RENOTALK PEOPLE

how come i feel the renotalk like never update their website huh? Like still the same things after 2 months..

zonkkie>> ya I really wonder why. I hope they aren't going away forever...

enivi28>> yup the frontpage has been the same since forever....

Arh!!! Thanks zonkkie, for telling mi. I miss u guys too!
Wonder when is RT gg to b ok....

Updates pple! Zonkkie, how's ur reno coming along?

Wonder how are the rest.. roamca, mrspiglet, aubrey (& she juz started her tblog..

i'll see if can get those colleagues of my wife to come to the temporary home too (mrspiglet, pinklady, etc).

Otherwise, just have to setup our own renotalk liao...

Haha! Here as our temp home ok lar. Just hope that more pple will come in and chat.

Pink: u got mrspiglet's contact rite? msg her to cme here bah.

Oh Pinkpetter, can pm me your contractor's contact- Ah Soon? My fren just got a flat at Henderson. Should be renovating abt 3-4 months later. Hopefully, ah Soon not so packed :P

Hi rdnest! Good to see u! Yah loh.. Been real bored w/out RT. Didn't realize that I use RT so much until it's out-of-action.
kao_sad2.gif

mmm ya. I wonder if there's a place where we can set up our own forum. hahahha That'll be cool!

Ye Zonkkie how's your reno?

Angel81>> YA HOR I shall sms her in a while. hahaha
How's your reno?

Yoz pinkpetter! My reno is gg on great!! The workers are cleaning the whole house today liao. hehehehee.... Think tml or fri can handover to us liao.

hope that RT can use agn sn. Everyone sure got tonnes of pics to share share. Can't wait to see

Me reno not started yet. Still trying to finalize the lighting plan.

ID is keen to do cove lights + downlights. He say the effect very nice.

For us, we are installing a lot of ceiling fans. So we are concerned that with cove lights, it will have the shadow/dizzy effect since the fans are under the lights. So still debating whether to go for looks or functionality.

Angel, is that the Rinnai hood?
Nice kitchen... there is more of it right? otherwise countertop space a bit limited.

Haiz... zonkkie... that's abt it. There's another 2ft of counter top on the opp side, nex to the glass door. But that's abt it.
kao_cry.gif
Now wondering where to do my baking.. We did think of getting a drop leaf table fr IKEA to mount on the wall. But they're left with dark brown, and it won't match my kitchen's colours. Contractor said tat it'll b hard to paint it white as well, cuz the original color already so dark. Thinking of getting a small foldable table and bring it out when I need extra space loh.

That hood is from HOBZ.

Hmm... Yah, the flickering lights will b a problem. Will u b installing fans at all areas? How abt cove lights at areas with no ceiling fans?

Angel - I always very concerned about counter space... cos put kettle, toaster, coffee machine (maybe) etc etc... Guess if it is a constraint, then have to be neater and keep everything after use. Some people use pull out countertops if need extra space.. but guess it is a bit late.

Oh.. i got the similar looking hood from Rinnai. Just that it has a big "Rinnai" printed in front.

Hehe... we installing ceiling fans everywhere (total 5). So nowhere to put cove. In the end will just put cove lights at cozy corner. The rest just do L box with downlights.

Christy... hehe... looking at the "registered" date of the people here, seems like all joined SGbrides before renotalk... only pinkpetter is a newbie here.

i miss renotalk too... want to check with you guys want brand of solid surface do you use?? The only one i know is corian..LG hi-macs.. all those expensive ones..
want to know if anyone use other brands..as gd as those 2 but cheaper..

i very scare if i put everything on my counter top like kettle, toaster, oven, rice cooker..etc i will spoil my counter top because of heat issue.

hehe... those things don't put on counter then I don't know where to put already. But I never thought about the heat issue. Hopefully, because they are standing on "legs", it will still be ok.

mine solid surface is borelli. Definately cheaper than Corian/LG hi-macs but havent used yet, so don't know good or not.... cannot recommend.

Zonkkie, I'm very particular about counter space too! But with my tiny kitchen.. There's nuting much that I can do.
kao_sad2.gif
Did consider doing a u-shaped kitchen to have more counter space, but that will make my kitchen look even smaller. I'll be keeping all appliances (except electric kettle) when not in use, so should save more space, and the place will look neater.

Did think of those pull-out countertops as well, but I dun have space for that too. It'll either block the entrance or my sink/hob.
The only place I can think of is below my oven, but that'll be very low. If oven put higher, then I wun b able to reach the microwave that'll b on top of the oven.
That's why in the end, just make do with wat I have loh. Thinking of either a foldable table or a nice movable island to add space/storage. Hope that can find a nice white one bah.
Gota make do with watever space I have.

Hee, we did think of getting the rinnai one as well. In the end decided to go with Hobz cuz of the price.

Lesser cove lights also gd, lesser places to collect dust. :P

poseidon_gal, my contractor gave me acelite. Mine has little sparkles inside, quite cool. He said that it's quite gd as well. I read in their website that it's waterproof as well. So tink there'll b lesser possibilities of water stains. Can check it out.
As for heat, just put those stands/coasters/mats underneath should be fine. But I think those electric appliances are fine, cuz got legs mah. It's those hot saucepans/pots that can't be placed directly onto the solid surface.

i very scare if i put everything on my counter top like kettle, toaster, oven, rice cooker..etc i will spoil my counter top because of heat issue.

Hi tccwish, my hob,hood & oven cost $1.3k in total. But a couple of other RT forumners got cheaper ones at Adamas i think. $800plus for all 3, but another brand.

Bottom cabinets - 12ft (excluding the 2ft solo cabinet next to glass door.) Total top cabinets, including above solo cabinet & fridge - 17.5ft

Hi poseidon_gal, Heheh... I also very scare. So I already told my MIL to take care of the kitchen when she uses it. And I even bought coasters/mats even before I shift in.

Hi figo! good to see u here! Sianz rite? It's been so long liao... How's ur reno coming along?

hi all!! my htb and i are looking for ID and contractor to do up our house. but at a lost of who to get cuz we heard so many horror stories. anyone can recommend us some IDs and/or contractors?

Hi evelyn,

Haha, wana ask u to go Renotalk to look at pics to see whh ID/contractors do good work also can't now, since RT has been down for quite awhile.

My contractor, Mr Yeak, is quite good. Drop me an email if u wish to have the contact. [email protected]

Pinkpetter's contractor, Ah Soon, is also well recommended in RT. You may wish to ask her for his contact as well.

Good luck with your search, and hope u have a good reno process.

WAH SAY! All falling in! So happy haha.

Angel!! How you insert the picture??! I also want to insert but I keep getting the links only... mm So different from RT one. :P Nice kitchen!!

Poseidon gal.. dun worry about appliances.. cos they have legs like what zonkkie pointed out. But you have to take care when it's usage. Honestly I think no matter how good you buy it's still solid surface... so pick something within your budget.

Hi Evelyn... if you can PM me or email me at [email protected] I can pass along Ah Soon's contact to you.
He did my house and 5-6 other forummer's houses.

figo... I also wonder what happened to RT. Super sad ... SOBBB

And yes I'm the only newbie here.. cos I'm not getting married ma!! :P haha

Hehee... this is the most active thread in Home and Deco already... hope Chin Leng doesnt kick us out.

Angel - Renotalk you posted about your frosted glass door. How much is it ah? Me ID quoted me $750, like so expensive. Then he say got soft closing and made in Malaysia while others made in China.

Hi Angel,

Can I have the contact of your contractor? Saved your kitchen's picture for reference. The place I plan to get has a kitchen that's even smaller than yours...

Miss u guys!! Pinkpetter, angel!! Mrspiglet here!

Renotalk is really getting on my nerves, everyday go office 1st thing i check if the server is up or not. Haiz...

Angel, ur red/white kitchen is very refreshing leh, diff from other's red/white kitchen! Nice!

Very fast hor, can shift in soon. I miss the updates of everyone's house.

Mine's progressing super slowly. Painting since last Fri until today. Ah soon still tell me 3wks, today is 3wks dateline. Maybe i shd go n nag at him already.. hehe!

Painting all done, but got lotsa touch up to be done... Some of the rooms:
972150.jpg

Living rm
972151.jpg

MBR (L:With flash, R:Natural lighting)
972152.jpg

Lillipop Rm (L:With flash, R:Natural lighting)

hey zig! do you have a floorplan? hehe if you can upload we can try to help?

Mrspiglet!!! miss you too. YES this downtime is really too much..

pinkpetter! Think i reply u here better... i got too much to nag abt. Heheh!

As i was telling u, my carpentry/plumbing/grills/lightings all haven started. Tmr they will start to polish my marble floor, but today painters work half day byebye liao. Aircon vendor called me at 3pm asking for pin to the lock cos house already emptied! I wonder y my reno is taking soooo long.

But i think the tiler really very prompt n gd! He rectified all my problems on the following day after we called Ah soon abt it!

Luckily i cannot shift until end Apr cos of Qing Ming, but i'll still make sure they rectify n clean up b4 i shift, else my nose will cry for help w all the dust flying ard!

Btw, is renotalk even gonna come up again? I scare all my post lost leh...

Mrspiglet!! I just saw all the photos! I love the colours! Sometimes when I see all the colours in your houses I get so envious and wish mine weren't so white. Super envious...

But why they polish the floor tomorrow?? then when the carpentry come in, wouldn't it spoil the floor? mm so funny one...

ya luckily the tiling problems were rectified. THAT is the MOST troublesome. and luckily you aren't really in a hurry. but still... nudge him a bit la. He needs pushing. :P Maybe Qing Ming period when people don't want to start reno, your house will move fast.

I'm also afraid for my posts... sob.

Zig! I saved your file. going to fiddle with it now. hahahahaha

i'm a little shocked by the lollipop actually, its really very striking and fierce! So much so i'm thinking whether i've made a right choice. White is better, when u get sick of it just buy a small tub of paint and DIY! my lollipop cannot so easily chge color liao...

I've no idea y the order is like tt leh. My floor is already very badly scratch, i also dun care liao lah. Seriously i'm even more puzzled why they dun wanna send a plumber down to fix up all my toilet things. Its all sitting in the middle of my lollipop rm now.

If only mine can go a bit faster. I very tired of going up to check everyday!

must go n find out who is taking up all Ah Soon's time already... *humpf

hey pet and angel, i've sent both of u an email

anyone tried COOS before? ID is Eric Lee. we're thinking to look for a few more IDs to compare

Hi mrspiglet, pinkpetter, angel81 and others if you were in renotalk!
Hahhaa.
I'm getting withdrawal symptoms here from RT's downtime.

LOL! Lawry, ^5. I'm so lost w.o RT.

Still waiting so eagerly to catch ur latest blog somemore. But its been down for so ridiculously long.

Ziggy!
I thought that your kitchen was a nice squarish shape though a little small and I made it open concept with a counter in front.
972333.jpg

Then I realised that you probably would want to have a washing area cos you were admiring Angel's kitchen so I designed another. You can have a glass door if you like. I guess with a washing area then one wouldn't want an open concept...
972334.jpg

EH? MrsPiglet... Ah Soon told my good friend in Bedok the other day that no one is working at her place for a day cos ALL go to your place le! haha Yes yes we must find out. Such curiosity.

Hey Evelyn. Will reply your mail soon!

Hey Lawry! I was looking forward to your posts too! SOB

eh? Got meh? My place is forever just 1 group of workers only. For the past whole wk was just painters. for the past of prev whole wk was just tilers. Where got all go my place? Electrician nvr appear after he left my place in halfway. Some of my cables no tray so painters didnt even painted the trays!

Then where all his workers go to?? *scratch head*

mmm maybe Jespers place cos you and him start about the same time ba?

cannot be the Yishun ones cos those are probably still tiling.lallala

Harlow! Wah, our temp home suddenli so happening. Hehehehe... Anyone has roamca's contact? I wonder how's her reno, cuz Yeak is suppose to handover to her next week. Oh ya! Mine handover today. Looking fwd to tonight!

Pinkpetter:
Hee, I just follow according to instructions leh. Maybe cuz the first few pics u posted were large sizes? Anyway, I saw u can upload pics instead of links liao.

Aiyah, white is nice also. Later I upload my white dining/passageway show ur. U can always buy sme paint and paint ur pretty room a couple yrs later or for cny!

Zig:
Email addy please, so that I can send u my contractor's details.

Evelyn:
Let me chk my email and I'll send my contractor's details to u.

mrspiglet:
Ur house's colours are gorgeous! Love the lollipop. It seems slightly darker than usual though. Maybe cuz w/out lightings. Yah, I think u shd nag at ah soon liao. He did say 3wks woh.

Ur MBR uses mysterious, same as mine rite? Looks kinda different fr mine leh. Show u in a little while.

There was afew times where my house fin wk half day, or no work done for whole day as well. Most likely cuz Ah Soon sent his guys to do up those that he needs to handover urgently bah.