Rasel Catering Singapore Pte Ltd

hi richelle, yup had my church wedding. their centerpiece flowers are nice nt necessary to add decor to the buffet unless ur plc for buffet set-up is plain thn u need to decor... for mine, my hubby got his frens to decor up the venue and the bistro table cos my church reception area is dull so we did decor to liven up the spirit...

yes, they dun allow us to taste the roasted beef cos elsie told me that this had to be done in big quantity...

Jazol

Congra! Glad to know that Rasel provides you with nice decor and food. should be a memorable one for you and your family.

Hope they can provide me with their best shot as well!

thanks jess... yes indeed the food and decor had left a deep impression in my guests that on that day till now they are still talking abt the buffet....

Hey! Heh heh! So many of you from the other threads are here too! *waves to Jessica and Hui* Hui, you're lucky you got the last slot! I had to shift my ceremony back by one hour so that I could get them as my caterer...

Hi Sharon! Hahah. Yea Jessica and I are Rasel clients too.
Is yours dinner or lunch?

I'm also Rasel clients. I booked them one year back cause I'm outstation and now only back for Chinese New Year for 2 weeks.

hey gals, no worries abt hvg rasel as caterers cos all my guests commented that their food is nice even ta bao n eat the next day oso nice... haha...

Ladies

I had a wonderful food sampling with Rasel yesterday. We are quite firm that we are getting Rasel for our wedding. Any idea what we should look out before signing their contract?

Hui, mine is lunch =) Yours? either way it was okay lah, I prefer waking up later anyway. Otherwise this bride will be yawning all the way through. Anyway I only heard of Rasel recently.

hi richelle, frankly their contract is quite basic... they will put all the tins agreed in the pkg into the invoice except for other tins tat needs top up (ie, bistro/ cocktail table, arch) so no worries there's no hidden items in there.

sharon, i oso heard of rasel whn i was doing my scouting for my wedding caterer... as most of my frens got the common ones so we decided to give it a go by trying rasel so the outcome was good till now my guests kept saying that the food was good.

Ladies

I'm so worried now. My wedding so near and heard from alot of BTB that date super popular. Just worried that Rasel might not be able to make it in time. Of cos I trust the services but ... still worried as a bride

hi jessica, nt to worry cos my date was a super hot one too. and rasel only take in 2 wedding each day so they will not disappoint you.

Hi Jazol, they take in 2 weddings for each slot, not each day actually. For Jessica and my day, they're fully booked for whole morning, lunch, tea and dinner. So I think at least 8 weddings that day.

I'm just hoping it'll be ok.
I catered from them last weekend and the shepherd's pie was yummy delicious!! The butter fish was also shiok. :P~~~ There was nothing left of these 2. Hehe.

hi hui, wow they are able to cater to 8 weddings a day. tats alot, so pray hard that everytin will be in order. cos for mine, only 2 in a day. tats good, at least u know that what u order is nice.

Countdown 41 days to go for my wedding. So nervous!!!

Jazol

I think Rasel quite a big company right? so for them to do 8 wedding a day should be okay.
Actually I'm not too worried about caterer now, during the weekend I just attend my HB friend housewarming and so coincident they also cater from Rasel. I tasted the food and it's still so yummy, I still tabao some food back home. hehe!!!

hi richelle, wow so fast 41 days more to ur wedding. guess u shld be feeling very excited now. try to relax more and sleep more, if nt ur eye bag will be very obvious cos mine was like tat. i m nt sure how big is the company but i knw tat they hv been ard for a long time. glad that u hv confident in their catering cos at my time i had only tasted the food and then booked them aldy....

Jazol

Very excited!!! Me already got dark eye bag already so now trying hard to remove it. For your info, I get lots of used tea bag at home but like can't help... sad!!!

Hi richelle

So excited for you!! remember to share pictures and comments with me ok after the AD? ;)

btw do you have MSN?

cutecat

Sure, will share with you my comments & pics. BTW when is your wedding date? R u also catering from rasel? Sorry i don't have a msn.

richelle, try using eye mask it shld help. dun be like me didnt do anytin and the eye bag dun look good.... remember, on the week of ur AD try not to do anytin else esp the night b4, let ur frens n FH do the tins so tat u cn hn ample rest. meanwhile happy planning and enjoy the process cos after tat u cn only look back and smile at wat had been done....

jazol

Is eye mask good? Any particular brand? Ya I really need to rest, this few month super busy with all the preparation. So tired!

richelle, i tink shld be ok... i hv nt try it personally cos no time for me by thn.... tink u cn try those at watson...... jus try everytin to make urself look good....

Hi, I am also finalising getting Rasel as my caterer for my wedding dinner at ACM in June this year. Will be signing the contract soon.

I am taking the $40 sit down buffet. wonder any one of you can advise about the wine and beer? Did you get from Rasel or source else where?

I am looking to cheap cheap good good deal, hehee. (Very broke after our renovation).

Pleae help, bye!

Cler

Welcome!

I think beer you have to order from Rasel but wine you can outsource. I saw other ex bride posted that have some balance wine for sale maybe you can purchase from them. I believe rasel charge corkage. Maybe you want to check with them.

rasel is quite aggressive when it comes to mkting their buffet food so i also considered them but went for a colleages wedding church function and jsut thought they were "ok-ok" so i went with another caterer in the end & got thai food buffet setup. it was v well received

cutecat,

all right i will forward some AD pictures to you and the review. so excited now, date getting nearer and nearer!

Elin

Thai food? I wanted a full range of international food that where I went to Rasel. To be frank, usually for wedding I believe what all BTB wants is no hiccups or complain, so long as food is ok, set-up is beautiful and price is reasonable that should be more than enough.

I oso contacted Rasel for my church wedding tea reception this Oct. In fact, I went down to their out of place pandan loop office to speak t0 Elsie. haha..
So far, in this thread, I'm glad the reviews of Rasel is gd.
I realised their food seemed the fusion kind. Do you think they will do primarily western or dessert/ pastries line?
Are their portions generous?

Hi Jess

Rasel food are more to International which covers a wide range and that's the reason why I choose them. I wanted to give my guests a wide selection of food. I did'nt really done much changes toward to their package menu as normally package menu will have a better blend of food. I tasted some of their food yummy!!! Their food portion should be quie generous, but for wedding try not to have to much buffer in case not enough food, pai seh!

Hi richelle,
Thanks for ur info.
Okie. I'll take note.
Elsie kept suggesting that I take up the lunch buffet menu rather than the tea menu coz at the same price, the lunch buffet menu is more value for $, & more filling. But mine is a tea reception & I don't think people would want to eat too filling stuff.
Which package menu did u take up?

Anybody tried the wedding tea reception before? Kindly give your comments. I am also torn between tea menu and buffet.

Hi Jess

For myself, I'm also getting a Lunch & a Dinner menu. What Elsie say is true, if both the same price than Lunch menu sure more value for $ and more filling. Than we don't have to cater too much also. Got saving too!

Almond, normally tea menu, we are expecting all those frozen stuff, which very sick lor! Lunch buffet better, at least can taste their specialty.

Hi richelle,
wat's their specialty?
their tea menu got more items leh. hehe.. maybe more variety? wat u think? 2 dishes more

Jess

I can only remember dishes for lunch n dinner not for tea. I normally don't like tea menu so I won't be able to assist you, sorry! If you need help on lunch maybe i can advise you.

Hi richelle,
thanks for helping thus far... hehe..
it's okie.
my FH & I may still be keen to take their tea menu

Hi almond,
I'm taking the $10 menu.
Yah.. considering changing some items but haven't decided yet. Also I haven't confirm. hehe..
me super procrastinator... haha.. coz my wedding in Oct tis yr

wat abt u? which one are u taking?

Hi Jess, i am considering the $12 menu. But must 150 persons then can enjoy the color theme and fresh flowers right? I still counting the no. of guests. I also haven confirm... lazy. Need to change some items too. Which color theme you going for? Quite headache.

Hi almond,
yah... i think min 100 or 150 pax then can choose colour..
coz I'm ordering for min 300 pax, I'm allowed to choose the colours I like.
I just confirmed with Elsie from Rasel regarding my wedding catering. She "chop" gold & pink for me already.. hehe.. to fit into my wedding theme

I noe it's stressful.. but hey.. enjoy tis process k? can be fun!!! when's ur wedding?

Hi Jess! For 300 people, you can enjoy more perks! Btw, did you confirm the items for your wedding catering or can be done later? Ok, so its gold table cloth and pink flowers for you? I haven confirm my wedding theme yet! so much to do...

I'm new here, I did'nt know that Rasel is so famous until I log in to Singapore Brides. I place my catering order with them in late Nov 06 and my wedding in May 07.

So far, their food quite tasty, they just cater my hubby sis in law wedding last weekend at changi chalet.

Hi almond,
the menu can be confirmed later. But the minimum pax and per head price must be confirmed 1st. Then they can come up with a quotation and service agreement for you.
As for my wedding colours, Elsie asked me to confirm early so she can book 1st for me, as sometimes their colours for table cloths only got 1 set lor.

Hi Chris_farhann,
wat's the menu u catered?

Hi, I was wondering if any of you had tried the following dishes from Rasel before:
Appetizer
1.Antipasto De Oceana

Chef's craving station
2.Roast NZ Sirloin of Beef

Speciality Corner
3.Seafood pasta ala pomodoro
4.Traditional shepherd's pie with chicken filling

Hot Savoury
5.Oven-baked queen scallop on shell mango salsa
6.Almond cheese chicken
7.French duck ala orange
8.Oats fish with salad cream
9.Prawn in cream of lobster
10.Straw mushroom, broccoli & baby carrot medley
11.Olive rice with mushroom

I had my food tasting last week of 6 items. They are the scallop, chicken, duck, prawn, fish & pasta.

Quite disappointing with the taste of the food. Deco is nice, food presentation is good but the taste is disappointing especially for the scallop, duck and pasta. The mango salsa is too sweet and overpowering, orange duck is roasted duck with orange sauce poured over it, pasta sauce has cheap ingredient like crab stick and small shrimps. The only item that has no complain is the chicken.

Anyone can suggest any other dishes that i can replace them with? Sigh...

Fen

Here are the few dishes which I tried and i find it tasty:

Mutton Rogan Josh
Scallop Ham & Cheese (Super nice)

What do you expect from pasta dishes? Buffet is like that one, I tasted Lavish one worst, they only offer plain pasta not even crab stick and shrimp. I did'nt try their duck dish but maybe you can change to Mutton if you like.