Recommendation for Refridgerators

kelpy

Am trying to decide on a fridge but cannot seem to come to a conclusion.

Appreciate recommendations on refridgerators that are at least 400L and preferably 2 doors only and energy saving.

LG's GRL217BUG. It is THE CHOICE. Don't quote me if you find anything wrong with this model because I just bought one of this. Not delivered yet. :-)

I like it because it's stylish with luxury silver color, and the handle is curvy enough to think it's not a fridge. Display is everywhere now.

Warranty 2yr + 5yr compressor. You can get <$2600 if you look around.

Happy shopping!

You can try the tecno gas models. I got one for $850, It's more than 400L and it's a 3 door model. It also has a stainless steel look.

Hi anyone bought/used Panasonic Refrigerators before? Does not seem a very popular brand for fridge..but I am eyeing the NR-B472B...

Anyone has any comments?

I m using 570. feel that e motor is quite noisy. my fren oso find her toshiba fridge noisy. Ixit fridges nowaday are noisy?

same as poox, i'm looking at a GE fridge too..
Got a comment from a colleague that her GE fridge spoilt quite fast. but its becos she had ice maker...
if i get a normal kind without ice maker, would GE be a good choice?
was thinking between GE and samsung.

Sweetpea

Model: GR-N45ST

i think i mentioned b4 if u really like a particular brand/ model's layout then u might just wanna go for it.

cos the difference between the most efficient and most inefficient fridge (400L) is abt $30-$36/ year. (Info gleaned from www.neec.gov.sg)

i dun really find my fridge noisy...pretty normal..can hear it if i stand next to it.

I just got the Sharp SJ-P63M for just over $1k.

I think Sharp did a great job in terms of designing the internal. It doesn't look that big from the outside but the inside is spacious! Anyway, it's the mid-sized one. There is a bigger &amp; smaller one available. Oddly enough, footprint of all 3 are the same, only height is different. According to the salesman, the smallest one look a bit odd because of it's height but I haven't seen the actual one to comment on it.

Besides the usual stuff, what attracted me also was the tempered glass shelves as well as some gadget they have for removing odours in the fridge. Personally, I thought it might be a lot of BS, but it does seem to work... When we put Satay sauce in my Mum's fridge, there'll be the smell of Satay sauce for a few days after you take it out. With this one, the odour was gone the next day. &amp; of course, more importantly, it matched the house design... :p

(Hmmm, maybe Sharp can pay me a commission liao)

Anyway, from comments from friends &amp; relatives, Samsung fridges aren't bad. My Mum has one. In my personal opinion, stay away from American fridges. They seem to have lower reliability. &amp; I don't trust LG as a brand at all. Too many horror stories on everything from HPs to Washing Machines... :p

Hi, Archie

My mum also got the same model as you months ago and she also like the spacious inner compartments. What colour are yours? Her is the beidge colour with horizontal lines.

I am also considering this model for my new house too.. However, just concern one issue.. The fridge doors are unable to open immedinately when one of them is close. We have to wait for about 30 secs before we can open the door. Wonder whether you are facing the same 'problem' too?

I got the grey one as it matches the kitchen...

Ummm, I'm not sure what you mean by fridge doors are unable to open. So far, both the doors open fine, as far as I can tell... :p

Hi, Archie

I meant when u open one of the door and close it after use.. do you have any problem to open the same door or the other door immediately? When I tried to re-open, the door seems to stuck and I am unable to open till a short while.. Do you notice?

Thks.

Oh ok. Tried that... My wife did mention that it is a bit hard to pull open immediately. &amp; I noticed that a bit more strength is required. But, I guess it's still ok (at least for me).

Guess that can be considered a good thing. My Mum's previous fridge is a Maytag. After a couple of years, there was a problem in that if you don't push hard to close the door it won't close properly leaving a small gap where the cold air will escape... :p

Oic.. in that case, should ask my husband to try to open instead!!;-) Anyway, thanks for your great advice, Archie.. Oh.. BTW, your grey colour comes with horizontal strips? Where did you get yours? I saw that Best is selling at S$1099 with free delivery and free Sharp vacuum cleaner. Good deal?

Nope, no strips... It's uniformly grey...

Not a bad deal. Mine was about that price with free delivery, but no vacuum cleaner...
Bought it at one of those small electric shop which my Mum usually gets her stuff... Not sure of the name (Tolay or something like that)... Just know the name of the chap is Ah Tay... :p

Hi Archie,

I think LG has recently been upbeat about the new designs and all that. Given the low price, we shall give them a chance to prove themselves better than ever.

We shall see...

Anyone using Panasonic NR-B472B refrigerator? Can check for me what is the actual depth. Thanks
cos i believe the depth as stated in the website is not accurate. 675 (W) x 775 (D) x 1764 (H) (mm).

Panasonic NR-B472B
675W x 775D x 1764H
Price around S$753

Gross = 475L
Net = 390L

Annual Energy Consume = 630KWH
Annual Energy Cost = S$105.40
Monthly Energy Cost = S$8.78

The reason why I chose this model is because it have well organize compartments &amp; the Freezer is in the bottom - which has energy saving effect.

I'm currently considering Samsung and Sharp. However, I'm constrained by the size of the fridge base. Any idea how much space is required for ventilation for the fridge?

To all Sharp fridge owners

Would appreciate your comments on your fridge. Please specify the model.

I think depends on the fridge size actually to determine how much space is required for ventilation and also if the fridge is a built in style designed. Generally if they are the free standing models then maybe a 10cm side and top allowance would be good? i cannot remember but its about there i think

Oh samsung what fridge do you have in mind? Side by side doors of the typical top bottom doors?

My fridge just broke down. Thinking of buying Panasonic. Our family don't need a big fridge, so this one seems like a suitable buy.

Yes, this one also freezer at the bottom. Cool design.

Panasonic NR-B290B
$599 with GST
620W x 768D x 1621H
Nett Capacity 260 litres

Annual Energy Consumption (kw/h) - 642
Estimated Energy Bill - $105.00
Estimated Monthly Bill - $8.75

Hi kopi,
I went to one shop and that shop owner actually mention if we dun really cook much at home ie. we wun a big freezer. Cos we dun need a big freezer to store the meat. Thus those freezer at bottom will be more suitable. And moreover the other 2 compartemtns on top will be much bigger. Can put more of your fruits lah, drinks lah and tidbits etc...

And i found out that Mitsubishi's freezer at bottom really have bigger compartments on top. More spacious.

Dun buy products just cos its cheaper or not.

Go for its reliability, its features (if you need or require the feature then makes sense to get one that has it) and also lastly efficient!

Its like buyng an air con u know... if you pay upfront cheaper for a non inverter (not efficient) but your monthly bills will be more ... compared to
Buy inverter (efficient) in using electricity u pay upfront cost sligyhtly more but then in the long run your bills you save significantly.

So go for practicality not cos of the price is cheaper.. just my thoughts!

good luck!

For me, i wanted a fridge that was <$750 and had a stainless steel colour to it(although i know its not the real thing).

Anyway, i'm eyeing on the Sharp SJ-P43N, 370litres selling at BIG for $650.

I have no idea which brand is good. Any comments on my choice?

hi kopi,

i haven't got my fridge but i'm eyeing on mitsubishi. Cos my mom is very pleased with Mitsubishi and we have been using this brand only. Our 1st fridge was used for 12yrs? It was spoilt after we moved house. Heard that the fridge cannot do major movement if not it'll spoil easily, haha. Think this 2nd one coming to 12th yr already.

So if u divide the cost by 12 yrs, think it should be quite worthwhile. Go to those neighbourhood shop and buy. Dun go to Harvey or Best, it's more costly. Furthermore, think mitsubishi has put in a lot of effort in making its fridge or aircon energy saving. So it should be quite trustable lah.

Hi kiki,

I went to the neighbourhood electronic shop. Too bad, the Panasonic fridge that I wanted has been discontinued. Ah ya ...

Saw a few Mitsubitshi on display. The sales person gave me a Mitsubishi fridge catalogue for my reference. I'm still undecided at this point. Will consider ...

The thing about Mitsubishi is that the shelves inside are made of plastic. I was told by some friends to get fridge with tempered glass shelves.

What do you think?

Hi kopi,

ya know why your friends mentioned that? Hmm, i'm not sure what's the diff of having tempered glass and plastic leh. Is it cos' plastic ones will dirty in the long run?

Well for fridges its better to have the tempered glass. or even better.. safety glass.

The reason being that for tempered glasses, they are stronger than the plastics when you load items on top of the plastic shelves, it will drrop then will bend and break. esp in cold state or frozen state its brittle as compared to glass.

As for tempered glass and safety glass, safety glass as the name implies is more safe to handle. for example where it breaks, tempered glass shelves haf a tendency to break and shatter causing little glass to be splattering everywhere should it actually break.

Whilst safety glass is designed such that should it actually break, it will not shatter but rather just crack or break into bigger chunks and not like "explosive" manner in the breakage flinging around. Yeah?

get the list from www.neec.gov.sg for energy labelled product as they are energy efficient and wont cost a bomb to operate especially now when the tariffs for electricity has risen. for those whom have received their bill, im sure you know what i mean by a big jump. for those who have not.. its coming... big hole in the pocket man

Hi Kiki,

I don't think plastic shelves will dirty in the long run lah. If cleaned/washed once in a while, the plastic shelves and glass shelves are easy to maintain.

In fact, my current fridge which is spoilt has plastic shelves. I just find them flimsy and unstable. Inspite of that, it serves my family well for the past 8 years.

No worries, our family can get by without a fridge for the time being.

Ya lor, I agree with you. I won't go to those big names to buy my fridge. They do charge delivery. My neighbourhood shop gives good price with free delivery and friendly service.

Hi, I am using hitachi stainless steel design. Like it v m. Quality is gd. Bought it one yr ago but saw it this yr and realised tt price did not drop m. Gotten it from those neighbourhood shop at 300 cheaper than Best and HV.

Oh ya, it's 2 doors and energy consumption not a lot, got energy saving function. Internal shelves are tempered glass. Comes with water dispenser too.

hi orosolind, we have not bought our fridge yet but i think that mitsubishi is still the best choice. mitsubishi is a specialist in aircon n fridge. so far many of my friends n relative using this brand. no problem at all. we should be getting the mrv43 from asia excel next month if my I.D. doesnt screw up my reno.

Anyone here using Panasonic NR-B472B? Any comments abt it? Me heard from colleagues that Panasonic not very cold one as her bro-in-law had one at home...is it true?