Regent Singapore

fallingflakes

hi all, i will be holding my AD next month. from my experience, the cards is $5 for 50 pcs, but for my case dunno why end up no extra charge from the vendor. mine is on a weekday, and the minimum no of tables is 25... 35 is like weekend leh...

sillycouple

Jules... i book weekday. Confirm min 25 tables for weekdays (mon-thur) and 30 or 32 tables for Fri and 35 tables for Sat/Sun.

Sigh... service sucky? Dont scare me
I'm really worried man. Already the bridal suite is not comparable to other hotels and service still sucks??? Gosh!! Their packages aint exactly cheap lor.

Yeah any ex ex ex Regent couples to share your experience? Regent doesnt seem like a popular venue for wedding hor?

And is it true that Regent dont pack the banquet food for the bridal couple to be eaten in the bridal suite?

me_jules

Hi Luvz17, mine is in Dec.
Erm, Paradise, when I said service sucky, I didn't mean during the banquet, so don't worry. I heard during the banquet, things always go smoothly. Its just after that. This, I heard from someone I knew who got married there earlier this year. I think they're intending to write a letter to them, just don't know if they've gotten down to it or not.

To be very honest, for the price we are paying here, you can get much better deals in another hotel. And how I know this, because my close colleague is getting married this month in another 5 star hotel is getting a much better deal and she's loving her hotel and her coordinator. Such a different experience from mine. One thing, I find is that they are not very upfront with you. Only when you compare notes, then you realise, eh how come this person got this and that and I don't have. I mean hello, we are paying good money, this is not a market where we bargain for things lor. We are not market aunties trying to save 10cents off a piece of fish lor. Why must wait until we ask then give? So if I never find out how? Its a perk I will never get to enjoy?

ceo38

Morning Ladies, (wave to cookie ;])

Ya Jules, wat perks r u referring to? Mind sharing with us? My AD is next month....*sweat*

fallingflakes

errm actually so far my experience with regent is quite ok leh, as in quite smooth. like my AD is next month and last min we decide to do the mix theme thing and they also faster arrange for us to meet lora (florist), we didnt have to contact lora ourselves.

pekkle

Dear Regent Brides,

Seems that there is a lot of unhappines here! I'm a ex-regent bride, Aug 08. I chose the L'amour theme and had a weekday dinner. I would have to agree that with the price we paid, we didn't really get 5 star service, I mean more on the co-ordinating service for the pre-wedding. Let me shre my food-tasting expericence, they gave us smelly fishy shark's fin soup and chef apologize becos of using wrong fish stock. The next moment, something went wrong with our vegetable dish, forgot to put a main ingredient. We were so upset becos the whole restaurant, we were the only 10 guests, no one else. And the chief chef can make 2 mistakes at one go at our food tasting. In the end, all they did was just get the F&B director to call and apologize to us the next day.. THATS ALL!!! But I would say the dinner banquet went really well, the banquet manager is very experienced and professional, the backstage guys are good as well. And the bridal suite totally sucks, I mean as bridal couple, we will spent at least close to 20K, and all they give is a lousy deluxe suite. This is not impressive at all.

But to all regent brides, sometimes we have to close one eye to enjoy the whole process. Hicups are bound to happen, and we were the one who made the choice of Regent. Don't look back or regret, but instead look forward to the wedding and enjoy it.

me_jules

Well, the perks I got was as per what was written in their brochure. food tasting for 6, free day use room(3-8pm), free flow beer, 45mins jazz music, 2 nights stay...
Then I spoke to my friend who got married earlier this yr (think it was apr/may), and he mentioned that you can get 1 free bottle of wine per table. So I emailed them and asked them about it and they were like, oh, that's for weekday dinners only.
My friend's wedding was on a Friday and she said, that's considered a weekday too. Fine! But my wedding is on a Monday! And she went, oh, then we're pleased to offer you 1 free bottle of wine per table. Hellooo? Firstly, for some reason, I was always thought Fri/Sat/Sun was considered weekend. Fine if Fri isn't. But how come must wait until I ask you about it then you give?

Which left me wondering, what else did I not ask for, that they will give? Recently, we went down to select our cards/themes/favours and all that and we asked if they could extend the day use room to a full night's stay and she said only if we pay 170.
My fiance is the last person on earth to negotiate or bargain for anything, so he just went ok, just charge it. Then I spoke to someone who got married last yr (could be yr before last, I can't remember) and she said she got her day room extended for free!

Ok, so maybe last yr's example isn't worthy to bring up but what's really pissing me off is that I am spending close to a 100K on them and I'm getting 3star quality. Some 4star hotels do better than them!

Jojo's right, since we're already chosen Regent, we just have to make the best of it.
For the others reading this thread and considering Regent, I suggest you look elsewhere.

I am at that age where everyone around me is getting married, so its inevitable that we're kapoing about each other's wedding preps and Regent by far is the worst.

So you wonder why I picked Regent, well, I was looking for hotels last yr Oct for my AD in Dec (which is a good 14mths ahead). Every hotel I approached was full. Only Regent was available. And I think I am beginning to know why.

fallingflakes

hi jules, seems like they are not being very honest leh, like tryin to save on the "perks" like that.
but for the day room, we got ours extended for free also leh, and my wedding is not over yet.

sillycouple

oh dear. 5 star hotel but the standard like 4 star or lesser. sigh.

hope they improve on their services and reno their bridal suite cos i think the suite is really pathetic. i went to some 4 star hotels i think their bridal suite is much better than regent's! and prices are lower too. terrible!

those who hvt book n considering regent better think twice man!

hi all... i just signed up with Regent few weeks back... attended my friend's wedding there some months back and felt that the food and service was good... the decor was also quite nice... so decided to go ahead with them... my friend recommended her coordinator to me and so far my experience has been quite good... my wedding in March 09... when should i be starting my preparation?? hopefully won't face all those problems... has anyone tried speaking with their coordinator about the problems?? or if your coordinator is the problem, can request to change coordinator right??

simontemplar23

Hi all, just want you brides to be out there to understand that the relationship between the coordinator and the bridal couple has to be one of partnership, not employer and employee. Only then will u get more satisfaction from your work with your coordinator.

My wife and I had a very good wedding dinner there and no less because we worked very closely with the coordinator especially on the day itself.

As to the suite, you have all seen it for yourself and signed the contract with full knowledge. So perhaps we should stop griping and plan how to make the best of the situation. If they don't call you, call them back. Use emails to the fullest potential.

My wife never regretted holding our dinner there.

me_jules

Hey happiestbride, honestly, if you refuse to look at what the other hotels are putting out on the market, you can be happy with Regent. Never have I heard complains about their food (except from those impossible to please gossipy Aunties) or actual day operations, everything seems to go alright.

My biggest complain is that I am paying approx 1200 per table and what am I getting?
a) A bunch of favours that look like its worth (a few cents)
b) Cards that doesn't look like they cost 2.50 each
c) Some lousy looking suite (When I was there the first time, my coordinator told me they were running full occupancy and could not show me the room but instead showed me some photos, in fact I've never seen the suite!)
d) A coordinator who always says 'Sure, no problem, just top up $xx' to almost all my requests

In all honesty, my coordinator has always been nice to us, everytime we're there, we get some freebies, meal or cakes or drinks. I'm just upset at this lack of openness policy, different people different perks and I truly think, not a good deal.

Hey Simon, so who's your coordinator? Maybe its a coordinator issue.

qiner

Hey happiest bride (happi_happi_bride) , your AD also in March 2009? Me too!
Hi all, i seriously think REgent is a nice place to have our banquet. Nice Ambience...

jules (me_jules) >> who's your coordinator? Get a change ? Maybe things will be better?

hi princess! yes... march is a good month! i like the overall charm of the hotel... very unique... when are you looking to start your wedding preparations?

actually i have seen other hotels... like the other 5-star hotels in orchard area... but i liked the service of my coordinator, she was very helpful and was not just like selling the package, but try to fit in my requirements... also food wise i tried the food at their summer palace, no complains there... for the price per table, it's quite worth it compared to a lot of other hotels, especially with the whole decor of the ballroom... really looks very good!! i just fell in love with the whole look when i walked in...

anyway i heard that they are looking to launch a new theme for next year... during their next wedding show... think it's on 9 Nov 08... anyone going down?

qiner

happiest bride (happi_happi_bride) -haa, really looking forward to MArch! I really like Regent overall ambience and deco and everything abt regentHotel. When i first stepped into regent , I fell in love with it. I told my HTH 'this is the one' - we really have to sign with them. is your going to be weekday/weekend? haa,how's your prep so far? PS takeN?

qiner

happiest bride (happi_happi_bride)- you going to the wedding show on the 9nov?Thot of the theme to use for the ballrooM? Personally i really like their black and pink theme..dont know what's the theme called...

sillycouple

y dun u try calling the hotel main line and get the name of the sales director?

i attended the wedding show and they did introduce the sales director. think she is not a local... forgot her name thou.

who is ur coordinator?

me_jules

Ahhh... It must be Thai... The Sales director was copied in the email then. I was wondering who it was. My coordinator is Joanne.

fallingflakes

hi jules, eh same leh my coordinator is also Joanne! so far we are ok with her leh, in fact we went for our pre-wedding rehearsal this week and everything was arranged and communicated well beforehand, the AV guy was also very helpful and professional

mine is friday... so can get the wine per table mah...

my prep haven't done much yet... getting my photoshoot done in Dec...

black one is L'amour... it's not bad, but too black for his parents... dun think will be going down to the wedding show, cos my coordinator says better to see the setup as done during a wedding itself, rather than wedding show... so wait till jan and feb hopefully someone will choose then can go down and take a look...

fallingflakes

hi jules, sorry for the late reply, we just got back from our honeymoon now then can access internet. pre-wedding rehearsal is to go there n have a full run of the AD lor, let the flower girls do the march-in, emcees to perform as the AD will be.

just an update: we are really very very satisfied with the service at regent! everything on our AD at the hotel went smoothly and they really went to the extra mile in terms of service! we are so happy we held our wedding at regent, and joanne was great, everything was well coordinated!

happysnowball

hi babes.. I just held my wedding dinner 2wks ago at Regent Royal Pavillion. It was fantastic! Guests commented the food was great, service was great & they loved our customised theme! Food quality was very impt to us as that will be what u entertain your guests with! Too many hotels having cold & sucky food & that lead us to make Regent our choice. We requested guests to come in black and it turned out very nice in the pictures! We combined the L'Amour's black with Chinois' red, added in lots of petals and it really turn out superb!! Our parents never complain at all! HAHA.

Hubby planned for a surprise during my 2nd march in and he has full of praise for the banquet manager and our coordinator for helping him roll it out. That involved the hotel reception calling to our room to look for my hubby during my outfit change, saying they need him to go down immed cos something wrong with the disc we brought, they can't play! Which was all part of his act!

Everything was great and we have our coordinator Soo Ting (Catering Director) to thank. She has left the company but she finalised all requests for us before she left and everything was smooth & perfect!

My only complains, bridal suite is PLAIN, I'll still prefer to have the food served at the dinner and not the $60 credit. More value and cos we so shagged after the wedding, we dun wan to crack our heads to tink wat to order already. The in room dining menu is quite pathetic after 11pm!!

luvz17

Congrats, Snowball! Great to hear that everything runs smoothly.

I was supposed to view your theme, but I can't make it. Now I am feeling a bit regret for missing that...Can share with us pictures??

Woahh...ur hubby so sweet to actually did something to surprise u?

As for petals that you mentioned, may I know where these petals are placed? Because I requested to be more petals along the aisle, but it is not possible.

Btw, check with

me_jules

Hey hey! My wedding is FINALLY OVER!!! Wah lau! Everything went okay, no major hiccups but if I had to do it again, I wouldn't do it at Regent.

luvz17

Congrats, Jules!!
Seems like you really felt unhappy with overall Regent experience.Anyway, i think it is a huge load-off now. So look forward and enjoy!!

muddypaws

hey there, I just had my wedding at Regent on Sunday. It's a wedding lunch, and we did our ROM and tea ceremony there as well. Regent arranged for two persons to help us with the tea ceremony, and everything was just perfect. All our family and friends were raving about the food. Our coordinator and the banquet manager were absolute darlings. In a nutshell, everything went well

muddypaws

Oh, btw I've 12 bottles of Cornerstone Classic French Red and 8 bottles of Cornerstone Classic French White left. These are going for $15 per bottle (negotiable)(via self-collection). Please email [email protected] if you are interested. Thanks!

me_jules

hey muddypaws! Our weddings were on the same day then!!! I also had my ROM there but it was Sat followed by dinner on sunday and monday!! so glad its finally over. I also hv leftover wine from Portugal, but its a bit pricey though, but very good.

me_jules

Oh sorry, haven't reply Paradise. Well, here are my thoughts. Actually Regent is quite a nice hotel, but is there anything very special about it? Not really, its slightly off the beaten track, small and quaint, but the rooms are kind of old, bathroom is very small. Reminds me Hongkong. Locationwise, its a bit inconvenient but too bad for the guests lah. Service wise, very pleasant, when I walk around the hotel, people are generally very nice and polite. But like I said, nothing exceptionally outstanding. Just that the run up to the wedding has been unpleasant. Which we've pinpointed to the coordinator. Basically, everytime she opens her mouth, it begins with a NO. And if you read older posts, its the same sentiment. We did ROM at The Bar and its a gorgeous place la, so I'm very fond of it. The ballroom, in all honesty is nothing to shout about at all. Ceiling is low and there are 2 pillars. Once you have too many tables, it get a bit cramped to move around during phototaking with ur train following you around. So why wouldn't I hold it at Regent again? Its the coordinator, not the hotel, but you see, the coordinator is a representative of the hotel and training their staff is their job, which they have not done very well lah. We used to go to Summer Palace very frequently but during the course of our wedding preps whereby we were so upset with them, we refused to spend anymore $$ on them because we felt we were getting a lousy deal. Iggys is a fantastic restaurant but same thing also la, we stopped going there. But we don't dine at Iggys that often, we wouldn't be missed. HAHA. Oh and also, you guys better ensure its 1 server per table. For 1 of my dinners, it was like 1 server, 2 tables for some of the tables. And it happened to be the table of VIPs that my dad invited so he was a bit upset and immediately when to tell the banquet manager off.

sillycouple

Hey Jules,

OIC.
Yes I hv to agree with u that the suite is nothing to rave about. Hope they can do something abt it cos their banquet package aint exactly cheap.

Service wise I cant comment much yet since my wedding is still quite some time.

And as for server per table, I've checked w my coordinator previously. She confirmed that it will be 1 per table.

congrats muddypaws and jules!! a big load off your minds... do share more details on what to look out for... anything we need to take note of?? muddypaws, who were your coordinator and banquet manager?? can request for them one right?

me_jules

yes! the suite is nothing much to rave about. my biggest gripe is that the toilet is too small. normally hotels have a seperate shower but not this, you hv to step into the tub to shower. other than that, the bed is actually quite comfortable and the toiletries they give is quite nice, from L'ocitane (definitely wrong spelling, but u get the drift lah).

muddypaws

hey there, my coordinator is Eunice and my banquet manager is Helmi. Both of them are great! Eunice is my third coordinator cos my first two coordinators left, and Eunice helped us a lot. I guess my hubby and I knew what we wanted, and we wanted everything simple so it was easier for them to coordinate. We had the wedding at the Royal Pavilion Ballroom (30 tables) with ample space to move around, and we had 1 server to a table with everyone raving about the food. Sorry to hear that Jules had problem with her gown around the ballroom... I pre-empted that problem totally by having a short gown, which meant that I can run around wherever I want without anyone trampling on my train.