Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
Hi Dor,

gee, i dun really rem leh.. i only rem we can finish eating 2nd dish, which is sharksfin, then we hv to go up n change..
anyway, they will stop serving b4 we march in.. so all the guests will hv to stop eating.. hee hee..

Busybee, I'm also doing my house now...we ROM in July then in Sept the house came and now we are going to book the banquet and leave the preparations for it next yr....everything one step at a time. Well, on second though me and my husband will prob not go with Mr Feng Shui ... somehow we feel that we already chose a good date for our ROM so we just wanna treat the dinner as a big party and not to be too into the dates lah...honestly I dun really believe cos I know people who have chosen the most wonderful dates for themselves and they still separated in the end ... hmmm....

So when are you going to book with Regent? I'm meeting Evelyn tonight and will most likely pay the deposit as well ...

Do any of u gals feel that the aisle is a bit short huh? And I'm also thinking how best to arrange the tables such that the pillars dun block...wonder if that can be done....honestly I wanted to go with another hotel and I must say it has a fantabulous ballroom...but but but....the service simply sucks! Somemore 5 star hotel...gosh...really turn off lor...then I spoke to the regent and I tell u i was so impressed with their service for a potential client....and they are like truely warm to u kind, I wanted to sign up over the phone...hehehe

Did anyone manage to get a food tasting for 10 instead of the 6 stated in the freebie list?

Hey Cadaryne, ur SIL is quite a cow for doing that to u...sorry for saying so but I really feel for u....so now u gotta choose somewhere else lor?

Hi Dor,

I'm also not changing the fish. Cos I think it must have been overcooked. Hope it turns out well for AD.

I sent out my cards already. Cream coloured ones. : ) My AD is end of this month. Hope things turns out well..... : )

hi gals!
the pics as promised. just a handful of em though...that's all i got from my friend. bet chubby's pics are much much nicer!

169282.jpg

169283.jpg

dor

there is a wedding tomorrow, my colleague's fren. go down and take a look!

klkh

when is your wedding?

mine is end of the month too!

Hi busybee, your friend who managed to get those photos already signed with Regent? The other time, i wasn't able to take photos...cos they say that i have not signed up with them
when u signing?? Care to share what are the perks they are offering u?

hallo busybee

the jazz theme looks very appealing! thumbs up for the decor.

so have you decided on hurricadia? what are the other photographers that you are considering?

wow, the jazz theme looks very pretty. I love the hanging glass lights ... so sweet

Hi chubby,
Are your roses champagne or pink in colour??

thanks busybee for putting up the pics

I think the deco of the VIP Table is very nice and elegant. I didn't quite like the hanging beads of the Chinois theme hehe
But the flower stands look abit more simple compared to the Chinois theme - I think it's because of the lanterns.

Have you gals more or less settled on the theme yet? Has anyone tot of topping up for more flowers?

hi busybee
thks for the pics too.

hi chubbyrain, klkh, iluydia
i need help.. juz dun noe why i m startin to panic.. seem like lots of thing haven done. any recommendation on
1) wher to order wedding cakes for relatives
2) lunch caterer
3) 'what to do list' on AD day & nite
4) Songs (me still sourcing)

hi bugbear,
dun think my friend has signed up. the couple's considering other hotels too, you see. i was surprised too that they'd allow picture taking cos the hotels are usually rather sticky about such things but they were cheerfully obliging that day. i havent signed up as yet, cos we're waiting for em to come up with the contract.
and yourself? have you signed up with regent?

hi huiling,
terence has promised to hold the date for us.
the details will be worked out when he gets home this december i suppose.

hi tougei and dor
glad i could help out a little in this forum.

tougei, guess i wun be deciding on the theme yet. my wedding is like a little more than a year away from now, and the fiance and i have agreed that we'd start taking things easier and not fret so much about decisions and all that.

hi chubbyrain,
can't wait to see your pics! heheh...

Hi busybee,

when is your AD?

Hi Dor, maybe you want to try Prima Deli or Polar for wedding cakes, they seem reputable.

for lunch caterer, i recommend Select or CJS ( i hope i got the name correct)

Morning Gals!!

Busybee, i also have not signed up...cos i have not confirmed my date. Tentatively to be Dec05...but might slip into Mar06...and Regent don let me sign up if my date is Mar06

that's why, i am still hanging ard :p

Dor, for caterer, i think you can try Kriston or Purple sage as well.

Hi Dor,
Are you referring to cakes for GDL. For my GDL, I ordered cakes from Prima Deli. Like what huiling said, you can also get from Polar.

Songs: I used "Fly me to the moon" from Julia London the jazz version for 1st March in, "The Gift" by Colin Raye for 2nd March in, "One Boy One girl" for Montage. Oh, not trying to advertise, but the person who did my montage has done a great job !!! and is cheap too (I don't earn any commission from it at all ... hehehe)

sorry to trouble u all...may i know whether any of u took up the smaller function room - nassim and tanglin room? are there any pillars?

tnx

thks for the contribution

hi lala
who did ur montage and what is the cost? still thinkin whether to do not.. cos i still hv to rent the projector unless that is FOC

Hi Moo

Yah booked the ballroom ... din see the other function rooms cos I needed abt 35 tables ... but saw a few pictures of the other function rooms from the album ... also look quite nice and cosy .... oh i realised u asked abt pillars right....yah they do have pillars ... as to how many i m not so sure ... y dun u go and check it out?

lala, u got emcee script, thank you speech etc to share?
Nice songs u have chosen.....me oso not sure whether to do montage...dpn on the projector too

hi pork chops

tnx 4 replying =)

v busy these few weeks, can only go down maybe end nov or dec.

just curious y u chose regent over other hotels?due to location, food, ambience, parking etc?

when's your ad? mine is still far away, in 2006

Hi Moo,

Honestly me and husband started finding for hotels in April this yr ... we searched a few .. and had our hearts on one particular one with a very nice ballroom ... and we purposely waited many mths for them to have a wedding show so we can sign on then to get more perks mah ... but I tell u we were quite turned off by their service and they are a 5 star ok ...

So then I spoke to The Regent and was so so so impressed with their service we decided to go with them ... it's like we feel very safe to have them handle the details of our wedding ... and can tell that the Regent's staff are very warm and passionate abt handling your wedding for you... also it is a very nice and elegant hotel...and think food is good too cos Summer Palace is quite famous for cantonese food ..

My AD is in July 05.

Why? You having headache deciding on hotel is it? Go with one u are comfy with ... dun compromise on service ok ...

Hi Pork Chops

Yes, deciding on the hotel... fh doesn't like 4 season hotel, grand hyatt...

Think his eyes is fixed on gwp only...i am more open to other options :P

Think it is rather inconvenient if we hold it on a weekday...esp for relatives and friends who do not have vehicles...

+ gwp allows us to have the whole ballroom whereas reg can't...

will go to summer palace for a meal before we decide, i guess.

anyone has any recommendation as to what to order in summer palace? =)

Hi Jan Snow and Dor,
Cindy from Wedding Favourites did my montage. She charges $68 and gave us 2 pieces of DVD. There was another girl from another thread also did her montage with Cindy. She said her guests also gave very good comments. I can say her price is really cheap, thus got from her but didn't expect that the montage turns out so well *thumbs up*

I have emcee speech, can send you. Can you give me your email address again so that I can send you from office. I can't access my hotmail or yahoo account from office and have no computer at my new house.

Hi Pork Chops,
welcome in joining us as Regent's bride. Infact, I have a very pleasant time on my AD. Service was good. They have 1 staff to a table, thus all guests are well taken care of. And the quality of food was good. The only problem is that the portion is a bit small.

Have you decided on which theme to take?? For 2005, besides the Chinois and Jazz themes, any other new themes??

Oh, Regent provided us a pre-banquet dinner and when I was up in the hotel room to change for my 2nd march-in, they also gave us complimentary choco strawberries, champagne and wedding fruit cake. In addition, during our 2 days stay there, we had romantic dine-in American breakfast daily. All nicely set-up !!! Felt so pampered !!!

I simply can't ask for more liao ... we enjoyed ourselves very much.

Moo, how many tables are u having? Waterfront Copthorne let u have the whole ballroom and Regent cant? Waterfront's ballrm even bigger leh....ur FH dun like 4 seasons ah? Wah I love it man...but then only can fit 30 tables so I cant take lor.

Hi Lala,

U sound like u really had a most wonderful fantabulous time! Who was ur coordinator then? Aiyoh I din ask for pre-banquet dinner leh...er nevermind, ask next yr closer to the wedding.

havent decided on the theme...but we are more towards the Jazz theme ... but told evelyn to let me know should there be a Chinois theme so I could go n take a look to get a whole feel of it. heh ...

I think I m very kind leh...I din ask for much freebies...except for food tasting for 10 rather than 6 and a day room for my ah yees...but then again their package seems very comprehensive I also feel bad if i ask for too many things. hah

Hi pork chops,
yep, we really had a very very good time. Infact, intending to write a thank you card in to the hotel. My coordinator is Sunil. Actually hor, we only asked for the corkage waiver and pre-banquet dinner, other things like extra barrel of beer, 10 people food tasting and free projector, etc were part of the package.

har ... u got free projector ah! Which screen did you use? Evelyn advised me to use the 2 side screens and I gotta rent 2 projectors leh. 2005 packages are slightly diff from 2004. There are some extra amenities to choose from and I will be selecting extra nite stay and 24 bottles of house wine. And can choose one more but have not decided yet. When was ur dinner? I wonder if I can add on freebies after the contract is signed. I did ask Evelyn and she said if we are not asking for too much, they can work something out lor. She's getting me rose petals to throw round all the tables too.

Hi lala, wow you really enjoyed yourselves. maybe we should start asking for 3 nites stay instead liao hehe.

Hi Porkchops, glad to have another regent's bride. I'm a Jul 05 bride too
I'm very curious as to which was your previous choice of hotel. If you don't mind, can you PM me?

Hi Moo, I have a fren who loves 4 seasons too but I find it abit too small. Think Regent seems more grand, and yet cosy also. I liked Goodwood too but their ballroom too small for me. Initially I was worried abt accessibility too and had wanted to charter bus to send ppl. But everyone dissuaded me saying that as long as the directions are given in the invites, ppl can find their way one. We already have too many things to worry about liao
Oophs, very luo shuo hor.

Let me give you the menu so you can go Summer Palace to test
Yours is a weekday rite? Think all quite normal, except the chix. Oh, are you looking at the alternative to sharkfins??

Passion 1 (8 course)
Sharkfin soup
Scallops with celery in XO Chilli sauce
Braised black mushroom & sea cucumber in oyster sauce
steamed seabass
Crispy Roast Chix "Bi Feng Tang" style
Ee-ful noodles with golden mushroom
Mango puree with sago and pomelo

Err someone was asking ...I think Regent have 2 pillars at the back. Sunil said that if the tables not alot eg. 30, can avoid the pillars.

Jan, i have the emcee script from someone else in the forum. you want??

Hi porkchops,
We used the side screen but only on the left side of the ballroom. Yep, think the 2004 and 2005 packages are different. We don't have selection to choose from. Extra night stay, you mean 3 nights?? The 2004 package comes with 2 nights stay. We don't have rose petals, think will be nice to have them

My dinner was 16 Sep 04, less than a month ago
191225.gif
Shouldn't be a problem to ask for more freebies after signing the contract. Actually if we are not asking for too much, they are also nice enough to provide us the best they can.

lala,

no lah still 2 nites stay. the 2005 package comes with a standard 1 nite stay only. then u can pick from the extra amenities list for another nite stay lor...

so u just came back from your honey moon?

hi huiling!
my AD is in december 05. what about you?

hi bugbear,
why the uncertainty over the dates? is it one of those situations where you're still awaiting confirmation from mr fengshui man? i have a colleague who'd initially gone thru all the trouble to get a date for dec 05, only to meet with her FIL"s disapproval. so now poor her's hunting for another date.

pork chop...yeah, you're getting me all curious about that 5 star hotel with bad service. can share?

moo (scobido) >>Tanglin and Nassim does not have pillars BUT the rooms are longish. Its subdivided by those movable walls thingy. Its rectangular. More deep than it is wide, so you will prob have to do a L march in and a very very short stage. I can't remember which is which but the one with the wooden panel has a higher ceiling and its really charming room. Nice and cosy. Both rooms are alright but its just of the shape of the room that I am not crazy about. They were made for more seminars rather than dinners.

I think Oriental hotel should be done with their renov by then. I think it will be quiet nice. You can check out that hotel too.

lala>> wow $68 is cheap!!! I am just wondering if I should pay someone to do it for me!! don't know if I will find the time to go through all the baby photos!!! and actually sit down to put the video together. Lazy like anything. I think I will eventually pay someone else to do it for me. hehehe....

anyone has a low budget no frills digital photographer to recommend? I looking for about $600 take until drop kind of photo service. I actually like hurricuda very much but it seems he isn't in Singapore during my Actual Day. so boohoo. otherwise his package would have been perfect. Anyone knows of cheap Actual Day photographers. No need top notch ones just competent good enough already. thankies in advance.

Also Huling>> how is your idea of wedding cake coming along?

Hi busybee, have you decided on a date yet? would it be in the first week of december or something like that? december is a popular month

hallo sharky, i luff the idea of wedding cake leh, but i think regent does not allow outside food. my friend says the cake is a waste of money especially mine is a buffet, so there wd be lotsa of dessert. i thought if i really want people to rem the cake, then i would cut the cake and serve the guest the cake first before starting the buffet. but it would seem weird because usually people do not start a mean with a sweet. it would spoil the appetite. but if i serve the cake during the buffet, i don't think the cake is going to be so outstanding than the dessert in the buffet spread.

HI sharky,

I saw this website http://www.simonvideo.com.sg/
They have this offer for AD photography and video for $1k - no frills type. I was quite tempted but my FH prefers not to spend so much on AD photography and will be asking his frens to help with that. So I'm only looking for a videographer. Anyone knows of a good and cheap videographer? My budget abt $500, no frills too

Hi Huiling, why don't you ask Regent to bake the cake then? Is it not as nice as other bakery? then maybe you can negotiate the prices with some of the buffet desserts replaced by the cake?

Huiling>> the quote that I got from Regent is $55 +++ per kg. They will bake the cake, slice it and serve it. So thats probably what I will be doing. I think it would be nice if it was served together with the buffet as part of the dessert. Just a suggestion. Maybe you can get the cake from Regent and get them to give one less selection for the dessert and swap it for something else. If I remember correctly, they said for 100, i would need approx 5-6 kg. and since your function is for 60+ I think you will need a smaller cake. with the consideration that you do have other desert items, maybe you can have a smaller cake (although I am not sure now pretty that would be) but I think 2 tier cake about 4 kg is a decent size.... but I dun know.

Oh by the way, what time is your luncheon? How long will they let you use the area? I think i have to clear out of the room by 4ish. So maybe can drag the luncheon into tea time.... we expect (and hope) people linger around especially since the people coming to the luncheon are friends and pretty much know each other. Like class reunion like that. hahahaha. but see your timing lor... if not it would be nice to serve it after the buffet lunch close to tea time

tnx tougei and sharky

hmmm if e nassim and tanglin room is more for seminars, maybe it is not so ideal for a small and cosy wedding...

pork chop, e menu that u recommended me to try in summer palace is the wedding menu right?any other specials in this cantonense restaurant?

sharky, due to personal reasons, all hotels in marina area are eliminated from our list...

sharky, u chose regent also?

seems like everyone chooses the ballroom...

Hi porkchops

Got your PM
I went to that hotel before too. yep, the ballroom's not bad but the lady who serve us have the "don't want? SUA" type of attitude too hehe... Actually I think it's ok to put the name up in the forums. Their purpose is to warn ppl, and also to let the hotels/BS know that bad service will go unpunished one

By the way, your profile doesn't accept PMs. You need to go to the PROFILE (at the top of the page) and check the box. All PMs will go to the email addr you put when you registered

moo (scobido) >> yeah althought they felt more seminarish, i've actually confirmed to have my lunch reception there. Its actually not too bad. Its didn't like that its "longish" but we were thinking of doing a long table for lunch, so you can play with several config to make the room more cosy. My fhb and I are thinking of not having a stage maybe only have a rostrum. You should just go and take a look at the room. The wooden panel (slightly bigger room) is nicer.

Are you thinking of doing lunch or dinner?

busybee...me problem is with my hse. Want the hse to be ready before AD...that's why may need to drag to a later date to be safe lor...

Hi Tou2 ...

Think my PM is working now ... thanks!

So when is ur AD date?

Moo, it wasn't me who gave u the recommendations for Summer Palace....it was Tou2 lah ... heh ...

haha me blur , tnx pork chop

shaky, thinking of dinner... long table? hmmm sounds like an interesting idea but wonder whether our parents like it or not...wonder they have any weddings that use long table for dinner...

oh, u taking the function room?

hi huiling. you've got mail. =)

hey pork chop,
got your pm...yeah, we've got that one shortlisted too, but our visitings din get that far down the list after we dropped by regent.

thsnks busybee for your reply!

hallo sharky, we are thinking of having the luncheon at around 12.30pm. but I think wording it as 1pm on the card looks more presentable than 12.30pm hahaha. what do you think?

im really am unsure of what to do with a buffet luncheon. don't know if my friends wd even want to linger around :0 maybe invite them to my suite since there are only 50 people. don't think aoll wd come up to the suite. linger until tea time? i was thinking of catching a movie with some of them after the wedding, but fiance thinks i'm out of mind hahaha.

as for the cake I will KIV. im also considering having a jazz singer (who can play the piano too) to sing at my luncheon.

For videography, i recommend wedding paparazzi. they are listed in singapore bride.