Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
busybee >> first of all, how was the workshop in Regent? Did you sign afterall?

I think chubby choose the Jazz theme. Did anyone get any pictures?

fynn,

the workshop is relaxed and cosy, since there isnt like a large group to begin with. as for perks, they did offer a WEEKDAY special promotion. price remains the same for passion I and II, but they're throwing in unlimited serving of beer and one complimentary table of 10. however, the promotion is not applicable with the selection of amenities....

sunil and planners took the workshop peepz for a preview of the jazz theme, which i suppose is up for chubbyrain's wedding. very pretty.
and they had a chinois VIP table set up for show too. you're right about that one...the burgundy is charmingly festive!

i'd be signing up lah...just need to work out some details first, and not sure if i'd go for the promotional package. i do so want the ensemble, among other stuff.

as for pics, ran outta battery but a friend, who's attended the workshop while his fiancee is away, did manage to snap some. if he sends it soon, i'd post it here for everyone...that is,
if chubbyrain doesnt mind.

din manage to catch you around, chubbyrain. but i gotta say everything looks so charming and perfect!

Hhmm...sounds like the promo is the same as the last time i attended.

Busybee, any idea when this package is valid till?

hey bugbear,

promotion till december 2004. valid for bookings for weddings on weekdays in 2005 only.

when was the last time you attended the workshop? have you signed up with regent or still twiddling thumbs?

Hi busybee,

so you have seen the White Jazz theme?? Must be really pretty hor
When is your AD?? Taking the burgundy Chinois or White Jazzy theme leh ??

Busybee...me still have not made up my mind yet...cos my AD might be pushed to early 2006, so i also dunno how to book now leh
you more or less confirmed on Regent already right?

Just a check with gals here with Regent, the weekday special means not being able to choose from the amenities list?

Hi Elin, from what i understand...yes. If u opt for the promotion, then u cannot choose anymore amenities. Basically, i think they consider that as ur chosen amenities
but of higher value

lala: yes, the jazz theme is very pretty and romantic. if my memory still serves me, you chose the burgundy theme for your wedding yah? they're both so charming and now i'm torn between the 2! but since my AD will be in dec 2005, guess i'd have lotsa time to decide. heehee...

bugbear: regent is open for bookings for early 2006, i think. that's what i caught at the workshop. you may wanna give them a call on that.

Hi busybee,

yep, I had the burgundy chinois theme, I was thinking it will be nice to be in burgundy esp for my family and relatives. But it is also soooo romantic to be in all white and pure.

So, for the white jazz theme, is the VIP in white or cream too ??? Any flower arch in the walk way?? Me eager to see the pictures

hey you know whats funny, the Chinois theme is like so hot and happening in Australia. I have been looking around at Magazines and stopped by some gown shops and they ALL are like LOVE the idea of a Chinese wedding! They were like "oh oh what are you going to wear for the tea ceremony? You mean you are not wearing the traditional red kua??!!! BUT YOU MUST!!!!" I think its funny that a non chinese person is telling me its good fung shui! They have these Chinois theme weddings where the favours are packed in this cute little chinese "takeout" boxes (the ones you see on tv)

Hmmm so its either one or the other? Either the promos or the package? Hmm then ok lah. At least I not loogi big time! But you do get one table free so thats pretty good aint it?!

eh bee. Keep me posted on which package you are taking ok? Ensemble !?!! Just ask your sister to play the piano! n if i could sing, i would sing at your wedding! *ahem* *hint hint*

After much fretting, FH and I decided on Raffles Hotel.
A little more expensive than Hyatt and Regent but package price inclues a bottle of wine per table, so that kind of makes up for it I guess.
Will still drop by to post messages. Do tell me if you gals meet up yeah?

hi lala,
the way i look at the themes...it's romantic vs festive and both are appealing.

there isn't a flower arch for the jazz theme. your hubby got to kiss you under the arch during your march in yah?

fynn,
ohhhhhh...so you dun wan me to be your maid of honour but bent on having me make a fool of myself at your wedding lah? sing...hah! see my mood lor.

Morning ladies

Jan, didn't managed to go down to Chubby's wedding afterall
Was too late.

Caitlin, Raffles hotel's very nice and romantic too. The best part is that you will get to use its ground for your PS. So envious

Any gals here going to Regent for their PS?

Hello gals

i m back..

the jazz theme setup was very nice!! the guests luv it too

they had a workshop last sat rite? heard there was a table setup for the chinos theme.. so they shifted the decor for the chinos theme up to the function room where i had my solemnisation..
so sweet of them..

regent's staffs were all very professional n frenly, we were really treated like king n queen during our stay..
very impressed wif them..
food was very good too..still same standard as food tasting time..

we enjoyed ourselves alot..

Hi busybee n jansnow,
wat time u gals went down?

hi chubby, i woz thr at 6.30pm n left within 10 mins..It was nice and now i will have problem deciding which theme... Still have not seen the actual WHITE theme so its kindof risky if i opt for that loh...As such, my heart seems to be drifting towards the chinos theme...oops....

chubby, great that you have njoyed urself..do post the pics when they are ready, ok...

chuubyrain

did regent give you the jazz theme even though it is suppose to be for 2005? or do you have to top up? i went down at 2 plus and it was really nice.

or can I pm you if convenient?

Hi jansnow,

i was up at the suite at tt time

u mean theres a theme called WHITE theme?

the chinos theme is very nice too.. we both liked it a lot.. but jazz theme also nice lor.. so either one is fine

the suite was very very nice.. luv iT!

Hi iluydia,
yes, u can PM me

Just to pop in to say hi... Anyone had the Jazz theme photos. I wan to take a look
So who is the next one to be wedded? I have 3 more mths to go.
Anyone went to the food tasting recently? Can tell me if the 'Feng Sha' Chicken is nice?

hi chubby!
i was there for the workshop. can't remember the exact time they brought us to the ballroom, but i guess it should be around 1530-1600. =)

Hi, I've heard a lot of the two wedding themes for 2005 and I'm pretty excited. Didn't managed to go down for the workshop on Sat. Can I have a look at the Jazz theme photos too? Thanks!

hi everyone! I was there on Sat for the workshop too! must comment that I really love the Regent's staff...was eyeing another hotel for a lonnngggg time but then the sales staff were quite bad! Got bo chap attitute and then I met the regent's people and they are sooo different...think they will surely make your wedding special if you sign up with them. Cant wait to meet Evelyn soon to discuss in more detail on their packages....think I will be signing up with them.

This is my first time here..

I am interested in having my wedding at Regent due to their new theme for yr 2005. However, I am not sure of what are the "perks" to push for..First timer mahh....

Can anyone pls advise me ? Thanks a zillion...

I love the write up of the jazz theme but after seeing the chinois... I am not sure which one I like more. *bleh*

Welcome to all the new comers!!!!!!! hehehe so many!!! I think we really made this thread come alive.

haha, just so happens I have got the Regent wedding booklet with me at the office today! Somehow having it with me makes me very happy...heh...Ok, the packages prices are:

Mon to Thurs
Passion I $698 Nett
Passion II $768 Nett

Fri
Passion I $798 Nett
Passion II $868 Nett

Sat and Sun
Passion III $888 Nett
Passion IV $988 Nett

So who's really signing up after seeing the place at Saturday's workshop??? Any potential Regent brides there?? I'm one ... hee hee

168261.gif
ALL (newcomers) !!!

I think both the burgundy chinois and white jazz themes are lovely. Actually me really eager to see Chubby's jazz theme

Porkchop,
so when is your AD??

Huiling,
so, you are thinking of having buffet dinner instead of the usual 8 course one??

Hi lala,

hmm, i wonder when will andrew give me my AD photos, i cant wait to c them too... also waiting for my DVDs too

hv u gotten ur AD photos?
hey, i tot u wanted to show me some photos? me still waiting ah

Hi pork chops,
is their classic & elegance now known as passion I & passion II for weekdays? actually, the prices r alright, not too ex compared to 2004 packages leh..

Hello hello ....

Lala, my AD is either in June or July next yr....Mr Feng Shui man is picking the date for me so I still don't have a date now... hopefully he comes back soon!

Chubbyrain, erm, I'm not to sure what their packages were called prior to this Passion 1,2 3 and 4 ... heh ... I also feel that their prices are reasonable and they are giving away extra perks too so that's good. I think I will ask for food tasting for 10 rather than the 6 offered....

wah pork chops, you better hurry coz the june dates are being snapped up really fast!! I hear they filled out as soon as the chinese calender was published!!

hi gals!
this silly bee here has been happily working out the details and realised *gasp* that i've got one thing missing.
heheh...so can someone tell me how much deposit is expected at regent? and is it possible that it can differ from couple to couple?

Hi porkchops,
tts good..
all the best to u..
hv fun with ur preparations

Hi busybee,
we paid 5k deposit..
but i not sure whether its standard or its depending on the estimated total cost of ur banquet..

hey busybee when is your AD? $5K is really quite steep but imagine next yr when u get the actual bill....wah $5K less .... quite good also...hahahah....

hi pork chops!
Ad is in mid-dec next year. 5k is like messing up my cash flow at the moment! we've got all the freakin deposits to pay and with the house coming our way...can cry. thank goodness the wedding is a little more than a year away. getting married and started our little nest requires massive funds, man!

so when is mr fengshui man getting back to you?

GALS!
i do know when's sharky's big day, and that lala and chubby are now happily married, but i'm clueless about the rest. anyone's wedding in dec too?

Hi Iluydia
Are you chosing the Jazz theme too? I reckon urs will be the next, rite. Can I come down to take a look?

Hi Regent Bride-to-be

Can I know when is the next wedding? Mine is in Jan 05. I did my food tasting. Anyone done theirs? Need some comment on the 'Feng Sha' chicken

Hi dor,

i had the baked chicken "mongolian style" for my dinner.. tts not the feng sha chicken rite?

we tried the "bi feng tang" chicken too, but felt tt baked chicken mongolian style nicer

my guests said the chicken seems a bit small on my AD.. haha.. maybe bird flu lor.. tts y.. not enuff supply.. aiya, i only ate the canadian sea perch on my AD, cos tts my fav dish, its simply delicious!!!! i din hv apetite for other things lor.. n scare got tummy if eat too much.. hee hee..

all the best for ur wedding

r u taking the jazz theme too?

Hi just had my food tasting last month. Mine is the classic menu. I thought the Bi Feng Tang chicken was quite nice. Generally the food was good. The scallop and sea cucumber were big. I asked the chef if the scallop and sea cucumber on the actual day will be as big. He said of course it will be the same. The quality and standard will be the same as food tasting. I hope so.

The only complaint we had was the black garoupa fish was really tough. We thought it was overcooked cos we waited really long for the dish to be served. We commented to the chef. He said it was not overcooked. He said if we want softer texture should upgrade to Soon Hock fish. That will cost more.

Any body got food tasting recently. Pls share your comments.

Well perhaps you should not have bought the house first BusyBee. Or, perhaps not have the banguet till 2-3 years later. Just solemnise your wedding first. Sometimes one can bite off more than one can chew.

I was going to choose this venue but then my sister-in-law on hearing how I was keen on it, chose it. I gave it up. Talk about having no manners!

Hi Chubbyrain
ur is not a classic package rite. that's why u had the canadian sea perch. yup the feng sha chicken is the mongolian chicken. jus the name is in chinese / english.
i tried the bi feng tang one. very traditional taste but our folks do not like the presentation. look messy overall and too spicy for them.
Btw, can i know wat song did u take for ur walk-ins? does it hv to go with the theme? i still hvnt thought abt that part.. gee. any help??
yup i m likely to take the jazz theme, do u have the esembly?

hi klkh
i hv my food tasting last mth too. same package as urs. And we have the same say as u.. haha. well the upgrade is $40 per table. i think i will not do the upgrade.. it's too ex. when is ur AD? u did ur cards already. i hvnt did ours..

Hi dor,

ya, we had the elegance package.. oh, we like the feng sha chicken better than the bi feng tang chicken, so we picked tt..

maybe u can consider tt too..
my guests luv the food on my AD... esp the cereal prawns n the cod fish, this 2 received the most praises..

hee hee, actually, we din really care whether our songs go wif the theme or not, we picked songs which r meaningful to us
we used canon in d minor, the version from my sassy gal n a song called "falling for u".

yes, i had the ensemble.. not tt there was any comments abt it :P guess pple din notice it..
but i guess it did help to make the recep more lively

Hi Chubbyrain
thks for the tip. I had a hard time choosing the songs. thinkin to grab songs from michael b. too lazy to source for them...gee..
I m changing to the feng sha chicken. which dish are u at after ur 2nd walk-in? well i didnt wan the fish to get cold... haha