Rasel Catering Singapore Pte Ltd

snakey77

hi hi... I'm also planning for wedding dinner and looking for caterer. Just wana check Rasel's quality of food. on a scale of 1 (very jia lat) to 10 (yummy), what would you rate them?

anyone who have used them before please? Thanks!

lavend3rmist

hi hi! i'm interested to use Rasel for my wedding in Aug next yr. Anyone who can advise what is the capacity to order if my no. of pax is abt 200? i don't wanna have too much leftover or not enough food to go around.

jaster

Hi guys! =)

I'm intending to use Rasel for my church wedding reception next year.

Did anyone of you choose their wedding reception packages or the normal ones?

because

OMG I am never ever going to use Rasel - we used them for one of our corporate events this year. The fruit punch had unidentifiable black bits floating in it. BLEAH!

sylmc

I've chose Rasel to cater for our sit down buffet lunch at our outdoor wedding in Dec 2008. We are taking the Amethyst Buffet under the Wedding Package Premium Buffet Menu.

Elsie has been most helpful and we look forward to our actual day. I would definitely post comments after our wedding.

Prior to that, I have ordered buffet lunch for my sister's wedding and our guests have thumbs up comment about their food! Feel very safe to be working with Rasel.

verena

hi Jasmine, my church wedding is also next year..just wondering if u've confirmed with Rasel cos it's also one of my shortlisted caterers

verena

jastea> nope, not yet. Still have time cos my church wedding is in Oct 09. Urs? how did u come to a decision to choose rasel? Did u go for food tasting?

sylmc

hi jastea and vt, just to share some of my fav dishes by rasel which we ordered for my sister's wedding lunch :- Rendang Chicken, Battered Oats Prawns with Curry Leaves, Bubur Cha Cha & Spicy Mee Goreng, NonyaChap Chye etc

I had a food sampling done recently as we have ordered a sit down buffet for my 6/12 wedding. We are very satisfied with the food presented which include:- Vietnamese Fish, Pastries, Mango Pudding, Nonya Laksa with Condiments, Scallop with chilli crab sauce, Beef bulogi, Herbs rice with mushroom. The food is indeed good!

Rasel has done a lot of catering for public sector where PS and Ministers grace the events. This speaks something about their food quality and service.

eileen_tan

I have just book them for my wedding after the food sampling. My In Law loves the selection and I find it tasty too.. Looking forward to my wedding date.

Jol,

Any picture to share? Mine is March 2009. How's everything? Presentation? Good?

sylmc

Hi eileen,

our wedding is finally over! The sit down buffet for 320 guests was perfect! guests love the dishes and the flowers display are gorgeous! Scallops and desserts went flying off the plates. Many were intrigued by the chocolate fountain which we have ordered. We are very very satisfied with the presentation. Lots of guests love the decor too. We had buffet line and individual food stations which they have decorated beautifully! The drinks stations are set beautifully. I've even seen them wiping all the drinks glass one by one before displaying it.

Elsie, Chris and Alan are accommodating and helpful with close follow up. I showed them how I want to decor the VIP chairs and they really did it. My hubby wants display of fishes and they also pull it off, much to our guests' surprises! It is good to listen to their suggestions as they are the pro and know what works well and what doesn't.

I'll upload the photos to my multiply account. Aoiumi is my id. Can I have yours?

eileen_tan

Jol,

Great!!! Now I just need to sit back and relax to wait for my big day to come... My coordinator was also Elsie. She gave me lots of ideas on presentation too!

I don't have a multipy account, is there other ways of viewing it???

sylmc

861871.jpg

Our color theme was white, yellow and green. We opted for white and green roses for the floral theme. The florist also used white orchirds. We made a request to include monstera into the floral pieces as it was featured in our DIY invitation card. Rasel's florist did a wonderful job with the floral decor. We really love it! Guests with camera went around the buffet line shooting pictures! However, do note that the yellow drapes extending from the pillar is done by our own florist whom we engaged to decor the venue

sylmc

:D Eileen, rest assured that the buffet line will be beautifully done! We went against our parents' wish to hold a wedding buffet and I know they were silently worried for a year how the presentation will be. Rasel did not let us down. Some of my aunties even told my mum that they are now more open minded to buffet coz they have seen how beautifully we have done ours.

eileen_tan

Jol

Well that's true... We also went against our parents' wish for buffet. You noe lah, folk always prefer traditional banquet. Well, my husband to be and I hate the ideas of traditional wedding, everything went according to traditional yum seng, makan, march in with kitaro for first dish, so boring.

I will show you pics to my parent hopefully they will like it too...

sylmc

I can understand your feelings. My husband is the only son and I am the eldest daughter. I know both of our parents have some expectations to our big day. Apart from buffet lunch, we have also opted for an outdoor wedding much to our parents' horror! Already no banquet and now, no aircon??!!! Same as you, we found banquet boring. In fact, for our AD last sat, we did away with march in, cake cutting, champagne pouring and yum sam :D No regrets!

If you need more photos, contact me at [email protected]

An advice, remember to thank your parents and in-laws for allowing you to holding a buffet. It will be a lovely gesture to show your gratitude to them

eileen_tan

My In Law are more open minded, they have tried Rasel food before in their church event and further when we arrange for sampling they simply love their food, so no hiccup! only my parent more lao gu tong, they feel kinda pai seh having buffet as if no money for banquet.

Yes, would love to see your lovey pics, please email me [email protected]

dodolet

Jol! I wanna see ur photos too...

I hope mine turn out well too, since i am getting them for my home lunch and church buffet. ^^"

I wonder if i should change my prawns to battered oats prawn instead of the golden battered prawn.

eileen_tan

Jol,

I just check my email, never receive your pretty pics leh...

Sotong, I tried the Oats Prawn before, quite nice. BTW when is your wedding date?

sylmc

sotonglet - I think by now you should have seen the photos since I posted them on multiply this morning.

eileen - dun worry. Going to send them to you today. yah yah, oats prawn is nice. rendang chicken too! sotonglet - is your golden battered prawn prepared with salted egg? If yes, GO FOR IT!! I had this dish for my wedding and got snapped up real fast. It looks like ordinary fried prawn roll but when you pop one into your mouth, the salted egg flavor exploded in your mouth. But of course, you have to like salted egg.

sylmc

eileen - great that you got them! Stay tune on Channel 8, next thu 8pm, on christmas day. Rasel will be featured on air under the variety show of 'Yong Yuan Chi Bu Fei'. MediaCrop is filming their wedding buffet presentation. Zhen Shi Mei is one of the food testers. The sneak shots for next thu episode is already on air now

eileen_tan

Jol,

That couple in "buffet buffet" feature is you right? The overall set-up is great, very different from the usual wedding. Happy to know that Rasel got 4 spoons for the subject. I watch afew round already, looks like nobody got 5 spoons so far.

peaberry

Hey Jol, congrats on such a beautiful and unique wedding! I've engaged Rasel for my wedding at ACM next year too, and it's great to see encouraging feedback from their previous customers. Also caught the Channel 8 programme, thumbs up!

Just wanted to ask, was Jentayu the other florist you engaged for your venue decor? May I know how much their services cost, if you don't mind? I can drop you an email or you could PM me if you're comfortable with sharing. I'm hoping to have them do the decor for my church wedding, but may consider having them do up my dinner venue as well after seeing what a great job they did with your wedding.
Thanks and congrats again!

sylmc

eileen - yup, its us :p My hubby came up with the goldfish idea. Rasel did the setup to fit our nature/garden theme and also to take into consideration the venue as there are many pillars around so they did a circular arrangement instead of the usual long elongated

peaberry - yes, Jentayu did our venue decor. The cost of their service vary. They quoted us $6k upfront but we remove several items from their quotation and cut back another $2k. They are not pushy and are very flexible which we like. We had cluster table centrepieces & decor for the pavilion which explain for the high cost. You can email me for my quotation.

potatochips

Jol,

I'm actively looking for a caterer for my wedding too. Do you mind to share their set-up picture with me?

I saw the buffet telecast on christmas day. Forgetten which caterer for all the three. You belongs to which catelogy? Wedding? Is that the most expensive one? $80??? If I can remember corrently...

My email: [email protected]

sylmc

sotongball - mine is the wedding by Rasel. The cost actually include tables and chairs as mine is a sit down reception. Plus I had some tops up to the original menu like canapes with butler services, choco fountain etc. Their wedding package include appetizer, main courses, stations (carving/soup/DIY), desserts and drinks.

eileen_tan

sotongball,

yes, jol belong to the $80 cate one. very nice right? It's also surprise me. You are now looking for caterer right? Get quote from them to compare.

ecarg1310

After reading the comments here, I have ordered buffet for 20 pax from Rasel for my tea ceremony at my house last Thurs (15 Jan 09).

Feedback from guests were great! Many love the food and even asked how I found them.

potatochips

I had my sampling with them yesterday, food was delicious... My BF and I had decided to order from them for our church wedding and maybe our dinner.

je7ca

I am planning to use Rasel as well for my lunch reception. But I just wondering, whether the wedding cake and champagne will be included on the wedding package.

verena

sotongball> does Rasel allow sampling before placing order? For some caterers, I understand they only provide sampling AFTER placing an order with them...

sylmc

jesica - I can't recall if wedding cake and champagne. Let me check my quotation tomorrow when I am back at my mum's place. I think they have.....A suggestion, why dun you take cupcake as your wedding cake? You can even distribute them as favors to your guests. Rasel's cupcakes are very pretty as I got them for my wedding. Can check out the photo on this link - http://aoiumi.multiply.com/photos/album/12/Sneak_Preview_of_AD_Wedding_Photos_#71

vt - Rasel does allow sampling before placing order but it is chargeable. If you have placed an order, then the food tasting is for 4 pax FOC. You can try to negotiate and see if they can waive the additional headcount if you have more than 4 people for the food sampling. They will do a complete mini buffet set up for the food sampling

potatochips

vt,

I requested for sampling because I have never tasted their food. they allow me to taste with a charges, only if I can confirm than FOC. Why not you check with them? Hp: 92771255

sylmc

sotongball - out of curiosity, will they reimburse you the food sampling costs in the event if you confirm them?

lovefaith

Would like to find out what percentage of guests do you cater for from Rasel if you have about 400 guests on your guestlist? i.e. 60% or 70%?

I am considering the church lunch buffet spread(not sit-down buffet). Is Rasel generous with their portions per pax? Want to reduce wastage of food and not over-cater. Please advise! cheers

lovefaith

btw ladies,

please kindly give me your feedback on these dishes, need help with choosing my lunch buffet menu:

What would you choose?

1. Mee siam or laksa from Rasel?

2. How is the beef sirloin?

3. Are the Italian Chicken Caciatore and Prawn fritters with plum dip good?

What is the difference between their Italian Chicken Caciatore and Italian Chicken Parmigiona?

4. Baked Turkish Rice with Raisins or Thai Pineapple Rice?

5. Nonya kuehs or danish pastries? Which is better? How are their cakes and pastries i.e. choc eclairs, cream puffs and walnut brownies? Anyone tried their ice cream puffs?

6. Mutton Rogan Josh or Mutton Rendang Sulawesi better?

Am thinking twice about their battered oat prawns because guests will have to shell them..quite inconvenient for them.

Appreciate the help! ;)

bubblepuzzle

I'm thinking of arranging a sampling session with them in weeks time. Anyone know which dishes is good and I should try?

I'm might be catering from them for both my Lunch and Dinner.

Apreciate all feedback.

sylmc

live - You might want to break down your 400 guests into adults and children. Children usually dun eat too much food. Only concern is that they take too much food and waste food. Its your wedding, its better to over cater than to under cater. Not necessary to cater for 100%. I've 350 guests and I cater for 320 guests. Most main dishes were cleared out. Left over are mostly the desserts.

Feedback on dishes which I have sampled and took for my wedding
- Laksa
- Danish pastries (but skip the fruit tartlets. eclairs are good. ice cream puff even better. cream puff with icing sugar are ok. walnut brownies lovely!)
- Mutton rendang
Sorry can't comment on the other dishes as I have not tried them before.

sylmc

In addition, these are the dishes that I have ordered for my buffet lunch. Those with * are best sellers

- vietnamese fish
- teriyaki chicken *
- scallop with chilli crab sauce *
- fried prawn balls coated with salty egg *
- kueh pie tee
- koren beef bulogi
- vegetables with herbs *
- butter rice *
- duck mantou
- cupcakes
- chocolate fondue * (all fruits gone only left with mashmallows. Advice - top up fruits)
- canapes (during cocktail reception)

lovefaith

thank u so mch for your help Jol

am doing my food tasting next week. will the set up for the food tasting session be like a buffet line? the menus i received from Elsie seem to be very different from yours. guess it is becos mine will be a church lunch buffet reception (not sit-down)..