you all come across this furniture store call Unikhome at IFC. The furniture looks ok but I need some advise before we buy from them le... my hubby kinda love their furniture. Any advise please...

roamca: is ur kitchen white or off-white? It looks so nice!! I picked all white kitchen, but scare the white will turn yellow, so took off-white instead. Maybe will not turn out as bright looking as urs.

And ur doorss...niceee!! r the bedroom doors veneer doors? I wished i had the budget to chge mine too. No $, so had to repaint the existing doors n make do w it. Even my main door also cannot chge, fire-rated door will cost me a bomb! I like the metal strip part!

Pinkpetter: Went home just now during lunch... was expecting jason, but when the familiar slippers sound approached, it was AH SOON!! Surprise surprise! so i grab the chance, tell him all that needs to be chge, he all say NO Prob! Jason say ah soon says ok means ok. ;P

N my window grills and gate all up! Lights also all up. Solar film uncle finished 50% of the windows. Ah soon says tmr he will be getting people to clean up the house then rectification and touch will commence. Fast fast!

christy: just keep checking the website for the time? that's wat i was doing everyday. 2nd appt no need to bring much things for hdb loan, but for bank loan i'm not too sure.

poseidon_gal: u've got mail.

mrspiglet> Har??? Check the HDB website for the timing??? How do I do that which link to go to??? Erms.. I know we got to prepare 5% to the HDB amount I can calculate but of coz it will be better if got a paper/letter to follow from HDB. Think the 5% is have to give cash or Cashier's Order right.... erms very kanchong... Hehehe

Pinkpetter!! I reply first before I backtracked to read all the post. Thanks for redirecting me here man!! i am suffering from renotalk withdrawal syndromes!

Weeeee.... me renovation starting today... next 3 days of hacking.

fondue - confirmed my aircon with Hong T@r today too. 1st installation on Thursday.

Christy - Second Appt bank loan no need to bring anything. For mine, appointment paper also no need to bring. Actually, you can ask your agent to handle, no need to turn up yourself also. Just need to pay seller lawyers the conservancy charges.

Roamca - wow... bright and cheery kitchen. Somemore put green plastic bag there to bring up the theme. Think you will be happy whipping up dishes. Your sink also fits nicely onto the L countertop.

Mrspiglet - so shiok... can go and spot check during lunch...actually, i think white turn offwhite at the same time is ok... its when those places where kena sun one becomes offwhite while the rest is pure white that is a problem.

Roamca... I love ALL your doors. Your main door, bedroom door, sliding doors.. I love alllllll.

Christy... zonkkie is right. You needn't bring anything and needn't show up even. Cos your lawyer will tell you to prepare the cheque (if any) and he will be the one who hands it over to your seller. You can meet him later for kopi and get the keys from him. hahah
If you want to go also can la. I went... and regretted cos my stingy sellers really blew my top. :P And dun worry about timing, your lawyer will tell you. The rule of the time is... BUG YOUR LAWYER that's why you pay him.

WAH mrspiglet... looks like you'll be done this week! Happy for you!!! take photos ok!

Ivy!! Glad to see you here!! hahha

zonkkie! CONGRATS on starting!!! your turn to show us photos!

Pet - thanks... hope renotalk is up soon so I can update there instead. Havent figured out how to post the teeny weeny pictures here.

Anyway, Thursday start Ching Ming... people generally don't like to start renovations during this period + recession, so hope will have more people working on my place and get it completed faster!!

Ya ya! That's true le... contractors will be more free during Qing Ming cos no ned business.
Good for you... means will finish fast and you have time to clean up!!